DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 15, & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254) in view of Choi (20220240664) & Wu (CN204677591).
Regarding claim 1, Jin ‘254 teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a foldable frame comprising: a middle support (A in Fig. 1 Annotated from Jin ‘254); a front section (B-C) pivotally connected (Fig. 9) to the middle support at a front side of the middle support, where the front section comprises a first front subsection (B), a second front subsection (C), and a front support (D) pivotally connected (Fig. 2) to the first front subsection of the front section; a rear section (E-F) pivotally connected (Fig. 9) to the middle support at a rear side of the middle support, wherein the rear section comprises a first rear subsection (E), a second rear subsection (F); and a rear support (G) pivotally connected to the first rear subsection of the rear section; wherein when the foldable frame is in a folded state, the first front subsection and the first rear subsection are disposed between the second front subsection and the second rear subsection (Fig. 10), with the front support disposed between the first and second front subsections (Figs. 7-8), and the rear support disposed between the first and second rear subsections (Figs. 7-8); and wherein when the foldable frame is in an unfolded state, the second front subsection and the second rear subsection are disposed between the first front subsection and the first rear subsection, and the front section and the rear section are supported by the front, middle and rear supports (Fig. 1); wherein the first & second front subsections & the first & second rear subsections are each connected by front & rear pivoting mechanisms (H). Jin ‘254 fail(s) to teach front & rear pivoting/locking mechanisms; and arguably fail(s) to teach left & right middle coupling pieces comprising second segments that abut left & right peripheral bars.
However, Choi ‘664 teaches a pivoting/locking mechanism (150) that pivotally connects first (111a) and second (111b) subsections to allow folding and unfolding of the first and second subsections relative to each other (par. 85) and selectively locks the first and second subsections to prevent accidental folding of the first and second subsections relative to each other (par. 3 & 86). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a pivoting/locking mechanism, as taught by Choi ‘664, for each of the front & rear pivoting mechanisms of Jin ‘254, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent accidental folding of the frame, thereby making the frame safer to use (as suggested by par. 86 & 121 of Choi ‘664).
Hence, Jin ‘254 as modified would teach a middle support (A) that comprises a left middle coupling piece (A) at a left side of the middle support and a right middle coupling piece (A) at a right side of the middle support; each of the second front subsection (C) and the second rear subsection (F) comprises a left peripheral bar (L) pivotally connected (Figs. 8-10) to the left middle coupling piece and a right peripheral bar (M) pivotally connected to the right middle coupling piece (Figs. 8-10). Additionally, Wu teaches connecting means (3) comprising left and right middle coupling pieces (3) each comprising a first segment (P in Fig. 1 Annotated from Wu) and a second segment (32) that are stacked with respect to each other (Fig. 1); wherein left peripheral bars (111) of front & rear subsections (11) are pivotally connected to the first segment (P) of the left middle coupling piece (Figs. 2-4 & par. 16), and right peripheral bars (111) of front & rear subsections (11) are pivotally connected to the first segment (P) of the right middle coupling piece (Figs. 2-4 & par. 16); and when a foldable frame (1) is unfolded and in an upright position (Fig. 1): the second segment (32) of the left middle coupling piece (3) abuts on (Figs. 2-3 & par. 16) and extends (see Fig. 1, showing the second segment (32) extending from the first segment (P)) to contact (i) at least a portion of the left peripheral bar (111) of the second front subsection (11) and (ii) at least a portion of the left peripheral bar (111) of the second rear subsection (11) along their respective bottom edges (see Figs. 2-3 & par. 16), the second segment (32) of the left middle coupling piece (3) thereby supporting the at least the portion of the left peripheral bar of the second front subsection and the supporting at least the portion of the left peripheral bar of the second rear subsection along their respective edges (Figs. 2-3 & par. 16), and the second segment (32) of the right middle coupling piece (3) abuts on (Figs. 2-3 & par. 16) and extends (Fig. 1) to contact (iii) at least a portion of the right peripheral bar (111) of the second front subsection (11) and (iv) at least a portion of the right peripheral bar (111) of the second rear subsection (11) along their respective bottom edges (Figs. 2-3 & par. 16), the second segment (32) of the right middle coupling piece (3) thereby supporting the at least the portion of the right peripheral bar of the second front subsection and the at least the portion of the right peripheral bar of the second rear subsection along their respective edges (Figs. 2-3 & par. 16), the second segment of the left middle coupling piece and the second segment of the right middle coupling piece thereby restricting the foldable frame from unfolding beyond the upright position (par. 16).1 It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute connecting means, as taught by Wu, for the left & right middle coupling pieces of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide additional support to the ends of the left & right peripheral bars, thereby preventing them from moving downward or collapsing (as suggested by par. 16 of Wu).
