DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Using BRI, Endoh discloses that amended claims. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endoh et al. 20070267655.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 2-10 of Endoh discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor stack comprising a substrate 10/10A, a first nitride semiconductor layer 11 (par [0056] - undoped GaN) on the substrate, and a second nitride semiconductor layer 12 (par [0056 - 12 made of undoped or n-type impurity doped AlGaN) on the first nitride semiconductor layer, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer (AlGaN) having a bandgap greater than that of the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN);
forming a first contact (21/22 – fig. 4) on the first nitride semiconductor layer;
forming a spacer 14 (figs. 4 and 9) attached to a sidewall of the first contact;
forming a passivation layer 15 (inherent passivation layer – par [0057] upper protective film 15 made of SiN) on the spacer; and
forming a second contact 23 after the spacer is formed;
wherein the spacer 14 is separated from the second contact 23 by the passivation layer 15 (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, par [0064] of Endoh discloses further comprising performing annealing prior to the spacer is formed.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 9 of Endoh discloses wherein the passivation layer has a convex surface (see the shape end tip).
Regarding claim 5, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses further comprising defining a void 14C by the first contact and the spacer.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses further comprising defining a void 14C between the sidewall of the first contact and a surface of the spacer.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses wherein the sidewall of the first contact has a rougher surface than a surface of the spacer (see thickness of contact is thicker than that of spacer and thickness difference between the two represent different roughness from bottom to top surface).
Regarding claim 8, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses wherein a surface of the spacer 14 adjacent to the sidewall of the first contact has a smoother surface than the sidewall of the first contact (since sidewall of 14 is smaller than sidewall of first contact which makes it smoother since comparing smaller surface to larger surface – smaller surface overall has less roughness than bigger surface means smoother).
Regarding claim 9, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses further comprising defining a void by the first contact, the spacer and the passivation layer.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses wherein the sidewall of the first contact has a rougher surface than a surface of the spacer (since first contact has larger surface area therefore overall surface roughness is rougher compare to smaller surface of spacer), and a surface of the passivation layer has a smoother surface (since first contact has larger surface area therefore overall surface roughness is rougher compare to smaller surface of passivation) than the sidewall of the first contact.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses wherein the void is enclosed by the sidewall of the first contact and a surface of the spacer adjacent to the sidewall of the first contact.
Regarding claim 12, par [0064] of Endoh discloses wherein the first contact is ohmic contact.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 10 of Endoh discloses wherein the first contact is enclosed by the first nitride semiconductor layer, the second nitride semiconductor layer, the spacer, and the passivation layer.
Regarding claim 13, figs. 2-10 of Endoh discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor stack comprising a substrate 10/10A, a first nitride semiconductor layer 11 (par [0056] - undoped GaN) on the substrate, and a second nitride semiconductor layer 12 (par [0056 - 12 made of undoped or n-type impurity doped AlGaN) on the first nitride semiconductor layer, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer (AlGaN) having a bandgap greater than that of the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN);
forming a first contact (21/22 – fig. 4) on the first nitride semiconductor layer;
forming a spacer 17 fig. 9 attached to a sidewall of the first contact (coplanar surface showing sidewall are coplanar which – attached to a sidewall of the first contact as claimed);
forming a passivation layer 15 (inherent passivation layer – par [0057] upper protective film 15 made of SiN) on the spacer; and
forming a second contact 23 after the spacer is formed;
wherein the spacer 17 is separated from the second contact 23 by the passivation layer 15 (fig. 10);
wherein the spacer 17 covers both sidewalls of the first contact and extends to a top surface of the first contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endoh in view of Tadjer et al. 20170338332.
Regarding claim 2, Endoh discloses claim 1. Endoh do not disclose further comprising performing annealing after the spacer is formed.
However, par [0044] of Tadjer disclose that SiN barrier layer is densified by annealing.
As such, it would have been obvious to form a method Endoh further comprising performing annealing after the spacer is formed such as taught by Tadjer to densify the spacer and the passivation layer above the spacer the layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893