This Final Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 7/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0017739 to Olvera et al (hereinafter Olvera) in view of US 2019/0301789 to Kim.
Olvera discloses (Claim 1). An appliance 10, comprising (Figs. 2-9): a first door adjustment feature disposed at a first upper corner of a sliding door assembly 18 of said appliance, the first door adjustment feature configured to adjust an angle of a front panel of the sliding door assembly and including: an anchor nut 30; and a bracket 24,25 coupled with the first door adjustment feature; and a second door adjustment feature disposed at a second upper corner of the sliding door assembly and configured to adjust an angle of the front panel independent of the first door adjustment feature; (Claim 3). The appliance of claim 1, wherein the bracket includes a horizontal member and first and second arms, and wherein the horizontal member extends orthogonally from the first and second arms; (Claim 10). An appliance 10, comprising: a first door adjustment assembly for adjusting an angle of a front panel of a door of said appliance 10 and including: an anchor nut 30; and a bracket 24,25 coupled with the first door adjustment assembly at a first end, wherein the bracket is adjustable to abut the housing of the first door adjustment assembly in a first condition and be spaced apart from the housing of the first door adjustment assembly in a second condition; and a second door adjustment assembly for adjusting an angle of the front panel independent of the first door adjustment assembly; (Claim 14). The appliance of claim 10, further comprising: a track assembly 26 coupled with the bracket 24,25, wherein the bracket is moved in conjunction with a rail slide of the track assembly ([0032]).
The differences being that Olvera fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 1 of the first door adjustment feature including: a housing defining a cavity; a driven member slidably movable within the cavity of the housing; and a driving member rotatably engaged with the driven member and configured to adjust a position of the driven member relative to the housing; wherein the driven member is slidably movable within the cavity of the housing to a position where the bracket abuts the first door adjustment feature and a position where the bracket is spaced from the first door adjustment feature; (ii) claim 2; (iii) claim 5; (iv) claim 10 of a housing defining a cavity; a driven member positioned within the cavity; and a driving member rotatably engaged with the driven member, wherein a portion of the driving member extends from the housing; (v) claim 12; (vi) claim 15.
However, Kim discloses (Claim 1). An appliance, comprising: a door adjustment feature 60 (Figs. 8-23) including: a housing 61 defining a cavity; a driven member 64 slidably movable within the cavity of the housing 61; and a driving member 413,414 rotatably engaged with the driven member 64 and configured to adjust a position of the driven member 64 relative to the housing 61; and a bracket 51,52 coupled with the door adjustment feature 60, wherein the driven member 64 is slidably movable relative to the door adjustment feature to a position where the bracket 51,52 abuts the door adjustment feature (Fig. 14) and a position where the bracket is spaced from the door adjustment feature (Fig. 15); (Claim 2). The appliance of claim 1, wherein the driven member 64 includes a first plurality of engagement members 641 (Fig. 12) engaged with a second plurality of engagement members 414 of the driving member; (Claim 3). The appliance of claim 1, wherein the bracket 51,52 includes a horizontal member 52 and first and second arms (defined by 51), and wherein the horizontal member 52 extends orthogonally from the first and second arms; (Claim 5). The appliance of claim 1, wherein the door adjustment feature includes a cover 62 defining first and second apertures.
(Claim 10). An appliance, comprising: a door adjustment assembly 60 including: a housing 61 defining a cavity; a driven member 64 positioned within the cavity; and a driving member 413,414 rotatably engaged with the driven member 64, wherein a portion 413 of the driving member extends from the housing 61; and a bracket 52 coupled with the door adjustment assembly 60 at a first end, wherein the bracket 52 is adjustable to abut the housing 61 of the door adjustment assembly 60 in a first condition (Fig. 14) and be spaced apart from the housing 61 of the door adjustment assembly in a second condition (Fig. 15); (Claim 12). The appliance of claim 10, wherein an actuating portion 673 of the driven member extends from the housing 61 and is coupled with the bracket; (Claim 14). The appliance of claim 10, further comprising: a track assembly 33,34 coupled with the bracket 52 via a drawer part 32, wherein the bracket 52 is moved in conjunction with a rail slide of the track assembly via drawer part 32; (Claim 15). The appliance of claim 10, wherein rotation of the driving member 413,414 in a first direction corresponds with movement of the driven member 64 in a first linear direction and rotation of the driving member in a second, opposite direction corresponds with movement of the driven member 64 in a second linear direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Kim, to modify Olvera to include the limitations in (i) claim 1 of the first door adjustment feature including: a housing defining a cavity; a driven member slidably movable within the cavity of the housing; and a driving member rotatably engaged with the driven member and configured to adjust a position of the driven member relative to the housing; wherein the driven member is slidably movable within the cavity of the housing to a position where the bracket abuts the first door adjustment feature and a position where the bracket is spaced from the first door adjustment feature; (ii) claim 2 of wherein the driven member includes a first plurality of engagement members engaged with a second plurality of engagement members of the driving member; (iii) claim 5 of wherein the first door adjustment feature and the second door adjustment feature each include a cover defining first and second apertures; (iv) claim 10 of a housing defining a cavity; a driven member positioned within the cavity; and a driving member rotatably engaged with the driven member, wherein a portion of the driving member extends from the housing; (v) claim 12 of wherein an actuating portion of the driven member extends from the housing and is coupled with the bracket; (vi) claim 15 of wherein rotation of the driving member in a first direction corresponds with movement of the driven member in a first linear direction and rotation of the driving member in a second, opposite direction corresponds with movement of the driven member in a second linear direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the appliance.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olvera, as modified, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 2019/0120563 to Nguyen et al (hereinafter Nguyen).
Olvera, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in claim 6.
However, Nguyen discloses (such as shown in Figs. 3 and 6) a housing 5b defining a cavity; a cover 5a; wherein the cover 5a includes clip apertures 15 configured to receive engagement arms 14 of the housing to couple the housing 5b with the cover 5a.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Nguyen, to modify Olvera, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 6 of wherein the cover includes clip apertures configured to receive engagement arms of the housing to couple the housing with the cover with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the appliance.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olvera, as modified, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of DE 10012631 to Burattini.
Olvera, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in claim 13.
However, Burattini discloses (Claim 10). An appliance, comprising: a door adjustment assembly including: a housing 30 defining a cavity; a driven member 21,29 positioned within the cavity; and a driving member 26-28 rotatably engaged with the driven member, wherein a portion 26a-28a of the driving member extends from the housing (such as shown in Fig. 6); and a bracket 20 coupled with the door adjustment assembly at a first end, wherein the bracket 20 is adjustable to abut the housing of the door adjustment assembly in a first condition and be spaced apart from the housing of the door adjustment assembly in a second condition; (Claim 13). The appliance of claim 10, further comprising: a cover 25 coupled with the housing and defining a first aperture 25c and a second aperture 25a-b, wherein the first aperture 25c is configured to at least partially receive the driven member 21 and the second aperture 25a-b is configured to at least partially receive the driving member 26-28.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Burattini, to modify Olvera, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 13 of further comprising: a cover coupled with the housing and defining a first aperture and a second aperture, wherein the first aperture is configured to at least partially receive the driven member and the second aperture is configured to at least partially receive the driving member with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 based on Kim and Burattini have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
August 26, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637