DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (CA 2 353 595) in view of Langer (US 3,218,446) and Chi (US 2009/0034778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koizumi et al. teaches a light guide assembly for use with a speaker assembly, the light guide assembly comprising:
a light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide) including an elongated body having end portions with a central portion therebetween, the body having a post (pole piece 24; see figure 5) depending downwardly from each end portion (see at least figure 5, portion 40 of the light guide).
Koizumi et al. does not explicitly teach light boxes removably connectable to the posts, each light box having a light source disposed therein for illuminating the light guide.
Langer teaches light boxes (modular unit 14; figure 1 and 2) removably connectable to the posts (see figure 2), each light box having a light source (column 2, lines 11-15) disposed therein.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koizumi et al. to include light boxes removably connectable to the posts as taught by Langer an obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Koizumi et al. modified by Langer does not explicitly teach wherein illumination of the light guide by the light source is controlled in coordination with an operation of the speaker assembly and the light source being an LED.
Chi teaches a light guide (12; paragraph [0080]) illuminated by a light source (LEDs; see paragraph [0085]) is controlled in coordination with an operation of the speaker assembly (see paragraph [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koizumi et al. to emit light in coordination with the operation of the speaker as taught by Chi as an obvious design choice to control the light source of the speaker.
Regarding claim 2, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, wherein the light boxes are configured to be coupled to the speaker assembly (see at least figure 5 where light sources 36 are coupled to the speaker device 11).
Regarding claim 3, Koizumi et al. modified by Chi teaches the light guide assembly of claim 2, and Koizumi et al. further teaches wherein the light boxes are integrally formed with the speaker assembly (see speaker assembly 11 in at least figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, wherein each light box has a generally rectangular housing (see at least figure 5) with a first portion and a second portion removably connected to each other, each light box including a mounting aperture for receiving the post from the light guide (24).
Regarding claim 6, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, wherein the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide) includes a cap (figure 5) configured to be disposed along a top face of the body (see at least figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 6, wherein at least one of the body and the cap includes a logo thereon (see figure 5)
Regarding claim 8, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, wherein each light box includes a light mixing conduit mounted therein and having a first end adjacent to the light source and a second end adjacent to the post (see at least figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, wherein the posts include masking elements including one of mirror plating or opaque end caps to prevent light leakage from the end portions of the light guide (pole piece 24; see figure 5).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (CA 2 353 595) in view of Langer (US 3,218,446) and Chi (US 2009/0034778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamato (US 2016/0082881).
Regarding claim 4, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the light source includes at least one programmable LED (see paragraph [0106]) mounted to and controlled via a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed within each light box (see at least figure 2).
Yamato et al. teaches wherein the light source includes at least one programmable LED (see paragraph [0106]) mounted to and controlled via a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed within each light box (see at least figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the audio assembly of Koizumi et al. to include a programmable LED and printed circuit board as taught by Yamato et al. as an obvious design choice to control the operation of the light source of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the light guide includes prisms on the body to control light emitted from the light guide.
Yamato et al. teaches wherein the light guide includes prisms (22d; see paragraph [0109]) on the body to control light emitted from the light guide (22 and 23 combined; see at least figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the audio assembly of Koizumi et al. to include prisms as taught by Yamato et al. as an obvious design choice to control the emitting light from the light guide.
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (CA 2 353 595) in view of Langer et al. (US 3,218,446) and Yamato et al. (US 2016/0082881 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Koizumi et al. teaches a light guide assembly configured to be mounted to a speaker assembly, the light guide assembly comprising:
a light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) including an elongated body having end portions with a central portion therebetween, the body (see at least figure 5) having a post (24) extending downwardly from each end portion.
Koizumi et al. does not explicitly teach light boxes integrally formed with the speaker assembly and removably connectable to each of the posts, each light box having a generally rectangular housing with a first portion and a second portion removably connected to each other, each light box including a mounting aperture for receiving the post from the light guide to mount the light guide assembly to the speaker assembly.
