DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 2, 7-12, 17, 19-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickmann et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0322016 (hereinafter Dickmann) in view of Manova-Elssibony, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0014044 (hereinafter Manova-Elssibony) and Lamba et al, U.S. Patent No. 9,396,368 (hereinafter Lamba).
Regarding claim 1, Dickmann discloses a charging device for charging a hearing device (from abstract, see An illustrative system includes a hearing device and a charging device configured to provide a power signal to the hearing device while the hearing device is within a charging range of the charging device. The hearing device and the charging device are configured to establish a primary communication channel between the hearing device and the charging device and participate in an authenticated pairing procedure for the primary communication channel in which authentication information is transmitted from one device to the other by way of a secondary communication channel that allows for communication only over distances that are below a threshold distance), the charging device comprising:
a charging device wireless communication unit (from paragraph 0028, see Primary communication modules 202-1 and 202-2 (collectively “primary communication modules 202”) may be configured to establish and selectively maintain a primary communication channel 210 between hearing device 102 and charging device 104. Likewise, secondary communication modules 204-1 and 204-2 (collectively “secondary communication modules 204”) may be configured to establish and selectively maintain a secondary communication channel 212 between hearing device 102 and charging device 104. Various examples of establishing primary communication channel 210 and secondary communication channel 212 are described herein); and
a coupling structure, wherein the charging device wireless communication unit is coupled with the coupling structure, the coupling structure comprising a conducting element (from paragraph 0066, see charging device 104 may determine that hearing device 102 is physically coupled to charging device 104);
wherein the charging device is configured to receive the hearing device for charging of the hearing device (from paragraph 0023, see Charging device 104 may be implemented by any suitable device configured to provide power signal 120 to hearing device 102. For example, charging device 104 may be implemented by a charging case (e.g., a charging case into which hearing device 102 may be physically inserted or otherwise placed to be charged), a charging mat on which hearing device 102 may be placed to be charged, a device to which hearing device 102 may be communicatively coupled via a wired or wireless connection to be charged, and/or any other suitable charging device); and
wherein the charging device is configured to, upon reception of the hearing device by the charging device, enable near-field coupling between a hearing device antenna of the hearing device and the conducting element (from paragraph 0031, secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by transmitting an out-of-band signal (e.g., a near field communication (NFC) signal or any other signal within a frequency range that is outside a frequency range associated with primary communication channel 210).
Regarding claim 1, Dickmann does not clearly teach that the coupling structure comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element. All the same, Manova-Elssibony discloses the coupling structure (from paragraph 0005, see The term “charging zone” as used herein refers to a volume/space inside, around or on top of a housing in which the charging process is to occur and in which a device to be charged is to be located. The transfer of the electromagnetic energy from an emitter arrangement (transmitting unit and transmitting antenna) located in the housing to a receiving arrangement (rectifier and receiving antenna) located in a DUC is performed at a maximal energy volume (denoted hereinafter: “MEV”), that is a volume in which the electromagnetic energy is of substantially maximal intensity, that is created within the charging zone upon coupling between the transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna) comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element (from paragraph 0013, see In some further embodiments, the revolutions of the conductive material may be mounted in a distance away from the ground plane, or oriented relative to the ground plane, to distribute the electromagnetic near filed in the perimetric volume around the conductive material to create a charging zone on the perimeter of the conductive material revolutions for charging a rechargeable device. In such scenario, the charging aperture of the structure is the perimetric surface area of the revolutions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dickmann wherein the coupling structure comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element as taught by Manova-Elssibony. This modification would have improved efficiency by confining the electromagnetic near field distribution as suggested by Manova-Elssibony.
Again on the issue of claim 1, the combination of references does not explicitly teach upon reception, modify a frequency response of the conducting element. Nonetheless, Lamba discloses upon detection (from Figure 5, see 502), modify a frequency response of the conducting element (from Figure 5, see 506). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein upon detection, modify a frequency response of the conducting element as taught by Lamba. This modification would have improved reliability by reducing adverse effects to the antenna’s function as suggested by Lamba (see column 1).
Regarding claim 2, Dickmann discloses the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device is configured to detect a presence of the hearing device by detecting a modification of the frequency response (from paragraph 0067, see Additionally or alternatively, charging device 104 may determine that hearing device 102 is within the charging range of charging device 104 by detecting that hearing device 102 receives, blocks, or changes a signal provided by charging device 104).
