DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5-7, 12, and 13 are amended.
Specification
The amendments to the title were received on 07/17/2026. The title is acceptable.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Prior art does not disclose or suggest determining whether the timing advance is valid based on "whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative," as recited in amended Claim 1, [Remarks, pages 10-11].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Liberg discloses determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0086, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement; determining whether the timing advance is valid based on a comparison of the measurement and a measurement threshold)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
Regarding determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range, Liberg discloses in Figure 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087.
[0057] …. In this regard, it is to be understood that a device that is stationary, or of low mobility, can be expected to experience a limited change in idle mode serving and neighbor cell signal strength. In the present disclosure, embodiments of a device and methods of operation thereof are proposed for determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device. These measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements and/or signal quality measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurements.
[0064] Upon initiation of the Idle mode transmission, the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA value TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement(s) made in step 304 and, optionally, the measurements made in step 306 (step 308). For example, in some embodiments, the measurement(s) made on the serving cell is compared to a threshold, and the wireless device 212 determines that the TA value TA(T.sub.0) is valid if the measurement is greater than the threshold, as discussed below in detail. Note that this is only one example. The measurement(s) can be used by the wireless device 212 in any suitable manner to determine whether the TA value TA(T.sub.0) is valid.
[0065] If the TA value TA(T.sub.0) is valid (step 310, YES), the wireless device 212 performs the Idle mode transmission using the TA value TA(T.sub.0) (step 312). Optionally, if the TA value TA(T.sub.0) is not valid (step 310, NO), the wireless device 212 obtains a new TA value TA(T.sub.1) via transmission of a Random Access preamble and reception of the new TA value TA(T.sub.1) in a RAR message, e.g., in the conventional manner (step 314) and performs the desired data transmission using the new TA value TA(T.sub.1) (step 316). As will be understood, T.sub.1 is a time after T.sub.0.
[0067] In a first embodiment, at time instance T.sub.0, a device (e.g., a wireless device 212) makes the transition from Connected mode to Idle mode holding a valid TA(T.sub.0) configuration, which, e.g., was received as a response to a random access preamble transmission (i.e., as part of a RAR message). The device measures the downlink signal strength RSRP(T.sub.0) of its serving cell, and compares RSRP(T.sub.0) to a configured threshold RSRP.sub.TH. If RSRP(T.sub.0)>RSRP.sub.TH, the device takes this as an indication that it is in proximity to the base station (e.g., the base station 202 of its serving cell) and stores the TA(T.sub.0) value.
[0068] At a second and subsequent time instance T.sub.1, one or more higher layers in the device trigger an Idle mode data transmission. In a first step, the device again measures the absolute signal strength RSRP(T.sub.1) of the serving cell and compares RSRP(T.sub.1) to a predefined or preconfigured signal strength threshold RSRP.sub.TH. If RSRP(T.sub.1)>RSRP.sub.TH, the device takes this as an indication that it is still in proximity to the base station and assumes that the stored TA(T.sub.0) value is still valid. In a third step, the device performs the Idle mode data transmission using the stored TA value.
[0069] In a first aspect of the first embodiment, if RSRP(T.sub.1)<RSRP.sub.TH, the device assumes that its TA(T.sub.0) value stored since its most recent RAR message reception is outdated. The device then makes a Random Access preamble transmission to acquire a new valid TA configuration.
[0070] In a second aspect of the first embodiment, the strength threshold is a fixed value either configured by system information broadcast dynamically or semi-statically or by dedicated signaling by the network. As an example, in some embodiments, this threshold corresponds to the thresholds below which a cell no longer is suitable, which calls for an update of the TA configuration.
[0086] …. In FIG. 5 for example, the first peak and dip in the signal falling outside the threshold region would not cause the UE to conclude that the stored TA could not be reused. However, when later falling below the threshold region for an extended amount of time, the UE would conclude that its mobility has been great enough that it would not be allowed to reuse to stored TA.
[0087] Filtering in time domain, or additional input from, e.g., an accelerometer in the device or measurements on neighbor cells, could be used to avoid scenarios in which measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB and shadow fading. ….
In other words, Liberg discloses determine both of a first and second threshold for timing advance validity.
