DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7, in the response dated August 10, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-7 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Indefiniteness Rejections
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 4-5, 7, 10-11, and 15 recites the terms “especially” (lines 4 and 11); “in particular” (lines 5, 7, and 11); and “preferably” (line 10). Claim 2 recites the term “in particular” (line 3). Claim 5 recites the term “in particular” (lines 3, 4, and 6). Claim 6 recites the term “in particular”. Claim 7 recites the term “in particular” (lines 3 and 7) “especially” (line 4); and “particularly” (line 3). As set forth in MPEP 2173.05(d), “Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation.”
As such, recitation in each of these claims of the terms “in particular,” “preferably,” “especially,” and “particularly” is considered indefinite under US patent practice. In each recitation, the claim is interpreted herein as reciting the broadest scope in each claim.
Claim 5 is rejected since the Calamus genus of plants does not have an alveolar structure, but rather a dense, solid, and fibrous internal structure. See Dewi (“Anatomical Characteristicts of Six Calamus Species of Kalimantan Barat,” IOP Conf. Series: Earth and Environmental Science 394 (2019) 012047).
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 a s being unpatentable over Pageat (US 10,258,593), in view of Vlad (US 2020/0038537 A1), and Muller (US 2015/0258236 A1).
Pageat teaches a feline semiochemical composition comprising methyl laurate, methyl myristate, methyl palmitate, methyl linolate, methyl linoleate, methyl stearate, methyl oleate, dimethyl pimelate, and dimethyl azelate (Abstract), a solvent (col 4: 27-28), and a method of diffusing the composition that allows a slow release rate (col 4: 29-31; col 8: 61-64). This teaching also reads on claims 2-3.
For claim 4, Pageat teaches (col 27, claim 2) a semiochemical composition comprising:
a. between about 1 % to 8% (w %/w % ) methyl laurate,
b. between about 1 % to 8% (w %/w %) methyl myristate,
c. between about 10% to 18% (w %/w %) methyl palmitate,
d. between about 3% to 10% (w %/w %) methyl linoleate,
e. between about 40% to 55% (w %/w % ) methyl oleate,
f. between about 1 % to 8% (w %/w % ) methyl stearate,
g. between about 5% to 15% (w %/w %) dimethyl pimelate, and
h. between about 4% to 15% (w %/w %) dimethyl azelate.
Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Pageat does not teach the stick recited in claims 1 and 5.
Vlad and Muller teach the missing element of Pageat.
Vlad teaches a method of air freshening comprising non-glycol ether solvents in an amount of from about 1% to about 95% of the composition comprising the method (Abstract). Vlad teaches the composition can comprise fragrances such as methyl stearate and methyl palmitate, and further teaches solvents such as 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol. Vlad further teaches 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol as a preferred solvent (pg 3, [0027]; pg 37, [0324]).
Vlad teaches a delivery system may comprise “a reed, a plurality of reeds, a stick, a plurality of sticks, a fiber, a plurality of fibers, a wick, a plurality of wicks, a mesh material, a conductive mesh material, a porous substrate, a semi-porous substrate, and a combination of any of the preceeding [sic.] delivery systems” (pg 4, [0036]). Vlad teaches the reed or stick is filled by capillary action (pg 37, [0320]).
For claim 6, Vlad teaches a method of air freshening comprising an antioxidant (pg 44, [0416] and [0420]).
For claim 7, Vlad teaches a method of air freshening comprising non-glycol ether solvents in an amount of from about 1% to about 95% of the composition comprising the method (Abstract).
Vlad does not teach the plant species of the sticks or reeds.
Muller teaches a method for active ingredient release comprising a container for accommodating the components; two solvents which are immiscible or only minorly miscible with one another; at least one active ingredient; and a mechanism which allows the release of the active ingredient, but restrains the other volatile constituents of the composition (Abstract).
Muller teaches the method comprises rattan rod air freshener systems (jpg 13, [0089] and [0092]). It is noted that rattan is a species of Calamus, as recited in claim 5. Muller teaches “On account of the capillary forces, the fragrances penetrate the wooden rods and are given off to the ambient air ([0092]).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in substituting a rattan reed, as taught by Vlad and Muller, in Pageat’s semiochemical release method because Vlad teaches a method of diffusing air freshening solutions containing elements such as methyl stearate and methyl palmitate utilizing 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol as the preferred solvent in the claimed range and Muller teaches that a useful diffuser can comprise rattan reeds as the diffusing element.
Technical Background Material
The following prior art is made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The OECD SIDS (Screening Information Data Set (SIDS) core scientific evaluation package created by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)) for 3-methoxy-3-methyl-l-butanol (CAS N°: 56539-66-3) describes the lack of toxicity of 3-methoxy-3-methyl-l-butanol when screened against mammalian species.
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612