Regarding claim 7, Dickmann as modified by Manova-Elssibony discloses the charging device according to claim 1, further comprising a support substrate, wherein the conducting element is on a first surface of the support substrate, and wherein the ground plane is adjacent to and surrounds at least a part of the conducting element (from paragraph 0040, see FIGS. 5A-5C are schematic illustrations of one optional wireless charging system comprising a charging device with open loop antenna referred to the ground plane to create electromagnetic field that around the loop antenna, suitable for a charging device designed for example, as a charging stand, and headphones (DUC) to be hanged on the charging stand for wireless charging, wherein FIG. 5A is a schematic illustration of the charging system; FIG. 5B is a schematic illustration of the devise under charge; FIG. 5C is a schematic illustration of the charging device with the transmitting unit and the transmitting antenna).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dickmann and Manova-Elssibony discloses the conducting element has a first end coupled with the charging device wireless communication unit, and a second end being an open end (from paragraph 0004, see antenna also denoted hereinafter: the “coupling antenna” can be a conductive wire, a strap of conductive material, another open looped antenna or any conductive particle that is an integral component (chassis) of a device under charge (denoted hereinafter: “DUC”), or the charger (when the DUC comprises the multiple loops antenna. Thus, the novel antenna may be used either as a transmitting antenna or as a receiving antenna for wireless charging. The term “open loop antenna” as used herein is aimed to describe an antenna for wireless charging having two open ends and multiple wrapping/looping/turnings of a conductive wire. The terms: “loop antenna”, multiple loops antenna”, “open looped antenna”, “coiled antenna”, “spiral antenna”, “first antenna”, and “none-radiative antenna” are all meaning the same and may be used interchangeably hereinafter in a single or plural form).
Regarding claim 9, Dickmann as modified by Manova-Elssibony discloses the conducting element has a first branch and a second branch (from paragraph 0020, see The wireless charging system mentioned above may further comprise a second antenna (Rx) wherein the second antenna is significantly smaller then wavelength of the frequency resonated by the first antenna, wherein the near field generated by said first antenna resonates said second antenna in certain frequency thereby causing a strong coupling between the antennas), and wherein a first end of the first and second branches is coupled with the charging device wireless communication unit, and wherein a second end of each of the first and second branches is an open end (from paragraph 0004, see antenna also denoted hereinafter: the “coupling antenna” can be a conductive wire, a strap of conductive material, another open looped antenna or any conductive particle that is an integral component (chassis) of a device under charge (denoted hereinafter: “DUC”), or the charger (when the DUC comprises the multiple loops antenna. Thus, the novel antenna may be used either as a transmitting antenna or as a receiving antenna for wireless charging. The term “open loop antenna” as used herein is aimed to describe an antenna for wireless charging having two open ends and multiple wrapping/looping/turnings of a conductive wire. The terms: “loop antenna”, multiple loops antenna”, “open looped antenna”, “coiled antenna”, “spiral antenna”, “first antenna”, and “none-radiative antenna” are all meaning the same and may be used interchangeably hereinafter in a single or plural form).
Regarding claim 10, Dickmann discloses the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device comprises a first cavity configured for receiving the hearing device, and wherein the hearing device antenna is proximate the conducting element when the hearing device is inserted into the first cavity of the charging device (from paragraph 0070, see At operation 602, charging device 104 detects an insertion of hearing device 102 into charging device 104. This may be performed in any suitable manner).
Regarding clam 11, Dickmann discloses the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device wireless communication unit is configured to initiate communication with the hearing device upon detection of a modification of the frequency response (from paragraph 0067, see Additionally or alternatively, charging device 104 may determine that hearing device 102 is within the charging range of charging device 104 by detecting that hearing device 102 receives, blocks, or changes a signal provided by charging device 104).
Regarding claim 12, Dickmann discloses the near-field coupling between the hearing device antenna of the hearing device and the conducting element is enabled when a level of modification in the frequency response is above a first threshold level (from paragraph 0029, see secondary communication channel 212 refers to a communication channel that allows for communication only over distances that are below a threshold distance (e.g., relatively short distances). In some examples, the threshold distance represents a maximum limit of the charging range of charging device 104).
