Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-21 are pending and claims 1, 7, and 17-18 are currently amended
Claim Objections
Claims 19-21 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 19-21 are missing their status identifiers (original). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heating element in claim 1.
Movable cartridge detecting element in claim 1.
Biasing element in claim 13
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. All elements are disclosed through applicants’ specification and figures and will be understood as being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Examiner notes that the biasing element is not showing the correct element in figure 5 (see above drawing objection) and should indicate to the biasing elements of 70d, understood being springs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westphal (U.S. 2017/0209612).
With respect to claim 1, Westphal discloses a portable insect repelling (figures 1-3 and 18, paragraph 0043 utilizing insecticide) device comprises:
a body (figures 1-3, the body of air freshener 30, having body 42, 70, and 34) including a top portion (lid 34) and a bottom portion (bottom of 70 (where 198 is) and below),
the top portion including an opening (the vents 58) in fluid communication with an interior of the body (fluid communication via airflow);
the bottom portion including:
a bottom wall (bottom wall of 42, see figure 10, with the recess going into the bottom wall) including a recess formed therein (figure 18, the recess within 42, as the body has a recess going down inside the body);
a cartridge adapter (the cartridge holder 118) configured to releasably secure a cartridge (cartridge 154 with cartridge holder 74) including insect repellant (paragraph 0043);
a heating element (202) positioned adjacent to the cartridge adapter (figure 18, positioned adjacent to 74);
a movable cartridge detecting element (figure 15, 198, paragraph 0052) configured to contact the cartridge (paragraphs 0052-0053, via insertion of the cartridge into the cartridge holder into the device) when the cartridge is mounted in the recess (as shown in figure 18);
a power source (paragraph 0046 and 0048, from 186) electrically connected to the heating element (paragraphs 0049 and 0052) and operable to selectively activate the heating element (via the switch being engaged, paragraph 0052),
wherein the heating element is activated based on a position of the cartridge detecting element (paragraph 0052).
With respect to claim 2, Westphal discloses the top portion and the bottom portion are integrated (as shown in figure 1, where when assembled the two elements are integrated together into one body).
With respect to claim 3, Westphal discloses the top potion includes a top wall (figure 18, top wall of 34) and sidewall extending downward therefrom to the bottom wall (the sidewall of 34 extending down the sides thereof).
With respect to claim 4, Westphal discloses the opening is formed in the top wall (vents of 58).
With respect to claim 5, Westphal discloses the opening is formed in the sidewall (the vent
being in the sidewall).
With respect to claim 6, Westphal discloses the opening includes a plurality of slots formed in the sidewall (being the vents of 58).
With respect to claim 9, Westphal discloses a middle portion (the middle portion being at where 38 is located) positioned between the upper portion and the lower portion (see figure 18).
With respect to claim 10, Westphal discloses the lower portion includes a control circuit (PCB 190) configured to selectively activate the heating element (paragraphs 0046-0049).
With respect to claim 11, Westphal discloses at least one contact electrically connected to the control circuit (the contacts connected to the PCB 190, see figure 14).
With respect to claim 12, Westphal discloses the cartridge adapter includes a rod (rod of 210), movably mounted in the bottom portion (as shown in figure 18, being within the walls within 70) and movable from a closed position (where 198 engages 74), in which the rod is in contact with the cartridge (74 engages 198) and the at least one contact (the electrical contact that then goes to 190, see figure 14 and 18) and allows an electrical connection between the power source and the heating element (paragraphs 0046-0049 and 0052) and an open position (where 74 is not in contact) in which the rod is separated from the contact and prevents electrical connection between the power source and the heating element (paragraphs 0046-0049 and 0052).
With respect to claim 13, Westphal discloses a biasing element (figure 15, between the base of 198 and that of 210, understood being by the hinge so that the switch can reset without 74 being moved off the top of it, though not specifically disclosed it is understood the switch has some element that returns it to its open position when no pressure is applied) mounted in the lower portion and configured to bias the rod in the open position (as shown in figure 15’s open position).
With respect to claim 14, Westphal discloses an input device operably connected to the control circuit (the input from 108 to 190), wherein the control circuit activates the heating element based on input information provided by the input device (based on the input sent from the switches electrical contact to the PCB).
With respect to claim, Westphal discloses the cartridge adapter includes a rod (210), movably mounted in the bottom portion and movable from a closed position (paragraphs 0046-0049 and 0052), in which the rod is in contact with the cartridge and the at least one contact and allows an electrical connection between the power source and the heating element (paragraphs 0046-0049 and 0052) and an open position in which the rod is separated from the contact and prevents electrical connection between the power source and the heating element (paragraphs 0046-0049 and 0052) and the control circuit activates the heating element based on the input information and position of the rod (being that the rod has completed the circuit and told the PCB to activate the heater).
