Systems, Apparatuses, and Methods for Testing Cryogenic Couplings
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jentges (US 20210072111; “Jentges”).
Regarding claim 1, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, an apparatus for testing a coupling, the apparatus comprising: a frame (110), a first clamp plate (120, 130) coupled to the frame (110) and configured to contact a first end (see at least fig. 13) of the coupling (10); and a second clamp plate (120, 140) coupled to the frame (110) and configured to contact a second end (see at least fig. 13) of the coupling (10), wherein at least one of the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the second clamp plate (120, 140) is movable along the frame relative to one another (¶ 0044, “force transmitting member 160 may include and/or be a lead screw, a hydraulic ram, and/or a hydraulic cylinder, such as may be configured to selectively translate first seal head 130 toward second seal head 140 and/or vice versa”) such that the coupling (10) is clamped between the first clamp plate and the second clamp plate (¶ 0044, “force transmitting member 160 is configured to apply a compressive force upon DUT 10 that is sufficient to form a fluid-tight seal between DUT 10 and clamp structure 120”).
Examiner notes that the limitations: “for testing a cryogenic coupling”, “a first clamp… configured to contact a first end of the cryogenic coupling”, “a second clamp… configured to contact a second end of the cryogenic coupling” and “such that cryogenic coupling” describing the coupling as cryogenic are intended use type statements. Applicant is reminded that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 2, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, a first seal (120, 50) coupled to the first clamp plate (120, 130) and configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 1st seal head and the DUT) between the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the first end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 3. Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the first clamp plate (120, 130) comprises a first aperture ((70), see fig. 3, examiner notes Jentges fluid passageway extends through the adaptor body and 1st seal head) configured to receive a first pressure fitting (60) coupled to the first end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 4, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the first clamp plate (120, 130) comprises a first pressure fitting (60) configured to be coupled to the first end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 5, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, a second seal (120, 52) coupled to the second clamp plate (120, 140) and configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT) between the second clamp plate (120, 140) and the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 6, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the second clamp plate (120, 140) comprises a second aperture ((70), see fig. 3, examiner notes Jentges fluid passageway extends through the adaptor body and 2nd seal head) configured to receive a second pressure fitting (60) coupled to the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 7, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the second clamp plate (120, 140) comprises a second pressure fitting (60) configured to be coupled to the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 8, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the second clamp plate (120, 140) comprises a recess (64, 70) configured to receive the second end (see figs. 3 and 6) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 9, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, a second seal (¶ 0039, Jentges’ first sealing surface accommodates a “sealing gasket, a ring type joint (RTJ) gasket, an O-ring, a sealing surface, and/or a polyurethane sealing surface”) situated within the recess (64, 70) and configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, “to form a fluid seal”) between the second clamp plate (120, 140) and the second end of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 12, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, an actuator (160) configured to drive movement (¶ 0044, “force transmitting member 160… configured to selectively translate first seal head 130 toward second seal head 140 and/or vice versa”) of at least one of the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the second clamp plate (120, 140) along the frame (110).
Regarding claim 13, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the first clamp plate (120, 130) comprises: a first aperture ((70), see fig. 3, examiner notes Jentges fluid passageway extends through the adaptor body and 1st seal head) configured to receive a first pressure fitting (60) coupled to the first end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10); and a first seal (120, 50) configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 1st seal head and the DUT) between the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the first end of the cryogenic coupling (10); and the second clamp plate (120, 140) comprises: a second aperture ((70), see fig. 3, examiner notes Jentges fluid passageway extends through the adaptor body and 2nd seal head) configured to receive a second pressure fitting (60) coupled to the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10); and a second seal (120, 52) configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT) between the second clamp plate (120, 140) and the second end of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 14, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, a system (100) for testing a coupling (¶ 0003, “for pressure testing devices under test”), the system comprising: a frame (110), a first clamp plate (120, 130), coupled to the frame (110) and configured to contact a first end (see fig. 3) of the coupling (10); a second clamp plate (120, 140), coupled to the frame (110) and configured to contact a second end (see fig. 3) of the coupling (10); a first seal (120, 50), configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 1st seal head and the DUT) between the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the first end (see fig. 3) of the coupling (10); and a second seal (120, 52), configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT) between the second clamp plate (120, 140) and the second end of the coupling (10); at least one of a first pressure fitting (60), configured to be coupled to the first end (see fig. 3) of the coupling (10) through the first clamp plate (120, 130) and a second pressure fitting (60), configured to be coupled to the second end (see fig. 3) of the coupling (10) through the second clamp plate (120, 140); and a pressure source (176) coupled to at least the one of the first pressure fitting (60) and the second pressure fitting (60), wherein at least one of the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the second clamp plate (120, 140) is movable along the frame relative to one another (¶ 0044, “force transmitting member 160 may include and/or be a lead screw, a hydraulic ram, and/or a hydraulic cylinder, such as may be configured to selectively translate first seal head 130 toward second seal head 140 and/or vice versa”) such that the coupling (10) is clamped between (see fig. 3) the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the second clamp plate (120, 140).
