DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2024, 12/1/2025, 5/6/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitation “a battery cell including an electrode body including a plurality of layered structures layered one on another, each including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode…”. It is unclear it each electrode must include multiple layered structures and each layered structure must include a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator or if each electrode body must include a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator. For example, it is unclear if claim 1 requires a battery cell with multiple positive electrodes, negative electrodes, and separators or if the battery cell contains a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator and these constitute a plurality of layers. For examination purposes Examiner is considering that each electrode body must include a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator.
Claims 2-6 are rejected at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebisaki et al. (JP 2021093334 A). Reference is made to the enclosed machine translation. Cited on the IDS filed 12/1/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Ebisaki discloses a battery module, comprising: a battery cell including an electrode body including a plurality of layered structures layered one on another, each including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and a battery cell case that hermetically ([0011]; [0017]; “airtightly”; Fig. 1) encloses the electrode body inside the battery cell case ([0008]-[0009]; [0011]; [0017]); and a heat dissipation member that is in contact with the battery cell case ([0015] “a battery stack housing, heat sink, etc., may be used as the deformation suppressing member 16”; Fig. 1 reproduced below), wherein the battery cell case includes at least a metal layer and a fusion resin layer disposed on an inner face side of the metal layer ([0011]; [0016]) and includes, at at least part of an outer face of the battery cell case, an exposed portion at which the metal layer is exposed, and the heat dissipation member is in contact with the exposed portion ([0011]; [0033]; [0013]; [0015] a battery stack housing, heat sink, etc., may be used as the deformation suppressing member 16; element 16 abuts element 5a which is metal foil).
Regarding claim 2, Ebisaki discloses the battery module of claim 1. Ebisaki further discloses wherein an electrode face of the electrode body has a rectangular shape, and the exposed portion is disposed at an end portion on a long side of the rectangular shape (Fig. 1 annotated below; [0011]; [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Ebisaki discloses the battery module of claim 1. Ebisaki further teaches wherein the battery module includes, as the heat dissipation member, at least one of a battery module case or a condenser, and the at least one of the battery module case or the condenser is in contact with the exposed portion ([0015] “a battery stack housing, heat sink, etc., may be used as the deformation suppressing member”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisaki et al. (JP 2021093334 A) in view of Kuboki et al. (US 20190221902 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ebisaki teaches the battery module of claim 1.
Ebisaki is silent with respect to the battery cell case having the exposed portion on an outer face of a region E at which an inner face of the battery cell case is in contact with the electrode body, and the heat dissipation member is in contact with the exposed portion in the region E.
However, Kuboki teaches a battery module, comprising: a battery cell including an electrode body, and a battery cell case that encloses the electrode body inside the battery cell case ([0028]-[0028]); and a cooling plate, heat transfer plate, and side heat dissipation member that are in contact with the battery cell case ([0025]; [0040]-[0045]; [0031]; elements 20, 30 and 40 are heat dissipation members; Fig. 3 annotated below). Kuboki teaches that dissipating heat via cooling member and heat transfer plates allows for simplification of a battery case by not having coolant charged into the overall housing and still maintaining adequate cooling ([0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ebisaki to include a cooling plate and heat transfer plate located in a region E at which an inner face of the battery cell case is in contact with the electrode body, as taught by Kuboki.
One of ordinary would be motivated to modify Ebisaki to include a cooling plate and heat transfer plate located in a region E at which an inner face of the battery cell case is in contact with the electrode body, as taught by Kuboki allows for simplification of a battery case by not having coolant charged into the overall housing ([0046]-[0049]). Further locating a heat dissipation member between stacked battery cells (corresponding to a region E at which an inner face of the battery cell case is in contact with the electrode body) is a known configuration in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisaki et al. (JP 2021093334 A) in view of Yoon et al. (US20110008665A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ebisaki discloses the battery module of claim 1. Ebisake teaches wherein the battery cell case includes a first sheet having the exposed portion ([0011]; Fig. 1 see above). Ebisaki teaches that a heat sink is connected to an exposed metal portion of the battery cell case ([0015]; Fig. 1 see above).
Ebisaki does not teach a second sheet not having the exposed portion, and an average thickness of the metal layer in the first sheet is greater than an average thickness of the metal layer in the second sheet.
However, Yoon teaches a pouch type battery with a laminate case ([0024]) and a heat dissipation member in contact with the battery cell case (Fig. 4; [0035]-[0036]; [0059]). Yoon teaches that the laminate case is composed of a resin layer and a metal layer ([0024]). Yoon teaches that the metal layer should have a predetermined thickness sufficient to accelerate the dissipation of heat from the battery cell and specifically teaches that the metal layer is thicker than a conventional battery cell ([0024]-[0028]; [0054]). Yoon further teaches that additional resin layers reduce heat dissipation ([0054]; [0024]-[0026]).
In view of the teachings of Yoon would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery module taught by Ebisaki such that a second sheet not directly contacting the heat dissipation member had an outer resin layer, and an average thickness of the metal layer in the first sheet, having the exposed portion, is greater than an average thickness of the metal layer in the second sheet.
In view of the teachings of Yoon one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the battery module taught by Ebisaki such that a second sheet not directly contacting the heat dissipation member had an outer resin layer, and an average thickness of the metal layer in the first sheet, having the exposed portion, is greater than an average thickness of the metal layer in the second sheet to control heat dissipation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisaki et al. (JP 2021093334 A) in view of Ahn (US 20240072353 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ebisaki discloses the battery module of claim 1. Ebisake teaches wherein the battery module includes at least one of a battery module case or a condenser ([0015] battery stack housing).
Ebisaki does not teach a resin member that contacts and connects the battery cell case and at least one of the battery module case or the condenser, serving as the heat dissipation member, and the resin member is in contact with the exposed portion.
However, Ahn teaches a pouch battery with a laminate case ([0005]-[0006]) with a bent sealing portion ([0049]; Fig. 3) and an insulation coating layer bonded to an inner and outer surface of the bent portion ([0050]; Fig. 3 element 30; [0072]-[0074]). Ahn teaches that the insulation coating layer includes heat dissipating particles ([0052]; the insulation coating layer corresponds to a resin member). Ahn teaches that a pouch type battery experiences dielectric breakdown phenomenon due to exposure of a metal layer at the end of a laminated sheet that is a battery case ([0008]; [0011]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery module taught by Ebisaki by including an insulation coating layer bonded to an inner and outer surface of the bent portion of the sealing portion as taught by Ahn.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the battery module taught by Ebisaki by including an insulation coating layer bonded to an inner and outer surface of the bent portion of the sealing portion as taught by Ahn to improving the sealability of the heat-sealing portion, and reliably preventing the dielectric breakdown phenomenon ([0011]).
Including the insulation coating layer taught by Ahn in the battery module structure taught by Ebisaki would result in a resin member that contacts and connects the battery cell case and at least one of the battery module case or the condenser, serving as the heat dissipation member, and the resin member would be in contact with the exposed portion.
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728