DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/20/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are currently amended and Claims 3-6 and 9-12 are as originally filed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim
Means for or Step for
Functional Language
Structure or Material
Disclosure Support
1
n/a
“supplies”
“an ambient gas”
“gas supply device”; page 4, lines 6 and 7
1
n/a
“supplies”
“a powder”
“powder supply device”; page 5, lines 15 and 16
1
n/a
“irradiates”
“a molding region”
“irradiation device”; page 4, lines 11 and 12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that.”
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as listed above in the table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buller et al (US 2023/0356330 A1).
Buller et al teaches three-dimensional printing apparatuses as represented below in the annotated drawings (Figs 1 and 4):
The pressure within the internal volume of the enclosure, or processing chamber, is above the atmospheric pressure external to the processing chamber [0045]. The controller is taught in [0044]. Buller et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the flow of gas is controlled [0048] and is continuously provided in the processing chamber during printing during irradiation of the laser [0050], which is related to the pressure of the gas in the chamber [0054].
Regarding Claim 3, the temperature of the flow of gas can be less than the temperature external to the processing chamber [0046].
Regarding Claim 4, the temperature of the atmosphere within the internal volume of the enclosure can vary based on the flow of gas [0046], which is related to the pressure of the gas in the chamber [0054].
Regarding Claim 5, the volume of the chamber changes as the platform vertically translates [0033]. The sensors determine the composition of the atmosphere including the measurement of gas flow velocity in terms of pressure [0054].
Regarding Claim 6, the powder is iron [0005] (page 2, column 1).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buller et al.
Buller et al teaches processes for producing three-dimensional objects as represented above in the annotated drawings. The specification describes “ambient gas” as nitrogen, helium, argon, neon, or other inert gases (page 4, lines 6-9). Buller et al teaches that the flow gas is an inert gas, nitrogen, or argon [0042]. The pressure within the internal volume of the enclosure, or processing chamber, is above the atmospheric pressure external to the processing chamber [0045]. Buller et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, the flow of gas is controlled [0048] and is continuously provided in the processing chamber during printing during irradiation of the laser [0050], which is related to the pressure of the gas in the chamber [0054].
Regarding Claim 9, the temperature of the flow of gas can be less than the temperature external to the processing chamber [0046].
Regarding Claim 10, the temperature of the atmosphere within the internal volume of the enclosure can vary based on the flow of gas [0046], which is related to the pressure of the gas in the chamber [0054].
Regarding Claim 11, the volume of the chamber changes as the platform vertically translates [0033]. The sensors determine the composition of the atmosphere including the measurement of gas flow velocity in terms of pressure [0054].
Regarding Claim 12, the powder is iron [0005] (page 2, column 1).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3 797 903 A1.
EP 3 797 903 A1 (EP ‘903) teaches forming a three-dimensional object in a manufacturing space as represented below in the annotated drawings of Figures 1 and 3:
The powder supply is represented by 7 and 8. The powder bed is taught in [0043]. The pressure inside the manufacturing space is above atmospheric pressure [0028]. The control unit performs closed-loop control to maintain increased pressure [0083], receives signals from a pressure sensor and temperature sensor [0064], and controls the pump, valve, and cooling means [0068]. EP ‘903 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the atmosphere is maintained during manufacturing [0078], which reads on during irradiation.
Regarding Claim 3, the temperature of the process gas can be reduced as the pressure is increased [0082]. The gas is cooled [0029].
Regarding Claim 4, the increase in pressure raises density, which in turn changes the temperature [0028-0029].
Regarding Claim 5, the pressure can be increased by increasing the amount of gas in the manufacturing space [0083].
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP ‘903.
EP ‘903 teaches a method of forming a three-dimensional object in a manufacturing space as represented above in the annotated drawings. The specification describes “ambient gas” as nitrogen, helium, argon, neon, or other inert gases (page 4, lines 6-9). EP ‘903 teaches that the gas is an inert gas [0024], helium, nitrogen, or argon [0026]. The pressure within the manufacturing space is above the atmospheric pressure [0028]. EP ‘903 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, the atmosphere is maintained during manufacturing [0078], which reads on during irradiation.
Regarding Claim 9, the temperature of the process gas can be reduced as the pressure is increased [0082]. The gas is cooled [0029].
Regarding Claim 10, the increase in pressure raises density, which in turn changes the temperature [0028-0029].
Regarding Claim 11, the pressure can be increased by increasing the amount of gas in the manufacturing space [0083], which reads on changing the volume of gas.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733