DETAILED ACTION
for
METHODS AND APPARATUS TO PERFORM LOAD MEASUREMENTS ON FLEXIBLE SUBSTRATES
Status of the Claims
Regarding the status of the claims, please see the following:
Claims 21-38 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see page 6-7, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections, the remarks have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The 35 USC § 102 rejections remained rejected.
Applicants’ arguments, see page 6, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejections have been fully considered, however the Double Patenting rejections stand per applicants remarks regarding a terminal disclaimer.
To benefit the Applicant, arguments will be discussed below.
On pages 6-7 of the remarks, Applicant alleges that " ... Ardelean does not teach or suggest does not disclose; one or more actuators configured to move the first and second substrate support structures at respective angles to fold the flexible substrate such that the first substrate support rotates about a first stationary axis and the second substrate support rotates about a second stationary axis.".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants position.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching the examiner recognizes that ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claim at issue requires interpreting the claim language and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole. See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01.
The previous rejection explained why a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that Ardelean clearly states in multiple location in the disclosure (see Ardelean [Col. 2, lines 57-60], for example) that the primary purpose of the invention is “As the cross members 14 move downward, the carts rotate about the axes of the lower bearings 19, thus apply the bending moment on the coupon 11.”
Also see, (see Ardelean [Col. 3, lines 4-7], for example) “data from the two sensors can be used to verify the two carts are rotating in concert, which indicates the load is applied uniformly between the carts”. As explained in the attorney’s response, Ardelean teaches one way of accomplishing the goals of an actuator moving two substrates support structures. Each cart (12) encompasses a initial horizontal and vertical distances between the two bearings “cart geometry”. The previous rejection described why Ardelean discloses respective angles that folds the flexible substrate (Figs. 4a-4c).
In addition, (Figs. 4a-4c) show the carts (12) capable of being moved up or down vertically [two stationary axes] in response to an applied force being vertically pressed downward [stationary axis].
For these reasons, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success. After having considered all of applicants’ arguments, the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 21 and 38 are maintained.
Claims 22-37 are indefinite by virtue of their dependencies on claim 21.
Double Patenting
Repeated Rejection: Claims 21-28 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,000,803 and over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,885, 773. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application
Application 16/900,210
Application No. 16/887,960
Claim 21:
A flexible substrate testing system, comprising:
a first substrate support structure configured to hold a first portion of a flexible substrate under test;
a second substrate support structure configured to hold a second portion of the flexible substrate;
one or more actuators configured to move the first and second substrate support
structures at respective angles to fold the flexible substrate
such that the first substrate support rotates about a first stationary axis and the second substrate support rotates about a second stationary axis; and
load cells configured to measure loads on the first substrate support structure and the second substrate support structure while
the actuator moves the first substrate support structure and the second substrate support structure.
Claim 1.
A flexible substrate testing system, comprising:
a first substrate support structure configured to hold a first portion of a flexible substrate under test;
a second substrate support structure configured to hold a second portion of the flexible substrate;
one or more actuators configured to move the first and second substrate support
structures at respective angles to fold the flexible substrate; and
(see rationale for obviousness rejection below)
a load cells configured to measure loads on the first substrate support structure and
a second load cell configured to measure a second load on the second substrate support structure while
the actuator moves the first substrate support structure and the second substrate support structure.
Claim 1.
A flexible substrate testing system, comprising:
a first substrate support structure configured to hold stationary a first portion of a flexible substrate under test;
a second substrate support structure configured to hold a second portion of the flexible substrate;
an actuator configured to move the second substrate support
structure to fold the flexible substrate and to unfold the flexible substrate; and
(see rationale for obviousness rejection below)
a load cell configured to measure a load on the flexible substrate
Claim 18:
a second load cell configured to measure a portion of the load on the first portion of the flexible substrate.
Claim 2:
an actuator configured to move the second substrate support structure to fold the flexible substrate and to unfold the flexible substrate
a translation linkage configured to hold the first substrate structure and to limit motion for the first substrate support structure to a direction in which the load cell is configured to measure the load.
Claim 38:
A method to measure loads on a flexible substrate, the method comprising:
moving, via an actuator, a first portion of a flexible substrate under test and a second portion of the flexible substrate to fold or unfold the flexible substrate; and
measuring a load on the flexible substrate resulting from the moving, wherein moving the first portion of the flexible substrate under test comprises
moving a first substrate support structure about a first stationary axis and moving the second portion of the flexible substrate under test comprises
moving a second substrate support structure about a second stationary axis.
Claim 18.
A method to measure loads on a flexible substrate, the method comprising:
moving, via an actuator, a first portion of a flexible substrate under test and a second portion of the flexible substrate to fold or unfold the flexible substrate; and
measuring a load on the flexible substrate resulting from the moving by measuring a load normal to a surface of the first portion of the flexible substrate over a duration of the folding or unfolding of the flexible substrate.