Regarding claim 4, Jin ‘254 teaches a front support (D) pivotally connected to a first front subsection (B) of the front section (B-C) through a lateral bar (J) disposed at the first front subsection of the front section (Fig. 1); or a rear support (G) pivotally connected to the first rear subsection (E) of the rear section (E-F) through a lateral bar (K) disposed at the first rear subsection of the rear section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches a respective pivoting/locking mechanism (150 of Choi ‘664) in the front and rear pivoting/locking mechanisms comprises: a first coupling piece (151 of Choi ‘664) fixed at a proximal end of a first bar (N of Jin ‘254), wherein the first bar is a peripheral bar of one of the first front subsection (B of Jin ‘254), second front subsection (C of Jin ‘254), first rear subsection (E of Jin ‘254) and second rear subsection (F of Jin ‘254); a second coupling piece (152 of Choi ‘664) fixed at a proximal end of a second bar (L-M of Jin ‘254) and pivotally coupled with the first coupling piece (as in par. 83 of Choi ‘664), wherein the second bar is a peripheral bar of another of the first front subsection, second front subsection, first rear subsection and second rear subsection and adjacent to the first bar (Fig. 1 of Jin ‘254); and a control unit (153 & 161-162 of Choi ‘664) operable to selectively restrict the first and second coupling pieces from rotating with respect to each other (as in par. 86 of Choi ‘664).
Regarding claim 9, Choi ‘664 teaches a first coupling piece (151) that comprises a first slot (155) elongated in a first direction (i.e., vertically - see Fig. 5b); the second coupling piece (152) comprises a second slot (157) with a closed bottom and an open top (par. 82), wherein the second slot is shorter than the first slot of the first coupling piece in the first direction (Fig. 5b & par. 82); and the control unit (153 & 161-162) comprises: a third coupling piece (153) comprising a third slot (159) with a closed bottom and a closed top (Fig. 5b & par 82), wherein the third slot is elongated in the first direction (Fig. 5b); a first rod (161) disposed, cross-sectional-wise, in the third slot of the third coupling piece and movable along the third slot of the third coupling piece (Fig. 5b & 7c and par. 83), wherein the first and second coupling pieces are pivotally coupled with each other by the first rod (par. 83); and a second rod (162) integrally formed or coupled with a top portion (at 158) of the third coupling piece, the second rod disposed, cross-sectional-wise, in the first slot of the first coupling piece and movable along the first slot of the first coupling piece (par. 84); wherein when the first and second coupling pieces are aligned with each other and the open top of the second slot of the second coupling piece faces downwardly, the third coupling piece together with the second rod moves by gravity to a first position where the second rod is disposed outside of the second slot of the second coupling piece, thereby allowing the first and second coupling pieces to rotate with respect to each other around the first rod (par. 85); and wherein when the first and second coupling pieces are aligned with each other and the open top of the second slot of the second coupling piece faces upwardly, the third coupling piece together with the second rod moves by gravity to a second position where the second rod is disposed in the second slot of the second coupling piece, thereby restricting the first and second coupling pieces from rotating with respect to each other around the first rod (par. 86).
Regarding claim 10, Choi ‘664 teaches a first rod (161) disposed adjacent to the bottom of the third slot (159) of the third coupling piece (153) at the first position (par. 85), and adjacent to the top of the third slot of the third coupling piece at the second position (par. 86).
Regarding claim 15, Choi ‘664 teaches first (151) and second (152) coupling pieces pivotally coupled with each other (par. 83) by a first rod (161) through a first hole (par. 83) formed at the first coupling piece & a second hole (par. 83) formed at the second coupling piece.
