DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2, “secondary cell group” should be replaced with “secondary cell group (SCG)” in order to properly establish the subsequent instances of the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US 2021/0218458, Kung hereafter)
RE claim 1, Kung discloses a second radio communication device comprising: a receiver (Figure 2, UE 250) configured to receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Paragraphs 285-320, RRC Reconfiguration) from a first radio communication device (Figure 2, BS 210); and a controller configured to, when the RRC message includes a first parameter and a second parameter, control to perform processing according to the second parameter (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320 are performed by a UE upon receiving from the network a RRC Reconfiguration message further comprised of a CellGroupConfig IE which further contains a spCellConfig with reconfigurationWithSync. The UE performs processing according to this message and protocol. Paragraph 290, suspended bearers are resumed).
Kung discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the processing according to the second parameter occurs after performing processing of resuming a radio bearer in a suspended state.
However, it would have merely been a matter of design choice to modify the steps disclosed in paragraphs 289 and 290 so as to have the bearer resumption step occur before processing the reconfigurationWithSync parameter. These steps are of a 3GPP specification whereby Examiner understands the numbered indent to indicate an ordered step. However it is further Examiners position that the main “1>” indents merely indicate a list of steps that must occur to meet the specification and the order in which they occur is not critical. The same goes for the plural “2>” indent steps under some of them. In this case paragraphs 280 and 290 are of equal priority and order. It would be a mere design choice of one of ordinary skill to have one occur before another while still meeting the specification.
Lacking any criticality, to shift location of prior art parts does not make the claimed invention patentable over that prior art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
RE claim 3, Kung discloses the second radio communication device according to claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kung further discloses wherein the radio bearer is a radio bearer associated with a secondary cell group (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320).
RE claim 5, Kung discloses the second radio communication device according to claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kung further discloses wherein the radio bearer is a data radio bearer (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320).
RE claim 6, Kung discloses a first radio communication device comprising: a transmitter (Figure 2, BS 210) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a second radio communication device (Figure 2, UE 250); and a controller configured to control, by controlling to cause the RRC message to include a first parameter and a second parameter, to cause the second radio communication device to perform processing according to the second parameter (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320 are performed by a UE upon receiving from the network a RRC Reconfiguration message further comprised of a CellGroupConfig IE which further contains a spCellConfig with reconfigurationWithSync. The UE performs processing according to this message and protocol. Paragraph 290, suspended bearers are resumed).
Kung discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the processing according to the second parameter occurs after performing processing of resuming a radio bearer in a suspended state.
However, it would have merely been a matter of design choice to modify the steps disclosed in paragraphs 289 and 290 so as to have the bearer resumption step occur before processing the reconfigurationWithSync parameter. These steps are of a 3GPP specification whereby Examiner understands the numbered indent to indicate an ordered step. However it is further Examiners position that the main “1>” indents merely indicate a list of steps that must occur to meet the specification and the order in which they occur is not critical. The same goes for the plural “2>” indent steps under some of them. In this case paragraphs 280 and 290 are of equal priority and order. It would be a mere design choice of one of ordinary skill to have one occur before another while still meeting the specification.
Lacking any criticality, to shift location of prior art parts does not make the claimed invention patentable over that prior art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
RE claim 8, Kung discloses the first radio communication device according to claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Kung further discloses wherein the radio bearer is a radio bearer associated with a secondary cell group (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320).
RE claim 10, Kung discloses the first radio communication device according to claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Kung further discloses wherein the radio bearer is a data radio bearer (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320).
RE claim 11, Kung discloses radio communication system comprising: a first radio communication device (Figure 2, BS 210)configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; and a second radio communication device configured to receive the RRC message (Figure 2, UE 250), and when some or all of configured radio bearers are in a suspended state and the RRC message includes a first parameter and a second parameter, control to perform processing according to the second parameter (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320 are performed by a UE upon receiving from the network a RRC Reconfiguration message further comprised of a CellGroupConfig IE which further contains a spCellConfig with reconfigurationWithSync. The UE performs processing according to this message and protocol. Paragraph 290, suspended bearers are resumed).
Kung discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the processing according to the second parameter occurs after performing processing of resuming a radio bearer in a suspended state.
However, it would have merely been a matter of design choice to modify the steps disclosed in paragraphs 289 and 290 so as to have the bearer resumption step occur before processing the reconfigurationWithSync parameter. These steps are of a 3GPP specification whereby Examiner understands the numbered indent to indicate an ordered step. However it is further Examiners position that the main “1>” indents merely indicate a list of steps that must occur to meet the specification and the order in which they occur is not critical. The same goes for the plural “2>” indent steps under some of them. In this case paragraphs 280 and 290 are of equal priority and order. It would be a mere design choice of one of ordinary skill to have one occur before another while still meeting the specification.
Lacking any criticality, to shift location of prior art parts does not make the claimed invention patentable over that prior art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0232494, Wang hereafter).
RE claim 2 and 7, Kung discloses the second radio communication device according to claim 1 and the first radio communication device according to claim 6 as set forth above. Kung does not explicitly disclose wherein the first parameter is a reconfiguration with sync parameter for a secondary cell group, and the second parameter is a parameter indicating that the SCG is in a deactivated state.
However, Wang teaches wherein the first parameter is a reconfiguration with sync parameter for a secondary cell group, and the second parameter is a parameter indicating that the SCG is in a deactivated state (Paragraph 119 teaches a terminal receiving an RRCReconfiguration messages comprising a “reconfigurationWithSync element and the RRCReconfiguration message indicates that the SCG is deactivated (such as, by a first indication). Then, the terminal device 130 determines to perform a PScell configuration (such as, change of PScell) and determines that the SCG is deactivated.”.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the devices of Kung with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Yilmaz et al. (US 2022/0141904, Yilmaz hereafter).
RE claims 4 and 9, Kung discloses the second radio communication device according to claim 1 and the first radio communication device according to claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Kung further discloses wherein the RRC message is RRC reconfiguration message (Paragraphs/Steps 286-290 and 303-320).
Kung does not explicitly disclose an RRC resumption message.
However, Yilmaz teaches an RRC resumption message (Paragraph 197, “the RRC resume mechanism is enhanced to permit a UE, with suspended MCG and SCG configurations, to be resumed, i.e. activated, with only the MCG while keeping the SCG suspended, i.e. deactivated.“.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the devices of Kung with the teachings of Yilmaz since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461