DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/733,706 filed on 06/04/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) to Provisional Application No. 63/543,406, filed on 10/10/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shukla (US 10,966,277).
Regarding claim 1, Shukla teaches a method, comprising:
by operation of a first wireless device receiving wireless messages from a wireless network, determining that a received wireless message is a disconnect message directing the first wireless device to end communications over the wireless network (Shukla: Col. 5, Lines 48-67, Col. 6, Lines 1-10, In one embodiment, the processor 112 determines that the third wireless endpoint device 108 is an inside attacker by checking that the WAP device 102 advertises that the WAP device 102 will only use an encrypted unicast disconnect frame to disconnect a device from the wireless network 100 or that the WAP device 102 will not use a broadcast disconnect frame to disconnect a device from the wireless network 100. Alternatively, the wireless endpoint device can confirm whether the broadcast disconnect frame is authorized in a manner that cannot be spoofed by the third wireless endpoint device 108.),
determining that the received disconnect message is not valid in response to decrypting at least a portion of the received disconnect message, and failing to find a shared secret value previously established during a network joining operation of the first wireless device (Shukla: Col. 6, Lines 51, When the WAP device 102 intends to disconnect the first wireless endpoint device 104, the WAP device 102 sends an encrypted unicast disconnect frame to confirm the intent to disconnect the first wireless endpoint device 104. In response, the processor 112 receives the encrypted unicast disconnect frame and decrypts the encrypted unicast disconnect frame with an encryption key shared between the WAP device 102 and the first wireless endpoint device 104. The WAP device 102 can share a common group key with each of the wireless endpoint devices and can share an individual device key with each of the wireless endpoint devices. Since the third wireless endpoint device 108 does not include the encryption key for the first wireless endpoint device 104, the communications between the first wireless endpoint device 104 and the WAP device 102 cannot be spoofed. Col. 5, Lines 55-67 [encryption key meets shared key limitation]), or
after transmitting a query message addressed to at least a source address of the received disconnect message, receiving more response messages than expected (Shukla: Col. 7, Lines 5-20, In another embodiment, the processor 112 receives a second broadcast disconnect frame via the WLAN radio. The second broadcast disconnect frame includes a source address that identifies the WAP device and a destination address that identifies that the second broadcast disconnect frame is addressed to all wireless endpoint devices in the WLAN. Responsive to receiving the second broadcast disconnect frame, the processor 112 sends, responsive to receiving the second broadcast disconnect frame, a first frame to the WAP device after expiration of a configurable delay and while in an authorized state in which the wireless endpoint device is connected to the WLAN via the WAP device, wherein the configurable delay corresponds to an amount of time that allows the WAP device to clear an association record for the wireless endpoint device.), and ignoring the received disconnect message if it is determined to be not valid (Shukla: Col. 5, Lines 55-66, To discard the frame, as used herein, means that the frame is ignored, not processed, deleted, or otherwise so that the processor 112 does not disconnect the first wireless endpoint device 104 from the WLAN as a result of the broadcast disconnect frame 103. In other words, the processor 112 determines that the broadcast disconnect frame 103 can be discarded and maintains connection with the WLAN via the WAP device 102 as a result of the determination that the broadcast disconnect frame 103 originates from a device that is not authorized to send the broadcast disconnect frame 103 to disconnect the first wireless endpoint device 104 from the WLAN).
Regarding claim 2, Shukla teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the received disconnect message comprises a disassociation or deauthentication frame compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 wireless standard (Shukla: Col. 2, Lines 20-58, The deauthentication frame and the disassociation frame are management frames used by devices in different authentication or authorization states. The devices of the wireless network can use management frames like these during states or stages of authenticating, associating, de-authenticating, and dissociating devices. For example, once an endpoint device is associated to the WAP device, either the WAP device or the endpoint device can terminate the association at any time by sending a disassociation frame. The WAP device or the endpoint device can send a deauthentication frame when all communications are terminated between the devices. The endpoint device can send a disassociation frame when leaving the WAP device to roam to another WAP device. The WAP device can send the disassociation frame when the endpoint device is trying to use invalid parameters. The disassociation or deauthentication frames are Class 3 frames that are used when a station has been successfully authenticated and associated with an access point. Col. 7, Lines 25-28, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame. Col. 10, Lines 39-42, Col. 11, Lines 29-32, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame.).