Regarding determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive, Shin discloses in paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590.
[0010] In addition, in the present disclosure, the validity of the TA is determined based on a TA validity timer, reference signal received power (RSRP) detection information, and time difference of arrival (TDoA) information.
[0012] In addition, in the present disclosure, when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid.
[0555] Here, the TA validity confirmation algorithm may be configured to consist of AND operation of various criteria such as TA validity timer, (N) RSRP detection, and Time Difference of Arrival (TDoA), etc. That is, if all of the criteria included in the corresponding algorithm are positive (or means no problem), it may be determined that the TA value of the corresponding UE is valid. Characteristically, the threshold of each criterion may be configured to be independently configured by the base station. For example, when the TA validity confirmation algorithm includes the TA validity timer and the NRSRP level, and the base station indicates 10 min as the TA validity timer value (the TA validity timer may be configured to start counting when the UE enters the idle mode for the first time after being configured from the base station, or (re)start when a valid TA value is received from the base station through the previous TA update procedure (e.g., RACH, EDT, etc.)) and indicates X dBm as NRSRP level, the UE performing the TA validity confirmation algorithm may determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time, and transmit the PUR.
[0557] That is, the UE may be configured the NRSRP measurement period from the base station, and it may be configured that the UE measures the NRSRP according to the period, and applies the result of comparison with the threshold configured from the base station to the TA validity confirmation algorithm.
[0558] Here, since the period in which the TA validity confirmation algorithm is performed and the NRSRP measurement period may be independent of each other, if it is determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid and configured to attempt TA update.
[0587] In this case, the TA alignment timer, etc., performs a validity test before every PUR position, and an operation such as NRSRP measurements performs a validity test only when there is UL data to be transmitted.
[0590] In the case of applying the method, since the UE can maintain the same level of TA validity even if it tests only a smaller number of times than the general number of TA validity tests, it has an advantage in terms of power saving of the UE.
In other words, Shin discloses determining whether the timing advance is valid based on a comparison of the measurement and a measurement threshold.
Therefore, given that the combination of Liberg and Shin teaches determine both of a first and second threshold for timing advance validity and determining whether the timing advance is valid based on a comparison of the measurement and a measurement threshold, then the combination of Liberg and Shin teaches determining whether the timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
Regarding the rejection of claims 5-7, 12, and 13, claims 5-7, 12, and 13 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 5-7, 12, and 13, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-4 and 8-11, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al., (hereinafter Liberg), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0306968, in view of Shin et al., (hereinafter Shin), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0321413.
As per claim 1, Liberg discloses a terminal device for use in a wireless telecommunication system [fig. 2, 3, 11, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0109, 0112, 0120, a terminal device for use in a wireless telecommunication system (wireless connection between the UE and the base station; the UE 1100 includes one or more processors 1102 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1104, and one or more transceiver(s) 1106 each including one or more transmitter(s) 1108 and one or more receiver(s) 1110 coupled to one or more antennas 1112)], comprising
controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry configured to operate together such that the terminal device is configured [fig. 2, 3, 11, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0109, 0112, 0120, controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry configured to operate together such that the terminal device is configured (wireless connection between the UE and the base station; the UE 1100 includes one or more processors 1102 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1104, and one or more transceiver(s) 1106 each including one or more transmitter(s) 1108 and one or more receiver(s) 1110 coupled to one or more antennas 1112)] to:
determine a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determine a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)];
receive at least one predetermined range from the base station device [paragraphs 0094, 0096, receive at least one predetermined range from the base station device (the variance of the set of RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.1)−RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.0) does exceed the configured threshold)];
determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's device with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
As per claim 2, Liberg discloses the terminal device of claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to
determine an indication of a distance between the terminal device and the base station device based on the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, determine an indication of a distance between the terminal device and the base station device based on the measured RSRP (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)].
As per claim 3, Liberg discloses the terminal device of claim 1,
wherein an indication of a change in distance between the terminal device and the base station device is based on the change in measured RSRP [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, wherein an indication of a change in distance between the terminal device and the base station device is based on the change in measured RSRP (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)].
