CTNF 18/733,361 CTNF 92026 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-19 of U.S. Application No. 18733361 filed on 06/04/2024 are presented for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 7, and 19 requires a subset of the axial coolant channels filled with varnish. It is not clear how a channel that function as a coolant channel, be filled with varnish. Varnish is not a coolant. Varnish a material that hardens and does not flow to act as coolant, therefore, it is not clear how coolant channel be filled with varnish? Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Bradfield (US 2012/0080982; Hereinafter, “Bradfield”) . Regarding claim 8 : Bradfield discloses a stator core (laminated core 26) comprising a stack of laminations (para [0016]), each lamination having a cylindrical outer surface and flat end surfaces, each lamination having a plurality of inward facing projections (between slots 30), the laminations including: PNG media_image1.png 551 1033 media_image1.png Greyscale a first lamination (fig. 3A) defining a plurality of first radial grooves (50) in one of the flat end surfaces (the axial surfaces of the lamination), each first radial groove (50) extending inwardly from the outer surface (fig. 3A); and a second lamination (fig. 3B) defining a plurality of second radial grooves (52) in one of the flat end surfaces (the axial surfaces of the lamination), each second radial groove (52) extending outwardly from between two of the projections and abutting one of the first radial grooves (50) to form a radial channel. PNG media_image2.png 539 770 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9/8 : Bradfield discloses the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that the first radial grooves (50) do not extend to an inner surface and the second radial grooves (52) do not extend to the outer surface (fig. 3). Regarding claim 10/9/8 : Bradfield discloses the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that a barrier (58) connecting tips (the radially outer portion of the tip) of the projections to define axial coolant channels (54) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradfield (US 2012/0080982; Hereinafter, “Bradfield”) in view of Dlala et al. (US 2018/0054094; Hereinafter, “Dlala”) . Regarding claim 1 : Bradfield discloses a stator (24) for an electric motor (18; para [0016]), the stator comprising: a core (laminations 26) having two end surfaces (the axial surfaces of laminated core 26) connected by an outer surface (at sleeve 14) and an inner surface (facing rotor 22), the inner surface defining a plurality of axial stator poles (between slots 30; fig. 3-4) separated by a plurality of axial slots (30), the core (26) further defining a plurality of radial coolant channels (50, 52) between the outer surface and the slots (fig. 3); electrically conductive windings (made by conductors 28) within the slots (30); and a barrier (58) connecting tips (the radially outer portion of the tip) of the stator poles to close off the slots (fig. 4) thereby defining axial coolant channels (54) around the windings (it is understood that the coolant will seep to the gaps between and around the conductors 28) and extending between the end surfaces (see the arrows in fig. 2). Bradfield does not disclose that the core is magnetically conductive core. Dlala teaches forming the stator lamination from steel (which is magnetically conductive). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the core of Bradfield as a magnetically conductive core as taught by Dlala which is the normal practice in the art for the core to be able to conduct flux to and rotate the rotor. Regarding claim 2/1 : Bradfield in view of Dlala disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Bradfield further discloses the core (26) comprises a stack of laminations, each lamination forming a segment of the outer surface, the stator poles, and the axial slots (as seen in fig. 4), the stack including: a first lamination (fig. 3A) defining a plurality of first radial grooves (50) each extending from the outer surface towards one of the axial slots (30); and a second lamination (fig. 3B) defining a plurality of second radial grooves (52) each extending from one of the slots (30) toward the outer surface and abutting one of the first radial grooves (50) to form one of the radial coolant channels (Fig. 3D). Regarding claim 3/2/1 : Bradfield in view of Dlala disclose the limitations of claim 3 and Bradfield further discloses the first radial grooves (50) do not extend to the axial slot (30) and the second radial grooves (52) do not extend to the outer surface (Fig. 3A, 3B). Regarding claim 12 : Bradfield discloses a motor (para [0016]) comprising: a stator core (26) having two end surfaces (the two axial end surfaces of the core) connected by an outer surface (in contact with sleeve 14) and an inner surface (facing rotor 22), the inner surface defining a plurality of axial stator poles (defining slots 30) separated by a plurality of axial slots (30), the stator core (26) further defining a plurality of radial coolant channels (50, 52) between the outer surface and the slots (fig. 3); electrically conductive windings (made of conductors 28) within the slots (30); a barrier (58) connecting tips of the stator poles (the radially outer portion of the tip) to close off the slots (30) thereby defining axial coolant channels (54) around the windings (28) and extending between the end surfaces (see the arrows in fig. 2); and a pump (since the coolant is pressurized; para [0018]) configured to propel a coolant through the radial cooling channels into the axial coolant channels (as seen in fig. 2). Bradfield does not disclose that the core is magnetically conductive core, and does not expressly disclose pump. Dlala teaches forming the stator lamination from steel (which is magnetically conductive), and a pump (1219). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the core of Bradfield as a magnetically conductive core, and a pump as taught by Dlala which is the normal practice in the art for the core to be able to conduct flux to and rotate the rotor, and to circulate the coolant ensuring effective cooling. Regarding claim 13/12 : Bradfield in view of Dlala disclose the limitations of claim 12 and Bradfield further discloses a rotor (22) supported for rotation within the stator core (26). Regarding claim 14/12 : Bradfield in view of Dlala disclose the limitations of claim 12 and Bradfield further discloses the core (26) comprises a stack of laminations, each lamination forming a segment of the outer surface, the stator poles, and the axial slots (as seen in fig. 4), the stack including: a first lamination (fig. 3A) defining a plurality of first radial grooves (50) each extending from the outer surface towards one of the axial slots (30); and a second lamination (fig. 3B) defining a plurality of second radial grooves (52) each extending from one of the slots (30) toward the outer surface and abutting one of the first radial grooves (50) to form one of the radial coolant channels (Fig. 3D). Regarding claim 15/14/12 : Bradfield in view of Dlala disclose the limitations of claim 14 and Bradfield further discloses the first radial grooves (50) do not extend to the axial slot (30) and the second radial grooves (52) do not extend to the outer surface (Fig. 3A, 3B) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-6, 11, 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED ELNAKIB whose telephone number is (571)270-0638. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00AM-4:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/733,361 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834