Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by You (CN 104069585) hereinafter You.
Regarding claim 1, You teaches a microneedle assembly, comprising:
a mold (5, Fig 2) having one or more concave portions (pointed by 1) formed to correspond to shapes of microneedles (See Figure 1-2) the microneedles molded using the mold and accommodated in the mold (refer to); and
an applicator (2/3) configured to be detachably coupled to an upper surface of the mold, wherein the mold is a first part of a packaging container, which is configured to accommodate and protect the molded microneedles, an upper side of the molded microneedles is exposed in a state where the molded microneedles are accommodated in the mold, the applicator is a second part of the packaging container, which is configured to cover and protect the exposed upper side of the microneedles in a state where the applicator is coupled to the upper surface of the mold (see Figure 1),
when the microneedles are applied to a skin (4) of an object, the microneedles lie in a
state where they can be separated from the mold, through detaching the applicator from the mold (see Figure 2), and the applicator includes a pressing surface (surface of 2 pointed by downward arrows in Figure 2) which presses the microneedles toward the skin of the object while being in a contact with the microneedles.
Regarding claim 2, You teaches the applicator further includes an
adhesion portion (3) formed on the pressing surface, and the adhesion portion functions to separate the microneedles from the mold by attaching the microneedles (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You in view of Kato et al. (WO 2015111672) hereinafter Kato.
Regarding claim 3, You fails to explicitly teach the applicator further includes one or more pressing protrusions formed at positions on the pressing surface corresponding to the microneedles, and wherein the adhesion portion is formed on the upper surface of the pressing protrusions. Kato teaches one or more pressing protrusions (layers 44 and 42) formed at positions on the pressing surface corresponding to the microneedles, and wherein the adhesion portion is formed on the upper surface of the pressing protrusions (surface 42 has an adhesion portion for cover 31, See Figure 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to further provide pressing protrusions on the pressing surface to attach a cover as taught by Kato in the microneedle assembly of You, to further protect the microneedles before injection.
Regarding claim 4, modified You fails to teach a protection cover configured to be detachably coupled to the pressing surface of the applicator SO as to close the pressing surface. Kato teaches a protection cover (31) configured to be detachably coupled to the pressing surface of the applicator so as to close the pressing surface (See Figures 6-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to further provide a cover as taught by Kato in the microneedle assembly of You, to further protect the microneedles before injection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest art of record You modified by Kato fail to teach the mold includes one or more guide protrusions formed to be coupled to the applicator, and the applicator includes one or more guide holes into which the guide protrusions are inserted, therefore the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the independent claim.
Conclusion
EDELMIRA BOSQUES
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772