DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 14, “the first connecting member” (line 4) lacks proper antecedent basis and is most likely supposed to be --the first connection member--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu et al. (US 2022/0018820).
Regarding claim 1, Hiramatsu et al. disclose a sensor, comprising:
a base 50s;
a fixed portion (21F,22F, and anchoring portions connected to supports 21B,22B, see Fig. 8A) fixed to the base; and
an element portion (parts connected to fixed portion including supports and parts 21M,11,22s),
the fixed portion including a first wiring fixed portion 21F and a first fixed portion (part anchoring supports 21B to base 50s, see Fig. 8A),
the element portion including:
a first wiring portion (tethers connecting 21F to part 21M in Fig. 8A) supported by the first wiring fixed portion 21F and including a first wiring (21p and 21q conductive parts shown and labeled in Figs. 1-5, shown in Fig. 8B but not labeled),
a first support member 21B supported by the first fixed portion (see Fig. 8A),
a first intermediate member 21M connected to the first wiring portion and the first support member (see Fig. 8A), and
a movable portion 11M connected to the first intermediate member (via parts 21C), the movable portion including a first movable conductive layer 11 electrically connected to the first wiring (see Figs. 8A-B),
a first gap being provided between the base 50S and the element portion (see Fig. 8B),
a second direction (X direction in Fig. 8A) from the first wiring fixed portion 21F to the first intermediate member 21M crossing a first direction (Z direction in Figs. 8A-B) from the base 50S to the first wiring fixed portion 21F,
the first wiring portion including:
a first portion connected to the first wiring fixed portion,
a first intermediate portion connected to the first portion,
a first other intermediate portion connected to the first intermediate portion, and
a first other portion connected to the first other intermediate portion (see labeled reproduction of part of Fig. 8A below),
a direction from the first intermediate portion to the first portion being along the second direction (X direction),
a direction from the first intermediate portion to the first other intermediate portion being along a third direction (Y direction) crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction, a direction from the first other intermediate portion to the first other portion being along the second direction (X direction), and the first other portion being connected to the first intermediate member 21M (see reproduction of Fig. 8A below showing first wiring portion divided into portions).
Regarding claim 2, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that a direction from the first intermediate member 21M to the first support member 21B crosses the first direction (Z axis) and crosses the second direction (X axis) (see Fig. 8A direction from 21M to 21B crosses X-Z plane).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the first support member 21B extends linearly (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 4, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the first intermediate member 21M includes a first intermediate region 21fs and a first other intermediate region 21cs, the first other intermediate region is between the first intermediate region 21fs and the movable portion 11M, the movable portion 11M is connected to the first other intermediate region 21cs (connected via connection element 21C), and the first wiring portion and the first support member 21B are connected to the first intermediate region 21fs (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 5, Hiramatsu et al. disclose the sensor further comprising: a fixed electrode 51 fixed to the base 50s, the first intermediate member 21M being configured to be deformed according to a detection target around the element portion, and a capacitance between the fixed electrode and the first movable conductive layer being configured to be changed (see par. 0043).
Regarding claim 6, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the first intermediate member 21M includes a first intermediate member layer 21s, and the first intermediate member layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Pd and Pt (par. 0057).
Regarding claim 7, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the first intermediate member layer 21s further includes Si and Cu (see par. 0058).
Regarding claim 10, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that: the fixed portion further includes a second wiring fixed portion 22F and a second fixed portion (part anchoring supports 22B to base 50s, see Fig. 8A),
the element portion includes:
a second wiring portion (tethers connecting 22F to part 222M in Fig. 8A) supported by the second wiring fixed portion 22F and including a second wiring (22p and 22q conductive parts shown and labeled in Figs. 1-5, shown in Fig. 8B but not labeled),
a second support member 22B supported by the second
fixed portion,
a second intermediate member 22M connected to the
second wiring portion and the second support member (see Fig. 8A),
the movable portion 11M is provided between the first intermediate member 21M and the second intermediate member 22M,
a direction from the second intermediate member 22M to the second wiring fixed portion 22F is along the second direction (X direction in Fig. 8A),
the second wiring portion includes:
a second portion connected to the second wiring fixed portion,
a second intermediate portion connected to the second portion,
a second other intermediate portion connected to the second intermediate portion, and
a second other portion connected to the second other intermediate portion,
a direction from the second portion to the second intermediate portion is along the second direction (X direction),
a direction from the second other intermediate portion to the second intermediate portion is along the third direction (Y direction),
a direction from the second other portion to the second other intermediate portion is along the second direction (X direction), and
the second other portion is connected to the second intermediate member 22M (see labeled reproduction of part of Fig. 8A below).
