DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2026, 03/13/2026, 08/24/2026, 08/05/2025, 10/29/2024, 09/25/2024 and 06/04/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 21 and 24 in lines 14-15/11-12 respectively, replace” set a value of a BSS color” with “set the value of the BSS color”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,475 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-23 are “anticipated by” claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,475 B2
Application No. 18/733,832 (Instant)
US 11,284,475 B2
21. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
22. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
23. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
1. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, when the PPDU including the trigger frame indicates a Basic Service Set (BSS) color, set a value of a BSS color indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the value of the BSS color indicated by the PPDU including the trigger frame, when the PPDU including the trigger frame does not indicate the BSS color, set a value of a BSS color indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS, wherein the active BSS color indicates a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal.
2. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: receive information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal, and when a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, set the active BSS color to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change.
3. The wireless communication terminal of claim 2, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
4. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial Association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate part of an AID value, wherein the Intra-BSS PPDU is a PPDU transmitted from the BSS including the wireless communication terminal, and the Inter-BSS PPDU is a PPDU transmitted from the BSS not including the wireless communication terminal.
Claim 24 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,475 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 24 is “anticipated by” claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,475 B2
Application No. 18/733,832 (Instant)
US 11,284,475 B2
24. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, setting a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, setting the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmitting the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
1. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, when the PPDU including the trigger frame indicates a Basic Service Set (BSS) color, set a value of a BSS color indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the value of the BSS color indicated by the PPDU including the trigger frame, when the PPDU including the trigger frame does not indicate the BSS color, set a value of a BSS color indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS, wherein the active BSS color indicates a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal.
2. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: receive information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal, and when a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, set the active BSS color to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change.
Claims 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,004,262 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-24 are “anticipated by” claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,004,262 B2.
Application No. 18/733,832 (Instant)
US 12,004,262 B2
21. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
22. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
23. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
24. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, setting a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, setting the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmitting the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
1. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a Basic Service Set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
2. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
3. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial Association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
4. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a Basic Service Set (BSS) color is included, setting a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, setting the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmitting the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
Claims 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,010,762 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-24 are “anticipated by” claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,010,762 B2.
Application No. 18/733,832 (Instant)
US 12,010,762 B2
21. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
22. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
23. The wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
24. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame includes an association identifier (AID) which identifies a wireless communication terminal which is triggered by the trigger frame, and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, setting a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, setting the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmitting the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
1. A wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals; and a processor configured to process the wireless signals, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a Basic Service Set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
2. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
3. The wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial Association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
4. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal wirelessly communicating with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal, when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a Basic Service Set (BSS) color is included, setting a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, setting the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, and transmitting the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change, and wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (2017/0325202), Verma hereinafter, in view of Patil et al. (2018/0110046), Patil hereinafter.