As per claim 4, Liberg discloses the terminal device of claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further operable to
determine the current timing advance should not be updated if the measured RSRP is within the predetermined range [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0085, determine the current timing advance should not be updated if the measured RSRP is within the predetermined range (receive an updated TA configuration after moving ˜700 meters closer, or away, from its serving eNB; acquired TA configuration is still valid or needs to be updated)].
As per claim 5, Liberg discloses a method of operating a terminal device in a wireless telecommunication system [fig. 2, 3, 11, 14, paragraphs 0009, 0061, 0109, 0112, 0120, 0129, a method of operating a terminal device in a wireless telecommunication system (wireless connection between the UE and the base station; a method performed by a wireless device for determining a validity of a timing advance configuration of the wireless device)], the method comprising:
determining a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determining a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)];
receiving at least one predetermined range from the base station device [paragraphs 0094, 0096, receiving at least one predetermined range from the base station device (the variance of the set of RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.1)−RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.0) does exceed the configured threshold)];
determining both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
determining whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determining a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determining whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and determining whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's method with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
As per claim 6, Liberg discloses a circuitry for a terminal device for use in a wireless telecommunication system, comprising:
controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry [fig. 2, 3, 11, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0109, 0112, 0120, a circuitry for a terminal device for use in a wireless telecommunication system, the circuitry comprising controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry (wireless connection between the UE and the base station; the UE 1100 includes one or more processors 1102 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1104, and one or more transceiver(s) 1106 each including one or more transmitter(s) 1108 and one or more receiver(s) 1110 coupled to one or more antennas 1112)] configured to operate together such that the circuitry is configured to cause the terminal device to:
determine a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determine a timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of reference signalling transmitted by the base station device (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)];
receive at least one predetermined range from the base station device [paragraphs 0094, 0096, receive at least one predetermined range from the base station device (the variance of the set of RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.1)−RSRP(C.sub.X, T.sub.0) does exceed the configured threshold)];
determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the circuitry described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's circuitry with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
As per claim 7, Liberg discloses a network access node for use in a wireless telecommunication system, comprising
controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry [fig. 8, paragraphs 0103, 0105, a network access node for use in a wireless telecommunication system, the network access node comprising controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry (the radio access node 800 includes the control system 802 that includes the one or more processors 804 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), the memory 806, and the network interface 808 and the one or more radio units 810)] configured to operate together such that the network access node is configured to:
determine a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determine a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
determine an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, determine an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)];
transmit reference signalling to the terminal device [paragraphs 0006, 0123, 0124, 0182, transmit reference signalling to the terminal device (the UE receives input data provided by the host computer)];
receive a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, receive a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)]; and
transmit at least one predetermined range to the terminal device to cause the terminal device to determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
wherein the terminal device determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's node with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
As per claim 8, Liberg discloses the network access node of claim 7, wherein the network access node is further configured to
transmit an updated timing advance to the terminal device if the current timing advance should be updated [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0070, transmit an updated timing advance to the terminal device if the current timing advance should be updated (determining if the most recently acquired TA configuration is still valid or needs to be updated)].
As per claim 9, Liberg discloses the network access node of claim 7,
wherein an indication of a distance between the terminal device and the network access node is determined based on the RSRP measurement [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, wherein an indication of a distance between the terminal device and the network access node is determined based on the RSRP measurement (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)].
As per claim 10, Liberg discloses the network access node of claim 7,
wherein an indication of a change in distance between the terminal device and the network access node is based on the change in the RSRP measurement [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, wherein an indication of a change in distance between the terminal device and the network access node is based on the change in the RSRP measurement (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)].
As per claim 11, Liberg discloses the network access node of claim 7,
wherein a current timing advance should not be updated if the RSRP is within the predetermined range [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0085, wherein a current timing advance should not be updated if the RSRP is within the predetermined range (receive an updated TA configuration after moving ˜700 meters closer, or away, from its serving eNB; acquired TA configuration is still valid or needs to be updated)].
