DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 11, 2024; October 15, 2024 and April 18, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed June 5, 2024 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed June 5, 2024 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed June 5, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 12 – 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caelwaerts et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0115417 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Caelwaerts et al. discloses a laser level assembly comprising a mounting bracket (210) comprising an attachment bracket (216) and a movable bracket (230, 290); a laser level (30) mounted on the movable bracket (230, 290), the laser level configured to project at least one of a horizontal line, a vertical line or a laser spot (Paragraph [0059], line 5); a motor (240) in the movable bracket (See Figure 23), wherein the motor is configured to drive movement of the movable bracket relative to the attachment bracket (Paragraph [0089]); and a clutch operatively associated with the motor (See Paragraph [0092]).
Referring to claim 2, Caelwaertz et al. sets forth a laser level assembly further comprising a pinion driven by the motor (worm wheel 238).
In regards to claim 3, Caelwaertz et al. teaches a laser level assembly wherein the clutch is operatively coupled between the motor (240) and the pinion (238) as shown in figure 23.
Regarding claim 4, Caelwaertz et al. shows a laser level assembly wherein the attachment bracket (216) comprises a rack (234).
With regards to claim 5, Caelwaertz et al. discloses a laser level assembly wherein the pinion (238) is engaged with the rack (234).
Referring to claim 12, Caelwaertz et al. discloses a laser level assembly comprising an attachment bracket (216); a movable bracket (230, 290) attached to the attachment and configured to translate relative to the attachment bracket; a laser level (30) mounted on the movable bracket (230, 290), the laser level configured to project at least one of a horizontal line, a vertical line or a laser spot (Paragraph [0059], line 5); a motor (240) in the movable bracket (See Figure 23), wherein the motor is configured to drive translation of the movable bracket relative to the attachment bracket (Paragraph [0089]); and further comprising a clutch operatively associated with the motor (See Paragraph [0092]).
In regards to claim 13, Caelwaertz et al. sets forth a laser level assembly further comprising a pinion driven by the motor (worm wheel 238).
Regarding claim 14, Caelwaertz et al. teaches a laser level assembly wherein the clutch is operatively coupled between the motor (240) and the pinion (238) as shown in figure 23.
With respect to claims 15 and 18, Caelwaertz et al. shows a laser level assembly wherein the attachment bracket (216) comprises a rack (234).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 11 and 16 - 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 – 20 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 6 – 11 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level assembly comprising an attachment bracket further comprises a door that is movable between an open position and a closed position; wherein when the door is in the closed position, the door blocks the pinion from disengagement from the rack; and wherein when the door is in the open position, the door does not block the pinion from disengagement from the rack; wherein the attachment bracket comprises magnets; and wherein the movable bracket comprises a biasing member that biases the movable bracket away from the attachment bracket to facilitate movement of the movable bracket relative to the attachment bracket in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 16 – 17 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level assembly comprising a clutch operatively associated with the motor; wherein the clutch comprises a first clutch part with first teeth and a second clutch part with second teeth; wherein the pinion is integral with the second clutch part in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 19 – 20 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level assembly comprising a mounting bracket comprising an attachment bracket and a movable bracket; wherein the attachment bracket further comprises a door that is movable between an open position and a closed position; wherein when the door is in the closed position, the door blocks the pinion from disengagement from the rack; and wherein when the door is in the open position, the door does not block the pinion from disengagement from the rack in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Muller et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0055104) discloses a laser instrument comprising a tripod and a rotary base, and a laser instrument projecting a laser line (4) but fails to teach the combination as claimed including an attachment bracket and a movable bracket.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
July 1, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855