Regarding claim 40, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches a foldable frame. Additionally, mere duplication of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a second, identical foldable frame to the apparatus of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide additional storage capacity. Hence, Jin ‘254 as modified would teach two or more foldable frames capable of being disposed side by side (note that the frame in Fig. 1 of Jin could obviously be disposed side-by-side with another, identical frame) and removably connected to each other (e.g., with twist ties, rope, or tape).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254), Choi (20220240664) & Wu (CN204677591) in view of Choi (20200337468). Jin ‘254 as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including front (B-C) & rear (E-F) sections having first front (B) & rear (E) subsections and front (D) & rear (G) supports; and control means (202A, 220) to control rotation of the front & rear supports with respect to the first front & rear subsections; but fail(s) to teach adjustable bars. However, Choi ‘468 teaches control means (200) comprising an adjustable bar (200) having an end pivotally connected (Fig. 1) to a support and another end pivotally connected to a subsection (12, 14, 16) to control rotation of the support with respect to the subsection (par. 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute control means, as taught by Choi ‘468, for each of the control means of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to selectively lock the front & rear supports in the unfolded position (as suggested by par. 36 of Choi ‘468), and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known control means for another. Hence, Jin ‘254 as modified would teach front & rear adjustable bars (200 of Choi ‘468), each having an end pivotally connected (as in Fig. 1 of Choi ‘468) to the front (D of Jin ‘254) or rear (G of Jin ‘254) support and another end pivotally connected (as in Fig. 1 of Choi ‘468) to the first front (B of Jin ‘254) or rear (E of Jin ‘254) subsection of the front or rear section to control rotation of the front & rear supports with respect to the first front & rear subsections of the front & rear sections (as in par. 36 of Choi ‘468).
Claims 26-27 & 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254), Choi (20220240664) & Wu (CN204677591) in view of Jin (20120222216).
Regarding claims 26-27, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including peripheral bars (L-N of Jin ‘254) of first & second front & rear subsections (B-C & E-F of Jin ‘254); but fail(s) to teach connection sections. However, Jin ‘216 teaches a connection section (134), wherein: a first side (at 132) of the connection section is pivotally connected (via 132 - see Figs. 3-5 & par. 38) to a peripheral bar (110) of a subsection (102), thereby allowing the connection section to fold (Fig. 3) and unfold (Figs. 4-5) with respect to the subsection; a second side (at 120) of the connection section is configured to be detachably coupled (implied by par. 41, which fails to mention any permanent connection between 120 of one frame and 110 of another frame) with a structure (1002) when the connection section is unfolded with respect to the subsection (Fig. 5 & par. 41); and the connection section is disposed substantially within an interior defined by the subsection when the connection section is folded with respect to the subsection (Fig. 3). Additionally, mere duplication of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a connection section, as taught by Jin ‘216, to the each of the first & second front subsections of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the frame to be combined with another frame to support larger mattresses (as suggested by par. 41 of Jin ‘216). Hence, Jin ‘254 as modified would teach one or more connection sections (134 of Jin ‘216) that comprise a first connection section (134 of Jin ‘216) connected to the first front subsection (B of Jin ‘254) and a second connection section (134 of Jin ‘216) connected to the second front subsection (C of Jin ‘254).
Regarding claim 29, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches a respective connection section (134 of Jin ‘216) that comprises: one or more first connectors (132 of Jin ‘216) at the first side of the respective connection section to pivotally couple (as in Figs. 3-5 & par. 38 of Jin ‘216) the respective connection section with the peripheral bar (L, M, or N of Jin ‘254) of the corresponding subsection (B or C of Jin ‘254); and one or more second connectors (120 of Jin ‘216) at the second side of the respective connection section to detachably couple the respective connection section with the structure (as in Fig. 5 & par. 41 of Jin ‘216).
Regarding claim 30, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches one or more first connectors (132 of Jin ‘216) each disposed at an interior side of the peripheral bar (L, M, or N of Jin ‘254) of the corresponding subsection (B or C of Jin ‘254) when the foldable frame is folded (as in Fig. 2 of Jin ‘216).
Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 15, & 40 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254) in view of Choi (20220240664).
Regarding claim 1, Jin ‘254 teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a foldable frame comprising: a middle support (A); a front section (B-C) comprising a first front subsection (B), a second front subsection (C), and a front support (D); a rear section (E-F) pivotally connected (Fig. 9) comprising a first rear subsection (E), a second rear subsection (F); and a rear support (G); wherein the first & second front subsections & the first & second rear subsections are each connected by front & rear pivoting mechanisms (H).
