DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/01/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the electronic device enclosure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of Examination below, Examiner has interpreted “the electronic device enclosure” as “the protective enclosure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (US 7205740).
As to claim 1, Wei discloses:
A protective enclosure 1 (Fig. 1-10), comprising:
a base frame (bottom panel, e.g., 16);
an electronic circuit (Fig. 7);
a cage frame 10, 13, 14, (also top panel) depending from the base frame, the cage frame:
configured to provide physical protection on at least four sides for the electronic circuit (portions providing physical protection on all 6 sides in combination with the bottom panel/base frame); and
defining a plurality of openings (openings for receiving various fan modules 2, 3, 4 as well as ventilation openings which are shown but not labeled) configured to provide air circulation across the electronic circuit; and
at least one fan 2, 3, 4 disposed within the cage frame and configured to at least partially drive the air circulation.
As to claim 3, Wei discloses:
further comprising a fan support bracket 10, 101, 191 supporting a plurality of fans 31, 41 configured to provide air circulation across the electronic circuit and through the cage frame.
As to claim 7, Wei discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one capacitor OH1 (see col. 5, lines 17-43) and wherein the at least one fan is configured to provide air circulation across the at least one capacitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 7205740) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ledezma (US 20200178423 A1).
As to claim 2, Wei discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an electric power conversion module (see Fig. 7 and claim 1 – AC to DC rectification circuit 51 and DC/DC conversion circuit 52).
Wei does not disclose:
wherein the electronic circuit is configured to handle at least one (1) Megawatt.
However, Ledezma discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an electric power conversion module and is configured to handle at least one (1) Megawatt (see par. 0003-0004, 0052);
in order to provide a medium power range, multi-megawatt power converter (see par. 0003-0004, 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wei as suggested by Ledezma, e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an electric power conversion module and is configured to handle at least one (1) Megawatt;
in order to provide a medium power range, multi-megawatt power converter.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 7205740) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santos (US 8488319 B2).
As to claim 4 (as best understood), Wei does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the protective enclosure is configured as a retrofitting replacement for an existing electronics device.
However, Santos discloses:
wherein the protective enclosure 1 (Fig. 1-5) is configured as a retrofitting replacement for an existing electronics device (modular power converter arrangement 1 can be mounted to another device such as a switchgear cabinet via rails 2; see col. 3, lines 21-27; thus it can function as a retrofitting replacement for another power converter previously installed on the switchgear; further, modular power converter arrangement 1 can be connected to an AC motor via connection device 14; see col. 2, lines 50-59; thus it can function as a retrofitting replacement for another power converter previously connected to the AC motor);
in order to attach the protective enclosure to an existing electronics device such as a switchgear cabinet and/or AC motor (see col. 3, lines 21-27; col. 2, lines 50-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wei as suggested by Santos, e.g., providing:
wherein the protective enclosure is configured as a retrofitting replacement for an existing electronics device;
in order to attach the protective enclosure to an existing electronics device such as a switchgear cabinet and/or AC motor.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 5 (as best understood), Wei in view of Santos discloses:
wherein the base frame (see rail 2 of Santos) is configured to be mounted at an existing physical interface (switchgear cabinet; see col. 3, lines 21-27; Santos) for the existing electronics device (e.g., switchgear cabinet and AC motor of Santos).
As to claim 6 (as best understood), Wei in view of Santos discloses:
wherein the electronics circuit comprises electrical interface locations (connection device 14; see col. 2, lines 50-59; Santos) positioned to receive electrical interface connections (of AC motor) connecting to the existing electronics device (switchgear cabinet and AC motor of Santos).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 7205740) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Snipes (US 20180262132 A1).
As to claim 8, Wei does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises a plurality of capacitors.
However, Snipes discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises a plurality of capacitors (par. 0022);
in order to provide a filtering circuit (par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wei as suggested by Snipes, e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises a plurality of capacitors;
in order to provide a filtering circuit.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 9, Wei in view of Snipes discloses:
further comprising a plurality of fans configured to provide air circulation across the plurality of capacitors, across the electronic circuit, and through the cage frame (see Figures of Wei).
As to claim 10, Wei in view of Snipes discloses:
further comprising a fan support bracket 10, 101, 191 (Wei) supporting the plurality of fans 31, 41 (Wei).
As to claim 11, Wei in view of Snipes does not explicitly discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit, the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprising Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor switching devices, and wherein the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprises a Direct Current filtering circuit comprising the plurality of capacitors.
However, Snipes discloses:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit (AC power is rectified, filtered, and inverted to power/drive an AC motor – see par. 0022, Title), the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprising Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor switching devices (par. 0022), and wherein the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprises a Direct Current filtering circuit comprising the plurality of capacitors (par. 0022);
in order to drive an AC motor from a fixed line AC power source (par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wei as suggested by Snipes, e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic circuit comprises an Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit, the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprising Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor switching devices, and wherein the Alternating Current-to-Alternating Current conversion circuit comprises a Direct Current filtering circuit comprising the plurality of capacitors;
in order to drive an AC motor from a fixed line AC power source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tong (US 20130100716 A1), Zhao (US 20180166996 A1), and Wagoner (US 20180020578 A1) disclose related conventional power conversion devices.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841