DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2021/0013626 A1) in view of Hu (US 2019/0007120 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Jang teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display cover layer (Fig. 5, 174, [0095] a protecting substrate 174);
a display panel (Fig. 5, 132, 120, DA, [0090] DP of the display device 110) mounted to the display cover layer (174) and configured to display images ([0035] display panel DP displaying an image) through the display cover layer (174);
an antenna (Fig. 5, [0090] unit antenna UA) that includes a slot between a lateral edge of the display panel (Fig. 5, NDA area below 174, above UA) and peripheral housing structures (not shown, implicit); and
a coplanar waveguide that overlaps the slot and that is configured to excite a resonant mode of the slot (Fig. 5, UA, [0036] coplanar waveguide (CPW) including the at least one unit antenna UA).
However, Jang does not explicitly teach the peripheral housing structures are peripheral conductive housing structures.
Hu teaches an electronic device comprising peripheral conductive housing structures ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the peripheral conductive housing structure of Hu to the teachings of Jang as well-known in the art for enhancing the aesthetic properties and mechanical strength of the device (Hu [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15, 19 and 20 are allowed. Specifically, the independent claims 1 and 19 are allowed over the prior arts. The dependent claims 2-15 are allowed due to their dependencies to the said independent claim 1. The dependent claim 20 is allowed due to its dependency to the said independent claim 19.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art Romano (US 2019/0097306 A1) discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display cover layer (Fig. 7, [0068] cover layer 180);
a display panel ([0065] display module 112) mounted to the display cover layer (180) and configured to display images through the display cover layer (Fig. 7, 180, 112);
a conductor ([0080], Figs. 7 and 5, a feed conductor 119) layered onto the display cover layer (Fig. 7, 180); and
an antenna that includes a radiating slot (Fig. 5, slot 142, 144, 145), wherein the first edge (Fig. 5, 130) is defined by the display (Fig. 5, 112, [0047] display module 112) and the second edge (119) is defined by the conductor.
Prior arts do not disclose or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, an electronic device comprising:
a conductive mesh layered onto the display layer; and
a radiating slot with a first edge and a second edge opposite the first edge, wherein the first edge is defined by the display and the second edge is defined by the conductor.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art Romano (US 2019/0097306 A1) discloses an electronic device comprising:
a radiating cavity (Fig. 6, [0074] cavity 163) overlapping the radiating slot (144, 145, 142, Fig. 5), wherein the conductive structures in the display and the conductor define at least one edge of the radiating cavity ([0074] cavity 163 defined by structures 116, 114, 12R and 160).
Prior arts do not disclose or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, an electronic device comprising:
a radiating slot having a first edge defined by conductive structures in a display, a second edge opposite the first edge and third and fourth edges that couple the first edge to the second edge, wherein the first, second and third edges are defined by a conductor on a dielectric layer.
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 17, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest an electronic device comprising: an air loop gasket that couples the conductive housing wall to the display panel, wherein the antenna further includes a cavity overlapping the slot and having edges defined by the air loop gasket, the conductive housing wall, the display panel, and the peripheral conductive housing structures, and the coplanar waveguide is configured to excite a resonant mode of the cavity, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest an electronic device comprising: an air loop gasket that couples the conductive housing wall to the display panel, wherein the antenna further includes a cavity overlapping the slot and having edges defined by the air loop gasket, the conductive housing wall, the display panel, and the peripheral conductive housing structures, and the coplanar waveguide is configured to excite a resonant mode of the cavity, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest an electronic device comprising: an optically transparent mesh of conductors layered onto the display cover layer and defining an edge of the slot, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844