As per claim 12, Liberg discloses a method of operating a network access node in a wireless telecommunication system [fig. 2, 3, 11, 14, paragraphs 0009, 0061, 0109, 0112, 0120, 0129, a method of operating a network access node in a wireless telecommunication system (wireless connection between the UE and the base station; a method performed by a wireless device for determining a validity of a timing advance configuration of the wireless device)], the method comprising:
determining a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determining a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
determining an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, determining an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)];
transmitting reference signalling to the terminal device [paragraphs 0006, 0123, 0124, 0182, transmitting reference signalling to the terminal device (the UE receives input data provided by the host computer)];
receiving a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, receiving a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)]; and
transmitting at least one predetermined range to the terminal device to cause the terminal device to determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
wherein the terminal device determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and wherein the terminal device determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's method with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
As per claim 13, Liberg discloses a circuitry for a network access node for use in a wireless telecommunication system, comprising
controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry [fig. 8, paragraphs 0103, 0105, a circuitry for a network access node for use in a wireless telecommunication system, the circuitry comprising controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry (the radio access node 800 includes the control system 802 that includes the one or more processors 804 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), the memory 806, and the network interface 808 and the one or more radio units 810)] configured to operate together such that the circuitry is configured to cause the network access node to:
determine a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0074, 0087, determine a current timing advance to be used by a terminal device for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources to the network access node in the wireless telecommunication system (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration)];
determine an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity [paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0058, 0087, determine an indication of a distance between the network access node and the other entity (measurements indicate an unchanged RSRP due to multiple parameters changing at the same time, i.e., the distance to eNB)];
transmit reference signalling to the terminal device [paragraphs 0006, 0123, 0124, 0182, transmit reference signalling to the terminal device (the UE receives input data provided by the host computer)];
receive a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling [paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0067, 0087, 0094, receive a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement from the terminal device in response to transmission of the reference signalling (the measurement is an RSRP measurement; measurements RSRP(T.sub.0) and RSRP(T.sub.1) are performed for a set of neighbor cells)]; and
transmit at least one predetermined range to the terminal device to cause the terminal device to determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the at least one predetermined range [fig. 5, paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0065, 0067-0070, 0086, 0087, determine both of a first timing advance validity threshold and a second timing advance validity threshold based on the measured RSRP and the received at least one predetermined range (determining the validity of the device's most recent TA configuration based on idle mode measurements on the serving cell(s) and, in some embodiments, one or more neighbor cells of the wireless device; measurements are, in some embodiments, signal strength measurements such as, e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements; threshold corresponds to the thresholds, which calls for an update of the TA configuration)]; and
wherein the terminal device determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP [paragraphs 0067-0069, 0074, 0076, 0091, determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on a change in the measured RSRP (the wireless device 212 performs a measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) on the serving cell(s) of the wireless device 212 at time T.sub.0 (step 402) and compares the measurement(s) M(T.sub.0) to a threshold M.sub.TH; the wireless device 212 compares the difference measurement dM to the threshold dM.sub.TH and determines that the TA configuration; the wireless device 212 determines whether the TA configuration TA(T.sub.0) is still valid based on the measurement)].
Liberg does not explicitly discloses determine a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system; and determine whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative.
However, Shin teaches a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system [paragraphs 0555, 0585, 0591, 0594, a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) to a base station device in the wireless telecommunication system (TA validity criterion should be performed and determined before each PUR; determine whether the current TA is valid according to the TA validity criterion)]; and determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative [paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0555, 0557, 0558, 0587, 0590 determines whether or not the current timing advance is valid based on whether a change in the measured RSRP against the determined first timing advance validity threshold is positive or the change in the measured RSRP against the determined second timing advance threshold is negative (when the TA validity timer, the RSRP detection information and the TDoA are all positive, the TA is determined to be valid; determine that the TA value currently held by the UE is valid when the current TA validity timer has not expired and the NRSRP level is greater than or equal to X dBm at that time; determined that the current NRSRP value of the corresponding UE is less than the threshold value during the NRSRP measurement period, it may be determined that the current TA of the corresponding UE is invalid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Liberg by including a current timing advance for transmission using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) as taught by Shin because it would provide the Liberg's node with the enhanced capability of improving efficient resource management [Shin, paragraphs 0003, 0068, 0606].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al., U.S. Publication No. 2018/0270894 discloses UE may adjust an uplink transmission timing based on a timing advanced command.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469