DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/733805 filed June 4, 2026. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-12 all state different ways the gripping sleeve is connected to the housing, but the wording for each claim is indefinite. “Fixed connected” is not a grammatically coherent phrase, “the gripping sleeve and the housing are integrated molding” is not grammatically correct either, and also does not follow the logic of the previous claim 9 stating that the housing is sheathed in the gripping sleeve, and “is a soft adhesive holder” is extremely indefinite bordering on incomprehensible- the specification clearly indicates that this phrase is meant to suggest that the sleeve is bonded by an adhesive to the housing, but “is a soft adhesive holder” itself does not convey this meaning in any way. All of these claims seem to suffer from severe translation issues. Claims 13 and 14 depend from claim 12.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “the opening end” and “the mounting end” in claim 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the opening end of the gripping sleeve” in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brand et al. (US 2017/0120271).
Regarding claim 1: Brand et al. discloses an air brush which is a spray pen, having a body formed by a housing (162) having an air supply (198) and a handle (182) which is a housing, the outer surface of which is a gripping sleeve configured for a user to hold, the handle (182) including therein an air supply tube (192) which connects to an air reservoir (194) by what can be considered an air guiding connector, the air supply tube (192) being an air transportation tube which connects at the other end of the handle (182) to an air pump within a base station (300), such that air pumped by the base station (300) is sent to the inlet of the tube (192) and thereafter through the connector to the air reservoir (194) and out through the air supply (198) within the housing (162) (par. 67-72, 91; figures 20-23 and 28).
Regarding claims 2-4: Brand et al. shows that the handle (182) has a front surface and a rear surface on opposite sides in the direction of the housing (162), with a first side top surface located on a side of the front surface and a second side top surface on the opposite side of the front surface, both tilted downward in a direction opposite the direction of the housing (162) (see annotated figure below). Brand et al. does not explicitly say which surfaces are configured to support which fingers but those limitations are deemed to be statements with regard to the intended use and are not further limiting in so far as the structure of the apparatus is concerned. In apparatus claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP § 2111.02. A user is capable of using any of the surfaces of the handle (182) to support any of the desired fingers.
Regarding claim 5: Brand et al. shows that an upper portion of the handle (182) is protruded towards the nozzle end of the airbrush, the front surface further comprising a first, second, third and fourth surface, the first surface being an upper protruded end, the second surface being a lower end, the third and fourth surfaces being arranged on either side of the second surface (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6: Brand et al. shows that the first side top surface and second side top surface smoothly transition to the rear surface, the second surface smoothly transitions to the first surface, and the third and fourth surfaces smoothly transition to the second surface, as the term “smoothly” is broad (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 7: Brand et al. shows a raised edge provided between the second side top surface and the third surface, and another raised edge provided between the first side top surface and the fourth surface (see annotated figure above and figures 20-21).
Regarding claim 8: Brand et al. discloses that the handle (182) is ribbed for easier gripping, which is another way of saying it has anti-skid lines (par. 71).
Regarding claim 9: Brand et al. discloses that the handle (182) has a top end and a bottom end, the top end being mounted to the housing (162) of the airbrush such that it is a mounting end which sheathes the housing (162) and internal portions of the handle (182), where a protrusion is arranged on the mounting end having an open slot where it connects to the housing (162) which can be considered an installing slot, the installing slot running through both sides of the protrusion of the handle (182) and penetrating downwardly into the handle (182) such that it forms a penetration hole, the housing (162) being arranged within the installing slot extending from one end thereof to the other along the first direction, where the air supply (198) and reservoir (194) are extended into the penetration hole and connected therein, with the first side top surface and second side top surface located on opposing sides of the installing slot (pars. 71-72; figures 20-25).
Regarding claims 10-11: Brand et al. teaches that the surface of the handle (182) which is the gripping sleeve is integrally formed with the body of the handle such that it can be considered “fixed connected” or “integrated molding” (par. 67; figures 20-21).
Regarding claim 16: Brand et al. discloses a connection device which can be considered a platform at the bottom of the handle (182) which can be considered the end surface of its opening (see figure 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al. as applied to claims 1-11 and 16 above, and further in view of Fedorov (US 2009/0266916).
Regarding claim 12: Brand et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the handle (182) is connected to its housing via an adhesive. However, Fedorov discloses a similar airbrush (10) having a handle portion (26) made up of a first and second shell (14, 16) which can be coupled together with glue, the shells having a number of internal structural reinforcement members extending radially and circumferentially (pars. 24-25; figures 1, 4 and 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a two-shell grip like that of Fedorov for the apparatus of Brand et al. because Fedorov teaches that this allows the spraying devices to be more easily removable (pars. 6-8) and because using a known technique or element to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 13-14: Brand et al. and Fedorov disclose that the shell has a number of structural members that extend into the shell which are reinforcements such as sockets (58), receptacles (62) and protrusions (64) (Fedorov par. 30, 32; figure 4), as well as others (see annotated figure below) which extend radially and are distributed at circumferential intervals, and are arranged toward what can be considered the opening end, and can be considered to “fit” a surface of the mounting end, which is extremely broad.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al. as applied to claims 1-11 and 16 above, and further in view of Ptak (WO 2004/035223).
Regarding claim 15: Brand et al. discloses a pump and an electrical power supply as part of a base station (300) connected to the airbrush device (160), where the outlet of the pump connects to the incoming air supply (192) which is inside the housing of the handle (182) and connects to the reservoir (194) at an inlet end (par. 91-92; figures 24, 28-29), but Brand et al. fails to explicitly disclose the pump and power supply being within the housing of the handle (182) along with the incoming air supply (192). However, Ptak discloses a similar airbrush (10) which includes an electric motor (22) and air pump (24) within the internal cavity (20) of the airbrush, along with a battery supply (34) powering the motor (22) (p. 6, lines 24+, p. 7 lines 14-22; figure 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an internal pump and power supply like that of Ptak for the apparatus of Brand et al. because Ptak teaches that this improves cost, weight, ergonomics and maneuverability of the airbrush (p. 3 lines 19-22, p. 7 lines 7-13).
Conclusion
/S.A.K/
Stephen KittExaminer, Art Unit 1717
10/13/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717