DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/4/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marcum et al. (US 2015/0271578).
Regarding claim 1, Marcum discloses a loudspeaker mounting structure, comprising:
a case (20) recessed inwardly with a groove (24, 26, and 28) (Fig. 1 and 6);
a first cover (23 and/or 30) disposed on an upper surf ace of the case (Fig. 1 and 6);
a second cover (22 and/or 25) disposed on a lower surface of the case (Fig. 1 and 7), wherein the case, the first cover and the second cover form an accommodation cavity configured to receive a loudspeaker (Fig. 1); and
a limiting module (42, 44, and 48) disposed in the groove (Fig. 6) and comprising:
a stud (48); and
a limiting component (42 and 44) rotatably connected to the stud (see Figs. 2-3) and configured to be connected to an external connection component (wall or ceiling) (¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 2, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 1, wherein the limiting component (42 and 44) comprises:
a hanging part (44) protruding from the groove (Fig. 3); and
a limiting part (42, which includes 58) contacting the groove (Figs. 9B-D: 58 contacts 28a and 28b).
Regarding claim 3, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 2, wherein an angle is formed between the hanging part and the limiting part (Fig. 9C: see 135 degree angle between 72 and 58, which can also be considered a 45 degree angle (supplementary angle)) (Fig. 7C: see 90 degree angle between 72 (pointing up) and 58 (pointing to the left)).
Regarding claim 4, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 3, wherein the angle is between 45° and 120° (see explanations above in claim 3 rejection).
Regarding claim 5, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 1, wherein the groove has a structure in which a width of an inner side is less than a width of an outer side (see inner and outer widths of 26 in Fig. 9B), and
wherein a shape of a cross section of the groove is a trapezoid (Figs. 7 and 7C: 36 exists in the groove and can be considered part of what defines the shape of the groove, and as seen in Figs. 8A-C the cross section of 36 is a trapezoid).
Regarding claim 6, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 1, wherein the stud (48) comprises a nut part (96) and a rotary shaft part (97) (Fig. 7 and 7C),
wherein screw threads are disposed on the rotary shaft part (¶ 0053 and see Figs. 7 and 7C), and
wherein the external connection component is a ceiling, a sprung roof or a wall (¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 7, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 6, further comprising:
an inserting groove (25a and/or 25) disposed on the second cover (Fig. 7); and
a through hole (35) disposed on the first cover,
wherein the nut part (96) is connected to and is engaged with the inserting groove (see Fig. 7), and
wherein the rotary shaft part passes through the through hole (see Fig. 7C, and note that 90 and 99 can also be considered part of the rotary shaft if rotary shaft needs to pass completely through the hole 35 in order to meet claim limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 7, wherein an opening of the inserting groove is parallel to a bottom surface of the groove (Fig. 7: axis of 25a is parallel to vertical surface of 24; also horizontal opening of 25a is parallel to inner surface of 25).
Regarding claim 9, Marcum discloses the loudspeaker mounting structure according to claim 7, wherein the second cover and the case are integrally formed (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Marcum discloses a loudspeaker mounting structure, comprising:
a case (20) recessed inwardly with a groove (24, 26, and 28) (Fig. 1 and 6), the case being configured to mount a loudspeaker inside the case (see Fig. 1);
a cover (23 and/or 30; or 22 and/or 25) (Figs. 1, 6, 7);
a stud (48) disposed in the groove (Fig. 1 and 6) and connected to the cover (see Fig. 7 and 7C); and
a limiting component (42 and 44) disposed in the groove and rotatably connected to the stud (see Figs. 2-3), wherein the limiting component comprises a hanging part (44) connected to an external connection component (wall or ceiling) (¶ 0066) and a limiting part (42, which includes 58) contacting the groove (Figs. 9B-D: 58 contacts 28a and 28b).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brody (US 2022/0377443) teaches a torsion spring 132 contacting a groove (Figs. 3-5).
Ivey et al. (US 2016/0366501) teaches a case with recessed grooves (Fig. 1).
Wright (US 2010/0040254) teaches a limiting component with additional protrusions (410, 402) (Fig. 4).
Xu et al. (US 8014554) teaches a case with recessed grooves (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692