DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 4/29/26, wherein:
Claims 2, 10, 15, 16, 18, 21 have been amended;
Claims 6, 12 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG ET AL (US 2014/0031977) in view of CHU ET AL (US 2012/0111587). Herein after GOLDENBERG and CHU.
As for claim 2, GOLDENBERG discloses an autonomous digger bot for mining, the digger bot {at least abstract, figures 1-2, 20-22, 27 and pars. 0109, 0114 which discloses robot with tool arm 80 enables for digging, scooping, collecting, sands soil samples} comprising: a frame {see at least figure 2, item 12};
a mobility platform attached with the frame and configured to move the digger bot, wherein the mobility platform is one among a plurality of different mobility platform types with which the frame is configured to attach {see at least figure 2, items 14 and 16 and par. 0104};
a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil {see at least figure 2 items gripper am 28, PTZ arm 26, figures 20-22, tool arm 80 and at least pars. 0016-0017, 0024-0025, 0109, 0112 discloses e.g. the mobile robot may include one of a large gripper arm module, a small gripper arm module and a tooling arm. The mobile robot may further include a PTZ arm module; par. 0109 discloses; par. 0109 discloses the tooling arm 80 is particularly useful for scooping and collecting small samples. The tooling arm 80 enables sampling and digging to a predetermined depth and to capture and stow a sand or soil sample. Thus, the tooling arm is particularly useful for robots that are used in lunar or Martian explorations};
a universal platform stack supporting the digger payload stack, wherein the digger payload stack is one among a plurality of interchangeable different payload stack types that the universal platform stack is configured to support {see at least figures 2, chassis 12 include head module 24, figures 20- 21 and pars. 0062, 0098 shows the head module 24 distribute/support power to all the gripper arm module (digger pay load stack) and the robot with a tooling arm attached to the chassis 12, pars . 0015-0016, 0090 discloses head module which may be interchangeable between different sized robots};
a sensor configured to map the rock face or other environmental feature {see at GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0108 discloses the robot include LIDAR (light detection and ranging) which implies scanning and mapping the surrounding area/environment object}; and
a control system configured to operate the digger bot autonomously in a swarm robotic system to complete a collaborative mining objective based on the mapped rock face or other environmental feature {see at least pars. 0004, 0009, 0022, 0090, 0092, 0097, 0108-0109, which discloses the controlling the robot to perform the specific task, e.g. sampling and digging, scooping soil based on the detected LIDAR.
GOLDENBERG discloses claimed invention as indicated above such as a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil. However, GOLDENBERG a digger payload stack as shown is GOLDENBERG is not explicitly configured to break a rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body.
CHU discloses a digger payload stack/digging tool configured to break a rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body as shown in abstract, pars. 0003, 0007 and figures 1A-B. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tool for breaking a rock of CHU into the system of GOLDENBERG in order to provides an improved efficacy for percussively digging into soil and/or rock from a robotic arm {CHU par. 0008}.
As for claim 3, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack further comprises a robotic arm supporting the digger payload stack, the robotic arm having a plurality of articulable joints and linkages {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 1, 20-21; CHU at least figures 1A-B}.
As for claim 4, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack comprises a drill or chisel {see CHU at least par. 0016 discloses the tool include chisel}.
As for claim 5, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack comprises a reciprocating or rotating blade {see CHU at least figure 2, pars. 0018-0019 which discloses reciprocation}.
As for claim 6, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses a sensor configured to map the rock face or other environmental feature {see at GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0108}.
As for claim 7, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first hardware module configuration specific to the digger payload stack, and wherein the first hardware module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible hardware module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 2, 17-20, and pars. 0102, 0117}.
As for claim 8, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first software module configuration specific to the digger payload stack, and wherein the first software module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible software module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0099}.
As for claims 10-11, 13-14, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore considered rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG ET AL (US 2014/0031977) in view of PEARSON Jr (US 10,920,434).
As for claim 16, GOLDENBERG discloses the autonomous bot for mining digging at least abstract, figures 1-2, 20-22, 27 and pars. 0109, 0114 which discloses robot with tool arm 80 enables for digging, scooping, collecting, sands soil samples}, the autonomous bot comprising: a frame {see at least figure 2, item 12};
a mobility platform attached with the frame and configured to move the mining/digging bot, wherein the mobility platform is one among a plurality of different mobility platform types with which the frame is configured to attach {see at least figure 2, items 14 and 16 and par. 0104};
a payload stack configured to configured to scooping, digging soil {see at least figure 2 items gripper am 28, PTZ arm 26, figures 20-22, tool arm 80 and at least pars. 0016-0017, 0024-0025, 0109, 0112 discloses e.g. the mobile robot may include one of a large gripper arm module, a small gripper arm module and a tooling arm. The mobile robot may further include a PTZ arm module; par. 0109 discloses; par. 0109 discloses the tooling arm 80 is particularly useful for scooping and collecting small samples. The tooling arm 80 enables sampling and digging to a predetermined depth and to capture and stow a sand or soil sample. Thus, the tooling arm is particularly useful for robots that are used in lunar or Martian explorations};
a universal platform stack supporting the sweeper payload stack, wherein the payload stack is one among a plurality of interchangeable different payload stack types that the universal platform stack is configured to support {see at least figures 2, chassis 12 include head module 24, figures 20- 21 and pars. 0062, 0098 shows the head module 24 distribute/support power to all the gripper arm module (digger pay load stack) and the robot with a tooling arm attached to the chassis 12, pars. 0015-0016, 0090 discloses head module which may be interchangeable between different sized robots}; and
a control system configured to operate the sweeper bot autonomously in a swarm robotic system to complete a collaborative mining objective {see at least pars. 0004, 0009, 0022, 0090, 0092, 0097, 0109, which discloses the controlling the robot to perform the specific task, e.g. sampling and digging, scooping soil.
