DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the application filed 06/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2024 and 12/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0049138 to CUI et al. (hereafter Cue) in view of US 2024/0349243 to Liu et al. (hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Cui discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Cui, Fig 1, element 102) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a low-power receiver (LR) (see Cui, ¶ 0003: implementing an LP-WUR in a user equipment (UE); ¶ 0004: disclosure relate to a UE comprising a LP-WUR and a main radio configured to enable wireless communications with a base station, and a processor communicatively coupled to the LP-WUR and the main radio) configured to:
monitor for a low power wakeup signal (LP WUS) on a carrier of a cell where the UE is camped (see Cui, ¶ 0004: receive a first low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) from the base station; determine that the first LP-WUS corresponds to a cell of the UE; ¶ 0019: the LP-WUR of the UE is configured to detect wake-up signals from the base station. For example, the UE needs to know a time location and a frequency band/frequency point to receive a wake-up signal; ¶ 0022: the LP-WUR of the UE monitors the communication link 106 and detects a LP-WUS transmitted by the base station 104), and
receive the LP WUS (see Cui, ¶ 0004: receive a first low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) from the base station; determine that the first LP-WUS corresponds to a cell of the UE; ¶ 0018: the LP-WUR can receive a wake-up signal from the base station and wakes up the main radio; ¶ 0034: The LP-WUR 230 can be a receiver that receives signals, such as the wake-up signal and the turn-off signal, from the base station);
a processor operably coupled to the LR, the processor configured to instruct a main receiver (MR) to monitor for multicast broadcast (MBS) session data in response to a reception of the LP WUS (see Cui, ¶ 0004: determine that the first LP-WUS indicates powering on the main radio. The processor is further configured to turn on the main radio and receive a paging message from the base station; ¶ 0018: The main radio can receive paging signals or perform small data transmission when waking up. In some aspects, the base station transmits the wake-up signal when subsequent actions are expected. For example, the base station can transmit the wake-up signal shortly before transmitting the paging signals to the UE; ¶ 0022: The UE then determines that the LP-WUS indicates turning on the main radio of the UE. The LP-WUS subsequently turns the main radio on. In some aspects, the base station 104 can transmit a paging signal to the UE 102 after transmitting the LP-WUS; ¶ 0033: the LP-WUR 230 can receive a wake-up signal, such as an LP-WUS, to power on the main radio 220. The LP-WUR can pass the wake-up signal to the processor 210 and/or the main radio 220 to turn on the main radio 220); and
the MR operably coupled to the processor, the MR configured to receive the MBS session data (see Cui, ¶ 0004: The processor is further configured to turn on the main radio and receive a paging message from the base station; ¶ 0022: The UE then determines that the LP-WUS indicates turning on the main radio of the UE. The LP-WUS subsequently turns the main radio on. In some aspects, the base station 104 can transmit a paging signal to the UE 102 after transmitting the LP-WUS; ¶ 0034: the main radio 220 can receive paging signals from the base station to enter an RRC connected mode. The main radio 220 can also perform small data transmission with the base station and/or early measurements to monitor channel qualities of neighboring cells) when at least one MBS session is activated.
Cui discloses monitoring paging message (interpreted as MBS session) in response to a reception of LP WUS but does not explicitly disclose receiving the MBS session data when at least one MBS session is activated.
However, Liu discloses receive the MBS session data when at least one MBS session is activated (see Liu, ¶ 0009: receiving a paging message includes: [0010] receiving, by a UE, a paging message from a base station; ¶ 0011: after reading, by the UE, information in the paging message according to a situation of the UE for supporting MBS, receiving, by the UE, an MBS session; ¶ 0027: when an MBS session is about to be activated, the AMF transmits a paging message to respective base stations in a paging area; ¶ 0059: the base station supporting MBS, selects the group paging message, and transmits the paging message including MBS session information at all POs, or the base station not supporting MBS selects the paging message, and transmits the paging message only including UE ID information at a PO corresponding to the UE ID; ¶ 0097: the UE monitors a group paging message when the UE wakes up at a PO or a PF corresponding to an MBS session the UE subscribes to, to confirm whether the MBS session is about to be activated; ¶ 0296: The AMF transmits two sets of paging messages, one of which only includes MBS session information (such as the TMGI and the multicast and broadcast address) that the session start is about to occur, and the other of which is a conventional paging message, i.e. only includes UE ID information).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Liu and incorporate it into the system of Cui to achieve improved energy saving in the communication system (see Liu, ¶ 0023).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Applicant is merely claiming the transmission part of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,749,958 to Segev et al. discloses low power signaling using a wake-up receiver. In one embodiment, after receiving the wake-up packet, the LP-WUR may generate a wake-up signal to be sent to the one or more components that are in an active or dormant mode (e.g., powered off) on the FTM responder (or the ad hoc AP). The governing device 402 may utilize a low-power wake-up transmitter 430 to send a wake-up packet 432 to the low-power wake-up receiver (LP-WUR) 434 included in the responding device 422 during, for example, the FTM service session.
US 2025/0280362 to Zhou et al. discloses a device may send a low power wake-up signal through broadcast, to wake up a terminal device in an idle state or an inactive state. An example in which the network device performs the method is used. The network device generates a low power wake-up signal, where the network device sends the low power wake-up signal through broadcast, where the low power wake-up signal includes a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform symbols in time domain, each of the plurality of OFDM symbols carries a plurality of on-off keying (OOK) symbols, each of the plurality of OOK symbols corresponds to one time domain sequence, and the time domain sequence is used to implement frequency domain amplitude randomization.
US 2017/0332327 to Fang et al. discloses low power receiver for wireless communication. When the AP with WUT capable wants to send a broadcast message to the power saving STAs in the BSS, it could send the Wake-up Request 904 to the WUT to request sending the broadcast WUS to WURs of power saving stations in the BSS. WUT of AP could set the WUR ID field of WUS to the broadcast address so that the WUS could be reached to WUR of power saving STAs in the BSS.
US 2018/0288706 to Fang et al. discloses providing an operational cyclic prefix length to decode a wake-up packet. According to one embodiment, after the last packet transmission from the main radio, for example, the main radio 110 of STA 108 of FIG. 1, the main radio may transmit a communication including an indication that the main radio is to go into a sleep state, and that a wake-up receiver, such as the LP-WUR 112 of STA 108, would be monitoring the air medium subsequently. In such a case, the wireless communication system receiving the last packet communication, such as AP 102 of FIG. 1, may transmit a wake-up payload, such as for example a LP-WU payload, to the wake-up receiver of the device having the main radio, such as to wake-up receiver 112 of STA 108. The wake-up packet may be a LP-WU packet such as LP-WU 128 of FIG. 1.
/RASHEED GIDADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464