Regarding claim 11, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that: the fixed portion further includes a first opposing fixed portion, the element portion includes: a first opposing wiring portion supported by the first wiring fixed portion 21F and including a first opposing wiring, and a first opposing support member supported by the first opposing fixed portion, the first intermediate member 21M is connected to the first opposing wiring portion and the first opposing support member (see Fig. 8A, showing symmetrically opposed structures that are a vertical mirror image of first fixed portion, first wiring portion, first support member), the first intermediate member 21M is provided between the first opposing support member (upper 21B in Fig. 8A) and the first support member (lower 21B) in the third direction (see Fig. 8A, member 21M is between upper and lower support members 21B in Y direction),
the first opposing wiring portion includes: a first opposing portion connected to the first wiring fixed portion 21F, a first opposing intermediate portion connected to the first opposing portion, a first opposing other intermediate portion connected to the first opposing intermediate portion, and a first opposing other portion connected to the first opposing other intermediate portion, a direction from the first opposing intermediate portion to the first opposing portion is along the second direction (X direction), a direction from the first opposing other intermediate portion to the first opposing intermediate portion is along the third direction (Y direction), a direction from the first opposing other intermediate portion to the first opposing other portion is along the second direction (X direction), and the first opposing other portion is connected to the first intermediate member 21M (see Fig. 8A and rejection with regard to first wiring portion above, first opposing wiring portion is the vertical mirror image to the first wiring portion, and connects the upper left part 21F in Fig. 8A to the member 21M) (see labeled reproduction of Fig. 8A below).
Regarding claim 12, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the fixed portion further includes a second opposing fixed portion, the element portion includes: a second opposing wiring portion supported by the second wiring fixed portion 22F and including a second opposing wiring, and a second opposing support member supported by the second opposing fixed portion the second intermediate member 22M is connected to the second opposing wiring portion and the second opposing support member (see Fig. 8A, showing symmetrically opposed structures that are a vertical mirror image of second fixed portion, second wiring portion, second support member), the second intermediate member 22M is provided between the second support member (lower element 22B in Fig. 8A) and the second opposing support member (upper 22B) in the third direction (see Fig. 8A, member 22M is between upper and lower support members 22B in Y direction),
the second opposing wiring portion includes: a second opposing portion connected to the second wiring fixed portion 22F, a second opposing intermediate portion connected to the second opposing portion, a second opposing other intermediate portion connected to the second opposing intermediate portion, and a second opposing other portion connected to the second opposing other intermediate portion, a direction from the second opposing portion to the second opposing intermediate portion is along the second direction (X direction), a direction from the second opposing intermediate portion to the second opposing other intermediate portion is along the third direction (Y direction), a direction from the second opposing other portion to the second opposing other intermediate portion is along the second direction (X direction), and the second opposing other portion is connected to the second intermediate member 22M (see Fig. 8A and rejection with regard to second wiring portion above, second opposing wiring portion is the vertical mirror image to the second wiring portion, and connects the upper right part 22F in Fig. 8A to the member 22M) (see labeled reproduction of Fig. 8A below).
