FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the load containment force" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "stretch wrap film" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lancaster, III et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20080295614.
With respect to claim 1, Lancaster teaches an automated testing tool (apparatus 10, figure 1) for measuring and recording stretch film properties (abstract, paragraph 41), wherein said automated testing tool is configured to measure and record the load containment force of stretch wrap film (apparatus 10 which has a measuring device 24 for measuring a containment force of a packaging material 14 that is wrapped around a load 12, paragraphs 41-42).
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Riemenschneider, III et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0088395.
With respect to claims 1 and 5, Riemenschneider teaches providing a stretch film having an inner surface and an outer surface (packaging wrap 12 having an inner and outer surface, figure 1); wrapping a load with the stretch film so that the inner surface is in contact with the load (load 10 wrapped in packaging material 12, figure 1); attaching a measuring tool to the load and to the inner surface of the stretch film (contact arm 38 of containment force apparatus 20 passes behind the film to press against the load, paragraph 22); using the measuring tool to pull the stretch film away from the load to measure a pulling force (paragraph 34, figure 5).
With respect to claim 9, Riemenschneider teaches displaying the load force on the measuring tool (display screen 90, paragraph 30, figure 3).
With respect to claim 10, Riemenschneider teaches wherein the attaching step comprises placing the measuring tool at a centerline of the load (interpreted as the centerline of the load 10 that the apparatus contacts and the force may be measured at many positions, paragraph 38, figure 1).
With respect to claims 11-12, Riemenschneider teaches delaying the step of using the measuring tool to pull the stretch film away from the load a time interval after the step of wrapping the load with the stretch film and wherein the time interval is at least five minutes (waiting time of at least 5 min after load is wrapped, paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 13, Riemenschneider teaches wherein the step of using the measuring tool to pull the stretch film away from the load further comprises recording the pulling force at a plurality of predetermined distances from the load (a plurality of points are measured, paragraph 36).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are allowed.
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 2 and 6, the closest found prior art, Riemenschneider, III et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0088395, discloses the closest found prior art of record. However, Riemenschneider fails to encompass all the limitations of the claimed subject matter. Further, the claimed subject matter is not obvious when looking at the closest found prior art of record separately or in combination with each other.
Riemenschneider fails to teach a first support arm configured to rest on an outside surface of the stretch film at a first side of the grasping device; a second support arm configured to rest on the outside surface of the stretch film at a second side of the grasping device.
Thereby, the claims are found allowable over the found prior art of record as the examiner can find no teaches of above claimed subject matter, nor reasons within the found prior art of record on its own or in combination with each other to combine the elements of the references to fully encompass the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 5/30/2026