Re. Claims 21 and 24, Verma teaches a method (¶0008/¶0011) of operating a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 12,STA, 115 / Fig. 2, STA1-2) wirelessly (Fig. 2) communicating with a base wireless communication terminal (Fig. 7, AP, 105 / Fig. 2, AP 105), and a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 12,STA, 115 / Fig. 2, STA1-2) wirelessly (Fig. 2) communicating with a base wireless communication terminal (Fig. 7, AP, 105 / Fig. 2, AP 105), the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 12, 1202) configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (Fig. 2 / Fig.12 & ¶0120 - transceiver 1202 for receiving and transmitting radio transmissions, for example, wireless communications transmitted by at least one AP 105 or wireless transmissions transmitted by another STA 115); and a processor (Fig. 12, 1212) configured to process the wireless signals (Fig. 2 / Fig. 12 & ¶0115 - ¶0118), wherein the processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a trigger frame for triggering transmission to the base wireless communication terminal, wherein the trigger frame (Fig. 3B, 302) includes a identifier (Fig. 3B, User Identifier of PerUserInfo 310-1 of the trigger frame 302) which identifies a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 2, STA1-2) which is triggered by the trigger frame (Fig. 3B, 302) , and the trigger frame indicates a resource unit (RU) which is allocated to the wireless communication terminal (Fig. 2-12 & ¶0011 - receiving, at a STA, a trigger frame from an AP. The trigger frame may include a per-user information field. The method may further include decoding the trigger frame to identify whether one or more resources allocated to the STA are a single user resource unit allocation or a multi-user resource unit allocation. Fig. 2-12 & ¶0035 - BSS color is a field in the HE trigger-based PPDU, aspects of the present disclosure ensure that it is set correctly in order to be identical value by all non-AP STAs transmitted the HE trigger-based PPDU. Fig. 2-12 & ¶0058 - table 400 that identifies one example of bit values that may be assigned to a resource unit allocation subfield of the per-user information field of the trigger frame to identify whether the one or more resources allocated to the at least one STA are the single user resource unit allocation or the multi-user resource unit allocation. Fig. 2-12 & ¶0059 - in table 400, the seven (7) bit indices of the resource unit allocation subfield (see FIG. 3B, RU Allocation 320) may utilize the identified bit values to convey the identified message to the STA based on the determination whether at least one or more allocated resource units are SU or MU. Fig. 2-12 & ¶0065 - At block 520, the method may include transmitting the trigger frame to the at least one STA……the trigger frame may also include resource allocation information for the STAs to utilize for uplink transmission.), when a format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which at least one of physical layer signaling fields including a field for indicating a basic service set (BSS) color is included, set a value of a BSS color to be indicated by a trigger-based PPDU based on the BSS color indicated by the field, (Fig. 2-12 & ¶0036 - BSS color information may be added to the common information field (see FIG. 3A, common info field 305) of the trigger frame that may be transmitted in the HE PPDU….when AID12=0, type dependent per user information field of the trigger frame may be repurposed to indicate the BSS color information….when an AP is allocating resource units (RU) for OBO, then AP may allocate all RUs to AID=0. Thus, all the associated and unassociated STAs may transmit HE_Trig PPDU with a fixed BSS color (e.g., value 0 or 63). .. aspects of the present disclosure may also include adding an additional bit to the trigger frame common info field (FIG. 3A) to indicate whether the STA should use broadcast BSS color in HE_Trig packet. Fig. 2-12 & ¶0055 - AP may receive from the at least one STA (e.g., associated and/or unassociated STAs) a high efficiency (HE) trigger physical layer convergence procedure protocol data unit (RE Trig PPDU) with a fixed basic service set (BSS) color information in response to the transmission of the trigger frame. Also, see claim 6), transmit the trigger-based PPDU based on the trigger frame (Fig. 2-12 & ¶0036 - BSS color information may be added to the common information field (see FIG. 3A, common info field 305) of the trigger frame that may be transmitted in the HE PPDU….when an AP is allocating resource units (RU) for OBO, then AP may allocate all RUs to AID=0. Thus, all the associated and unassociated STAs may transmit HE_Trig PPDU with a fixed BSS color (e.g., value 0 or 63). Fig. 2-12 & ¶0040 - AP1 105-a and/or AP2 105-b may transmit a trigger frame (see FIG. 3A and 3B) to initiate uplink transmission from one or more STAs in the network. … the request to initiate the uplink transmission (by the AP via trigger frame) may be based on receiving a buffer status report from one or more STAs 115 that may identify the amount of data that each STA may be queued for uplink transmission. … The AP 105 may achieve this goal by utilizing a trigger frame that identifies the STAs 115 that AP 105 requests to initiate uplink transmission and assigns resources for the STA 115 to use when communicating with the AP 105), wherein the BSS color is one of identifiers identifying a BSS (Fig. 2-12 & ¶0036 - Fig. 2-12 & ¶0036 - BSS color information may be added to the common information field (see FIG. 3A, common info field 305) of the trigger frame that may be transmitted in the HE PPDU……all the associated and unassociated STAs may transmit HE_Trig PPDU with a fixed BSS color (e.g., value 0 or 63). Fig. 2-12 & ¶0049 - the AP 105 first identifies a BSS color information and inserts the BSS color information in all the packets sent by the HE AP 105 to the STAs 115, including the trigger frame 210. In response, the STAs 115 may add the BSS color information identified by the AP 105 in the trigger frame into the packets it sends out).,
Yet, Verma does not expressly teach when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element, wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change,
However, in the analogous art, Patil explicitly discloses when the format of the PPDU including the trigger frame is a PPDU format in which any physical layer signaling field including the field for indicating the BSS color is not included, set the value of the BSS color to be indicated by the trigger-based PPDU according to an active BSS color of the wireless communication terminal, wherein the active BSS color is a BSS color actually used by the wireless communication terminal and set by an Operation element (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0062 - The AP detects a color collision, at time t0 , and transmits a color collision detection (CCD) message to the stations STA1 and STA2. … the AP may detect the color collision by analyzing the BSS color identifier of communication frames intended for an overlapping BSS. … the AP may be notified of the color collision by one or more of its associated stations STA1 or STA2. … the CCD message may correspond to a bit in the HE Operation element of frames communicated by the AP to the stations STA1 and STA2. The CCD message, as transmitted at time t0, may indicate that the STAs should disable one or more color-related functions. For example, in one aspect, the AP may indicate that the STAs should disable their color-related functions by activating the corresponding bit in the HE Operation field of frames communicated to the stations STA1 and STA2.), wherein when the wireless communication terminal receives information on a BSS color change from the base wireless communication terminal and a BSS color change time point indicated by the information on the BSS color change is reached, the active BSS color is set to a value of a BSS color indicated by the information on the BSS color change (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0066 - the AP may perform the color change operation during a target beacon transmission time (TBTT), when its associated STAs expect to receive a beacon frame from the AP. The CS trigger message may specify or otherwise indicate a particular TBTT (TBTT.sub.CS) at which the BSS color change is to occur. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0067 - Then, at time t3 (coinciding with TBTTCS ), the AP broadcasts a beacon frame with new BSS color information….. the beacon frame may include a flow identifier indicating a BSS color change. More specifically, the beacon frame may include a “target wake time” (TWT) element that indicates the flow identifier. For example, the beacon frame broadcast during the color-switching time (TBTTCS) may include a BSS color identifier with the new BSS color. More specifically, the AP may select a new color that is different than the color of any overlapping BSSs (or other BSSs in the vicinity of the AP). For example, during the color monitoring period (from times t1 to t2), the AP may gather information about the BSS color of neighboring APs. The AP may thus select a new color for its own BSS that does not conflict with the BSS color of any of its neighboring APs. After receiving the beacon frame, at time t4, each of the associated stations STA1 and STA2 may “switch” to the new BSS color indicated in the received beacon frame and re-enable their respective color-related functionality. For example, the stations STA1 and STA2 may subsequently identify communication frames with the new BSS color as frames intended for their particular BSS.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Verma’s invention of a technique in generating trigger frames at an access point in a wireless local network to include Patil’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing parameters of a basic service set (BSS) of a wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving throughput of communications in dense deployment scenarios where one BSS (Basic Service Set) may hinder or otherwise interfere with communications in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) as served by one or more access points (APs) providing a shared wireless communication medium for use by a number of client devices or stations (STAs). (¶0002 - ¶0005, Patil)
Re. Claim 22, Verma and Patil teach claim 21.
Yet, Verma does not expressly teach wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Patil explicitly discloses wherein the BSS color change time point is set based on a target beacon transmission time transmitted by the base wireless communication terminal. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0066- It may be desirable to perform the color change operation at a time when all (or at least most) of the STAs of a particular BSS are listening to the AP. .. the AP may perform the color change operation during a target beacon transmission time (TBTT), when its associated STAs expect to receive a beacon frame from the AP. The CS trigger message may specify or otherwise indicate a particular TBTT (TBTTCS) at which the BSS color change is to occur. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0067 - the beacon frame broadcast during the color-switching time (TBTTCS) may include a BSS color identifier with the new BSS color. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0070 - the CS trigger message may indicate a time (TBTTCS) at which a color change operation is scheduled to occur),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Verma’s invention of a technique in generating trigger frames at an access point in a wireless local network to include Patil’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing parameters of a basic service set (BSS) of a wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving throughput of communications in dense deployment scenarios where one BSS (Basic Service Set) may hinder or otherwise interfere with communications in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) as served by one or more access points (APs) providing a shared wireless communication medium for use by a number of client devices or stations (STAs). (¶0002 - ¶0005, Patil)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma, in view of Patil, further in view of Park et al. (2018/0146426), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 23, Verma and Patil teach claim 21.
Yet, Verma and Patil do not expressly teach wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial Association ID (AID) field, the processor determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein if the PPDU indicates a partial Basic Service Set (BSS) color using a Partial Association ID (AID) field, the processor (Fig. 14, 21) determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS PPDU or an Inter-BSS PPDU based on the partial BSS color when the value of the partial AID field is non-zero, wherein the partial AID field is a signaling field used to indicate a value obtained based on an AID value. (Fig. 8- 13 & ¶0217 - For the two NAVs maintained by an HE STA, one is identified as intra-BSS NAV, and the second one is identified as basic NAV. Intra-BSS NAV is used to store NAV value, if needed, from a PPDU identified as intra-BSS. Basic NAV is used to store NAV value, if needed, from a PPDU identified as inter-BSS. Fig. 8- 13 & ¶0222 - The RXVECTOR parameter PARTIAL_AID in the received VHT PPDU with the RXVECTOR parameter GROUP_ID equal to 0 is the same as the BSSID[39:47] of the AP to which the STA is associated. Fig. 8- 13 & ¶0223 - The value of RXVECTOR parameter PARTIAL_AID [5:8] in the received VHT PPDU with the RXVECTOR parameter GROUP_ID equal to 63 is the same as the partial BSS color announced by the AP to which the STA is associated when the Partial BSS Color field in the most recently received HE Operation element is 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Verma’s invention of a technique in generating trigger frames at an access point and Patil’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing parameters of a basic service set (BSS) of a wireless network to include Park’s invention of transmitting a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network, because it provides an improved protection mechanism to prevent collisions due to simultaneous transmissions of STAs by using high efficiency WLAN system (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax) in the wireless local area network. (¶0004-¶0006, Park)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IEEE: doc.: IEEE 802.11-16/1415r2, November, 2016; Proposed Resolution for CID 72 (BSS Color Change Procedure); Authors: Patil et al. Affiliation: Qualcomm Inc.; See §9.3.3; §9.6.28, §9.4.2.22x, §25.1a.1 (see snapshots below).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467