DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 6/5/24, wherein:
Claims 2-21 have been added.
Claim 1 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 10, 16 recite the terms “platform types”, “payload stack types”. The scope of the claimed terms (type) cannot be ascertained per MPEP 2173.05(b) III. Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG ET AL (US 2014/0031977) in view of CHU ET AL (US 2012/0111587). Herein after GOLDENBERG and CHU.
As for claim 2, GOLDENBERG discloses an autonomous digger bot for mining, the digger bot {at least abstract, figures 1-2, 20-22, 27 and pars. 0109, 0114 which discloses robot with tool arm 80 enables for digging ,scooping, collecting, sands soil samples} comprising: a frame {see at least figure 2, item 12};
a mobility platform attached with the frame and configured to move the digger bot, wherein the mobility platform is one among a plurality of different mobility platform types with which the frame is configured to attach {see at least figure 2, items 14 and 16 and par. 0104};
a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil {see at least figure 2 items gripper am 28, PTZ arm 26, figures 20-22, tool arm 80 and at least pars. 0016-0017, 0024-0025, 0109, 0112 discloses e.g. the mobile robot may include one of a large gripper arm module, a small gripper arm module and a tooling arm. The mobile robot may further include a PTZ arm module; par. 0109 discloses; par. 0109 discloses the tooling arm 80 is particularly useful for scooping and collecting small samples. The tooling arm 80 enables sampling and digging to a predetermined depth and to capture and stow a sand or soil sample. Thus, the tooling arm is particularly useful for robots that are used in lunar or Martian explorations};
a universal platform stack supporting the digger payload stack, wherein the digger payload stack is one among a plurality of interchangeable different payload stack types that the universal platform stack is configured to support {see at least figures 2, chassis 12 include head module 24, figures 20- 21 and pars. 0062, 0098 shows the head module 24 distribute/support power to all the gripper arm module (digger pay load stack) and the robot with a tooling arm attached to the chassis 12, pars . 0015-0016, 0090 discloses head module which may be interchangeable between different sized robots}; and
a control system configured to operate the digger bot autonomously in a swarm robotic system to complete a collaborative mining objective {see at least pars. 0004, 0009, 0022, 0090, 0092, 0097, 0109, which discloses the controlling the robot to perform the specific task, e.g. sampling and digging, scooping soil.
GOLDENBERG discloses claimed invention as indicated above such as a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil. However, GOLDENBERG a digger payload stack as shown is GOLDENBERG is not explicitly configured to break a rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body.
CHU discloses a digger payload stack/digging tool configured to break a rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body as shown in abstract, pars. 0003, 0007 and figures 1A-B. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tool for breaking a rock of CHU into the system of GOLDENBERG in order to provides an improved efficacy for percussively digging into soil and/or rock from a robotic arm {CHU par. 0008}.
As for claim 3, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack further comprises a robotic arm supporting the digger payload stack, the robotic arm having a plurality of articulable joints and linkages {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 1, 20-21; CHU at least figures 1A-B}.
As for claim 4, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack comprises a drill or chisel {see CHU at least par. 0016 discloses the tool include chisel}.
As for claim 5, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the digger payload stack comprises a reciprocating or rotating blade {see CHU at least figure 2, pars. 0018-0019 which discloses reciprocation}.
As for claim 6, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses a sensor configured to map the rock face or other environmental feature {see at GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0108}.
As for claim 7, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first hardware module configuration specific to the digger payload stack, and wherein the first hardware module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible hardware module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 2, 17-20, and pars. 0102, 0117}.
As for claim 8, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first software module configuration specific to the digger payload stack, and wherein the first software module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible software module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0099}.
As for claims 10-14, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore considered rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Claim(s) 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG ET AL (US 2014/0031977) in view of JACOBS ET AL (US 2003/0030398). Herein after GOLDENBERG and JACOBS.
As for claim 16, GOLDENBERG discloses the autonomous bot for mining digging at least abstract, figures 1-2, 20-22, 27 and pars. 0109, 0114 which discloses robot with tool arm 80 enables for digging ,scooping, collecting, sands soil samples} , the autonomous bot comprising: a frame {see at least figure 2, item 12};
a mobility platform attached with the frame and configured to move the mining/digging bot, wherein the mobility platform is one among a plurality of different mobility platform types with which the frame is configured to attach {see at least figure 2, items 14 and 16 and par. 0104};
a payload stack configured to configured to scooping, digging soil {see at least figure 2 items gripper am 28, PTZ arm 26, figures 20-22, tool arm 80 and at least pars. 0016-0017, 0024-0025, 0109, 0112 discloses e.g. the mobile robot may include one of a large gripper arm module, a small gripper arm module and a tooling arm. The mobile robot may further include a PTZ arm module; par. 0109 discloses; par. 0109 discloses the tooling arm 80 is particularly useful for scooping and collecting small samples. The tooling arm 80 enables sampling and digging to a predetermined depth and to capture and stow a sand or soil sample. Thus, the tooling arm is particularly useful for robots that are used in lunar or Martian explorations};
a universal platform stack supporting the sweeper payload stack, wherein the payload stack is one among a plurality of interchangeable different payload stack types that the universal platform stack is configured to support {see at least figures 2, chassis 12 include head module 24, figures 20- 21 and pars. 0062, 0098 shows the head module 24 distribute/support power to all the gripper arm module (digger pay load stack) and the robot with a tooling arm attached to the chassis 12, pars . 0015-0016, 0090 discloses head module which may be interchangeable between different sized robots}; and
a control system configured to operate the sweeper bot autonomously in a swarm robotic system to complete a collaborative mining objective {see at least pars. 0004, 0009, 0022, 0090, 0092, 0097, 0109, which discloses the controlling the robot to perform the specific task, e.g. sampling and digging, scooping soil.
