DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 01/28/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 13 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 1 “of claim 2” should be - - of claim 1 - -.
Claim 8, line 1 “of claim 2” should be - - of claim 1 - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara et al. (EP 2,277,399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawahara et al. discloses a split piping slider configured to attach to a fabric article via piping rail, the split piping slider comprising:
an attachment structure having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 8);
a first collar coupled to the attachment structure at the first end to define a first connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8); and
a second collar coupled to the attachment structure at the second end to define a second connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein, in response to applying a tensile force to the attachment structure, the split piping slider is configured to flex at one or more points along the attachment structure or at the first connection region and the second connection region (see annotated Fig. 8),
wherein the first collar comprises a first channel configured to receive at least a first portion of the piping rail via a first slot and the second collar comprises a second channel configured to receive at least a second portion of the piping rail via a second slot (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the first slot creates a split in the first collar (see annotated Figs. 1a), and
wherein the second slot creates a split in the second collar (see annotated Figs. 1a).
Kawahara et al. discloses two separate piping rails (see annotated Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two piping rails into one elongated piping rail in order to keep both collars aligned to each other.
Also, Kawahara et al. discloses a slot with a complete split (see Fig. 12a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the first collar and the second collar with a slot that has a complete split, in order to facilitate to enter the piping rail from a left or right side of the collar.
Regarding claim 3, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the first channel defines a first axis and the second channel defines a second axis (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the first axis and the second axis are parallel or concentric in an absence of the tensile force (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the first axis and the second axis are transverse in response to applying a tensile force (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the split piping slider is configured to flex at one or more points along the attachment structure (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the split piping slider is configured to flex at the first connection region and the second connection region (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Kawahara et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a diameter of each of the first channel and the second channel is between 4mm and 5mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a diameter of each of the first channel and the second channel is between 4mm and 5mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and Gardner v. TEC 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
It is obvious to have a channel with a specific diameter size in order to be able to insert a piping rail.
Regarding claim 9, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the attachment structure, the first collar, and the second collar collectively define a C-shaped profile (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the attachment structure is linear (it is inherent by stretching the attachment structure it will be linear, see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the attachment structure is curved (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the attachment structure is a handle (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the attachment structure is a webbing bar (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 15, Kawahara et al. discloses a split piping slider configured to attach to a fabric article via piping rail, the split piping slider comprising:
a webbing rod having a first end and a second end, the webbing rod configured to attach with a webbing strap (see annotated Fig. 8);
a first collar coupled to the webbing rod at the first end to define a first connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the first collar comprises a first channel configured to receive at least a first portion of the piping rail via a first slot (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the first slot creates a split in the first collar (see annotated Figs. 1a); and
a second collar coupled to the webbing rod at the second end to define a second connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the second collar comprises a second channel configured to receive at least a second portion of the piping rail via a second slot (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the second slot creates a split in the second collar (see annotated Figs. 1a), and
wherein, in response to applying a tensile force to the webbing rod, the split piping slider is configured to flex at one or more points along the webbing rod or at the first connection region and the second connection region (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8).
Kawahara et al. discloses two separate piping rails (see annotated Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two piping rails into one elongated piping rail in order to keep both collars aligned to each other.
Also, Kawahara et al. discloses a slot with a complete split (see Fig. 12a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the first collar and the second collar with a slot that has a complete split, in order to facilitate to enter the piping rail from a left or right side of the collar.
Regarding claim 16, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the first channel defines a first axis and the second channel defines a second axis (see annotated Fig. 8), and
wherein the first axis and the second axis are parallel or concentric in an absence of the tensile force (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein the first channel defines a first axis and the second channel defines a second axis (see annotated Fig. 8), and
wherein the first axis and the second axis are transverse in response to applying a tensile force (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein material thickness is reduced to redistribute stress to localize flexibility at the one or more points along the webbing rod or at the first connection region and the second connection region (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Kawahara et al. discloses a split piping slider configured to attach to a fabric article via piping rail, the split piping slider comprising:
a webbing rod having a first end and a second end, the webbing rod configured to attach with a webbing strap (see annotated Fig. 8);
a first collar coupled to the webbing rod at the first end to define a first connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the first collar comprises a first channel configured to receive at least a first portion of the piping rail via a first slot (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the first slot creates a split in the first collar (see annotated Figs. 1a); and
a second collar coupled to the webbing rod at the second end to define a second connection region and configured to attach to or slide along the piping rail (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the second collar comprises a second channel configured to receive at least a second portion of the piping rail via a second slot (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8),
wherein the second slot creates a split in the second collar (see annotated Figs. 1a), and
wherein, in response to applying a tensile force to the webbing rod, the split piping slider is configured to flex at one or more points along the webbing rod or at the first connection region and the second connection region such that the first collar and the second collar are torqued toward each other (see annotated Figs. 1a and 8).
Kawahara et al. discloses two separate piping rails (see annotated Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two piping rails into one elongated piping rail in order to keep both collars aligned to each other.
Also, Kawahara et al. discloses a slot with a complete split (see Fig. 12a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the first collar and the second collar with a slot that has a complete split, in order to facilitate to enter the piping rail from a left or right side of the collar.
Regarding claim 20, Kawahara et al. discloses, wherein material thickness is reduced to redistribute stress to localize flexibility at the one or more points along the webbing rod or at the first connection region and the second connection region (see annotated Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments see pages 7 and 8, filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 19, Kawahara et al. broadly discloses a slot with a complete split in the collar; see Fig. 12a. Therefore, the first slot and the second can be modified into a complete split.
The split piping slider from Kawahara et al. is capable of being attached via a piping rail. Therefore, the piping rail is not positively claimed. Applicant's arguments are more limiting than the claimed invention.
Examiner’s Comment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted in the reply filed on 01/28/2026, the drawing objections indicated in the prior Office action have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677