DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are maintained and made final. All arguments are addressed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 206102576U).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a wet/dry cleaner comprising:
a supply tank configured to receive a cleaning fluid (Item 4);
a recovery tank (Item 5);
a cleaning tool having a suction inlet (Item 54; Paragraph 26);
a suction motor fluidly coupled to the suction inlet (Item 6)
a flexible conduit (Item 53) configured to fluidly couple the cleaning tool to the supply tank and the recovery tank; and
a tool cleaner coupled to the supply tank, the tool cleaner being configured to cooperate with the cleaning tool to draw the cleaning fluid from the supply tank and into the cleaning tool when the suction motor is activated (Item 32 can pump fluid mechanically while the suction motor runs).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the wet/dry cleaner of claim 1, wherein the flexible conduit includes a supply line and a recovery line, the supply line fluidly coupling the supply tank to the cleaning tool and the recovery line fluidly coupling the recovery tank to the cleaning tool (Paragraph 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 206102576U) in view of McLain (US 2012/0298148).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the wet/dry cleaner of claim 1.
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the tool cleaner includes a tool platform having one or more fluid apertures and a tank duct, the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into a fluid cavity of the supply tank.
McLain teaches a tool cleaner wherein a tool platform (Item 24) having one or more fluid apertures and a tank duct (Item 35), the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into a fluid cavity of the supply tank (Item 33, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate the tool cleaner as taught by McLain. This arrangement would simplify the piping of Zhang and allow for the tool to be adequately cleaned without the need of electronically driven pumps or motors (McLain Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of McLain disclose the wet/dry cleaner of claim 2, wherein the one or more fluid apertures include a central group of apertures, a first lateral group of apertures arranged at one side of the central group of apertures, and a second lateral group of apertures arranged at another side of the central group of apertures (Annotated Figure 5).
Annotated Figure 5 - McLain
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of McLain disclose the wet/dry cleaner of claim 3, wherein a common aperture axis passes through at least a portion of each aperture forming the central group of apertures, the first lateral group of apertures, and the second lateral group of apertures (McLain Item 45 connects all the apertures).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of McLain disclose the wet/dry cleaner of claim 3, wherein the tool cleaner includes a tool cleaner valve configured to selectively transition between an open state and a closed state (Zhang Item 322 and 321).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of McLain disclose the wet/dry cleaner of claim 5, wherein the tool platform includes a valve actuator configured to transition the tool cleaner valve from the closed state to the open state, the valve actuator including at least one aperture of the central group of apertures (Item 323 of Zhang would be considered the actuator since it still presses against a tool body to induce the sliding movement to open and close the fluid path. Zhang includes an aperture for fluid, but as taught by Zhang, more can be located around the central area to move fluid in any manner.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of McLain disclose the wet/dry cleaner of claim 2, wherein one or more tool alignment walls extend from the tool platform (McLain has 3 studs covered in springs, while Zhang has at least one, maybe more walls depending on the shape of Item 32).
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 206102576U) in view of McLain (US 2012/0298148) in view of Scheifele (US 2006/0101607).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses an extraction cleaner comprising:
a supply tank (Item 4) configured to receive a cleaning fluid, the supply tank having a fluid cavity;
a recovery tank (Item 5);
a cleaning tool (Item 34) having a suction inlet;
a suction motor fluidly coupled to the suction inlet (Item 6)
a flexible conduit (Item 53) configured to fluidly couple the cleaning tool to the supply tank and the recovery tank; and
a tool cleaner coupled to the supply tank, the tool cleaner being configured to cooperate with the cleaning tool to draw the cleaning fluid from the supply tank and into the cleaning tool when the suction motor is activated (Item 32 can pump fluid mechanically while the suction motor runs).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose a surface cleaning head; an upright section pivotally coupled to the surface cleaning head.
Scheifele teaches an upright extraction cleaner with a surface cleaning head (Item 200); an upright section pivotally coupled to the surface cleaning head (Item 100; paragraph 94). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the overall cleaner type of Zhang to be the upright cleaner as taught by Scheifele. The two types of products are considered obvious variants of each other because the accomplish the same cleaning tasks and hold the same cleaning components. The upright style is used for a wider area, while the Zhang style is more portable and is capable for spot cleaning but would be a burden if having to do a wide area.
Zhang further fails to explicitly disclose the tool cleaner including: a tool platform having one or more fluid apertures; and a tank duct, the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into the fluid cavity of the supply tank.
