DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because “the plurality of annular portion” (page 4, ¶ 6, l. 2) should be amended to read - - plurality of annular portions - -.
Claim 14 is objected to because “the plurality of annular portion” (l. 8) should be amended to read - - the plurality of annular portions - -.
Claim 16 is objected to because “the plurality of connect portion” (l. 2) should be amended to read - - the plurality of connect portions - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear which of the previously recited “plurality of first structures” (claim 11, page 4, ll. 3-4) is referred to in the limitation “the first structure” (claim 12, l. 2).
Similarly, claim 13 is indefinite because it is unclear which of the previously recited “plurality of first structures” (claim 11, page 4, ll. 3-4) is referred to in the limitation “the first structure” (claim 13, l. 1).
Also, claim 17 is indefinite because it is unclear which of the previously recited “plurality of first structures” (claim 11, page 4, ll. 3-4) is referred to in the limitation “the first structure” (claim 17, page 7, l. 4).
Claims 14-16 and 18 are indefinite because of their dependence from claims 12 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory et al. (Us 10,746,548 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Gregory et al. discloses a sensor (12; fig. 1), comprising: a base (17) including a first face (upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); a fixed portion (29/109) fixed to the first face (anchor 29/109 is fixed to the upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); and a movable portion (including composite ring 102 and compliant composite ring 120; fig. 2A) supported by the fixed portion (rings 102 and 120 are supported by anchor 109; c. 6, ll. 17-21), a first gap being provided between the first face and the movable portion (a first gap is provided between the upper face of substrate 17 and ring 10, which is equivalent to rings 102 and 120; figs. 1 and 2A), the movable portion (102, 120) including a plurality of annular portions (122; fig. 2B), a plurality of connect portions (124), and a first structure (102; fig. 2A), each of the plurality of annular portions (122) being provided around the fixed portion (109) with the fixed portion as a center in a first plane along the first face (annular subrings 122 are provided around anchor 109 as a center in a first plane along the upper face of substrate 17; figs. 1 and 2A), the plurality of connect portions (124; fig. 2B) extending along a radial direction, the radial direction passing through a first center of the fixed portion (109) in the first plane and being along the first plane (beams 124 extend along a radial direction which passes through a center of anchor 109 in the first plane and along the first plane; figs. 1 and 2B), one of the plurality of connect portions (124) connecting two of the plurality of annular portions (122) to each other (one of beams 124 connects two of subrings 122 to each other; fig. 2B), the plurality of annular portions (122) including a first annular portion, the first annular portion being outermost of the plurality of annular portions (subrings 122 include an outermost subring 122 next to subring 110; fig. 2B), the first structure (102) being connected to the first annular portion (composite ring 102 is connected to the outermost subring 122 at subring 110; fig. 2B), the first annular portion being provided between the fixed portion (109) and the first structure (outermost subring 122 is provided between anchor 109 and composite ring 102; figs. 2A and 2B), and a first structure length of the first structure (102) in the radial direction being longer than a first annular portion length of the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) in the radial direction (a total length of composite ring 102 in the radial direction is longer than a length of outermost subring 122 in the radial direction; figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 2, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the plurality of annular portions (122) include a second annular portion (second to outermost subring 122; fig. 2B), the second annular portion is provided between the fixed portion (109) and the first annular portion (outermost subring 122), the second annular portion is closest to the first annular portion among the plurality of annular portions (the second to outermost subring 122 is provided between anchor 109 and outermost subring 122 and is closest to outermost subring 122 among all of subrings 122; figs. 2A and 2B), and the first structure length (a total length of composite ring 102 in the radial direction) is longer than a first distance in the radial direction between the second annular portion and the first annular portion (a total length of composite ring 102 in the radial direction is longer than a distance between outermost subring 122 and second to outermost subring 102 in the radial direction; fig. 2B).