Examiner notes that the limitations: “for testing a cryogenic coupling”, “a first clamp… configured to contact a first end of the cryogenic coupling”, “a second clamp… configured to contact a second end of the cryogenic coupling”, “the first end of the cryogenic coupling”, “the second end of the cryogenic coupling”, “coupled to the first end of the cryogenic coupling”, “coupled to the second end of the cryogenic coupling” and “such that cryogenic coupling” describing the coupling as cryogenic are intended use type statements. Applicant is reminded that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 15, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, a method for testing a cryogenic coupling (ABSTRACT, “a method of pressure testing a DUT”), the method comprising: clamping the cryogenic (examiner notes applicant’s assertion of the coupling being a cryogenic type has no apparent limiting effect on the method of testing) coupling (10) between a first clamp plate (120, 130) and a second clamp plate (120, 140); sealing a first end of the cryogenic coupling with the first clamp plate (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 1st seal head and the DUT); sealing a second end of the cryogenic coupling with the second clamp plate (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT); and pressurizing (244) an interior of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 16, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, pressuring (244) the interior comprises transferring a pressurized fluid (¶ 0046, ¶ 0058, Jentges delivers a pressurized fluid to the DUT through either the 1st or 2nd seal head) to the interior from the first end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 17, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, pressuring the interior comprises transferring a pressurized fluid (¶ 0046, ¶ 0058, Jentges delivers a pressurized fluid to the DUT through either the 1st or 2nd seal head) to the interior from the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 18, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, pressuring the interior comprises transferring a pressurized fluid (¶ 0046, ¶ 0058, Jentges delivers a pressurized fluid to the DUT through either the 1st or 2nd seal head) to the interior from the first end and the second end (see fig. 3) of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Regarding claim 19, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, sealing the first end of the cryogenic coupling (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT) comprises creating a hermetic seal (¶ 0048, Jentges’ seals against fluid including gas) between the first clamp plate (120, 130) and the first end using a first seal (120, 50).
Regarding claim 20, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, sealing the second end of the cryogenic coupling (¶ 0039, examiner notes Jentges’ sealing adapter forms a fluid tight seal with the DUT and is located between the 2nd seal head and the DUT) comprises creating a hermetic seal (¶ 0048, Jentges’ seals against fluid including gas) between the second clamp plate (120, 140) and the second end using a second seal (120, 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jentges (US 20210072111; “Jentges”).
Regarding claim 10, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, the second clamp plate (120, 140) comprises a bottom surface of the recess (64, 70); and the bottom surface comprises a profile shape that substantially matches a profile shape of the second end of the cryogenic coupling (¶ 0039, 0052, Jentges sealing adapter and sealing surface are specifically configured, shaped or dimensioned to engage and form a seal with the device under test).
Jentges fails to explicitly disclose the bottom surface comprises a profile shape that matches the profile shape of the coupling end.
However, the Examiner takes official notice that shaping mating surfaces to match is well-known in the art when configuring surfaces to seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known technique of matching a profile shape of a sealing surface to match a coupling surface to configure Jentges’ sealing surface to seal against the coupling of the device under test. Doing so improves the changes of successfully pressurizing the device under test.
Regarding claim 11, Jentges discloses, in figures 1-15, . The apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a second seal (¶ 0039, Jentges’ first sealing surface accommodates a “sealing gasket, a ring type joint (RTJ) gasket, an O-ring, a sealing surface, and/or a polyurethane sealing surface”) situated within the recess (64, 70) and configured to create a hermetic seal (¶ 0039, “to form a fluid seal”) between the bottom surface (see fig. 6) and the second end of the cryogenic coupling (10).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855