E000lection/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species S and T in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicants did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 13-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Nam et al (PG Pub 20150200603).
Regarding claim 1 and 13, 19, Nam et al teaches a solar system comprising:
a frame [fig 3 see drawing below] including:
a body;
a lower flange extending from the body; and
a cable management flange extending from an interior surface of the body above the lower flange,
wherein the cable management flange and the lower flange define a cable cavity therebetween. The recitation “for retaining a cable” is functional language which imparts intended use to the structural features of the product. Therefore, while the claim language has been considered with regard to structure, the intended use language it is not given patentable weight because it is directed to a process and not directed to the structural features of the product. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2111. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
a microinverter or casing 30 [fig 4-5 para 51]; and
an adapter assembly 49c attaching the microinverter to the frame [fig 4-5], the adapter assembly including:
an adapter including a microinverter attachment projection attached to the microinverter or casing, a frame attachment extension, and a side wall extending between the microinverter attachment projection and the frame attachment extension [fig 5 para 80-82]
Regarding claim 2 and 14, 20, Nam et al teaches the frame attachment extension of the adapter includes a fastener 64, and wherein the lower flange of the frame includes a pre-cut slot (244c, 244d) receiving the fastener [fig 4].
Regarding claim 8, Nam et al teaches microinverter assembly comprsing:
a microinverter 30 to the flange [fig 3-5]; and
an adapter assembly 49c attaching the microinverter to the frame [fig 4-5], the adapter assembly including:
an adapter including a microinverter attachment projection attached to the microinverter, a frame attachment extension, and a side wall extending between the microinverter attachment projection and the frame attachment extension [fig 5 para 80-82]
Regarding claim 9, Nam et al teaches the frame attachment extension of the adapter includes a fastener 64, and wherein the lower flange of the frame includes a pre-cut slot (244c, 244d) receiving the fastener [fig 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (PG Pub 20150200603) and in view of US 5571338, hereinafter as ‘338.
Regarding claim 5, 17, Nam et al teaches the body has a top, a bottom, the interior surface extending vertically between the top and the bottom of the body, an exterior surface extending vertically between the top and the bottom of the body [fig 3], but Nam et al does not teach an interior cavity between the interior surface and the exterior surface.
‘338 teaches a solar module system comprising a body has a top, a bottom, the interior surface extending vertically between the top and the bottom of the body, an exterior surface extending vertically between the top and the bottom of the body, an interior cavity between the interior surface and the exterior surface [fig 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an interior cavity between the interior surface and the exterior surface as taught by ‘338 since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Claim(s) 6-7, 18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (PG Pub 20150200603) and in view of Meine et al (PG Pub 20160268959).
Regarding claim 6-7, 18, 23, Nam et al teaches the micro-inverter attached to the solar module through a cable (ribbon) and the body defines an open recess above the lower flange [fig 3-5 para 10], but Nam et al does not teach the cable management dividing the open recess into regions.
Meine et al teaches a solar module system comprising cable management flange above the lower flange and the cable management divide the open recess into regions [fig 22] wherein there is the cable cavity (conduit 275) between the cable management flange and lower flange for retaining the cable (wire) [para 19 90].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the cable management flange of Nam et al to be divided into regions as taught by Meine et al since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007). Also, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the cable of modified Nam et al to be retained in the cable cavity as taught by Meine et al for safety and secure [para 90].
Conclusion
/UYEN M TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726