DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD AND DEVICE USED FOR SUPPORTING MBS TRANSMISSION IN RRC_INACTIVE STATE IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13-15, and 20 recite the acronym SSB without initially defining what it stands for.
Claim 1 recites the acronym SS/PBCH without initially defining what it stands for.
Claims 6, 11, 17, and 19 recite the acronym RLC without initially defining what it stands for.
Claims 8, 11, 12, 14, and 17-19 recite the acronym MRB without initially defining what it stands for.
Claims 8, 11, 12, 14, and 17-18 recite the acronym RRC without initially defining what it stands for.
Claims 10 and 16 recite the acronyms RSRP and RSRQ without initially defining what it stands for.
Claim 19 recites the acronym PTM without initially defining what it stands for.
Claims 2-7 are depending on claim 1, 9-13 are depending on claim 8, and 15-20 are depending on claim 14 and therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (Pub. No.: US 20140301229 A1), hereinafter Wu, in view of PHUYAL et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220353734 A1), hereinafter PHUYAL, and further in view of Cirik et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200350973 A1), hereinafter Cirik.
With respect to claim 1, Wu teaches A first node for wireless communications, comprising ([0063-0064], UE for wireless communications):
a first transmitter, as a response to any condition in a first condition set being satisfied (see claim 2, the mobile device receives a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) message in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state from the network; also see [0063-0064]), transitioning from RRC (Radio Resource Control)_INACTIVE state to a first RRC state (see claim 2, the mobile device to transition from RRC INACTIVE state to a first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]), the first RRC state being RRC_CONNECTED state (see claim 2, first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]).
Wu does not explicitly teach a first receiver, when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB (MBS Radio Bearer) in the RRC_INACTIVE state, receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB; wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state.
However, PHUYAL teaches a first receiver, when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB (MBS Radio Bearer) in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state), receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB ([0056-0057], UE receives signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB); wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); each of the at least one first-type signal ([0056-0057], UE receives signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PHUYAL, a first receiver, when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB (MBS Radio Bearer) in the RRC_INACTIVE state, receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB; wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state, into the teachings of Wu, in order for radio link control (RLC) forward compatibility for multicast messages or broadcast messages (PHUYAL, [0001]).
Although PHUYAL teaches each of the at least one first-type signal as set forth above. The combination of Wu and PHUYAL does not explicitly teach is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index.
However, Cirik teaches is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index ([0544], RS may comprise an SSB indicated by SSB-index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik, is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index, into the teachings of Wu and PHUYAL, in order to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device (Cirik, [0307]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Wu, PHUYAL, and Cirik teaches the first node of claim 1. The combination of Wu and PHUYAL does not explicitly teach wherein the first SSB index is one of N SSB index(es), N being a positive integer.
However, Cirik teaches wherein the first SSB index is one of N SSB index(es), N being a positive integer ([0544], a SSB-index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik, wherein the first SSB index is one of N SSB index(es), N being a positive integer, into the teachings of Wu and PHUYAL, in order to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device (Cirik, [0307]).
With respect to claim 8, Wu teaches A second node for wireless communications, comprising ([0005, 0063-0064], eNB for wireless communications):
wherein as a response to any condition in a first condition set being satisfied (see claim 2, the mobile device receives a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) message in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state from the network; also see [0063-0064]), a first node transitions from RRC_INACTIVE state to a first RRC state (see claim 2, the mobile device to transition from RRC INACTIVE state to a first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]), the first RRC state is RRC_CONNECTED state (see claim 2, first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]).
Wu does not explicitly teach a second transmitter, transmitting at least one first-type signal, each of the at least one first-type signal comprising data from a multicast MRB; the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; each of the at least one first-type signal is associated with an SSB indicated by a first SSB index.
However, PHUYAL a second transmitter, transmitting at least one first-type signal, each of the at least one first-type signal comprising data from a multicast MRB ([0056-0057], DU transmits signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB); the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); each of the at least one first-type signal ([0056-0057], UE receives signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PHUYAL, a first receiver, when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB (MBS Radio Bearer) in the RRC_INACTIVE state, receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB; wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state, into the teachings of Wu, in order for radio link control (RLC) forward compatibility for multicast messages or broadcast messages (PHUYAL, [0001]).
Although PHUYAL teaches each of the at least one first-type signal as set forth above. The combination of Wu and PHUYAL does not explicitly teach is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index.
However, Cirik teaches is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index ([0544], RS may comprise an SSB indicated by SSB-index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik, is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index, into the teachings of Wu and PHUYAL, in order to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device (Cirik, [0307]).
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the first node of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, Wu teaches A method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising ([0063-0064], UE for wireless communications):
as a response to any condition in a first condition set being satisfied (see claim 2, the mobile device receives a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) message in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state from the network; also see [0063-0064]), transitioning from RRC_INACTIVE state to a first RRC state (see claim 2, the mobile device to transition from RRC INACTIVE state to a first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]), (see claim 2, first RRC state / a RRC connected state; also see [0063-0064]).
Wu does not explicitly teach when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state, receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB;
wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state;
there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state.
However, PHUYAL teaches when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state), receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB ([0056-0057], UE receives signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB); wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state ([0056-0057], UE receives data from a multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state); each of the at least one first-type signal ([0056-0057], UE receives signal, signal comprising data from a multicast MRB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PHUYAL, a first receiver, when the first node receives data from a multicast MRB (MBS Radio Bearer) in the RRC_INACTIVE state, receiving at least one first-type signal, and each of the at least one first-type signal comprising the data from the multicast MRB; wherein the first condition set is related to whether the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state; there exists at least one first-type condition belonging to the first condition set only when the first node receives the data from the multicast MRB in the RRC_INACTIVE state, into the teachings of Wu, in order for radio link control (RLC) forward compatibility for multicast messages or broadcast messages (PHUYAL, [0001]).
Although PHUYAL teaches each of the at least one first-type signal as set forth above. The combination of Wu and PHUYAL does not explicitly teach is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index.
However, Cirik teaches is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index ([0544], RS may comprise an SSB indicated by SSB-index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik, is associated with an SSB (SS/PBCH) indicated by a first SSB index, into the teachings of Wu and PHUYAL, in order to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device (Cirik, [0307]).
With respect to claim 20, this claim recites the first node of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9-12, and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20230171791 A1; “FUJISHIRO”, ([0056-0057])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469