Regarding claim 17, Dickmann discloses the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device is configured to communicate a presence signal to the hearing device, the presence signal indicating a detection of the hearing device by the charging device (from paragraph 0034, see In some examples, secondary communication channel 212 may be configured for unidirectional communication between charging device 104 and hearing device 102. For example, secondary communication channel 212 may only allow data to be transmitted from charging device 104 to hearing device 102 (and not from hearing device 102 to charging device 104). In alternative embodiments, secondary communication channel 212 may only allow data to be transmitted from hearing device 102 to charging device 104 (and not from charging device 104 to hearing device 102).
Regarding claim 19, Dickmann discloses a system comprising the charging device of claim 1 and the hearing device, wherein the system is configured to initiate communication between the hearing device wireless communication unit of the hearing device and the charging device wireless communication unit of the charging device, after the near-field coupling is enabled (from paragraph 0034, see In some examples, secondary communication channel 212 may be configured for unidirectional communication between charging device 104 and hearing device 102. For example, secondary communication channel 212 may only allow data to be transmitted from charging device 104 to hearing device 102 (and not from hearing device 102 to charging device 104). In alternative embodiments, secondary communication channel 212 may only allow data to be transmitted from hearing device 102 to charging device 104 (and not from charging device 104 to hearing device 102).
Regarding claim 20, Dickmann discloses a system comprising the charging device according to claim 1 and the hearing device, wherein the hearing device is a first hearing device, and wherein the system further comprises a second hearing device; wherein the charging device is configured to receive the first hearing device and the second hearing device; wherein, the hearing device antenna of the first hearing device, upon reception of the first hearing device by the charging device, is proximate a first part of the conducting element; and wherein, a hearing device antenna of the second hearing device, upon reception of the second hearing device by the charging device, is proximate a second part of the conducting element (from paragraph 0032, see In some examples, secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by a communication channel that requires physical connection between conductive contacts of hearing device 102 and charging device 104. For example, such a communication channel may include a wired communication channel and/or a communication channel that is established upon insertion of hearing device 102 into charging device 104).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Dickmann and Manova-Elssibony discloses a first coupling length associated with the hearing device antenna of the first hearing device, and a second coupling length associated with the hearing device antenna of the second hearing device, are the same (from paragraph 0110 of Manova-Elssibony, see In at least one embodiment, the inventive charging cup holder provides for wireless charging at least one electric device using electromagnetic near filed. The charging cup holder includes a housing having a bottom piece, a top piece, at least one outer side piece and at least one inner side piece, said side pieces having a depth sufficient to form an internal volume within said housing an outer housing having a closeable lid containing a substantially hollow inner internal volume for holding a transmitting unit and at least one antenna. The arrangement of the outer and inner side pieces is to make the housing to have a “structure within a structure” so as to create an internal volume for housing the components of the invention, while further providing a volume that may function to hold DUC's).
Regarding claim 22, Dickmann discloses a system comprising the charging device according to claim 1 and the hearing device, wherein the hearing device comprises: the hearing device antenna; a hearing device wireless communication unit, the hearing device wireless communication unit being coupled to the hearing device antenna, the hearing device wireless communication unit and the hearing device antenna being configured for transmission and reception of electromagnetic signals at a first frequency (from paragraph 0028, see Likewise, secondary communication modules 204-1 and 204-2 (collectively “secondary communication modules 204”) may be configured to establish and selectively maintain a secondary communication channel 212 between hearing device 102 and charging device 104. Various examples of establishing primary communication channel 210 and secondary communication channel 212 are described herein.); and a rechargeable battery configured to be charged by the charging device (from paragraph 0023, see Charging device 104 may be implemented by any suitable device configured to provide power signal 120 to hearing device 102. For example, charging device 104 may be implemented by a charging case (e.g., a charging case into which hearing device 102 may be physically inserted or otherwise placed to be charged), a charging mat on which hearing device 102 may be placed to be charged, a device to which hearing device 102 may be communicatively coupled via a wired or wireless connection to be charged, and/or any other suitable charging device).