Regarding claim 14, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the element section further includes a first connection member 21C, the first connection member 21C is supported by the first intermediate member 21M, and the first connection member supports the movable portion 11M (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 15, Hiramatsu et al. disclose a sensor, comprising:
a base 50s;
a fixed portion (21F,22F, and anchoring portions connected to supports 21B,22B, see Fig. 8A) fixed to the base; and
an element portion (parts connected to fixed portion including supports and parts 21M,11,22s),
the fixed portion including a first wiring fixed portion 21F and a first fixed portion (part anchoring supports 21B to base 50s, see Fig. 8A),
the element portion including:
a first wiring portion (tethers connecting 21F to part 21M in Fig. 8A) supported by the first wiring fixed portion 21F and including a first wiring (21p and 21q conductive parts shown and labeled in Figs. 1-5, shown in Fig. 8B but not labeled),
a first support member 21B supported by the first fixed portion (see Fig. 8A),
a movable portion 21M connected to the first wiring portion and the first support member 21B, the movable portion including a first movable conductive layer 21p electrically connected to the first wiring (see Figs. 8A-B, conductive layer 21p labeled in Figs. 1-5, shown in Fig. 8B and not labeled),
a first gap being provided between the base 50S and the element portion (see Fig. 8B),
a second direction (X direction in Fig. 8A) from the first wiring fixed portion 21F to the movable portion 21M crossing a first direction (Z direction in Figs. 8A-B) from the base 50S to the first wiring fixed portion 21F,
the first wiring portion including:
a first portion connected to the first wiring fixed portion,
a first intermediate portion connected to the first portion,
a first other intermediate portion connected to the first intermediate portion, and
a first other portion connected to the first other intermediate portion (see labeled reproduction of part of Fig. 8A above in regard to claim 1),
a direction from the first intermediate portion to the first portion being along the second direction (X direction),
a direction from the first intermediate portion to the first other intermediate portion being along a third direction (Y direction) crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction,
a direction from the first other intermediate portion to the first other portion being along the second direction (X direction), and
the first other portion being connected to the movable portion 21M (see reproduction of Fig. 8A above with regard to claim 1 showing first wiring portion divided into portions).
Regarding claim 16, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that a temperature state of the movable portion 21M is configured to be changed depending on a detection target around the element portion (par. 0086, heater which changes temperature of 21M and is necessarily dependent on what compounds are around or adsorbed by the functional films; adsorbtion of hydrogen to functional film will necessarily change thermal/temperature state and/or thermal conductivity).
Regarding claim 17, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the movable portion further includes a second movable conductive layer 21q (see Figs. 8A-B, conductive layer 21q labeled in Figs. 1-5, shown in Fig. 8B and not labeled), and an electrical resistance of the second movable conductive layer is configured to be changed depending on the detection target (see par. 0086, members 21 and 22 have a heater that changes the temperature and necessarily the resistance of any conductor, and adsorption of a detection target such as hydrogen to function film on member 21 will necessarily change how heat is dispersed by and around member).
Regarding claim 18, Hiramatsu et al. disclose that the movable portion includes a catalyst layer 21s configured to react with the detection target (see pars. 0057-0048, layer is PdCuSi which is a catalyst layer that reacts with hydrogen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
Claims 8, 9, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 8 and 19, Hiramatsu et al. fail to disclose or suggest a first wiring portion spring constant of the first wiring portion being smaller than a first support member spring constant of the first support member. Hirmatsu et al. do not disclose anything about the spring constants of the wiring portions of the support members.
With regard to claim 9, Hiramatsu et al. fail to disclose or suggest the sensor being such that a position of at least a part of the first wiring fixed portion in the second direction is between a position of the first intermediate portion in the second direction and a position of the first intermediate member in the second direction.
With regard to claim 13, Hirmatsu et al. disclose many of the limitations of claim 13 which are similar to claim 1 as set forth above. Hiramatsu et al. do not disclose or suggest the first intermediate member including a first connection region connected to the first other portion, and wherein a position of the first connection region in the third direction is between a position of the first portion in the third direction and a position of the first intermediate portion in the third direction.
With regard to claim 20, Hiramatsu et al. do not disclose or suggest that a a first wiring portion length of the first wiring portion along a path in which the first wiring portion extends is longer than a first support member length of the first support member along a path in which the first support member extends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note: Pike (US 2008/0282802), Dyck (US 6,393,913), Schmid (US 6,761,068), Ueda (2023/0076795) and Wang (US 2008/0150554) all disclose sensors structures with fixed portion, wiring portions, intermediate members and movable members.
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855