Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant’s argument submitted on 07/21/2026 are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Kwon (WO 2013165228, hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a method comprising: detecting, by a wireless communication device, at least one triggering condition (page 47; para 02-03 and page 49; para 02-03; the UE checks whether or not a PHR and a PRACH are transmitted simultaneously in a subframe in which the PHR is triggered. That is, the UE checks the timing location of the subframe in which the PHR is triggered and checks whether or not the PHR and the PRACH are transmitted simultaneously based on the checked timing location. If, as a result of the check, the PHR and the PRACH are simultaneously transmitted, the UE triggers the PHR only if all PUSCHs have been substantially transmitted and the transmission power of a PUSCH has not been scaled. That is, the UE triggers the PHR only when an error due to power scaling is not generated) for sending power headroom information to a base station (page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition), the power headroom information being for at least one downlink (DL) physical channel or signal from the base station (page 63; para 03 – physical downlink channel PDCCH – according to applicant’s specs para 0074 – The channels/signals may include PDCCH);
and sending, by the wireless communication device to the base station, the power headroom information responsive to the at least one triggering condition (page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition; and page 63; para 03; PHR is triggered base on a result of the check).
Regarding claim 16, Kwon discloses a wireless communication device, comprising at least one processor (page 57; last para; 2110 & 2115) configured to
detect at least one triggering condition (page 47; para 02-03 and page 49; para 02-03; the UE checks whether or not a PHR and a PRACH are transmitted simultaneously in a subframe in which the PHR is triggered. That is, the UE checks the timing location of the subframe in which the PHR is triggered and checks whether or not the PHR and the PRACH are transmitted simultaneously based on the checked timing location. If, as a result of the check, the PHR and the PRACH are simultaneously transmitted, the UE triggers the PHR only if all PUSCHs have been substantially transmitted and the transmission power of a PUSCH has not been scaled. That is, the UE triggers the PHR only when an error due to power scaling is not generated) for sending power headroom information to a base station (page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition), the power headroom information being for at least one downlink (DL) physical channel or signal from the base station (page 63; para 03 – physical downlink channel PDCCH – according to applicant’s specs para 0074 – The channels/signals may include PDCCH);
and sending, via a transmitter to the base station, the power headroom information responsive to the at least one triggering condition (page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition; and page 63; para 03; PHR is triggered base on a result of the check).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a base station from a wireless communication device (page 02; Abstract and page 64; para 02 – UE transmitting a power headroom report to BS), power headroom information for at least one downlink (DL) physical channel or signal form the base station (page 47; para 02-03 and page 49; para 02-03; the UE checks whether or not a PHR and a PRACH are transmitted simultaneously in a subframe in which the PHR is triggered. That is, the UE checks the timing location of the subframe in which the PHR is triggered and checks whether or not the PHR and the PRACH are transmitted simultaneously based on the checked timing location. If, as a result of the check, the PHR and the PRACH are simultaneously transmitted, the UE triggers the PHR only if all PUSCHs have been substantially transmitted and the transmission power of a PUSCH has not been scaled. That is, the UE triggers the PHR only when an error due to power scaling is not generated - page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition),
wherein the power headroom information is sent to the base station responsive to at least one triggering condition for sending the power headroom information to the base station (page 63; para 03 – physical downlink channel PDCCH – according to applicant’s specs para 0074 – The channels/signals may include PDCCH).
Regarding claim 18, Kwon discloses a base station (page 02; Abstract – BS) comprising:
at least one processor (page 60, para 01; control unit 2160) configured to:
receiving, via a receiver from a wireless communication device (page 02; Abstract and page 64; para 02 – UE transmitting a power headroom report to BS), power headroom information for at least one downlink (DL) physical channel or signal form the base station (page 47; para 02-03 and page 49; para 02-03; the UE checks whether or not a PHR and a PRACH are transmitted simultaneously in a subframe in which the PHR is triggered. That is, the UE checks the timing location of the subframe in which the PHR is triggered and checks whether or not the PHR and the PRACH are transmitted simultaneously based on the checked timing location. If, as a result of the check, the PHR and the PRACH are simultaneously transmitted, the UE triggers the PHR only if all PUSCHs have been substantially transmitted and the transmission power of a PUSCH has not been scaled. That is, the UE triggers the PHR only when an error due to power scaling is not generated - page 02; para 01; UE transmit a power head room report based on a PHR triggering condition),
wherein the power headroom information is sent to the base station responsive to at least one triggering condition for sending the power headroom information to the base station (page 63; para 03 – physical downlink channel PDCCH – according to applicant’s specs para 0074 – The channels/signals may include PDCCH).