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the first structure (102; fig. 2B) includes a first structure component (110) and a first structure connect portion (124), the first structure connect portion (124) is provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connects the first structure component (110) to the first annular portion (first beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), and a first structure connect portion length of the first structure connect portion (124) in a circumferential direction centered on the fixed portion (109) along the first face is shorter than a first structure component length of the first structure component (110) in the circumferential direction (a circumferential length of first beam 124 is shorter than a circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B); wherein the first structure (102) further includes a second structure connect portion (124), the second structure connect portion (124) is provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connects the first structure component (110) to the first annular portion (second beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), a direction from the first structure connect portion (first beam 124) to the second structure connect portion (second beam 124) is along the circumferential direction (a direction from first beam 124 to second beam 124 is along the circumferential direction; fig. 2B), and a second structure connect portion length of the second structure connect portion (124) in the circumferential direction is shorter than the first structure component length (a circumferential length of second beam 124 is shorter than a circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Gregory et al. discloses a first fixed electrode (22) fixed to the first face (first electrode 22 fixed to the upper face of substrate 17 by anchor 29; fig. 1), and the first fixed electrode (22) being provided between the second annular portion (122) and the first annular portion (first electrode 22 may be provided at openings between subrings 122; figs. 2A and 4); further comprising: a controller (off-chip or on-chip circuitry) configured to apply an electrical signal between the fixed portion (29) and the first fixed electrode (circuitry provides an electric signal between anchored areas of ring 10 and electrodes to detect rotation; c. 5, ll. 15-18 and ll. 31-36).
Regarding claim 7, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the movable potion (102, 120; fig. 2A) includes a plurality of the first structures (each radial segment of composite ring 102 between beams 108 is a first structure; fig. 2B), the plurality of first structures are provided around the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) in the first plane, and the plurality of first structures (each radial segment of composite ring 102 between beams 108) are arranged along a circumferential direction centered on the fixed portion (109) in the first plane (each radial segment of composite ring 102 between beams 108 are provided around outermost subring 122 in the first plane and are arranged along a circumferential direction centered on anchor 109; figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 8, Gregory et al. discloses further comprising: a plurality of first fixed electrodes (22) fixed to the first face (plurality of electrodes 22 are fixed to the upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1), the plurality of first fixed electrodes (22) being provided between the second annular portion (second to outermost subring 122; fig. 2B) and the first annular portion (outermost subring 122), the plurality of first fixed electrodes (22) being arranged along the circumferential direction (electrodes may be arranged in various openings between subrings 122; figs. 2A and 4), and a first structure number of the plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102) being greater than a first fixed electrode number of the plurality of first fixed electrodes (a number of radial segments of composite ring 102 is greater than a number of electrodes 22; figs. 1 and 2A).
Regarding claim 9, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the first fixed electrode number is 8 or more (at least eight drive and sense electrodes for drive frequency tuning, Coriolis mode frequency tuning, quadrature turning, drive force, and velocity sensing are used for driving, interrogating, and tuning the various modes of oscillation; fig. 7 and c. 8, ll. 8-14).
Regarding claim 19, Gregory et al. discloses a sensor system (gyroscope and/or accelerometer; c. 4, ll. 51-52), comprising: the sensor (12); and a detection target member (e.g. tires), the sensor (12) being fixed to the detection target member (MEMS resonator 12 may be fixed to automobile tires for stabilization control; c. 5, ll. 18-20).
Regarding claim 20, Gregory et al. discloses an electronic device (gyroscope and/or accelerometer; c. 4, ll. 51-52), comprising: the sensor (12); and a circuit controller (automobile stabilization control system) configured to control a circuit (off-chip or on-chip circuitry; c. 5, l. 15) based on a signal obtained from the sensor (a stabilization control system controls circuitry based on a signal obtained from MEMS resonator 12 to control rotation of tires; c. 5, ll. 15-20).
