DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-8, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 9,329,581 to Hashimoto, and in view of USPN 8,274,768 to Ueki.
As to claim 1, Hashimoto teaches a power conversion system (fig. 4: “1”, “10”, “14”, “17”, “18”) comprising: a plurality of power modules(fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”); and a control module (fig. 4: “10”) connected to the plurality of power modules(fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”), wherein the control module comprises: a current source configured to supply a switch drive current(fig. 4: power supply “1” and “1A” are configured to supply a switch drive voltage/current); wherein each module of the plurality of power modules (fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) comprises: power conversion circuitry (fig. 4: “14” and “14A” configured to output electric power to motors “2”, “2A”) configured to output electric power; a power-off switch configured to cut off the electric power from the power conversion circuitry in response to a disappearance of the switch drive current supplied by the current source(col. 5: lines 13-23) wherein the current source, the main switch, and the power-off switch and the input cutoff switch for each of the plurality of power modules are serially connected each other to form a series connection among the plurality of power modules(fig. 4 wherein a plurality of safety switch terminals for each of the plurality of power modules “14” and “14A” are serially connected each other to form a series connection among the plurality of power modules).
Hashimoto does not teach an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the module and a main switch configured to cut off the switch drive current supplied by the current source in response to an external abnormality detected outside the power conversion system.
Ueki teaches an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the module and a main switch configured to cut off the switch drive current supplied by the current source in response to an external abnormality detected outside the power conversion system(col. 2: lines 29-39).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Ueki into Hashimoto since Hashimoto suggests a motor control system and Ueki suggests the beneficial use of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected in the motor control system in the analogous art of motor control technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Ueki teaches apparatus and method of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected which can be used to improve the motor control system disclosed by Hashimoto.
As to claim 4, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of power modules (Hashimoto fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) further comprises: a first connector (Hashimoto fig. 4: “16”) configured to receive the switch drive current supplied by the current source(Hashimoto fig. 4: “1”); a second connector (Hashimoto fig. 4: “16A”) configured to output the switch drive current that has passed through the power-off switch and the input cutoff switch(Hashimoto fig. 4: “17c”, “18b”); and a return line configured to return the switch drive current from the second connector to the first connector(see fig. 4 for the return line between “16” and “16A”).
As to claim 5, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of power modules (Hashimoto fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) comprises: one direct connection module, the first connector of the one direct connection module being connected to the current source of the control module; and one or more indirect connection modules, the first connector of each of the one or more indirect connection modules being connected to the second connector of another power module(Hashimoto fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A” and “10” wherein all the power modules, control modules and connectors are connected properly to make the power conversion system work).
As to claim 6, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 5, wherein the one or more indirect connection modules include a termination module that is not the other power module, and wherein a termination connector is connected to the second connector of the termination module, the termination connector being configured to pass the switch drive current from the second connector to the return line(Hashimoto fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A” and “10” wherein all the power modules, control modules and connectors are connected properly to make the power conversion system work).
As to claim 7, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1 wherein the power supply (fig. 4: “1”) provides current source for the power modules
As to claim 8, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the main switch is configured to cut off the switch drive current supplied by the current source in response to an input from an external sensor configured to detect the external abnormality(Ueki col. 2: lines 29-39).
As to claim 15, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1, further comprising a secondary control module, wherein the plurality of power modules comprise: a plurality of primary power modules (fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) connected to the control module(fig. 4: “10”); and one or more secondary power (fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) modules connected to the secondary control module(fig. 4: “11”), and wherein the secondary control module is connected to the control module so that the current source, the main switch, the power-off switch and the input cutoff switch for each of the plurality of primary power modules, and the one or more secondary power modules are serially connected each other so as to form the series connection among the plurality of primary power modules and the one or more secondary power modules(Hashimoto fig. 4 wherein a plurality of safety switch terminals for each of the plurality of power modules “14” and “14A” are serially connected each other to form a series connection among the plurality of power modules).
As to claim 16. Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of power modules comprises a first power module including a first power-off switch and a first input cutoff switch, and a second power module including a second power-off switch and a second input cutoff switch, and wherein the current source, the main switch, the first power-off switch, the first input cutoff switch, the second power-off switch, and the second input cutoff switch are connected in series in the series connection(Hashimoto fig. 4 wherein a plurality of safety switch terminals for each of the plurality of power modules “14” and “14A” are serially connected each other to form a series connection among the plurality of power switches & modules).
As to claim 17, Hashimoto in view of Ueki teaches a system comprising: the power conversion system according to claim 1 and a motor (fig, 4: “2”, “2A”) driven by the electric power supplied from the plurality of power modules(fig. 4: “1”, “1A”).
