Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11 February 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Non-patent literature documents 5 and 8 are improperly cited as the pre-print version of the manuscripts were provided but the citations refer to the print versions. They have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the last line of the claim should read as “…label have the same optical properties…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lubeck 1 [Lubeck E, et al. Nat Methods. 2014 Apr; 11(4):360-1] as evidenced by Lubeck 2 [Lubeck E and Cai L. Nat Methods Author Manuscript; 2013 Jan: 1-18].
Lubeck 1 teaches a sequential barcoding scheme (seqFISH) which enables multiplex, single cell, in situ profiling of different mRNAs. This scheme was demonstrated by barcoding 12 genes in single yeast cells. Probes were labeled with 4 dyes and designed to be 25 nucleotides long with similar melting temperatures, as described by Lubeck 2 [Lubeck, p360; Lubeck 2, p7]. Cells were immobilized on a glass surface and then subjected to rounds of probe hybridization, imaging, and removal by DNAse I treatment [Lubeck 1, p361]. After treatment with DNAse I, the cells were washed twice and any remaining fluorescent signal was photobleached [Lubeck 1, supplemental methods pdf-p14]. The scheme and the imaging results of the demonstration are described by Figure 1, replicated below.
Therefore, Lubeck 1 anticipates the claimed invention as they:
(1) Provided a biological sample (yeast cells) with a plurality of analytes (mRNAs of 12 genes);
(2) Introduced a first marker (labeled probe) comprising a first affinity reagent (oligonucleotide) specific for a target analyte (mRNA) bound to a first optically detectable label (dye) and configured to be degraded by a degradation agent (DNAse I);
(3) Generated a first optical readout with the first marker (first FISH image);
(4) Applied a degradation agent (DNAse I) to degrade the first affinity reagent;
(5) Introduced a second marker (labeled probe);
(6) Generated a second optical readout with the second marker (second FISH image).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, during each round of hybridization, each transcript was targeted by a set of FISH probes labeled with a single type of fluorophore. In a subsequent round, the target was hybridized with the same FISH probe, but labeled with a different dye. This iterative hybridization of differently labeled probes results in a unique barcode for each target mRNA allowing for their identification [Lubeck, p360].
Regarding claim 11, Lubeck’s Figure 1 shows the use of markers wherein the first and second affinity reagents have different targets but are bound to the same label. As an example, in composite images 1 and 2, there are two dots in the upper center of the zoom-in; in the first image, the bottom dot is purple and in the second image, the top dot is purple. This shows that different probes are labeled with the same color dye during different hybridization rounds.
Regarding claim 12, Lubeck used four different markers simultaneously in each round of hybridization [Lubeck 1, p360]. These markers were specific for different targets and labeled with different dyes. This is shown in Lubeck’s Figure 1 which depicts the imaging results of each round of hybridization as a composite image of the different dyes. Each dye channel depicts the results of hybridization with a singular marker.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lubeck 1 and 2, as applied to claim 1 above, and as evidenced by BioNumbers [BioNumbers. “Length of nucleotide”. Harvard.edu. 2019 Oct 17: 1. Obtained from the WayBack Machine on 2026 Aug 20].
Lubeck 1 and 2 applied to the relevant teachings of claim 1 as discussed above and are incorporated herein by reference. BioNumbers teaches that the length of a nucleotide is ~1nm. Therefore, the oligonucleotide probes of Lubeck which are 25 nucleotides long would have a length of ~25nm and anticipate the claimed size of the affinity reagents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubeck 1 and 2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lubeck 2 and Wang [Wang J, et al. bioRxiv; 2020 Feb 28: 1-24].
Lubeck 1 and 2 are applied to the relevant teachings of claim 1 as discussed above and are incorporated herein by reference. Lubeck 1 does not teach targeting proteins using aptamers as the affinity reagents, the application of an electric field during marker introduction, or that the labels are comprised of a degradable nucleic acid backbone which is complementary to a portion of the affinity reagent.
However, Lubeck 1 states that their sequential barcoding scheme can be used in combination with super-resolution FISH which they reported on in Lubeck 2 [Lubeck 1, p361]. In Lubeck 2, they describe a strategy to increase the capacity for multiplex detection of molecules in single cells by using optical super-resolution microscopy, specifically stochastic optical reconstruction microscopy (STORM), and combinatorial labeling via spectral barcoding [Lubeck 2, abstract, p3]. While Lubeck’s study focused on multiplexed identification of mRNA, they state that one advantage of a spectral barcoding scheme is that molecules do not need to be linearized to be faithfully identified which potentially permits other molecules, such as proteins, to be similarly multiplexed [Lubeck 2, p4].
Wang describes existing protein-labeling techniques, such as tagging with fluorescent proteins or enzymatic tags, used for all modes of fluorescence microscopy, including STORM. While genetically encodable fluorescent proteins allow for study of cell dynamics and live-cell imaging, available options have poor photo-stability and low molecular brightness. While enzymatic tags overcome these issues when tagging cell-surface proteins, intercellular labelling efficiency and uniformity is low. Wang also states that antibodies labelled with fluorescent dyes are the main labeling method for STORM imaging of proteins for permeabilized and fixed cells [Wang, p2].