Regarding claim 11, Gregory et al. discloses a sensor (12; fig. 1), comprising: a base (17) including a first face (upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); a fixed portion (29/109) fixed to the first face (anchor 29/109 is fixed to the upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); and a movable portion (including composite ring 102 and compliant composite ring 120; fig. 2A) supported by the fixed portion (rings 102 and 120 are supported by anchor 109; c. 6, ll. 17-21), a first gap being provided between the first face and the movable portion (a first gap is provided between the upper face of substrate 17 and ring 10, which is equivalent to rings 102 and 120; figs. 1 and 2A), the movable portion (102, 120) including a plurality of annular portions (122; fig. 2B), a plurality of connect portions (124), and a plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102 between beams 108 are a plurality of first structures; fig. 2B), each of the plurality of annular portions (122) being provided around the fixed portion (109) with the fixed portion as a center in a first plane along the first face (annular subrings 122 are provided around anchor 109 as a center in a first plane along the upper face of substrate 17; figs. 1 and 2A), the plurality of connect portions (124; fig. 2B) extending along a radial direction, the radial direction passing through a first center of the fixed portion (109) in the first plane and being along the first plane (beams 124 extend along a radial direction which passes through a center of anchor 109 in the first plane and along the first plane; figs. 1 and 2B), one of the plurality of connect portions (124) connecting two of the plurality of annular portions (122) to each other (one of beams 124 connects two of subrings 122 to each other; fig. 2B), the plurality of annular portions (122) including a first annular portion, the first annular portion being outermost of the plurality of annular portions (subrings 122 include an outermost subring 122 next to subring 110; fig. 2B), the plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102 between beams 108; fig. 2B) being connected to the first annular portion (radial segments of composite ring 102 are connected to the outermost subring 122 at subring 110; fig. 2B), the first annular portion being provided between the fixed portion (109) and the plurality of first structures (outermost subring 122 is provided between anchor 109 and radial segments of composite ring 102; figs. 2A and 2B), the plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102) and the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) satisfying at least one of a first condition, a second condition, or a third condition (at least first and second conditions are met; fig. 2A), in the first condition, a first sum of areas of each of the plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102) in the first plane being larger than a first annular portion area of the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) in the first plane (a first sum of areas of each of the radial segments of composite ring 102 in the first plane is larger than an area of outermost subring 122; figs. 2A and 2B), in the second condition, a second sum of volumes of each of the plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102) being larger than a first annular portion volume of the first annular portion (a second sum of volumes of each of the radial segments of composite ring 102 is larger than a volume of outermost subring 122; figs. 2A and 2B), and in the third condition, a third sum of the masses of each of the plurality of first structures being greater than a first annular portion mass of the first annular portion.
Regarding claim 12, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the first structure (radial segments of composite ring 102) includes a first structure component (110; fig. 2B) and a first structure connect portion (first beam 124), the first structure connect portion (124) is provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connects the first structure component (110) to the first annular portion (first beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), and a first structure connect portion length of the first structure connect portion (124) in a circumferential direction centered on the fixed portion (109) along the first plane is shorter than a first structure component length of the first structure component (110) in the circumferential direction (a circumferential length of first beam 124 is shorter than a circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 13, Gregory et al. discloses wherein the first structure (102) further includes a second structure connect portion (second beam 124), the second structure connect portion (124) is provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connects the first structure component (100) to the first annular portion (second beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), a direction from the first structure connect portion (first beam 124) to the second structure connect portion (second beam 124) is along the circumferential direction (a direction from first beam 124 to second beam 124 is along the circumferential direction; fig. 2B), and a second structure connect portion length of the second structure connection portion (second beam 124) in the circumferential direction is shorter than the first structure component length (a circumferential length of second beam 124 is shorter than the circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 14, Gregory et al. discloses a first fixed electrode (22) fixed to the first face (first electrode 22 fixed to the upper face of substrate 17 by anchor 29; fig. 1), the plurality of annular portions (122) include a second annular portion (second to outermost subring 122; fig. 2B), the second annular portion being provided between the fixed portion (109) and the first annular portion (outermost subring 122), the second annular portion being closest to the first annular portion among the plurality of annular portion (the second to outermost subring 122 is provided between anchor 109 and outermost subring 122 and is closest to outermost subring 122 among all of subrings 122; figs. 2A and 2B), and the first fixed electrode (22) being provided between the second annular portion (122) and the first annular portion (first electrode 22 may be provided at openings between subrings 122; figs. 2A and 4).
Regarding claim 15, Gregory et al. discloses further comprising: a controller (off-chip or on-chip circuitry) configured to apply an electrical signal between the fixed portion (29) and the first fixed electrode (circuitry provides an electric signal between anchored areas of ring 10 and electrodes to detect rotation; c. 5, ll. 15-18 and ll. 31-36).