Regarding claim 23, Dickmann discloses a method of charging a hearing device by a charging device, the hearing device comprising a hearing device antenna, a hearing device wireless communication unit, and a rechargeable battery, the hearing device wireless communication unit being coupled to the hearing device antenna, the hearing device wireless communication unit and the hearing device antenna being configured for transmission and reception of electromagnetic signals at a first frequency, the rechargeable battery configured to be charged by the charging device (from abstract, see An illustrative system includes a hearing device and a charging device configured to provide a power signal to the hearing device while the hearing device is within a charging range of the charging device. The hearing device and the charging device are configured to establish a primary communication channel between the hearing device and the charging device and participate in an authenticated pairing procedure for the primary communication channel in which authentication information is transmitted from one device to the other by way of a secondary communication channel that allows for communication only over distances that are below a threshold distance), the method comprising:
receiving the hearing device by the charging device (from paragraph 0023, see charging device 104 may be implemented by a charging case (e.g., a charging case into which hearing device 102 may be physically inserted or otherwise placed to be charged), the charging device comprising a charging device wireless communication unit (from paragraph 0028, see secondary communication modules 204-1 and 204-2 (collectively “secondary communication modules 204”) may be configured to establish and selectively maintain a secondary communication channel 212 between hearing device 102 and charging device 104) and a coupling structure (from paragraph 0066, see charging device 104 may determine that hearing device 102 is physically coupled to charging device 104), the charging device wireless communication unit being coupled with the coupling structure, the coupling structure comprising a conducting element (from paragraph 0031, secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by transmitting an out-of-band signal (e.g., a near field communication (NFC) signal or any other signal within a frequency range that is outside a frequency range associated with primary communication channel 210).
Still on the issue of claim 23, Dickmann does not explicitly teach that the coupling structure comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element. All the same, Manova-Elssibony discloses the coupling structure (from paragraph 0005, see The term “charging zone” as used herein refers to a volume/space inside, around or on top of a housing in which the charging process is to occur and in which a device to be charged is to be located. The transfer of the electromagnetic energy from an emitter arrangement (transmitting unit and transmitting antenna) located in the housing to a receiving arrangement (rectifier and receiving antenna) located in a DUC is performed at a maximal energy volume (denoted hereinafter: “MEV”), that is a volume in which the electromagnetic energy is of substantially maximal intensity, that is created within the charging zone upon coupling between the transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna) comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element (from paragraph 0013, see In some further embodiments, the revolutions of the conductive material may be mounted in a distance away from the ground plane, or oriented relative to the ground plane, to distribute the electromagnetic near filed in the perimetric volume around the conductive material to create a charging zone on the perimeter of the conductive material revolutions for charging a rechargeable device. In such scenario, the charging aperture of the structure is the perimetric surface area of the revolutions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dickmann wherein the coupling structure comprises a ground plane, the ground plane being within a first distance from the conducting element as taught by Manova-Elssibony. This modification would have improved efficiency by confining the electromagnetic near field distribution as suggested by Manova-Elssibony.
Again on the issue of claim 23, the combination of references does not explicitly teach modifying a frequency response of the conducting element. Nonetheless, Lamba discloses modifying a frequency response of the conducting element (from Figure 5, see 506). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references with modifying a frequency response of the conducting element as taught by Lamba. This modification would have improved reliability by reducing adverse effects to the antenna’s function as suggested by Lamba (see column 1).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of references as modified by Lamba discloses the frequency response of the conducting element is modified (from Figure 5, see 504) to enable a near-field coupling between the hearing device antenna of the hearing device and the conducting element of the charging device.
Regarding claim 26, Dickmann discloses the method according to claim 25, further comprising initiating communication between the hearing device wireless communication unit and the charging device wireless communication unit (from paragraph 0031, see As another example, secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by transmitting a signal that is different than power signal 120. To illustrate, secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by transmitting an out-of-band signal (e.g., a near field communication (NFC) signal or any other signal within a frequency range that is outside a frequency range associated with primary communication channel 210).
Regarding claim 27, Dickmann discloses a charging device for charging of a hearing device (from paragraph 0023, see Charging device 104 may be implemented by any suitable device configured to provide power signal 120 to hearing device 102. For example, charging device 104 may be implemented by a charging case (e.g., a charging case into which hearing device 102 may be physically inserted or otherwise placed to be charged), a charging mat on which hearing device 102 may be placed to be charged, a device to which hearing device 102 may be communicatively coupled via a wired or wireless connection to be charged, and/or any other suitable charging device), the charging device comprising:
a coupling structure (from paragraph 0066, see charging device 104 may determine that hearing device 102 is physically coupled to charging device 104); and
a charging device wireless communication unit (from Figure 2, see 204-1), the charging device wireless communication unit being coupled with the coupling structure (from paragraph 0032, see secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by a communication channel that requires physical connection between conductive contacts of hearing device 102 and charging device 104;
wherein the coupling structure comprises a conducting element (from paragraph 0031, see secondary communication channel 212 may be implemented by transmitting an out-of-band signal (e.g., a near field communication (NFC) signal).