GOLDENBERG discloses claimed invention as indicated above such as a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil. However, GOLDENBERG payload stack as shown is GOLDENBERG is not explicitly sweeper payload stack configured to collect broken rock or other environmental feature of a celestial body, the sweeper payload stack comprising a ramp configured to assist in directing the broken rock face or other environment feature to a receptacle, and a conveyor configured to transport the broken rock face or other environmental feature from the ramp to the receptacle.
However, PEARSOIN at least figures 11, 12, 13, col. 16, 46, lines 5-27 discloses the robotic arm include blade 94, excavation bucket 96 and rock crusher; and figures 45-46, 49, abstract, col. 18, lines 9-21 discloses the hydraulic robotic arm 810 and the excavation bucket 96 moving dirt to the moveable angled conveyor belt 158 which will then move the dirt along the siderail trough 160 and the bridge conveyor belt 52 and into the lower conveyor belt 224 which will deliver the dirt to a dirt pile, rock crusher equipment, or into a dump truck for removal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PEARSON as indicated above into the system of GOLDENBERG in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity using the sweeper as a tool for brushing/cleaning soil or another environment feature and having a conveyor belt attached to the robotic system for transferring the dirt or crushed rock/material to the receptacle/container more efficient.
As for claim 17, GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON discloses wherein the sweeper payload stack comprises a rotating brush {see PEARSON at least figures 11, 12, 13, col. 16, 46, lines 5-27}.
As for claim 18, GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON disclose wherein the sweeper payload stack is configured to sweep the broken rock face or other environmental feature onto the ramp {see PEARSON figures 45-46, 49, abstract, col. 18, lines 9-21}.
As for claim 19, GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON disclose wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first hardware module configuration specific to the sweeper payload stack, and wherein the first hardware module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible hardware module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 2, 17-20, and pars. 0102, 0117}.
As for claim 20, GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON disclose wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first software module configuration specific to the sweeper payload stack, and wherein the first software module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible software module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0099}.
Claim(s) 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG in view of PEARSON as applied to claims above and further in view of JACOBS ET AL (US 2003/0030398). Herein after GOLDENBERG and JACOBS
As for claim 21, GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON discloses claimed invention as indicated above except for discloses wherein the control system is further configured to autonomously: establish communications with an autonomous digger bot through a colony communications network; receive data related to the collaborative mining objective from the autonomous digger bot via the colony communications network; and perform the sweeper mining task in response to receiving the first data, wherein performing the sweeper mining task based on the data results in achieving the collaborative mining objective. However, JACOMBS teaches such these limitations at least in pars. 0102-0103 discloses e.g. the robots might communicate with each other to determine if each robot is done with their respective tasks, thus allowing the robots to switch areas to perform the other functions, for example. In addition, if the system determines that one robot is low on cleaning solution, a second robot could be dispatched from another area to finish the cleaning solution washing; par. 0103 discloses one robot might communicate with multiple other robots. For example, one robot, while busy performing one function, might be commanded to perform a second function. As a result, that robot might communicate with a fleet of robots in the area to determine which robot in the fleet is available to perform the second function. As noted above, a gateway might be utilized to route communication between the robots. Further, JOCOBS pars. 0038-0039 and claim 7 discloses the robot include “clean function” including sweeping, grinding, removing soil and stains marks scrubbing, scrapping, brushing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of JACOBS into the system of GOLDENBERG/ PEARSON in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity of allowing the communicating between the plurality of autonomous robot to achieve the specific tasks more efficient.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG in view of CHU as applied to claims above and further in view of JACOBS ET AL (US 2003/0030398). Herein after JACOBS.
As for claims 9 and 15, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses claimed invention as indicated above. GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses further discloses the robot system has a communication system that is capable to communicate with the operator control unit a shown in GOLDENBERG at least par. 0009, 0097. However, GOLDENBERG /CHU does not explicitly disclose the control system is configured to establish communications with an autonomous sweeper bot through a colony communications network; receive data related to the collaborative mining objective from the autonomous sweeper bot via the colony communications network; and break the rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body in response to receiving the data.
JACOBS teaches such these limitations at least in pars. 0102-0103. For example, the robots might communicate with each other to determine if each robot is done with their respective tasks, thus allowing the robots to switch areas to perform the other functions, for example. In addition, if the system determines that one robot is low on cleaning solution, a second robot could be dispatched from another area to finish the cleaning solution washing; par. 0103 discloses one robot might communicate with multiple other robots. For example, one robot, while busy performing one function, might be commanded to perform a second function. As a result, that robot might communicate with a fleet of robots in the area to determine which robot in the fleet is available to perform the second function. As noted above, a gateway might be utilized to route communication between the robots. Further, JOCOBS pars. 0038-0039 and claim 7 discloses the robot include “clean function” including sweeping, grinding, removing soil and stains marks scrubbing, scrapping, brushing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of JACOBS into the system of GOLDENBERG /CHU in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity of allowing the communicating between the plurality of autonomous robot to achieve the specific tasks more efficient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s)16-21 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground rejected based on Applicant’s amended language.
Applicant's arguments filed ion 4/29/26 with respect to claims 2 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remark 7-8) the reference of Goldenberg seem discloses a plurality of sensors but does not teach does not teach “a sensor configured to map the rock face or other environment feature”. However, this is not persuasive because Goldenberg at least pars. 0090, 0108 discloses the robot include LIDAR (light detection and ranging) which would imply scanning and mapping the surrounding area/environment object}. Therefore, Goldenberg teach the claimed feature. See the rejection above for further details.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656