With respect to claim 16, Westphal discloses an indicator mounted in the body (194) and configured to indicate activation of the heating element (paragraph 0046).
With respect to claim 19, Westphal discloses a charging circuit (where 186 plugs into) electrically connected to the power source (186) and configured to recharge the power source (bringing charge to 186).
With respect to claim 20, Westphal a charging port (the port formed by 174) configured for connection to an external power source (when the device is inserted to be powered) and electrically connected to the charging circuit (allowing the device to charge and be powered).
Claim(s) 1, 17-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (U.S. 2002/0181946).
With respect to claim 1, Brown discloses a portable insect repelling device (figure 1, paragraph 0015) comprises:
a body (figure 1, the body of 1, having 1 and 9) including a top portion (top portion of 1) and a bottom portion (bottom portion of 1),
the top portion including an opening (opening at 6) in fluid communication with an interior of the body (as shown in figure 1, as 6 opens up into the interior of 1);
the bottom portion including:
a bottom wall (bottom wall of 1 about 3) including a recess formed therein (the recess being the space within 1 and 9);
a cartridge adapter (8) configured to releasably secure a cartridge (50) including insect repellant (paragraph 0015); a heating element (2) positioned adjacent to the cartridge adapter (being adjacent and above 8); a movable cartridge detecting element (20) configured to contact the cartridge when the cartridge is mounted in the recess (paragraphs 0062-0066);
a power source electrically connected to the heating element (paragraph 0057) and operable to selectively activate the heating element (paragraph 0057 and 0062-0066), wherein the heating element is activated based on a position of the cartridge detecting element (paragraphs 0073-0076, where the selecting means acts as a switch, where the container contacts them activated the heating unit).
With respect to claim 17, Brown discloses wherein the heating element is positioned adjacent a top of the cartridge (as shown in figure 1) and configured to heat repellant from the cartridge to vaporize the repellant (abstract) and provide vaporized repellant (abstract).
With respect to claim 18, Brown discloses a passage formed in the top portion (passageway within the top of 1) to provide fluid communication from the cartridge to the opening which is formed in a top wall of the top portion to allow the vaporized repellant to exit the housing (allowing the fluid from 2 to pass through 1 and out through 6).
With respect to claim 21, Brown discloses the heating element is ring shaped (figure 1, as 2 is a ring about the wick 52) and configured to receive a wick (52) extending from a top of the cartridge to heat repellant in the wick (as shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westphal.
With respect to claim 7, Westphal discloses the body, having a sidewall, a top wall, a bottom wall, and the body, but fails to disclose the body includes four sides and sidewalls extend from the top wall to the bottom wall on four sides of the body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the housing of Westphal to a square instead of circular (and thus having 4 sidewalls), since the change of a shape is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed structure was significant. MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to claim 8, Westphal as modified discloses the slots are formed in each sidewall of the four sidewalls (as the slots are spaced about all sides of the housing, about its entire perimeter).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants first argument is towards the claimed interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), arguing that the claimed limitations do not apply under 112(f). Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2181 discloses that a 3-prong analysis is done to the claims,
The claimed limitations were all found using a generic placeholder (element) and the functional language of biasing, heating, detecting. The limitations are being understood as being the disclosed elements in applicants’ specification and equivalents thereof.
Applicant further argues that Westphal fails to disclose “a movable cartridge detecting element configured to contact the cartridge when the cartridge is mounted in the recess” arguing that the element 198 is not a movable cartridge detecting element. The examiner respectfully disagrees, 198 is a switch that has lever 210 that is moved (see figure 15) when the cartridge is placed in the device and along with 74 (being taken as part of the cartridge) comes in contact and pushed down onto the switch. This occurs when the cartridge is inserted into the device and the device is then housed (pushed down) contacting and pushing the switch lever 210 which then activates the heaters. The heaters do not activate until the assembly is assembled as shown in figure 19 (figures 15-16 show it not full in contact).
Applicant further argues that Brown fails to disclose “a movable cartridge detecting element configured to contact the cartridge when the cartridge is mounted in the recess… wherein the heating element is activated based on a position of the cartridge detecting element.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The container 50 of brown is being read to be the movable cartridge movable as it is threaded with respect to threads 8. Applicants references paragraph 0066 of Brown arguing that no activation is happening when 50 is fixed, however, paragraph 0062 and figure 4b, shows the inserted container (cartridge) coming into contact with 20. Where 20 is then actuated and being the selecting means is arranged to be selectively activated by the container (abstract). Paragraph 0015 further discloses that the heater unit will only operate at a specific predetermined temperature when a container is applied that has the special activating features or activating means (and thus activates the selecting means of 20). See also paragraphs 0017-0019 and 0023-0025, where there is the noted activated of the heater at different temperature settings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752