Jin ‘254 further teaches a middle support (A) comprises a left middle coupling piece (A) at a left side of the middle support and a right middle coupling piece (A) at a right side of the middle support, wherein: each of the left and right middle coupling pieces comprises a first segment (Q in Fig. 10 Annotated) and a second segment (R) that are stacked with respect to each other (Fig. 10); each of the second front subsection (C) and the second rear subsection (F) comprises a left peripheral bar (L) pivotally connected to the first segment of the left middle coupling piece (Figs. 8-10) and a right peripheral bar (M) pivotally connected to the first segment of the right middle coupling piece (Figs. 8-10); and when the foldable frame is unfolded and in an upright position: the second segments (R) of the left & right middle coupling pieces respectively abut on and extend to contact at least portions of the left & right peripheral bars of the second front & rear subsections along their respective bottom edges (see Figs. 1-3 & 6-8, which show portions of the left (L) & right (M) peripheral bars resting on, and hence abutting on and contacting, the second segments (R) of the left & right middle coupling pieces (A)), the second segments of the left & right middle coupling pieces thereby supporting the at least the portions of the left & right peripheral bars of the second front & rear subsections along their respective edges (Figs. 1-3 & 6-8), the second segments (R) of the left & right middle coupling pieces (A) thereby restricting the foldable frame from unfolding beyond the upright position (Figs. 1-3 & 6-8).
Jin ‘254 fail(s) to teach front & rear pivoting/locking mechanisms. However, Choi ‘664 teaches a pivoting/locking mechanism (150). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a pivoting/locking mechanism, as taught by Choi ‘664, for each of the front & rear pivoting mechanisms of Jin ‘254, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent accidental folding of the frame, thereby making the frame safer to use (as suggested by par. 86 & 121 of Choi ‘664).
Regarding claims 4, 8-10, & 15, for the reasons stated in par. 8, 9, 10, 11, & 12 above, the structure of Jin ‘254 as modified would read upon the limitations of these claims.
Regarding claim 40, Jin ‘254 as modified teaches a foldable frame. Additionally, mere duplication of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a second, identical foldable frame to the apparatus of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide additional storage capacity.
Claim 5 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254) & Choi (20220240664) in view of Choi (20200337468). Jin ‘254 as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including front (B-C) & rear (E-F) sections having first front (B) & rear (E) subsections and front (D) & rear (G) supports; and control means (202A, 220) to control rotation of the front & rear supports with respect to the first front & rear subsections; but fail(s) to teach adjustable bars. However, Choi ‘468 teaches control means (200) comprising an adjustable bar (200). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute control means, as taught by Choi ‘468, for each of the control means of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to selectively lock the front & rear supports in the unfolded position (as suggested by par. 36 of Choi ‘468), and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known control means for another.
Claims 26-27 & 29-30 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (20180000254) & Choi (20220240664) in view of Jin (20120222216). Jin ‘254 as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including peripheral bars (L-N of Jin ‘254) of first & second front & rear subsections (B-C & E-F of Jin ‘254); but fail(s) to teach connection sections. However, Jin ‘216 teaches a connection section (134). Additionally, mere duplication of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a connection section, as taught by Jin ‘216, to the each of the first & second front subsections of Jin ‘254 as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the frame to be combined with another frame to support larger mattresses (as suggested by par. 41 of Jin ‘216).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 40, applicant contends the above rejection “does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have duplicated the already-modified Jin '254 frame and then used such ad hoc removable connectors to form the claimed foldable structure, rather than merely placing two independent frames near one another” (Remarks at 12). It is noted that par. 13 & 24 above set forth adequate motivation (i.e., providing additional storage capacity) for adding a second, identical foldable frame to the structure of Jin ‘254 as modified. It is further noted that claim 40 does not recite “placing two independent frames near one another” or “us[ing] . . . removable connectors to form” a combined structure. This claim recites “two or more foldable frames of claim 1 to be disposed side by side and removably connected to each other” (emphasis added). Hence, claim 40 merely requires two foldable frames capable of being “disposed side by side and removably connected to each other.” As explained in par. 13 above, the two foldable frames of Jin ‘254 as modified could be disposed side by side, since the frame in Fig. 1 of Jin could obviously be disposed side-by-side with another, identical frame. And these two foldable frames could also be removably connected to each other via twist ties, rope, or tape. Hence, the structure of Jin ‘254 as modified would read upon the limitations of claim 40. Applicant’s other arguments have been addressed in the prior art rejection above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637
1 In par. 16, Wu states: “A support edge 32 extends from the lower side of the middle part of the connector 3, which is used to support the two crossbars 111. When the two crossbars 111 are in the unfolded state, as shown in Figures 1 and 2, the two unfolded crossbars are supported and abutted against the support edge 32 to prevent them from moving downward or collapsing. This satisfies the requirement of connecting the two crossbars 111 while supporting the unfolded crossbars 111.” See Reference U, which is an English translation of Wu. Contact between the second segment (32) and the peripheral bars (111) is also shown in Figs. 2-3 of Wu.