Regarding claim 3, Shukla teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the query message is selected from the group of:
a block acknowledgement request, a power savings poll message, and a null data frame (Shukla: Col. 7, Lines 28-38, For example, if there is no association record for a device and the WAP device receives a data frame or null frame from the device, the WAP device is required to send a unicast disconnect frame to the device. After the configurable delay in which the association record is cleared, the processor 112 receives an encrypted unicast disconnect frame from the WAP device and decrypts the encrypted unicast disconnect frame with an encryption key shared only between the WAP device and the wireless endpoint device. The processor 112 disconnects the wireless endpoint device from the WLAN. Col. 7, Lines 25-28, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame. Col. 10, Lines 39-42, Col. 11, Lines 29-32, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame.).
Regarding claim 4, Shukla teaches the method of claim 1, further including:
by operation of the first wireless device, executing the network joining operation, comprising exchanging messages with a second wireless device to establish encryption operations for wireless messages on the wireless network, and establish at least the shared secret (Shukla: Col. 8, Lines 29-38, In another embodiment, the first frame is encrypted with a first key shared between the WAP device 102 and two or more devices that are part of the wireless network and the third frame is encrypted with a second key shared only between the WAP device 102 and the first device. This first key can be considered a group key. The group key can be shared with all devices in the wireless network. In other embodiments, the group key can be specified for a subset of all devices in the wireless network, such as done with multi-cast frames. Col. 7, Lines 25-28, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame. Col. 10, Lines 39-42, Col. 11, Lines 29-32, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame.) .
Regarding claim 5, Shukla teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the network joining operation comprises an association operation compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 wireless standard (Shukla: Col. 2, Lines 8-20, More specifically, IEEE 802.11w, now rolled into IEEE 802.11-2016 standard, introduced protection of Management frames that are being used to signal network activities e.g., disconnect events. All wireless endpoint devices connected to an Access Point have a common group key (also referred to a broadcast management group key) to decrypt and validate the broadcast management frames. This is done to ensure that an attacker, outside of the wireless network not having knowledge of the common management group key, cannot generate a broadcast deauthentication or a broadcast disassociation frame to disconnect all the wireless endpoint devices in the wireless network.).
Regarding claims 9-13, Claims 9-13 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-5.
Regarding claim 14, Shukla teaches The device of claim 9, wherein:
the processor circuits are further configured to (Shukla: Fig. 1)
transmit at least the shared secret in an encrypted message to another device of the wireless network (Shukla: Col. 6, Lines 58-61, . The WAP device 102 can share a common group key with each of the wireless endpoint devices and can share an individual device key with each of the wireless endpoint devices.); and receive shared secrets corresponding to other wireless devices of the wireless network (Shukla: Col. 16, Lines 3-16, The processing logic updates a group key after the third wireless endpoint device is disconnected from the WAP device. The processing logic can send the updated group key to the wireless endpoint devices that are still connected to the WAP device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shukla (US 10,966,277) in view of Singh et al. (US 2024/0224048; Hereinafter “Singh”).
Regarding claim 6, Shukla teaches The method of claim 4, further including:
the first wireless device comprises a first access point device (AP) compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 wireless standard that is part of a distributed system (Shukla: Col. 2, Lines 8-20, More specifically, IEEE 802.11w, now rolled into IEEE 802.11-2016 standard, introduced protection of Management frames that are being used to signal network activities e.g., disconnect events. All wireless endpoint devices connected to an Access Point have a common group key (also referred to a broadcast management group key) to decrypt and validate the broadcast management frames. This is done to ensure that an attacker, outside of the wireless network not having knowledge of the common management group key, cannot generate a broadcast deauthentication or a broadcast disassociation frame to disconnect all the wireless endpoint devices in the wireless network. Col. 7, Lines 25-28, Col. 10, Lines 39-42, Col. 11, Lines 29-32, This is accordance with disconnect rules in WLAN standards where, upon receiving a data or null frame for which there is no valid association record, the WAP 102 is required to reply with a disconnect frame.); and
Shukla does not explicitly teach by operation of the first wireless device, transmitting at least the shared secret in an encrypted message to a second AP of the distributed system.
