DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 7, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
However, claims 16-20 also do not read on the elected invention because the claims are directed to an apparatus rather than a method, placing them in a distinct statutory category. Therefore, claims 16-20 are further withdrawn.
As such, claims 1-7 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiman et al. (US 2024/0156532), hereinafter “Weiman”.
Regarding claim 1, Weiman discloses a method of performing a discectomy (¶54), the method comprising: (a) providing a database model based on existing patient data with discectomy data (¶40); (b) conducting preoperative imaging and planning for a given patient (¶46); (c) obtaining a customized surgical plan from the database model including an approach, location, and degree of discectomy for the given patient (¶52); (d) performing a discectomy based on guidance from the customized surgical plan and collecting intraoperative data (1202); (e) conducting a postoperative analysis after the discectomy and collecting postoperative data (1204); and (f) updating the database model based on the intraoperative and postoperative data (¶43).
Regarding claim 2, Weiman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the discectomy is conducted with a navigated articulating discectomy instrument (¶194).
Regarding claim 3, Weiman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein for a non-fusion procedure, the discectomy targets an identified surgical level and identifies soft tissue to be removed based on a volumetric heatmap (¶167-168).
Regarding claim 4, Weiman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein for a fusion procedure, the discectomy targets an identified surgical level, selects a surgical approach, identifies soft tissue to be removed based on a volumetric heatmap, and prepares the disc space for insertion of an interbody implant (¶167-168).
Regarding claim 5, Weiman discloses the method of claim 4 further comprising modifying the volumetric heatmap based on intended placement of the interbody implant (¶168).
Regarding claim 6, Weiman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the database model incorporates artificial intelligence to enhance database functionality, data analysis, and predictions (¶42-43).
Regarding claim 7, Weiman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the database model is incorporated into software of an on-board computer for a surgical robotic and navigation system (¶40).
Conclusion
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775