Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 2-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,511. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the parent case, the patent, was directed to narrower system claims while present application is directed to broader method claims of a broader system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7, 9-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0193101).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto discloses a method comprising:
providing a robotic surgical cart (“base 2,” see [0014]-[0016] and figure 1) having first and second ends, a first robotic arm located at the first end (the portion located adjacent one robotic arm 3 is disposed see figure 1), and a second robotic arm located at the second end (the portion located adjacent other robotic arm 3 is disposed see figure 1),
moving the cart over the floor of the operating room to advance the first end of the surgical robotic cart under and across the surgical table so that the surgical robotic cart is positioned across the surgical table with the first end on a first side of the surgical table and the second end on a second side of the surgical table (see [0018]), and
controlling movement of the first and second robotic arms to perform a robotic surgical procedure on the patient (see [0009], [0013], and [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including moving the cart from under the surgical table to a storage location after completion of the robotic surgical procedure (see [0008]-[0009], and [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including controlling movement of the first and second robotic arms comprises automatic control by a central control unit (see [0009], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including controlling movement of the first and second robotic arms comprises control by a user using an interface connected to a central control unit. (see [0009], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including the interface is located on the robotic surgical cart (see [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including the first and second robotic arms are folded on or into the robotic surgical cart while the robotic surgical cart is moved over the floor and cart under and across the surgical table (see [0008]-[0009], since the robotic arms are part of the cart and they move over the floor when they are retracted).
Regarding claim 9, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including controlling
movement of a third robotic arm (see “the number of multi-jointed arms 3 may be three or more” in [0014], also see [0009], [0013], and [0015]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including the third robotic arm carries a camera and positioning the third robotic arm to view a surgical target (see [0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including controlling movement of the first and second robotic arms comprises kinematic control by a central control unit (“robot control board 6,” see [0022] and 1) relative to a single origin point defined by the cart.
Regarding claim 15, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including the first and second ends of the are configured to extend beyond opposed lateral sides of the surgical table when the robotic surgical cart is positioned under the surgical table at a location between a head and a foot of the surgical table (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including the robotic surgical cart comprises a single chassis (the outer surface of “base 2,” see [0016] and figure 1) having affixed wheels (“plurality of wheels,” see [0018] and figure 1) to allow movement over the floor of the operating room.
Regarding claim 17, Hashimoto discloses the claimed invention including engaging a
modality to apply pressure to an underside of the surgical table for fixing the position of the mobile surgical cart relative to the surgical table (see [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0193101) as applied to claims 2, and 12 above, and further in view of Gregerson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0078097).
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto shows the invention above
but fail to recite the robotic surgical procedure comprises spinal surgery.
Like Hashimoto, Gregerson et al. disclose a surgical robotic system having a table (60 in figure 1) to support the patient and at least one multi-jointed robotic arm (101 in figure 1) and teach a method wherein the surgery is a “minimally-invasive spinal surgical procedure” in order to provide a known and workable medical procedure for robotic surgery (see [0066]).
Therefore, at the time of the of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hashimoto, as taught by Gregerson et al., to perform a “minimally-invasive spinal surgical procedure” in order to provide a known and workable medical procedure for robotic surgery.
Regarding claims 13-14, Hashimoto shows the invention above
but fail to recite:
A) registering the single point of origin with an image of the patient's anatomy, and
B) wherein registering the single point of origin with the image of the patient's anatomy comprises registering a marker affixed to the patient's anatomy.
Like Hashimoto, Gregerson et al. disclose a surgical robotic system having a table (60 in figure 1) to support the patient and at least one multi-jointed robotic arm (101 in figure 1) and teach A) “image registration techniques” along with B) “one or more active marker devices may be fixed relative to the patient, such as secured to the patient's skin via an adhesive membrane or mask. Additional active marker devices may be fixed to surgical tools 104 and/or to the end effector 102 of the robotic arm 101 to allow these objects to be tracked relative to the patient” (see [0035]-[0036] and figures 1-10) in order to provide an known and workable for providing “motion tracking” of the robotic system and surgical instrument during robotic surgery.
Therefore, at the time of the of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hashimoto, as taught by Gregerson et al., to provide A) “image registration techniques” along with B) “one or more active marker devices may be fixed relative to the patient, such as secured to the patient's skin via an adhesive membrane or mask. Additional active marker devices may be fixed to surgical tools 104 and/or to the end effector 102 of the robotic arm 101 to allow these objects to be tracked relative to the patient” in order to provide an known and workable for providing “motion tracking” of the robotic system and surgical instrument during robotic surgery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakanishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0360550) is also very relevant and can be used to reject the presently claimed invention and its contents should be considered when responding to this office action.
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792