Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments/amendments are strictly persuasive with respect to the prior rejections. However, the newly amended/presented claims are still believed to be made obvious by the prior art previously cited with a minor reinterpretation (see full rejection below). New claims 22-25 are believed to introduce new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-25. rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The embodiment claimed in claims 22-25 was not originally present in the disclosure. There is no support in the originally filed disclosure for a tube which comprises a “lumen” AND an “inwardly extending support section flange”. In fact the lumen embodiment is disclosed as quite the opposite In the system 1 with a “support section” around at the “outer perimeter” of the opening.
implementations of FIGS. 15-16, an opening 15 can be made in the body of the tube 10, such that a lumen 17 is created therewith. In these implementations, the opening 15 can be constructed and arranged such that a support section 14 is formed around the lumen and at the outer perimeter of the opening 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4103940 (hereinafter US ‘940) in view of Brazing Copper Tubing Better and Faster by Walter Sperko 2003 (hereinafter “Brazing”).
Regarding claims 8 and 9
US ‘940 teaches: A joint comprising: a) a first elongate tube (22) comprising an end condition (end of 22) comprising a support section flange (comprising exterior saddle portion 23 and interior alignment portion 26 which is clearly seen to extend inwardly in Figs. 1-5) ; b) a filler material (Col. 4, ll. 14-21; although this is inherently part of the definition of brazing); and c) a second elongate tube (21), wherein the filler material is disposed between the support section flange and second elongate tube (Col. 4, ll. 14-21 , and wherein the joint is configured to have a sufficient overlap (Col. 4, ll. 20-25).
US ‘940 does not specifically state that at least a 3T rule is used for the joint overlap. Note that “3T” is an art term which means that a surface contact has a length of 3 times the thinnest portion of the braze members.
As discussed in Brazing 3T is a known brazing overlap technique (see table 1 page 7) and that the overlap amount in “T”s is determined by the designer’s need to ensure adequate joint strength (page 3 paragraph 4). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the overlap of the joint such that is configured to satisfy a 3T rule in order to ensure sufficient strength at the joint.
For claim 9 it is noted that Brazing discloses a 3T ratio which by definition includes at least three times a surface contact as a thinnest portion of the first elongate tube or the second elongate tube (as those are the only two things being joined).
Regarding claim 10,
The modified US ‘940 teaches all of the limitations as discussed above but fails to teach a specific instance of a 5T rule joint or specifically wherein the joint is configured to have at least five times the surface contact as a thinnest portion of the first elongate tube or the second elongate tube (this is definitionally a 5T rule). In page 3 of Brazing it is discussed that a designer may pick a higher ratio of surface contact to the thinnest portion of the pipes to be brazed and that this is a result effective variable which changes the strength of the braze joint. From page 3 of Brazing:
Although the “2t” overlap rule works for many commonly used combinations of materials, it is possible to pick a combination of base metal and filler metal (e.g., stainless steels brazed with pure silver) where greater overlap is required to achieve full strength in the joint. One should always verify the adequacy of the minimum overlap one intends to use by testing.
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the joint such that is configured to have at least five times the surface contact as a thinnest portion of the first elongate tube or second elongate tube as this a known result effective variable which dictates the strength of the braze joint and a designer may need/desire a higher strength braze joint.
Regarding claim 11
The modified US ‘940 further teaches wherein the support section flange creates a heat sink (Fig. 3 noting that the extent of the flange and it exposing extra area to the atmosphere will necessarily result in additional conduction and convection of heat and thus can reasonably be considered a “heat sink”).
Regarding claim 12
The modified US ‘940 further teaches wherein the end condition is a saddle or coped end condition (Fig. 3 “saddle”).
Regarding claim 13
The modified US ‘940 teaches wherein the support section flange is disposed against a flat portion of the second elongate tube (Fig. 3: the first fold of the braze area – the portion exposed to the outside – can be considered the flat portion and the second portion can be considered the flange).
Regarding claim 14
The modified US ‘940 fails to teach a specific braze filler material, but Brazing teaches that copper is a common braze material, as such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the braze filler out of copper. Note that it has been held that when the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is merely the selection of a material known to be suitable for an intended function a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP §2177).
Regarding claim 21,
The modified ‘940 does not specifically teach that the brazing material has a lower melting point than either the tubes. While the examiner cannot think of an instance where this is not the case as brazing involves melting a filler material to move by capillary action to join a non-melted base material it is not considered inherent. However, as can be seen from Brazing in Page 3 mild steel can be the substrate for brazing with a copper filler material (it is of course inherent that mild steel has a much higher melt point than copper). As such making the elongate first and second tube, i.e. the substrate materials out of steel, and the braze material out of copper is nothing more than the selection of known substrates and braze materials which would preform predictably and thus would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (see MPEP §2144.07).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761