Regarding claim 17, Gregory et al. discloses a sensor (12; fig. 1), comprising: a base (17) including a first face (upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); a fixed portion (29/109) fixed to the first face (anchor 29/109 is fixed to the upper face of substrate 17; fig. 1); and a movable portion (including composite ring 102 and compliant composite ring 120; fig. 2A) supported by the fixed portion (rings 102 and 120 are supported by anchor 109; c. 6, ll. 17-21), a first gap being provided between the first face and the movable portion (a first gap is provided between the upper face of substrate 17 and ring 10, which is equivalent to rings 102 and 120; figs. 1 and 2A), the movable portion (102, 120) including a plurality of annular portions (122; fig. 2B), a plurality of connect portions (124), and a plurality of first structures (radial segments of composite ring 102 between beams 108 are a plurality of first structures; fig. 2B), each of the plurality of annular portions (122) being provided around the fixed portion (109) with the fixed portion as a center in a first plane along the first face (annular subrings 122 are provided around anchor 109 as a center in a first plane along the upper face of substrate 17; figs. 1 and 2A), the plurality of connect portions (124; fig. 2B) extending along a radial direction, the radial direction passing through a first center of the fixed portion (109) in the first plane and being along the first plane (beams 124 extend along a radial direction which passes through a center of anchor 109 in the first plane and along the first plane; figs. 1 and 2B), one of the plurality of connect portions (124) connecting two of the plurality of annular portions (122) to each other (one of beams 124 connects two of subrings 122 to each other; fig. 2B), the plurality of annular portions (122) including a first annular portion, the first structure (a radial segment of composite ring 120 between beams 108; fig. 2B) being connected to the first annular portion (a radial segment of composite ring 120 between beams 108 is connected to outermost subring 122; fig. 2B), a first structure length of the first structure (102) in the radial direction being longer than a first annular portion length of the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) in the radial direction (a total length of composite ring 102 in the radial direction is longer than a length of outermost subring 122 in the radial direction; figs. 2A and 2B), the first structure (102; fig. 2B) including a first structure component (110), a first structure connect portion (first beam 124), and a second structure connect portion (second beam 124), the first structure connect portion (124) being provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connecting the first structure component (110) to the first annular portion (first beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), the second structure connect portion (124) being provided between the first annular portion (outermost subring 122) and the first structure component (110), and connecting the first structure component (110) to the first annular portion (second beam 124 is provided between and connects outermost subring 122 and innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), and a direction from the first structure connect portion (first beam 124) to the second structure connect portion (second beam 124) being along a circumferential direction centered on the fixed portion along the first plane (a direction from first beam 124 to second beam 124 is along a circumferential direction centered along anchor 129 along the first plane; fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 18, Gregory et al. discloses wherein a first structure connect portion length of the first structure connect portion (first beam 124) in the circumferential direction is shorter than a first structure component length of the first structure component (110) in the circumferential direction (a circumferential length of first beam 124 is shorter than a circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B), and a second structure connect portion length of the second structure connect portion (second beam 124) in the circumferential direction is shorter than the first structure component length (a circumferential length of second beam 124 is shorter than a circumferential length of innermost subring 110; fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory et al. (Us 10,746,548 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Gregory et al. is silent on the relative number of first structures and fixed electrodes.
However, Gregory et al. teaches that a width, and therefore a number of subrings 106, which make up radial segments of composite ring 102 may be optimized to control the relative displacement of inner, middle, and outer rings (c. 6, ll. 45-49). Gregory et al. also teaches that a plurality of electrodes may be provided for driving, sensing, interrogating, and tuning the various modes of oscillation (c. 8, ll. 8-14), such as for example, eight electrodes shown in the embodiment of Figure 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Gregory et al. to provide a relative number of first structures to electrodes, such as a multiple of 2 or more, because it would involve choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaji et al. (US 11,402,209 B2) is cited for its disclosure of an annular sensor (110; fig. 2) with fixed (20N) and movable portions (10).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852