Still on the issue of claim 27, Dickmann does not explicitly teach that the coupling structure comprises a ground plane. All the same, Manova-Elssibony discloses the coupling structure (from paragraph 0005, see The term “charging zone” as used herein refers to a volume/space inside, around or on top of a housing in which the charging process is to occur and in which a device to be charged is to be located. The transfer of the electromagnetic energy from an emitter arrangement (transmitting unit and transmitting antenna) located in the housing to a receiving arrangement (rectifier and receiving antenna) located in a DUC is performed at a maximal energy volume (denoted hereinafter: “MEV”), that is a volume in which the electromagnetic energy is of substantially maximal intensity, that is created within the charging zone upon coupling between the transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna) comprises a ground plane (from paragraph 0013, see In some further embodiments, the revolutions of the conductive material may be mounted in a distance away from the ground plane, or oriented relative to the ground plane, to distribute the electromagnetic near filed in the perimetric volume around the conductive material to create a charging zone on the perimeter of the conductive material revolutions for charging a rechargeable device. In such scenario, the charging aperture of the structure is the perimetric surface area of the revolutions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dickmann wherein the coupling structure comprises a ground plane as taught by Manova-Elssibony. This modification would have improved efficiency by confining the electromagnetic near field distribution as suggested by Manova-Elssibony.
Again on the issue of claim 27, the combination of references does not explicitly teach the charging device is configured to modify a frequency response of the conducting element when a hearing device antenna of the hearing device is within a certain distance from the conducting element. Nonetheless, Lamba discloses the primary device is configured to modify a frequency response (from Figure 5, see 506) of the conducting element when a secondary device antenna of the second device is within a certain distance from the conducting element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the primary device is configured to modify a frequency response of the conducting element when a secondary device antenna of the secondary device is within a certain distance from the conducting element as taught by Lamba. This modification would have improved reliability by reducing adverse effects to the antenna’s function as suggested by Lamba (see column 1).
3. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickmann combined with Manova-Elssibony and Lamba in further view of Broders et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0399564 (hereinafter Broders).
Regarding claim 18, although Dickmann discloses the hearing device comprises a processing unit (from Figure 1, see 108), the combination of references does not teach the processing unit of the hearing device configured to, upon receiving the presence signal from the charging device, control an on/off setting of at least one transducer of the hearing device. All the same, Broders discloses the processing unit of the hearing device configured to, upon receiving the presence signal from the charging device, control an on/off setting of at least one transducer of the hearing device (from paragraph 0029, see determine that the hearing aid is docked and take desire actions of the hearing aid, such as shutting off its transducers). This modification would have improved the system’s convenience by preventing squealing as suggested by Broders.