Langer teaches light boxes (modular unit 14; figure 1 and 2) integrally formed with the speaker assembly (25) and removably connectable to each of the posts (see figure 2 and column 2, lines 1-0-15), each light box (14) having a generally rectangular housing with a first portion and a second portion removably connected to each other (see sides of 14 that are removably connected to each other), each light box (14) including a mounting aperture for receiving the post (see figure 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koizumi et al. to include light boxes removably connectable to the posts as taught by Langer an obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Koizumi et al. does not explicitly teach each light box having at least one programmable LED mounted to and controlled by a printed circuit board (PCB) for illuminating the light guide.
Yamato et al. teaches each light box having at least one programmable LED (LED 21; see at least paragraph [0106]) mounted to and controlled by a printed circuit board (PCB) for illuminating the light guide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the audio assembly of Koizumi et al. to include a programmable LED and printed circuit board as taught by Yamato et al. as an obvious design choice to control the operation of the light source of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Koizumi et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 11, wherein the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) includes a cap (figure 5) configured to be disposed along a top face of the body, wherein at least one of the body and the cap includes a logo thereon (see at least figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, Yamato et al. teaches the light guide assembly of claim 11, wherein each light box includes a light mixing conduit mounted therein and having a first end adjacent to the at least one programmable LED (LED 21; see at least paragraph [0106]) and a second end adjacent to the post (see at least figure 2).
Claim(s) 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (CA 2 353 595) in view of Langer (US 3,218,446) and Kirino et al. (US 2013/0272021 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Koizumi et al. teaches an audio assembly configured to be mounted to a substrate having a top surface and a bottom surface, the audio assembly comprising:
a speaker assembly configured to be mounted below the bottom surface of the substrate (see at least figure 5); and a light guide assembly (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) including a light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5 ) configured to be disposed above the top surface of the substrate, the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) including an elongated body having end portions with a central portion therebetween, the body having a post (24) depending downwardly from each end portion and configured to extend through openings in the substrate.
Koizumi et al. does not explicitly teach light boxes each including a light source disposed therein for illuminating the light guide, the light boxes configured to be mounted below the bottom surface of the substrate and to receive the posts to removably connect the light thereto.
Langer teaches light boxes (modular unit 14; figure 1 and 2) each including a light source (see column 2, lines 10-15), the light boxes (14) configured to be mounted below the substrate and to receive the posts to removably connect the light thereto (see figures 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koizumi et al. to include light boxes removably connectable to the posts as taught by Langer an obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Koizumi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the light boxes are coupled to the speaker assembly such that the light guide assembly at least partially overlies the speaker assembly.
Kirino et al. teaches light sources (12) coupled to the speaker assembly (speaker body 11) such that the light guide (13) at least partially overlies the speaker assembly (speaker body 11; see figures 4B and 5A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the audio assembly of Koizumi et al. to couple the speaker assembly to the light boxes such that the light guide assembly partially overlies the speaker assembly as taught by Kirino et al. as an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 18, Koizumi et al. further teaches the audio assembly of claim 15, wherein each light box (36) has a generally rectangular housing with a first portion and a second portion removably connected to each other (see at least figure 5), and wherein each light box includes a mounting aperture for receiving the post from the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) to mount the light guide assembly to the speaker assembly (11; figure 5).
Regarding claim 19, Koizumi et al. teaches the audio assembly of claim 15, wherein the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) includes a cap configured to be disposed along a top face of the body, wherein at least one of the body and the cap (figure 5) includes a logo thereon.
Regarding claim 20, Koizumi et al. further teaches the audio assembly of claim 15, wherein illumination of the light guide (transparent part 40 of center cap 34 is equivalent to light guide; figure 5) by the light source (36) is controlled in coordination with an operation of the speaker assembly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (CA 2 353 595) in view of Langer (US 3,218,446) and Kirino et al. (US 2013/0272021 A1) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Yamato et al. (US 2016/0082881 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Koizumi et al. modified by Kirino et al. teaches the audio assembly of claim 15, but Koizumi et al. modified by Kirino et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the light source includes at least one programmable LED mounted to and controlled via printed circuit board (PCB) disposed within each light box.
Yamato et al. teaches each light box having at least one programmable LED (LED 21; see at least paragraph [0106]) mounted to and controlled by a printed circuit board (PCB) for illuminating the light guide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the audio assembly of Koizumi et al. to include a programmable LED and printed circuit board as taught by Yamato et al. as an obvious design choice to control the operation of the light source of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot in view of applicant’s arguments of independent claims 1, 11 and 15.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875