GOLDENBERG discloses claimed invention as indicated above such as a digger payload stack (tool) configured to scooping, digging soil. However, GOLDENBERG payload stack as shown is GOLDENBERG is not explicitly sweeper payload stack configured to collect broken rock or other environmental feature of a celestial body
JACOBS discloses a sweeper payload stack/digging tool configured to sweep, brush soil or environmental feature as shown in figure 7, pars. 0038-0039. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tool function include sweeper in JACOBS into the system of GOLDENBERG in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity using the sweeper as a tool for brushing/cleaning soil or another environment feature more efficient.
As for claim 17, GOLDENBERG/JACOMBS discloses wherein the sweeper payload stack comprises a rotating brush {see JACOBS at least figure 7, pars. 0038-0039}.
As for claim 18, GOLDENBERG/JACOMBS disclose a scraper or ramp, and wherein the sweeper payload stack is configured to sweep the broken rock face or other environmental feature onto the scraper or ramp {see JACOMBS at least figure 7, pars. 0038-0039 and claim 40 which discloses cleaning tool include scraper device}.
As for claim 19, GOLDENBERG/JACOMBS disclose wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first hardware module configuration specific to the sweeper payload stack, and wherein the first hardware module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible hardware module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least figures 2, 17-20, and pars. 0102, 0117}.
As for claim 20, GOLDENBERG/JACOMBS disclose wherein the universal platform stack further comprises a first software module configuration specific to the sweeper payload stack, and wherein the first software module configuration is one among a plurality of other possible software module configurations that are specific to other payload stacks {see GOLDENBERG at least pars. 0090, 0099}.
As for claim 21, GOLDENBERG/JACOMBS discloses wherein the control system is further configured to autonomously: establish communications with an autonomous digger bot through a colony communications network; receive data related to the collaborative mining objective from the autonomous digger bot via the colony communications network; and perform the sweeper mining task in response to receiving the first data, wherein performing the sweeper mining task based on the data results in achieving the collaborative mining objective
{see JACOBS at least pars. 0102-0103 discloses e.g. the robots might communicate with each other to determine if each robot is done with their respective tasks, thus allowing the robots to switch areas to perform the other functions, for example. In addition, if the system determines that one robot is low on cleaning solution, a second robot could be dispatched from another area to finish the cleaning solution washing; par. 0103 discloses one robot might communicate with multiple other robots. For example, one robot, while busy performing one function, might be commanded to perform a second function. As a result, that robot might communicate with a fleet of robots in the area to determine which robot in the fleet is available to perform the second function. As noted above, a gateway might be utilized to route communication between the robots. Further, JOCOBS pars. 0038-0039 and claim 7 discloses the robot include “clean function” including sweeping, grinding, removing soil and stains marks scrubbing, scrapping, brushing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of JACOBS into the system of GOLDENBERG in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity of allowing the communicating between the plurality of autonomous robot to achieve the specific tasks more efficient.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOLDENBERG in view of CHU as applied to claims above and further in view of JACOBS ET AL (US 2003/0030398). Herein after JACOBS.
As for claims 9 and 15, GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses claimed invention as indicated above. GOLDENBERG /CHU discloses further discloses the robot system has a communication system that is capable to communicate with the operator control unit a shown in GOLDENBERG at least par. 0009, 0097. However, GOLDENBERG /CHU does not explicitly disclose the control system is configured to establish communications with an autonomous sweeper bot through a colony communications network; receive data related to the collaborative mining objective from the autonomous sweeper bot via the colony communications network; and break the rock face or other environmental feature of the celestial body in response to receiving the data.
JACOBS teaches such these limitations at least in pars. 0102-0103. For example, the robots might communicate with each other to determine if each robot is done with their respective tasks, thus allowing the robots to switch areas to perform the other functions, for example. In addition, if the system determines that one robot is low on cleaning solution, a second robot could be dispatched from another area to finish the cleaning solution washing; par. 0103 discloses one robot might communicate with multiple other robots. For example, one robot, while busy performing one function, might be commanded to perform a second function. As a result, that robot might communicate with a fleet of robots in the area to determine which robot in the fleet is available to perform the second function. As noted above, a gateway might be utilized to route communication between the robots. Further, JOCOBS pars. 0038-0039 and claim 7 discloses the robot include “clean function” including sweeping, grinding, removing soil and stains marks scrubbing, scrapping, brushing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of JACOBS into the system of GOLDENBERG /CHU in order to provide the system with the enhance capacity of allowing the communicating between the plurality of autonomous robot to achieve the specific tasks more efficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nordin (US 2022/0032472): a remote controlled demolition robot with improved field of application and a method to achieve such a demolition robot.
Setrakian et al (US 2013/0325182): A robotic arm module includes a chassis having at least one arm pod. At least one arm connected to the chassis is movable between a stowed position within the at least one arm pod and a deployed position extending from the at least one arm pod.
Linnell et al (US 9,278,449): The robotic devices may be equipped with end-effector-mounted tools, such as a gripper or a drill, that may be used during a construction process.
Luckinbill et al (US 2019/0039826): a swarm robot configured to collaborate and communicate with at least a second swarm robot to transport an intermodal container.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656