DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Applicant's arguments in the Remarks filed on 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s arguments (pages 5-9), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Denoual (845) discloses the MPD request contains a push directive conveyed via a push header (¶ [0528], ¶ [0544] and ¶ [0639]). The request can contain two different push directives (¶ [0581]) or a set of push directives (¶ [0663] and ¶ [0667]-[0668]). The push directive includes push type information and parameters (¶ [0324], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0650]-[0655]). In the case of the fast-start push type, the push directive includes both information indicating that (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push, and using associated parameters to indicate quantity, quality level or a resolution of video segments (¶ [0571]-[0580] and ¶ [0650]-[0654]).
Therefore, the teaching of Denoual (845) meets the claimed language of “the push directive includes (i) first information… by push from the server”.
Similarly, Denoual (442) discloses the MPD request contains an indication of a push directive conveyed via a push header (¶ [0381] and ¶ [0397]). The push directive includes push type information and possibly associated parameters (¶ [0433]-[0438] and ¶ [0545]-[0548]). In the case of the MPD request containing the fast-start push directive, the push directive includes associated parameters explicitly indicating whether the initialization segments being pushed (¶ [0450]), or the push directive includes specific and distinct parameters indicating (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push from a server (¶ [0450]-[0451]).
Therefore, the teaching of Denoual (442) also meets the claimed language of “the push directive includes (i) first information… by push from the server”.
For the reasons mentioned above, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10951944 in view of Denoual et al (US 2018/0013845).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (845) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0324], ¶ [0554]-[0557], ¶ [0571]-[0580], ¶ [0593]-[0596], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0643]-[0655]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 2 corresponds to the patent claim 4.
Claim 3 corresponds to the patent claim 6.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 8.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10951944 in view of Denoual et al (US 2017/0230442).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (442) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0176], ¶ [0412], ¶ [0433]-[0438], ¶ [0447]-[0451], ¶ [0529] and ¶ [0545]-[0548]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 2 corresponds to the patent claim 4.
Claim 3 corresponds to the patent claim 6.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 8.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11336951 in view of Denoual et al (US 2018/0013845).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (845) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0324], ¶ [0554]-[0557], ¶ [0571]-[0580], ¶ [0593]-[0596], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0643]-[0653]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 2 corresponds to the patent claim 2.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11336951 in view of Denoual et al (US 2017/0230442).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (442) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0176], ¶ [0412], ¶ [0433]-[0438], ¶ [0447]-[0451], ¶ [0529] and ¶ [0545]-[0548]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 2 corresponds to the patent claim 2.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11678009 in view of Denoual et al (US 2018/0013845).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (845) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0324], ¶ [0554]-[0557], ¶ [0571]-[0580], ¶ [0593]-[0596], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0643]-[0653]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11678009 in view of Denoual et al (US 2017/0230442).
The application claim 1 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (442) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0176], ¶ [0412], ¶ [0433]-[0438], ¶ [0447]-[0451], ¶ [0529] and ¶ [0545]-[0548]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12170812 in view of Denoual et al (US 2018/0013845).
The application claim 2 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (845) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0324], ¶ [0554]-[0557], ¶ [0571]-[0580], ¶ [0593]-[0596], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0643]-[0653]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 2.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12170812 in view of Denoual et al (US 2017/0230442).
The application claim 2 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 1 compared to the patented claim 1 are “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server”.
Denoual (442) discloses “the push directive includes first information…, and second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server” (¶ [0176], ¶ [0412], ¶ [0433]-[0438], ¶ [0447]-[0451], ¶ [0529] and ¶ [0545]-[0548]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Denoual, so to enhance system with providing more information using a push policy/directive in the MPD request.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Denoual et al (US 2018/0013845).
Regarding claim 1, Denoual (845) discloses a client which receives streaming data according to Moving Picture Experts Group-Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (MPEG- 5 DASH) standard, the client (client device 380 and 310 in Figures 3a-3b) comprising:
a transmitter (element 385 and 311) which transmits a Media Presentation Description (MPD), request to a server (¶ [0517], ¶ [0528], ¶ [0544] and ¶ [0639]); and
a receiver (element 386 and 311) which receives an MPD (¶ [0518], ¶ [0529] and ¶ [0640]-[0641]), wherein
the MPD request contains a push directive (¶ [0528], ¶ [0544] and ¶ [0639]) specifying whether or not an initialization segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0554]-[0556] and ¶ [0593]-[0596] for the push directive of “push-none” type specifying the client does not want a server to push anything; and ¶ [0557] and ¶ [0634] for indicating in its initial request of MPD the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments), and
the push directive includes (i) first information indicating that the initialization segment is to be transmitted by push and (ii) second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0324], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0650]-[0655] for the push directive includes push type information and parameters; ¶ [0571]-[0580] and ¶ [0650]-[0654] for in the case of the fast-start push type, the push directive includes both information indicating that (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push, and using associated parameters to indicate quantity, quality level or a resolution of video segments; and ¶ [0557] and ¶ [0634] for in its initial request of the MPD indicating the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments).