McLain teaches a tool cleaner wherein a tool platform (Item 24) having one or more fluid apertures and a tank duct (Item 35), the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into a fluid cavity of the supply tank (Item 33, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate the tool cleaner as taught by McLain. This arrangement would simplify the piping of Zhang and allow for the tool to be adequately cleaned without the need of electronically driven pumps or motors (McLain Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 10 and 16, Zhang in view of Scheifele in view of McLain disclose the upright extraction cleaner of claim 9, wherein the one or more fluid apertures include a central group of apertures, a first lateral group of apertures arranged at one side of the central group of apertures, and a second lateral group of apertures arranged at another side of the central group of apertures (Annotated Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11 and 17, Zhang in view of Scheifele in view of McLain disclose the upright extraction cleaner of claim 10, wherein a common aperture axis passes through at least a portion of each aperture forming the central group of apertures, the first lateral group of apertures, and the second lateral group of apertures (McLain Item 45 connects all the apertures)..
Regarding claim 12 and 18, Zhang in view of Scheifele in view of McLain disclose the upright extraction cleaner of claim 10, wherein the tool cleaner includes a tool cleaner valve configured to selectively transition between an open state and a closed state (Zhang Item 322 and 321).
Regarding claim 13 and 19, Zhang in view of Scheifele in view of McLain disclose the upright extraction cleaner of claim 12, wherein the tool platform includes a valve actuator configured to transition the tool cleaner valve from the closed state to the open state, the valve actuator including at least one aperture of the central group of apertures (Item 323 of Zhang would be considered the actuator since it still presses against a tool body to induce the sliding movement to open and close the fluid path. Zhang includes an aperture for fluid, but as taught by Zhang, more can be located around the central area to move fluid in any manner).
Regarding claim 14 and 20, Zhang in view of Scheifele in view of McLain disclose the upright extraction cleaner of claim 9, wherein one or more tool alignment walls extend from the tool platform (McLain has 3 studs covered in springs, while Zhang has at least one, maybe more walls depending on the shape of Item 32).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses a portable extraction cleaner comprising:
a handle extending from the main body (Figure 1);
a supply tank (Item 4) and configured to receive a cleaning fluid, the supply tank having a fluid cavity;
a recovery tank (Item 5);
a cleaning tool (Item 34) having a suction inlet;
a suction motor fluidly coupled to the suction inlet (Item 6)
a flexible conduit (Item 53) configured to fluidly couple the cleaning tool to the supply tank and the recovery tank; and
a tool cleaner coupled to the supply tank, the tool cleaner being configured to cooperate with the cleaning tool to draw the cleaning fluid from the supply tank and into the cleaning tool when the suction motor is activated (Item 32 can pump fluid mechanically while the suction motor runs).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose a main body having a supply receptacle and a recovery receptacle; a supply tank removably received in the supply receptacle; a recovery tank removably received within the recovery receptacle.
Scheifele teaches a portable extraction cleaner having a supply receptacle and a recovery receptacle; a supply tank removably received in the supply receptacle; a recovery tank removably received within the recovery receptacle (Paragraph 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to allow the supply tank and the recovery tank to be removable as taught by Scheifele. Such a modification would allow for a user to easily remove the tanks for filling and emptying tasks.
Zhang further fails to explicitly disclose wherein the tool cleaner includes a tool platform having one or more fluid apertures and a tank duct, the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into a fluid cavity of the supply tank.
McLain teaches a tool cleaner wherein a tool platform (Item 24) having one or more fluid apertures and a tank duct (Item 35), the one or more fluid apertures being fluidly coupled to the tank duct, the tank duct extending into a fluid cavity of the supply tank (Item 33, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate the tool cleaner as taught by McLain. This arrangement would simplify the piping of Zhang and allow for the tool to be adequately cleaned without the need of electronically driven pumps or motors (McLain Paragraph 38).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the tool cleaner is activated mechanically and does not use the suction motor. The Examiner agrees with Applicant, but the claimed verbiage does not reflect the arguments. The claim limitations in question are “a tool cleaner coupled to the supply tank, the tool cleaner being configured to cooperate with the cleaning tool to draw the cleaning fluid from the supply tank and into the cleaning tool when the suction motor is activated”. As discussed by Applicant, the tool cleaner is mechanically driven and is independent of the suction motor. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the Zhang discloses the claim limitations because the cleaning tool could be cleaned while the suction motor is activated. Although the user will still need to apply a compressive force to pump the cleaning solution. If the claims were to be amended, similar to “a tool cleaner coupled to the supply tank, the suction motor onto the cleaning tool when the cleaning tool is placed in the tool cleaner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723