In an analogous art, Singh teaches by operation of the first wireless device, transmitting at least the shared secret in an encrypted message to a second AP of the distributed system (Singh: Para. [0049], Although not shown in FIG. 1, a STA 115 may be located in the intersection of more than one coverage area 110 and may associate with more than one AP 105. A single AP 105 and an associated set of STAs 115 may be referred to as a BSS. An ESS is a set of connected BSSs. A distribution system (not shown) may be used to connect APs 105 in an ESS. In some cases, the coverage area 110 of an AP 105 may be divided into sectors (also not shown). The WLAN 100 may include APs 105 of different types (e.g., metropolitan area, home network, etc.), with varying and overlapping coverage areas 110. Para. [0048], Para. [0050], In some cases, a STA 115 (or an AP 105) may be detectable by a central AP 105, but not by other STAs 115 in the coverage area 110 of the central AP 105. For example, one STA 115 may be at one end of the coverage area 110 of the central AP 105 while another STA 115 may be at the other end. [central AP may communicate and establish a connection with a second AP] Para. [0160], The method of any of aspects 1 through 11, further comprising: receiving, from the second wireless device, a security association query message; and transmitting, to the second wireless device, a security association response message key in response to the security association query message. Para. [0164], The method of aspect 16, further comprising: decrypting the deauthentication frame using the authentication key.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Singh with the system and method of Shukla to include by operation of the first wireless device, transmitting at least the shared secret in an encrypted message to a second AP of the distributed system because this functionality provides improved communication reliability and coordination between devices (Singh: Para. [0131]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 15-20, Claims 15-20 are allowed over the cited prior art.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art includes Shukla (US 10,966,277) in view of Singh et al. (US 2024/0224048; Hereinafter “Singh”). However, none of Shukla and Singh teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, the particular combination of steps or elements as recited in dependent claim 7, dependent claim 8, and independent claim 15. For example, none of the cited prior art teaches or suggest the steps of “the method of claim 1, further including: the first wireless device comprises an access point device (AP) compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 wireless standard that is part of a distributed system (DS); by operation of the first wireless device, generating and storing secure session data for a station device (STA) during association with the STA, secure session data including at least a device address of the STA and a corresponding shared secret that is shared with the STA, receiving and storing secure session data for at least one other STA associated with at last one other AP of the DS, in response to receiving a reassociation request having a device address of stored session data, decrypting the reassociation request, and executing a reassociation operation request if the decrypted reassociation request includes at least the corresponding shared secret, and ignoring the reassociation request if the decrypted reassociation request does not include at least the corresponding shared secret” as recited in dependent claim 7, “the method of claim 1, further including: the first wireless device comprises an access point device (AP) compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 wireless standard that is part of a distributed system (OS); by operation of the first wireless device, generating and storing secure session data for a station device (STA) during association with the STA, secure session data including at least a device address of the STA and a corresponding shared secret with the STA, receiving and storing secure session data for at least one other STA associated with at least one other AP of the OS, in response to receiving a reassociation request having a device address of stored session data, decrypting the reassociation request and executing a reassociation operation, and dropping packets for transmission to the reassociated STA for a predetermined timeout period if the decrypted reassociation request does not include at least the shared secret” as recited in dependent claim 8, or “a system, comprising: a first wireless device configured to execute network joining operations to enable joining wireless devices to access a wireless network, the network joining operation establishing secure session data for the joining wireless devices that includes at least device identification values (IDs) of the joining wireless devices, and shared secret values with the joining wireless devices, execute identity check operations in response to receiving a network joining request having a device ID of the secure session data, the identity check operations comprising decrypting the network joining request, in response to the decrypted network joining message not including the shared secret value, ignoring the network joining message, or executing a network joining operation with a wireless device issuing the network joining message but dropping any wireless messages for transmission to the device ID for a predetermined timeout period” as recited in independent claim 15. As a result, the claims are allowable over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0129553 by Wu et al.
/NELSON S. GIDDINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408