Regarding claim 2, Denoual (845) discloses a server which transmits streaming data according to Moving Picture Experts Group-Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (MPEG-DASH) standard, the server (server 350 and 300 in Figures 3a-3b) comprising:
a receiver (element 357 and 320) which receives a Media Presentation Description (MPD) request from a client (¶ [0529]-[0531], ¶ [0545] and ¶ [0640]-[0642]; and
a transmitter (element 359 and 320) which transmits an MPD (¶ [0517], ¶ [0533], ¶ [0545] and ¶ [0640]-[0642]), wherein
the MPD request contains a push directive (¶ [0528], ¶ [0544] and ¶ [0639]) specifying whether or not an initialization segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0554]-[0556] and ¶ [0593]-[0596] for the push directive of “push-none” type specifying the client does not want a server to push anything; and ¶ [0557] and ¶ [0634] for indicating in its initial request of MPD the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments), and
the push directive includes (i) first information indicating that the initialization segment is to be transmitted by push and (ii) second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0324], ¶ [0609]-[0610] and ¶ [0650]-[0655] for the push directive includes push type information and parameters; and ¶ [0571]-[0580] and ¶ [0650]-[0654] for in the case of the fast-start push type, the push directive includes both information indicating that (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push, and using associated parameters to indicate quantity, quality level or a resolution of video segments; and ¶ [0557] and ¶ [0634] for in its initial request of the MPD indicating the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments).
Regarding claims 3-4, all limitations of claims 3-4 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-2 respectively.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Denoual et al (US 2017/0230442).
Regarding claim 1, Denoual (442) discloses a client which receives streaming data according to Moving Picture Experts Group-Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (MPEG- 5 DASH) standard, the client (client device 380 and 310 in Figures 3a-3b) comprising:
a transmitter (element 385 and 311) which transmits a Media Presentation Description (MPD) request to a server (¶ [0370], ¶ [0381], ¶ [0397] and ¶ [0534]); and
a receiver (element 386 and 311) which receives an MPD (¶ [0371], ¶ [0382], ¶ [0398] and ¶ [0535]-[0536]), wherein
the MPD request contains a push directive (¶ [0381] and ¶ [0397]) specifying whether or not an initialization segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0450] for in the case of the MPD request containing the fast-start push directive, the push directive includes associated parameters explicitly indicating whether the initialization segments being pushed), and
the push directive includes (i) first information indicating that the initialization segment is to be transmitted by push and (ii) second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0450]-[0451] for the push directive includes specific and distinct parameters indicating (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push from a server; and ¶ [0412] and ¶ [0529] for in its initial request of the MPD, indicating the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments).
Regarding claim 2, Denoual (442) discloses a server which transmits streaming data according to Moving Picture Experts Group-Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (MPEG-DASH) standard, the server (server 350 and 300 in Figures 3a-3b) comprising:
a receiver (element 357 and 320) which receives a Media Presentation Description (MPD) request from a client (¶ [0370], ¶ [0381], ¶ [0397] and ¶ [0534]); and
a transmitter (element 359 and 320) which transmits an MPD (¶ [0371], ¶ [0382], ¶ [0398] and ¶ [0535]-[0536]), wherein
the MPD request contains a push directive (¶ [0381] and ¶ [0397]) specifying whether or not an initialization segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0450] for in the case of the MPD request containing the fast-start push directive, the push directive includes associated parameters explicitly indicating whether the initialization segments being pushed), and
the push directive includes (i) first information indicating that the initialization segment is to be transmitted by push and (ii) second information indicating whether or not a media segment is to be transmitted by push from the server (¶ [0450]-[0451] for the push directive includes specific and distinct parameters indicating (i) the initialization segment and (ii) video segments are to be transmitted by push from a server; and ¶ [0412] and ¶ [0529] for in its initial request of the MPD, indicating the client’s request for only initialization segment but not the media segments).
Regarding claims 3-4, all limitations of claims 3-4 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-2 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421