As to claim 18, Hashimoto teaches a power module (fig. 4: “1”, “10”, “14”, “17”, “18”) comprising: power conversion circuitry (fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) connected to a control module (fig. 4: “10”) and configured to output electric power (fig. 4: power supply “1” and “1A” are configured to supply a switch drive voltage/current); a first connector (fig. 4: “17”) configured to receive a switch drive current supplied by a current source(fig. 4: “1”); a power-off switch configured to cut off the electric power from the power conversion circuitry in response to a disappearance of the switch drive current from the first connector (col. 5: lines 13-23) and a second connector configured to output the switch drive current that has passed through the power-off switch and the input cutoff switch and a return line configured to return the switch drive current from the second connector to the first connector(fig. 4 wherein switches “16”/ “16A” and the return line between “17c” and “19c” configured to return the switch drive current from the second connector “32A” to the first connector “32”).
Hashimoto does not teach an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the power module.
Ueki teaches an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the power module (col. 2: lines 29-39).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Ueki into Hashimoto since Hashimoto suggests a motor control system and Ueki suggests the beneficial use of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected in the motor control system in the analogous art of motor control technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Ueki teaches apparatus and method of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected which can be used to improve the motor control system disclosed by Hashimoto.
As to claim 20, Hashimoto teaches a control module connected to a plurality of power modules, wherein each module of the plurality of power modules (fig. 4: “1” & “14”, “1A” & “14A”) comprises: power conversion circuitry (fig. 4: “1”, “10”, “14”, “17”, “18”) configured to output electric power; a power-off switch configured to cut off the electric power from the power conversion circuitry in response to a disappearance of a switch drive current (col. 5: lines 13-23); and wherein the control module comprises: a current source configured to supply the switch drive current and a connector configured to serially connect the current source, the main switch, and the power-off switch and the input cutoff switch for each of the plurality of power modules so as to form a series connection among the plurality of power modules (fig. 4 wherein a plurality of safety switch terminals for each of the plurality of power modules “14” and “14A” are serially connected each other to form a series connection among the plurality of power modules).
Hashimoto does not teach an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the module and a main switch configured to cut off the switch drive current supplied by the current source in response to an external abnormality detected outside the plurality of power modules.
Ueki teaches an input cutoff switch configured to cut off the switch drive current to the power-off switch in response to an internal abnormality detected inside the module and a main switch configured to cut off the switch drive current supplied by the current source in response to an external abnormality detected outside the plurality of power modules (col. 2: lines 29-39).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Ueki into Hashimoto since Hashimoto suggests a motor control system and Ueki suggests the beneficial use of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected in the motor control system in the analogous art of motor control technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Ueki teaches apparatus and method of cutting off power to the load source in response to an abnormality detected which can be used to improve the motor control system disclosed by Hashimoto.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2-3, 9-14, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims 1, 18, but could be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims for the following reasons: No prior art of record discloses the features as claimed in the noted claims.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The non-obvious features are:
In comparison with the closest prior art as cited in this Office action and any previous Office actions, no prior art of record discloses the following features as claimed in the following claim limitations:
As per claim 2: Shorten a pair of power-off output terminals in response to an appearance of the switch drive current between a pair of power-off input terminals; and open the pair of power-off output terminals in response to the disappearance of the switch drive current between the pair of power-off input terminals, wherein the input cutoff switch is configured to:
shorten a pair of cutoff output terminals in response to an appearance of an on-current between a pair of cutoff input terminals, the on-current indicating an absence of the internal abnormality; and open the pair of cutoff output terminals in response to a disappearance of the on-current between the pair of cutoff input terminals, wherein one of the pair of power-off input terminals and one of the pair of cutoff output terminals are connected to each other in the series connection.
As per claim 9: A second current source configured to supply a second switch drive current; and a second main switch configured to cut off the second switch drive current supplied by the second current source in response to a second external abnormality detected outside the plurality of power conversion system, wherein each module of the plurality of power modules comprises: a second power-off switch configured to cut off the electric power from the power conversion circuitry in response to a disappearance of the second switch drive current supplied by the second current source; and a second input cutoff switch configured to cut off the second switch drive current to the second power-off switch in response to the internal abnormality, and
wherein the second current source, the second main switch, and the second power-off switch and the second input cutoff switch for each of the plurality of power modules are serially connected each other so as to form a second series connection among the plurality of power modules.
As per claim 19: Shorten a pair of power-off output terminals in response to an appearance of the switch drive current between a pair of power-off input terminals; and
open the pair of power-off output terminals in response to the disappearance of the switch drive current between the pair of power-off input terminals, wherein the input cutoff switch is configured to: shorten a pair of cutoff output terminals in response to an appearance of an on-current between a pair of cutoff input terminals, the on-current indicating an absence of the internal abnormality; and open the pair of cutoff output terminals in response to a disappearance of the on-current between the pair of cutoff input terminals, and wherein one of the pair of power-off input terminals and one of the pair of cutoff output terminals are connected to each other between the first connector and the second connector.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 7,116,069 to Holterman discloses a safety motor control system.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846