Regarding claims 3, Kwon discloses wherein the at least one triggering condition comprises: receiving from the base station wireless communication node a signaling, the signaling comprising a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signaling, or a higher layer signaling (page 22; para 02; page 29; last para; DCI).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses wherein the signaling comprises at least one of: a timer, a time window, or a periodicity (page 25; para 01 – time window; page 46; para 03; timer).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses sending, by the wireless communication device, the power headroom information according to the periodicity (page 46; para 03 – periodic PHR); or
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the DL channel or signal with the periodicity for sending the power headroom information (page 16; para 03).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses wherein the at least one DL channel or signal includes at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (page 16; para 03; PDCCH), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the PDCCH (para 0119; DMRS for PDSCCH),
a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (page 25; para 01; PDSCH), a DMRS for the PDSCH, a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) for the PDSCH,
a synchronization signal block (SSB), a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a DMRS for a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a PBCH, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (para 0119; CSI-RS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for PDCCH comprises at least one of: a PDCCH that includes a downlink control information (DCI) for sending power headroom information, scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (page 25, para 2-3; page 29; last para),
a PDCCH that is configured by a higher layer signaling for sending power headroom information, with at least one of: a search space (SS) identifier (ID) or a control resource set (CORESET) ID,
a PDCCH that is transmitted in X symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein X or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling (page 28; para 02-03; page 32; para 01; and page 35; para 01-02), or
a PDCCH that is received with largest power, or is received before expiration of a timer, wherein the timer is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for PDSCH comprises at least one of: a PDSCH with a corresponding PDCCH that includes a downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for sending power headroom information (page 25; para 02-03),
a PDSCH with a corresponding PDCCH that is configured by a higher layer signaling for sending power headroom information, with at least one of: a search space (SS) identifier (ID) or a control resource set (CORESET) ID,
a PDSCH with a corresponding PDCCH, or the PDSCH itself, that is transmitted in X symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein X or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling, a PDSCH with a corresponding PDCCH, or the PDSCH itself, is received before expiration of a timer, wherein the timer is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling, a PDSCH that is scheduled using semi-persistent scheduling (SPS), a PDSCH that carries a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signaling , or a PDSCH scheduled with a predetermined modulation order or a predetermined modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index table.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses receiving, by the wireless communication device, a configuration via a higher layer signaling (page 32; para 01), a medium access control element (MAC CE) signaling (page 35; para 01; MAC CE), a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling (page 10; para 01 ; non-access stratum), or a signaling from the base station, wherein the configuration indicates a period of time for sending the power headroom information (page 26; para 02-03); and sending, by the wireless communication device to the base station, the power headroom information during the period of time (page 25, para 01), or sending, by the wireless communication device to the base station, the power headroom information for the at least one DL physical channel or signal in the period of time (page 25; para 01).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon discloses wherein the period of time comprises: one or more cycles for a resource or resource set of the at least one DL physical channel or signal (page 16; last para and page 49; last para); a time window; symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling (page 37; last para; higher layer signaling); or ms, us, frames or half frames, wherein is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling .
Regarding claim 15, Kwon discloses sending, by the wireless communication device to the base station wireless communication node, the power headroom information via at least one of: a radio resource configuration (RRC) signaling (page 10; para 01; RRC), a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signaling (page 21; para 02; MAC CE), a non access stratum (NAS) signaling (page 10; para 01; NAS), a channel state information (CSI) report (page 17; para 01; CSI), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) signaling, an uplink (UL) channel or signal that carries a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) message, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or user equipment (UE) assistance information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of He et al. (US 2020/0107272, hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon does not expclitly disclose wherein the at least one triggering condition comprises at least one of: the wireless communication node operating below a maximum output power, or a power of a received DL channel or signal is larger than a threshold value, where the threshold value is determined at least by one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index table, a MCS, a modulation, another DL channel or signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signaling, or a higher layer signaling, or, a defined downlink reference signal is absent or configured, or the corresponding configuration is present or absent, the defined downlink reference signal including a synchronization signal block (SSB), a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); or a DL channel or signal that is indicated, configured or scheduled with at least one of: a modulation order, a power, a code rate, a transmit block size (TBS), a port, a layer number, or one or more codewords, or
the wireless communication device is in connected mode, or
the wireless communication device receiving from the wireless communication node a DCI scrambled by a predetermined radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); or wherein the at least one triggering condition comprises the wireless communication node indicating that the wireless communication node is entering or in a network power saving mode, and wherein the network power saving mode comprises:
a sleep mode, the sleep mode comprising at least one of: a deep sleep mode, a light sleep mode, or a macro sleep mode, ora transition time, from a plurality of transition times corresponding to different network power saving modes.