Wang presents RNA aptamers as a class of molecules capable of overcoming these issues. These small nucleic acid oligonucleotides have high binding affinities, are small (2-3nm), and are easy and inexpensive to produce in the laboratory, making them a useful substitute for conventional antibody labeling. While aptamers are not readily cell permeable, they are significantly smaller than antibodies and can diffuse into cells after a permeabilization step, such as electroporation, which allows for intracellular imaging of proteins. Finally, Wang teaches that aptamers can be used to create unique spectral barcodes by hybridizing different color fluorophores to the same aptamer and can be easily removed via RNase treatment [Wang, p2-3, 9-10].
As proof-of-concept, they introduced a method of targeting GFP-labelled proteins in which an aptamer was generated via in vitro transcription using primers to introduce a docking site into the aptamer sequence. This docking site is complementary to the sequence of an imager strand which is labelled with Alexa 647. Wang used this aptamer/imager strand pair to perform a super-resolution technique called PAINT (Points Accumulation for Imaging in Nanoscale Topography) which is able to use a wider selection of fluorophores than STORM and is able to image live cells [Wang, p3-4, 8].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention looking to develop a method of imaging protein targets via seqFISH, as suggested by Lubeck 2, would have been motivated to adopt aptamers as the affinity reagent as Wang explicitly teaches they are able to be used in this manner and are preferable over antibodies as previously discussed.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches that performing electroporation allows aptamers to diffuse into cells allowing for intracellular imaging [Wang, p7]. The skilled artisan would therefore recognize that performing electroporation of cells would allow for the applied markers to more readily and uniformly diffuse into cells which Wang taught was a problem encountered with other protein tagging methods.
Regarding claims 13, the imager strand described by Wang comprises a nucleic acid backbone which could be degraded by a nuclease. This backbone is designed to be complementary to the docking strand of the aptamer [Wang, p3].
Regarding claims 4, 5, 13, and 14, while Wang only uses one marker (i.e., one affinity reagent and one marker), the skilled artisan adopting Lubeck 1’s method for protein identification, would have recognized the need to develop multiple aptamer markers for this purpose.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 14, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/823,766 in view of Lubeck 1, Lubeck 2, and Wang.
The instant application describes method of analyzing a biological sample comprised of a plurality of target analytes in which a first marker is applied to the sample which is then imaged. The marker is then degraded and the process is repeated with a second marker. Both the first and second markers are comprised of a degradable affinity reagent specific for a target and which is bound to optically detectable labels. The affinity reagents comprise a nucleic acid backbone and may be aptamers. The labels are comprised of a nucleic acid backbone that is complementary to a portion of the affinity reagent and at least one optically detectable moiety.
18/823,766 describes a method for analyzing a biological sample comprising at least one target analyte in which at least a first marker is applied to the sample and a readout is generated. This marker is comprised of an affinity reagent and a first label. The affinity reagent comprises a nucleic acid backbone in a complex structure, such as an aptamer, which is specific for a target analyte and is attached to a barcode oligonucleotide. The label is comprised of an oligonucleotide and at least one labeling moiety and is complementary to the barcode oligonucleotide of the affinity reagent. The labeling moiety may be optically detectable.
Therefore, both methods describe markers which are comprised affinity reagents and labels. In both instances the affinity labels are comprised of a nucleic acid backbone, may be aptamers, are target specific, and attached to a label via complementary sequences. Similarly, both labels are comprised of a nucleic acid backbone and at least one optically detectable moiety. Therefore, the markers are considered equivalent. Additionally, both methods use these markers to identify target analytes in a sample.
The only material difference between the claimed inventions is the instant application’s addition of sequential imaging in which the previously applied marker is degraded before application of a subsequent marker.
However, Lubeck 1 teaches a sequential barcoding scheme which enables multiplex, single cell, in situ profiling of different mRNAs. As described in detail in the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), this method entails the iterative application of fluorescent probes, imaging, and removal of the probes via DNAse I degradation. Lubeck 1 therefore demonstrates that sequentially applying, imaging, and removing nucleic acid-based markers was a known technique for increasing the number of analytes that can be identified in a single sample. Lubeck 2 further recognizes that this iterative process can be applied to other analytes including proteins and Wang makes this step by adapting the process to utilize fluorescent aptamers as affinity reagents to specifically target proteins.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the single-round imaging method of 18/823,766 to employ the sequential imaging and marker-removal process of Lubeck 1 in order to increase the number of analytes that may be identified in a sample as this amounts to nothing more than using known elements according to their established functions to obtain predictable results. The artisan would have further been motivated to use the aptamer-based affinity reagents of Wang to apply this sequential imaging approach to protein targets as Wang demonstrates this modification to be both successful and an improvement upon current protein imaging methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/K.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1681
/SAMUEL C WOOLWINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681