Claim 19:
The method as defined in claim 18, wherein moving the first portion of the flexible substrate comprises
rotating a first substrate support structure holding the first portion of the flexible substrate, and moving the second portion of the flexible substrate comprises
rotating a second substrate support structure holding the second portion of the flexible substrate.
Claim 19.
A method to measure loads on a flexible substrate, the method comprising:
holding stationary, via a substrate support structure, a first portion of a flexible substrate under test;
moving, via an actuator, a second portion of the flexible substrate to fold the flexible substrate or to unfold the flexible substrate; and
measuring a load on the flexible substrate resulting from the moving.
Although claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,000,803 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,885,773 do not explicitly disclose that the first substrate support rotates about a first stationary axis and the second substrate support rotates about a second stationary axis; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have made for Ardelean to include the first substrate support rotating about a first stationary axis and the second substrate support rotates about a second stationary axis to modify or to omit the additional elements of the instant claim mention in the Table above of application to arrive at claims 21-28 and 38 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining elements would perform the same function as before.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicants were prevented from presenting limitations corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24 and 29-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ardelean et al. [herein after Ardelean] (US 8,544,340).
Regarding claims 21 and 38, Ardelean discloses a flexible substrate testing system and method having a first substrate support structure (12) configured to hold a first portion of a flexible substrate (11) under test (Fig. 2); a second substrate support structure (12) configured to hold a second portion of the flexible substrate (11); an actuator (18) configured to move the first and second substrate support structures (12) at respective angles to fold the flexible substrate (11) such that the first substrate support (12) rotates about a first stationary axis and the second substrate supports (12) rotates about a second stationary axis (Fig 4a to Fig. 4c); and load cells (15) configured to measure loads on the first substrate support structure (12) and the second substrate support structure (12) while the actuator (18) moves the first substrate support structure (12) and the second substrate support structure (12).
Regarding claim 22, Ardelean further discloses a control circuitry configured to determine the loads on the flexible substrate based on load information from the load cells (Col. 3 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 23, Ardelean further discloses the actuator (18) is configured to move the first and second substrate support structures (12) simultaneously (Col. 2, lines 53-56).
Regarding claim 29, Ardelean further discloses the first substrate support structure (12) having a first plate (see annotated Fig. 5, right side of 12) having a first surface (surface of the plate) and the second substrate support structure (12) comprises a second plate (see adjacent annotated Fig. 5, left side of 12) having a second surface (surface of the plate).
Regarding claim 30, Ardelean further discloses being configured to position a first plane (Fig. 5) of the first surface and a second plane of the second surface vertically during the folding and unfolding (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, Ardelean further discloses a first translation linkage (16) configured to hold the first substrate support structure (12) and to limit motion of the first substrate support structure (12) in directions parallel to the first surface of the first substrate support structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Ardelean further discloses a second translation linkage (16) configured to hold the second substrate support structure (12) and to limit motion of the second substrate support structure (12) in directions parallel to the second surface of the second substrate support structure (12).
Regarding claim 33, Ardelean further discloses the first translation linkage (16) comprises a first four-bar linkage (16/13) coupled to the first substrate support structure (12) and the second translation linkage (16) comprises a second four-bar linkage (16/13) coupled to the second substrate support structure (12).
Regarding claim 34, Ardelean further discloses the first and second substrate support structures (12) are configured to fold the substrate (11) to an angle of more than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 360 degrees (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 35, Ardelean further discloses the first substrate support structure (12) is configured to rotate up to 90 degrees (Fig. 2) and the second substrate support structure (12) being configured to rotate up to 90 degrees to fold the substrate at an angle of up to 180 degrees (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 36, Ardelean further discloses a control circuitry configured to determine the loads on the flexible substrate (11) based on a dynamic load measured by the load cells (15) during the folding or unfolding of the flexible substrate (Col. 3 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 37, Ardelean further discloses control circuitry configured to determine the load on the flexible substrate (11) based on a static load measured by the load cells (15) at a completion of the folding or unfolding of the flexible substrate (Col. 3 lines 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ardelean in view of Han et al. 2019/0154555.
Regarding claims 24-25, Ardelean further discloses the actuators (18) being configured to move the first and second substrate support structures (12) by driving a single cross member (14).
Ardelean fails to explicitly disclose a single input shaft.
Han discloses a single input shaft (201).
Han further discloses input shaft (201) being coupled to a first secondary shaft (2020) configured to move the first substrate support structure (20) and to a second secondary shaft (30) configured to move the second substrate support structure (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a flexible substrate testing system, to modify Ardelean, to include an input shaft, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing a device to move the upper substrate to rotate toward the lower substrate, to convert rotational motion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855