In an analogous art, He discloses wherein the at least one triggering condition comprises at least one of: the wireless communication node operating below a maximum output power, or a power of a received DL channel or signal is larger than a threshold value (para 0076; 0084; 0103; the UE may then determine the path loss change and compare the path loss change with a threshold value to determine if the path loss change is greater than the threshold value. If the path loss change is greater than the threshold value, the UE may trigger generation of the PHR MAC CE), where the threshold value is determined at least by one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index table, a MCS, a modulation, another DL channel or signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signaling, or a higher layer signaling (para 0084; MAC CE). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon’s method/system by having He’s disclosure in order to improve quality of service by reducing path loss in a communication system.
5. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Si
(WO 2022022553, hereinafter Si).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for SSB comprises:
a SSB associated with a SSB index that is indicated, predefined or configured by high layer signaling, a SSB associated with a SSB set that is indicated, predefined or configured by higher layer signaling, a SSB in X symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling, a SSB in a half frame, or a SSB in a period.
In an analogous art, Si discloses wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for SSB comprises:
a SSB associated with a SSB index that is indicated, predefined or configured by high layer signaling (page 14; last para; page 21, para 01), a SSB associated with a SSB set that is indicated, predefined or configured by higher layer signaling (page 12; para 01 and page 17; para 02), a SSB in X symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling, a SSB in a half frame, or a SSB in a period (page 14; para 03). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon’s method/system by having Si’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for PRS comprises:
a PRS associated with an indicated, predefined or configured PRS resource set,
a PRS associated with an indicated, predefined or configured PRS resource,
a PRS in X symbols or slots or a time duration, wherein X or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling, or one or more PRS in a period or cycle.
In an analogous art, Si discloses wherein the triggering condition for sending power headroom information for PRS comprises:
a PRS associated with an indicated, predefined or configured PRS resource set (page 10, para 03), a PRS associated with an indicated, predefined or configured PRS resource (page 4; para 02-03), a PRS in X symbols or slots or a time duration (page 15; para 02), wherein X or the time duration is predefined or configured by a higher layer or DCI signaling (page 12; para 01), or one or more PRS in a period or cycle (page 20, para 02). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon’s method/system by having Si’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
6. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of MolanvainJazi et al. (US 2019/0313348, hereinafter MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the power headroom information comprises a value or range or set for a power headroom of the at least one DL physical channel or signal, wherein the value or range or set is based on an absolute value, or an offset or relative value.
In an analogous art, MolavianJazi discloses wherein the power headroom information comprises a value or range or set for a power headroom of the at least one DL physical channel or signal (para 0127), wherein the value or range or set is based on an absolute value, or an offset or relative valu (para 0127; 0129; relative value, absolute value). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon’s method/system by having Molavian’s disclosure in order to reduce power consumption by adjusting power control parameters.
Regarding claim 14, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the power headroom information comprises at least one of: an identifier (ID) of a control resource set (CORESET) or a CORESET pool, an ID of a serving cell,
an ID of a bandwidth part (BWP), an index of a sub-band,
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an indication of whether time division multiple access (TDMA) or frequency division multiple access (FDMA) is implemented,
a slot number, a frame number, an index of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a cycle position, an ID of a resource set or a resource of a PRS, CSI-RS, or SSB, an ID of a search space or a search spaces set, an identifier (ID) of a bandwidth part (BWP) set, wherein the BWP set includes one or more BWPs, a port number, or a set of port number.
In an analogous art, MolavianJazi discloses wherein the power headroom information comprises of:
an ID of a bandwidth part (BWP) (para 0131 and 0157; BWP_index), and
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (para 0174 and 0182; modulation and coding scheme). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon’s method/system by having Molavian’s disclosure in order to reduce power consumption by adjusting power control parameters.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment has necessitated the new ground of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAMINA CHOUDHRY whose telephone number is (571)270-7102. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Thursday (7:30 a.m. to 5.00p.m.).If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system,
see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information
system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462