DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-17,19 and 20 in the reply filed on 8-26-2026 is acknowledged. The restriction is made final.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 7, both claims depending from claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
In claim 10, line 2 “Wherein” should be --wherein--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4, line 3 claims “counter-holding surface and/or counter-holding line”, it is not clear that a surface “and” a line are applicable to the counter-holding element since a surface would be two dimensional and a line one dimensional.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “counter-holding device for performing” in claim 1, line 5 and “counter-holding element” in claim 1, lines 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7-9,14,15,19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voest-Alpine (DE 3530513). Regarding claim 1, Voest-Alpine discloses a bending machine (9; Figs. 12 and 13) for bending flat material (1) comprising a first clamping beam (26) and a second clamping beam (27) for clamping the flat material (1) to be bent in a clamping plane (between 27,26; Fig. 12) and a first bending beam (30) for bending the flat material. The bending machine (9) comprises a counter-holding device (28,29) for performing a counter-holding function of holding the sheet material against the first bending beam ([0025], line 5) at the flat material to be bent. The counter-holding device (28,29) is present in addition to the first clamping beam (26) and the second clamping beam (27, Fig. 12) and includes a counter-holding element (29), wherein the counter-holding element (29) is movable on an upper tool carrier (22) between a parked position (raised upper tool carrier position, [0025], lines 1-2), in which it is arranged at a distance before the corner area of the flat material (1) comes to lie between the counter-holding element (28,29) and the first bending beam (30; [0025], lines 3-5) from the flat material (1) to be bent and the counter-holding function cannot be performed, and a counter-holding position (Fig. 12), in which it can be (it is; Fig. 12) in contact with the flat material (1) to be bent and the counter-holding function can be performed (it is performed; [0025], lines 11-12) so that the counter-holding element is capable of (it actually does; [0024], lines 8-10) counter-holding against a bending force ([0025], lines 7-9) which is applied to the flat material (1) by means of the first bending beam (30) when the flat material is bent about a bending axis (corner end of flat material; Fig. 12) that is spaced apart from the clamping plane (between 26,27).
Claim 1, lines 10 and 11, recite the language “can be in contact with” and “can be performed” which does not mean that the counter holder actually is configured to contact the flat material, but the reference to Voest-Alpine discloses that the counter-holding element (29) is configured to be moved from a position away from a flat material when the upper tool carrier (22) is raised and the lower tool carrier (21) is lowered and to a position (Fig. 12) which is contacting the flat material.
Regarding claim 2, the counter-holding device (28,29) is mounted on a machine frame (18) of the bending machine (9).
Regarding claim 3, the machine frame (18) has a machine upper part (22) and a machine lower part (21) which are movable relative to one another by drives (31,24) and the counter-holding device (28,29) is mounted on the machine upper part (22).
Regarding claim 4, the counter-holding element (29) has a counter-holding surface (inclined surface; Fig.12) for contacting the flat material (1) to be bent.
Regarding claim 5, the counter-holding device (28,29) has at least one carrier arm (piston, 28) to which the counter-holding element (29) is fastened ([0024], line 8).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the carrier arm (piston, 28) is movable along a guide (23) with the upper machine part (22) between a first parked position (raised upper tool carrier position, [0025], lines 1-2), in which it is arranged at a distance before the corner area of the flat material (1) comes to lie between the counter-holding element (28,29) and the first bending beam (30; [0025], lines 3-5) and a second counter-holding position (Fig. 12), in contact with the flat material (1) to be bent and the counter-holding function is performed (it is performed; [0025], lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 9, the counter-holding device (28,29) in stopped in a setting device comprising an aperture within the upper machine part (22; Fig. 12) wherein the carrier arm (piston, 28) is configured to move within the aperture to set a location of the counter-holding element (29) in the second position against the flat material (1) before the first bending beam (30) bends the flat material corner.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the carrier arm (28) is a piston which is actuated ([0024], line 8).
Regarding claim 19, the counter-holding element (29) is a strip shaped element (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 21, the projecting part (6) of the molded part ([0020], lines 1-3) is a leg of a standing fold (it extends vertically; Fig. 3) and the counter-holding device (28,29) is positionable at the standing fold (Fig. 12), wherein the flat material (1) is between the counter-holding element (29) and the first bending beam (30; [0025], lines 11-12) and a second leg (corner 5; Fig. 12) is bent against the bending force of the first bending beam (30) to a vertical position to close the standing fold at a 90° angle (Fig. 13) along the second axis to produce the finished rectangular shape (Fig. 4), the standing fold bending by the counter-holding element (29) and the first bending beam (30; Figs. 12 and 13) does not involve a counter-holding function of the standing fold by the first clamping beam (26) and the second clamping beam (27) since they are clamping the flat bottom of the flat material (1). Applicant is only claiming a “capability” of the counter-holding element in claim 21, line 6 but Fig. 12 illustrates that the counter-holding element (29) is actually holding the first leg during bending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the setting device is a turnbuckle, including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5,7 and 9.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the stop is adjustable relative to the machine frame or to the machine upper part, and adjusting means for adjusting the stop are present, so that a spatial location of the counter-holding element in its counter-holding position is adjustable when the carrier arm is in the stop position. including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5,7 and 9.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the guide device is in the form of a slotted link guide and comprises at least one guide plate which is fastened to the machine frame or to the machine upper part, wherein the at least one guide plate or the carrier arm has two slotted link tracks for defining a slotted link guide path, and wherein there are mounted on the carrier arm or on the at least one guide plate at least two slotted link blocks which are each forcibly guided in one of the two slotted link tracks, so that the carrier arm is movable in a spatially oriented defined orientation along the slotted link guide path between its first end position and its second end position including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5 and 8. Claim 20 would be allowable as it depends from allowable claim 12.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that …including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5 and 8.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the guide device is in the form of a track guide having at least one track rail which is fastened to the machine frame or to the machine upper part, wherein the carrier arm is movable in the manner of a carriage along the track rail between its first end position and its second end position including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5,8 and 15.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the bending machine has a plurality of carrier arms which together carry the counter-holding element, wherein the counter-holding device comprises a shaft, at least one first lever which is connected in a rotationally fixed manner to the shaft, and a plurality of second levers which are each connected in a rotationally fixed manner to the shaft and are each associated with one of the plurality of carrier arms, and wherein the first lever is operably connected at a point spaced apart from the shaft to the drive member, and the second levers are each operably connected at a point spaced apart from the shaft to the respective carrier element, so that, by actuation of the drive member, a torque can be transmitted to the first lever, to the shaft and to the plurality of second levers, and an actuating force can be applied to the respective carrier arm including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2,3,5,7 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725