4. Claims 3-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickmann combined with Manova-Elssibony and Lamba in further view of Johnston et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0175752 (hereinafter Johnston).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of references does not teach, wherein the charging device wireless communication unit comprises a detector configured for detecting power reflected from the conducting element to the charging device wireless communication unit. All the same, Johnston discloses the charging device wireless communication unit comprises a detector configured for detecting power reflected from the conducting element to the charging device wireless communication unit (from paragraph 0180, see determining (912) whether the wireless power receiver has been placed on the near-field charging pad. In some embodiments, this is accomplished by transmitting (908) test power transmission signals using each of the plurality of antenna zones and monitoring (910) an amount of reflected power at the near-field charging pad while transmitting the test power transmission signals). This modification would have allowed the user to move the device to different positions hence reducing frustration as suggested by Johnston.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of references as modified by Johnston discloses the charging device according to claim 3, wherein a modification of the frequency response is based on the power reflected from the conducting element to the charging device wireless communication unit (from paragraph 0181, see In some embodiments, if the amount of reflected power does not satisfy the device detection threshold (e.g., the amount of reflected power is greater than 20% of power transmitted with the test power transmission signals), then a determination is made that the wireless power receiver has not been placed on the surface of the near-field charging pad (912—No). In accordance with this determination, the near-field charging pad continues to transmit test power transmission signals using each of the plurality of antenna zones at step 914 (i.e., proceed to step 908). In some embodiments, the operations at 908 and 910 are performed until it is determined that the device detection threshold has been satisfied).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of references as modified by Johnston discloses the charging device according to claim 3, wherein the reflected power above a threshold indicates that the hearing device is not received by the charging device, and wherein the reflected power below the threshold indicates that the hearing device is received by the charging device (from paragraph 0181, see In some embodiments, if the amount of reflected power does not satisfy the device detection threshold (e.g., the amount of reflected power is greater than 20% of power transmitted with the test power transmission signals), then a determination is made that the wireless power receiver has not been placed on the surface of the near-field charging pad (912—No). In accordance with this determination, the near-field charging pad continues to transmit test power transmission signals using each of the plurality of antenna zones at step 914 (i.e., proceed to step 908). In some embodiments, the operations at 908 and 910 are performed until it is determined that the device detection threshold has been satisfied).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of references does not teach the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as not being received by the charging device when a reflection coefficient is above a threshold, and wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as having been received by the charging device when the reflection coefficient is below the threshold. All the same, Johnston discloses the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as not being received by the charging device when a reflection coefficient is above a threshold, and wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as having been received by the charging device when the reflection coefficient is below the threshold (from paragraph 0181, see In some embodiments, if the amount of reflected power does not satisfy the device detection threshold (e.g., the amount of reflected power is greater than 20% of power transmitted with the test power transmission signals), then a determination is made that the wireless power receiver has not been placed on the surface of the near-field charging pad (912—No). In accordance with this determination, the near-field charging pad continues to transmit test power transmission signals using each of the plurality of antenna zones at step 914 (i.e., proceed to step 908). In some embodiments, the operations at 908 and 910 are performed until it is determined that the device detection threshold has been satisfied). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as not being received by the charging device when a reflection coefficient is above a threshold, and wherein the charging device is configured to determine the hearing device as having been received by the charging device when the reflection coefficient is below the threshold as taught by Johnston. This modification would have allowed the user to move the device to different positions hence reducing frustration as suggested by Johnston.
5. Claims 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickmann combined with Manova-Elssibony and Lamba in further view of Manova-Elssibony, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0006877 (hereinafter Manova-Elssibony II).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of references does not teach an impedance matching circuit configured to match an impedance of the charging device wireless communication unit to the conducting element when the charging device has received the hearing device. All the same, Manova-Elssibony II discloses an impedance matching circuit configured to match an impedance of the charging device wireless communication unit to the conducting element when the charging device has received the hearing device (from paragraph 0087, see FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating the wireless charging system of FIG. 1, with detailed component descriptions. The transmitting sub-unit 112 of the transmitting unit 101 can include at least a transmitter 113, a controller 114, reflection coefficient/return loss (S11) monitor (such as bi-directional coupler) 116, and an AIM (Adaptive Impedance Matching) unit 118. The S11 monitor 116 can be operably connected to the transmitter 113, and can receive signals and data from the transmitter 113. The S11 monitor can also be operably connected to the AIM unit 118 can receive and send signals and data to and from the AIM unit 118. The S11 monitor can then use the signals and data that it receives to measure and monitor the transmitter return loss S11 from the transmitter 113 and/or from the transmitting antenna 110. The S11 monitor 116 can also be operably connected to the controller 114. The controller 114 and AIM unit 118 can in turn be operably connected to each other, thereby creating a feedback loop between the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118, whereby the S11 monitor 116, the AIM unit 118 and controller 114 can adapt the impedance, and hence the S11 return loss of the transmitter 113. It is understood that the transmitter 113, the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118 can be implemented on one computing device including a processor and programmable instructions. Alternatively the noted components may be implements on a number of connected computing devices each including a processor and programmable instructions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references with an impedance matching circuit configured to match an impedance of the charging device wireless communication unit to the conducting element when the charging device has received the hearing device as taught by Manova-Elssibony II. This modification would have improved the system’s convenience by accounting for variations occurring in a receiver without requiring any intelligence in the receiver itself as suggested by Manova-Elssibony II.