DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 03/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0188648) in view of Pearson (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0243974).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 16, with respect to Figures 1-4, Khan teaches a system comprising:
a gateway [i.e., gateway node] (paragraphs 0048-0049) configured to receive a request from a public safety answering point, wherein the request is configured to initiate an emergency callback session with a user device in response to a failure [i.e., an error] occurring in an emergency session between the user device and the public safety answering point (abstract; fig.1, 4; paragraphs 0009, 0014, 0015, 0071, 0072);
a application server [i.e., home network node] configured to provide, upon an identity of the public safety answering point being verified, verification information about the request and the public safety answering point to the user device (fig.1, 4; paragraphs 0009, 0014, 0015, 0020, 0024- 0026, 0029-0030, 0067, 0071, 0072) (Note; since a caller display name of “PSAP operator”, the caller PSAP’s identity must be verified by the system and the callback information from the PSAP is the claimed “verification information” (see paragraphs 0029-0030).); and
a module deployed on a user device, the module comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions (paragraph 0066), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the module to display the verification information about the request on a user interface of the user device (abstract; paragraphs 0015, 0020, 0024-0026, 0030, 0066, 0067, 0071, 0072).
However, Khan does not specifically teach wherein during the emergency callback session, the instructions further cause the module to suppress one or more telephony services of the user device, the one or more telephony services including: placing the public safety answering point on hold, receiving a call waiting indication for an incoming call, receiving any new incoming calls, or initiating an outgoing call. Pearson teaches wherein during the emergency callback session, the instructions further cause the module to suppress one or more telephony services of the user device, the one or more telephony services including: placing the public safety answering point on hold, receiving a call waiting indication for an incoming call, receiving any new incoming calls, or initiating an outgoing call (fig.5, 6; paragraphs 0006, 0031-0034). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khan to incorporate the feature of wherein during the emergency callback session, the instructions further cause the module to suppress one or more telephony services of the user device, the one or more telephony services including: placing the public safety answering point on hold, receiving a call waiting indication for an incoming call, receiving any new incoming calls, or initiating an outgoing call in Khan’s invention as taught by Pearson. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to ensure that customer safety is preserved while making advanced telephone features and capabilities available.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Khan teaches wherein the request comprises a priority header having a value of “psap-callback.” (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, Khan teaches wherein the verification information about the request comprises at least one of: a name of the public safety answering point, a reason for the request, an emergency logo, or one or more caller verification flags (paragraphs 0020, 0024- 0026, 0030, 0067).
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 20, Khan teaches wherein the home network node is configured to provide configuration information to initiate a first or second or third options [i.e., suppression of one or more telephony or supplementary services] during the emergency callback session (paragraphs 0009, 0014, 0015, 0020, 0024- 0026, 0030, 0067, 0071, 0072).
Regarding claim 6, Khan teaches wherein the one or more telephony services comprise at least one of: call waiting, call holding, call forwarding, call barring, or call transferring (paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0018-0020).
Regarding claim 7, Khan teaches wherein the one or more telephony services comprise an incoming call to the user device or an outgoing call from the user device (paragraphs 0009, 0014, 0015, 0020, 0024- 0026, 0030, 0067, 0071, 0072).
Regarding claim 8, Khan teaches wherein the configuration information indicates a time duration for the suppression of the one or more telephony services (paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0014, 0015, 0071).
Regarding claim 11, Khan teaches wherein the second request comprises verification information about the public safety answering point indicating that the public safety answering point is valid (paragraphs 0029-0030).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Khan teaches displaying, by the user device, verification information about the second request on a user interface of the user device (paragraphs 0029-0030).
Claims 2, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0188648) in view of Pearson (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0243974) further in view of Mardakis et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0203716).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 17, Khan in view of Pearson does not specifically teach wherein the identity of the public safety answering point is verified using a Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework. Mardakis teaches wherein the identity of the public safety answering point is verified using a Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework (paragraph 0036) (Note; since, the caller’s identity is verified using Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework, therefore, when the PSAP makes a callback, it becomes a caller and its identity is verified by Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khan to incorporate the feature of wherein the identity of the public safety answering point is verified using a Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework in Khan’s invention in view of Pearson’s invention as taught by Mardakis. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to make proper emergency call back using Signature-based Handling of Asserted information using toKENS (SHAKEN) framework.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD S ELAHEE/
MD SHAFIUL ALAM ELAHEE
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2694
May 2, 2026