Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 2-3 states “the bottom of the chair” shall be corrected to “a bottom of the chair” for clarity.
Claim 2, line 2, states “the front side of the chair” shall be corrected to “a front side of the chair” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a power source” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In Claim 2, line 2, it states “wherein the leg massager has the massaging member protruding from the front side of the chair, and other portions are located under the chair.”. The claim fails to meet the requirements of enablement as the drawings and specifications don’t provide support for the “other portions” being under the chair.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 positively recites “the user sits on the chair and leans the inner sides of legs” and “the massage wheels press the inner sides of legs”. It is suggested that the language be amended to read ‘a user is configured to sit on the chair and lean an inner side of the user’s legs on the massage wheels.” and “the massage wheels are configured to press the inner side of the user’s legs”.
Claims 2-3 are rejected based on their dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wu (US 20210290479 A1), in view of Kang (KR 20230153897 A) and further in view of Wu (US 20200206070 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu (US 20210290479 A1) discloses a massaging member (massaging member 20), has a pivot frame (assembling portions 31)at the bottom thereof, and a massage motor is installed in the massaging member, and each of two lateral sides of the massage motor (motor 24) is connected to a massage wheel massage wheel (massage roller 23); each of two lateral sides of the power motor (motor 11) is connected to a rocker arm (first link rod 12), and the rocker arm is pivotally connected to a push-pull rod (second link rod 13), and the push-pull rod is pivotally connected to the pivot frame (assembling portions 31); the power motor is adapted to drive and rotate the rocker arms, and the rocker arms drive the push-pull rods to push and pull the pivot frame, so that the massaging member swings back and forth, and the massage wheels press the inner sides of legs to achieve the massage effect (“So that the motor 11 is able to continue to rotate forward to generate the reciprocating swing movements of the member 20 and there is no need to install limit switches to control the forward and reverse rotation of the motor, which not only reduce the structure assembly cost and improve the convenience of the structure assembly, but also avoid the motor 11 from damage.”). (Fig. 2; [0015-0018])
Wu (‘479) fails to disclose an attachable leg massager for chair comprising a leg massager and a chair; wherein the leg massager has a fixed base which is connected to the bottom of the chair, and the fixed base comprises a power source and a pivot base; the pivot frame is pivotally connected to the pivot base, and a power motor is installed in the power source; when in use, the user sits on the chair and leans the inner sides of legs on the massage wheels;
However, Kang teaches an attachable leg massager (leg massager unit 1300) for chair (body message unit 1110) comprising a leg massager and a chair; wherein the leg massager has a fixed base (main frame 210) which is connected to the bottom of the chair, and the fixed base comprises a power source (driving means 230) and a pivot base (side main frame 213) ; the pivot frame (side wall 223) is pivotally connected to the pivot base, and a power motor is installed in the power source ([0015] and [0146]. (Figs. 1, 5, and 7; [0016], [0035-0036], [0102-0146])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the leg massager of Wu (US 20210290479 A1) with an attachable leg massager for chair comprising a leg massager and a chair; wherein the leg massager has a fixed base which is connected to the bottom of the chair, and the fixed base comprises a power source and a pivot base; the pivot frame is pivotally connected to the pivot base, and a power motor is installed in the power source, as taught by Kang, in order to be a leg massaging device that can operate separately from the chair and provide a driving force for the leg massager ([0016] and [0143-0146]).
Wu (US 20200206070 A1) further teaches when in use, the user sits on the chair and leans the inner sides of legs on the massage wheels (Figs. 8-13; [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the leg massager of Wu (US 20210290479 A1) so that when in use, the user sits on the chair and leans the inner sides of legs on the massage wheels, as taught by Wu (US 20200206070 A1), to allow the massage device to massage along the feet, ankles, calves, back of the knees and thighs to achieve a lower limb circulation massage [0027].
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20210290479 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 6599261 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses the attachable leg massager of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Wu fails to disclose wherein the leg massager has the massaging member protruding from the front side of the chair, and other portions are located under the chair.
However, Chen teaches wherein the leg massager has the massaging member protruding from the front side of the chair, and other portions are located under the chair (Figs. 4 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachable leg massager for chair of Wu, wherein the leg massager has the massaging member protruding from the front side of the chair, and other portions are located under the chair, as taught by Chen (Figs. 4 and 6).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20210290479 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winterhalter (US 10743670 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses the attachable leg massager of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Wu fails to disclose wherein the chair is a folding chair.
However, Winterhalther teaches a chair (chair 100) that is a folding chair (Fig. 1; [62]) for storage and transport.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachable leg massager for chair of Wu wherein the chair is a folding chair, as taught by Winterhalter, so that the chair may fold for easy storage and transport [62].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US 20200206069 A1) is cited for its rotatable leg massage structure. (Fig. 2)
Wu (TW I745222 B) is cited for its rotatable leg message structure (Fig. 2)
/AMIRAH WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785