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of references does not explicitly teach the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance, and wherein a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance is at least 30% when the hearing device is not received by the charging device. All the same, Manova-Elssibony II discloses the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance (from paragraph 0087, see FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating the wireless charging system of FIG. 1, with detailed component descriptions. The transmitting sub-unit 112 of the transmitting unit 101 can include at least a transmitter 113, a controller 114, reflection coefficient/return loss (S11) monitor (such as bi-directional coupler) 116, and an AIM (Adaptive Impedance Matching) unit 118. The S11 monitor 116 can be operably connected to the transmitter 113, and can receive signals and data from the transmitter 113. The S11 monitor can also be operably connected to the AIM unit 118 can receive and send signals and data to and from the AIM unit 118. The S11 monitor can then use the signals and data that it receives to measure and monitor the transmitter return loss S11 from the transmitter 113 and/or from the transmitting antenna 110. The S11 monitor 116 can also be operably connected to the controller 114. The controller 114 and AIM unit 118 can in turn be operably connected to each other, thereby creating a feedback loop between the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118, whereby the S11 monitor 116, the AIM unit 118 and controller 114 can adapt the impedance, and hence the S11 return loss of the transmitter 113. It is understood that the transmitter 113, the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118 can be implemented on one computing device including a processor and programmable instructions. Alternatively the noted components may be implements on a number of connected computing devices each including a processor and programmable instructions), and wherein there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance when the hearing device is not received by the charging device (from paragraph 0080, see In FIG. 1 the device 300, as well as the battery 124, is shown positioned outside of the charging zone 130 of the wireless charging system 100. In this setup the device 300 that contains the receiving unit 102 is located outside the charging zone 130 that can be defined mainly with respect to transmitting antenna 110. In this scenario, there is no coupling between the transmitting antenna 110 and the receiving antenna 120, and there is no interaction between the antennas. As a result, there may be no functional charging taking place). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance, and wherein there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance when the hearing device is not received by the charging device as taught by Elssibony II. This modification would have improved the system’s convenience by accounting for variations occurring in a receiver without requiring any intelligence in the receiver itself as suggested by Manova-Elssibony II.
Further regarding the combination of references, although Manova-Elssibony II discloses there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance, the combination does not explicitly teach that the difference is at least 30%. However, when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05 II A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the difference is at least 30%. This modification would have improved efficiency by providing optimum impedance.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of references does not explicitly teach the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance, and wherein a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance is less than 10% when the charging device has received the hearing device. All the same, Manova-Elssibony II discloses the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance, and wherein there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance when the charging device has received the hearing device (from paragraph 0087, see FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating the wireless charging system of FIG. 1, with detailed component descriptions. The transmitting sub-unit 112 of the transmitting unit 101 can include at least a transmitter 113, a controller 114, reflection coefficient/return loss (S11) monitor (such as bi-directional coupler) 116, and an AIM (Adaptive Impedance Matching) unit 118. The S11 monitor 116 can be operably connected to the transmitter 113, and can receive signals and data from the transmitter 113. The S11 monitor can also be operably connected to the AIM unit 118 can receive and send signals and data to and from the AIM unit 118. The S11 monitor can then use the signals and data that it receives to measure and monitor the transmitter return loss S11 from the transmitter 113 and/or from the transmitting antenna 110. The S11 monitor 116 can also be operably connected to the controller 114. The controller 114 and AIM unit 118 can in turn be operably connected to each other, thereby creating a feedback loop between the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118, whereby the S11 monitor 116, the AIM unit 118 and controller 114 can adapt the impedance, and hence the S11 return loss of the transmitter 113. It is understood that the transmitter 113, the S11 monitor 116, the controller 114 and the AIM unit 118 can be implemented on one computing device including a processor and programmable instructions. Alternatively the noted components may be implements on a number of connected computing devices each including a processor and programmable instructions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the charging device wireless communication unit has a first impedance, and wherein the conducting element has a second impedance, and wherein there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance when the charging device has received the hearing device as taught by Elssibony II. This modification would have improved the system’s convenience by accounting for variations occurring in a receiver without requiring any intelligence in the receiver itself as suggested by Manova-Elssibony II.
Further regarding the combination of references, although Manova-Elssibony II discloses there is a difference between the first impedance and the second impedance, the combination does not explicitly teach that the difference is less than 10%. However, when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05 II A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the difference is less than 10%. This modification would have improved efficiency by providing optimum impedance.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 6 is allowed while claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
April 12, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692