Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/05/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Google Translation of JP2017184096A by Mitsubishi (hereafter referred to as Mitsubishi.
Regarding claim 1, Mitsubishi teaches A modulation control apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store an instruction (see at least pg. 10; “The mapping multiplication unit 237 may be configured with a memory. A specific memory is a RAM (Random Access Memory). When the number of bits of encoded data input to the mapping multiplication unit 237 is 4 bits, the mapping multiplication unit 237 is configured with a memory having a 4-bit address scale.”); and at least one processor configured to execute the instruction (see at least pg. 10; “The elements of the observation signal transmitter 220, the observation signal receiver 320, and the coefficient control unit 390 may be realized by any of hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software. Specific hardware is an electronic circuit. Specific software is a program. The program is executed by the processor.”), wherein
the processor, by executing the instruction, acquires data relating to a temperature during a predetermined period, and sets signal point arrangement used for modulation of a transmission signal in such a way that the signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal is switched to different signal point arrangement during the predetermined period, based on the data relating to the temperature (see at least pg. 11; “The coefficient calculation unit 394 also takes into account factors such as measurement errors, and based on the temperature of the observation signal transmitter 220, combines the frequency characteristic candidates of the amplifier 223 and the frequency characteristic candidates of other analog circuits. A combination corresponding to the highest signal quality (S / N ratio) may be selected”).
Regarding claim 2, Mitsubishi teaches the modulation control apparatus according to claim 1. In addition, Mitsubishi teaches wherein the at least one processor, by executing the instruction, further sets signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal in such a way that the signal point arrangement is switched to different signal point arrangement at timing associated with timing at which a magnitude relationship between the temperature and a predetermined threshold value is changed during the predetermined period (see at least pg. 11; “For example, the coefficient calculation unit 394 uses the current frequency characteristic Bi ′ () of the bandpass filter 224 based on the temperature information of the observation signal transmitter 220 and the frequency characteristic Bk (f) for each temperature of the bandpass filter 224. f) is selected. At the same time, the coefficient calculation unit 394 selects the frequency characteristic Yi ′ (f) of the upconverter 240 based on the temperature information of the observation signal transmitter 220 and the frequency characteristic Yk (f) for each temperature of the upconverter 240.”).
Regarding claim 3. Mitsubishi teaches the modulation control apparatus according to claim 2. In addition, Mitsubishi teaches wherein the at least one processor, by executing the instruction, further sets signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal to first signal point arrangement in a first section of the predetermined period, the first section being associated with a period during which the temperature is higher than the predetermined threshold value, and sets signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal to second signal point arrangement in a second section of the predetermined period, the second section being associated with a period during which the temperature is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, and, as compared to the first signal point arrangement, the second signal point arrangement is signal point arrangement in which signal points are arranged in such a way that an interval between signal points is wider as intensity of the transmission signal is higher (see at least pgs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 4. Mitsubishi teaches the modulation control apparatus according to claim 1. In addition, Mitsubishi teaches wherein the at least one processor, by executing the instruction, further predicts a change of a non-linear characteristic of an amplifier during the predetermined period, based on data relating to a temperature during the predetermined period, and sets signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal in such a way that the signal point arrangement used for modulation of the transmission signal is switched to different signal point arrangement during the predetermined period, based on the change of the non-linear characteristic (see at least pgs. 10-12).
As to claims 9-12, see rejection of claims 1-4, except this is a claim to directed towards a method with the same limitations as claims 1-4.
As to claims 17-20, see rejection of claims 1-4, except this is a claim to directed towards a non-transitory computer readable medium with the same limitations as claims 1-4.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465