DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. This is in response to the application filed on 6/5/2024 which is a continuation of Patent Application No. 16/738,183, filed on January 9, 2020, granted as Patent No. 11,677,568, which claims the benefit of the Korean Patent Application No. 10-2019-0002568, filed on January 9, 2019. This application is also a continuation-in-part of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/309,928, filed on May 1, 2023, granted as Patent No. 12,132,845.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11677568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as follows:
Claim 1 claim 1 of Patent 11677568
transmitting a first message containing a first certificate and vehicle-recorded data to a first database server associated with a first database so as to store the vehicle-recorded data anonymously in the first database, wherein the first certificate is one of a plurality of short-term certificates assigned to the vehicle to enable an anonymization of the vehicle; and
transmitting a second message containing the first certificate and a second certificate to a second database server associated with a second database so as to store an association of the first certificate with the vehicle in the second database, wherein the second certificate is a long-term certificate assigned to the vehicle and enables an identification of the vehicle
transmitting the event data and the first certificate to a first database server associated with the first database…the event data having been recorded by an event data recorder equipped in the vehicle and the first certificate being one of a plurality of short-term certificates assigned to the vehicle; anonymizing the event data with a pseudonym extracted from the first certificate; and
transmitting the first certificate and the second certificate to a second database server associated with the second database; wherein the first message and the second message are received from the vehicle by an acquisition server and wherein the acquisition server transmits the event data and the first certificate to the first database server and transmits the first certificate and the second certificate to the second database server…
the second certificate being a long-term certificate assigned to the vehicle; associating the first certificate with the second certificate by associating a unique identifier of the vehicle contained in the second certificate
Claims 2-8 are rejected as being dependent to claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11677568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as presented in the above rejection.
Claims 10-16 are rejected as being dependent to claim 9.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11677568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as presented in the above claim 1 rejection.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as being dependent to claim 17.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12132845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as follows:
Claim 1 claim 1 of Patent 12132845
transmitting a first message containing a first certificate and vehicle-recorded data to a first database server associated with a first database so as to store the vehicle-recorded data anonymously in the first database, wherein the first certificate is one of a plurality of short-term certificates assigned to the vehicle to enable an anonymization of the vehicle; and
transmitting a second message containing the first certificate and a second certificate to a second database server associated with a second database so as to store an association of the first certificate with the vehicle in the second database, wherein the second certificate is a long-term certificate assigned to the vehicle and enables an identification of the vehicle
transmitting, by the data collection server, the anonymized event data to a first database server associated with a first database so as to store the anonymized event data in the first database… and the first certificate being one of a plurality of short-term certificates assigned to the vehicle; anonymizing, by the data collection server, the event data with a pseudonym extracted from the first certificate; and
transmitting, by the data collection server, the first certificate and the second certificate to a second database server associated with a second database so as to store the first certificate and the second certificate associated with the first certificate in the second database, wherein the first certificate is associated with the second certificate by associating a unique identifier of the vehicle contained in the second certificate and the pseudonym contained in the first certificate
Claims 2-8 are rejected as being dependent to claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12132845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as presented in the above claim 1 rejection.
Claims 10-16 are rejected as being dependent to claim 9.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12132845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as presented in the above claim 1 rejection.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as being dependent to claim 17.
This is an anticipatory rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-9, 12-13 and 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub CN111200495A (hereinafter Zhu) in view of Pub 20170187994 (hereinafter Tatourian)
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a method performed by a vehicle, the method comprising:
transmitting a first message containing a first certificate and vehicle-recorded data to a first database server associated with a first database so as to store the vehicle-recorded data anonymously in the first database, wherein the first certificate is one of a plurality of short-term certificates assigned to the vehicle to enable an anonymization of the vehicle (par. [0133], [0144]-[0145] discloses an abnormal behavior detection server receives a message from a vehicle, the location of the vehicle. The abnormal behavior detection server obtains a plurality of short term certificates for the vehicle from the short-term certificate issuing server). Zhu does not disclose about anonymization of the vehicle using short-term certificates. Tatourian discloses this feature (par, [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu with Tatourian to further teach the claimed feature. One would have done so to maintain the privacy of the in-vehicle compute system as disclosed in Tatourian; and
transmitting a second message containing the first certificate and a second certificate to a second database server associated with a second database so as to store an association of the first certificate with the vehicle in the second database, wherein the second certificate is a long-term certificate assigned to the vehicle and enables an identification of the vehicle (par. [0157] and [0202] discloses a relationship between a long-term certificate and a short-term certificate for a vehicle and the short-term certificate saved in an AA server (e.g. second database)). Zhu discloses the long-term certificate is used for identification.
Regarding claims 4-5, Tatourian discloses wherein the first message further contains a geographical location at which the vehicle records the vehicle-recorded data
wherein the vehicle-recorded data includes event data having been recorded by an event data recorder equipped in the vehicle (Fig. 6 and related text discloses a vehicle can send requested metadata such as location time). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu with Tatourian to further teach the claimed features. One would have done so to arrive at the claimed invention using known process of sending data during a traffic accident to arrive at the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-8, Zhu discloses wherein the first database server and the second database server are under managed by different operators wherein the first database server is managed by a vehicle manufacturer, and the second server is managed by a service provider different from the vehicle manufacturer (recalling the citation of Zhu in claim 1 teaches the short-term certificate obtained by an abnormal behavior detection server and the long-term certificate in an AA server which is well-known as a separate entity to provide authorization and authentication. Furthermore, par. [0154]-[0203] disclose the abnormal behavior detection server and the AA server are different entities in different regions).
Claims 9, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected in view of claims 1, 4-5 and 7-8 rejections respectively.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected in view of claims 1 and 8 rejections respectively.
Claims 2-3, 10-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Tatourian and further in view of Patent 10771265 (hereinafter Simplicio)
Regarding claim 2, Zhu and Tatourian do not disclose wherein the first message further contains an electronic signature to be verified with a public key related to the first certificate. Simplicio discloses this feature (col. 5, line 65 to col.6 , line 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Tatourian with Simplicio to further teach the claimed feature. One would have done so to arrive at the claimed invention using known technique of signature validation to improve pseudonym certificate management as discussed in Simplicio.
Regarding claim 3, Simplicio discloses wherein the second message further contains an electronic signature to be verified with a public key related to the second certificate. As presented in claim 2 rejection, a message comprises a certificate and a signature for validation for vehicle communication which can be used for both long-term and short-term certificates.
Claims 10-11 are rejected in view of claims 2-3 rejections respectively.
Claims 18-19 are rejected in view of claims 2-3 rejections respectively.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Tatourian and further in view of Patent 11416942 (hereinafter Leise)
Regarding claim 6, Zhu and Tatourian do not disclose wherein the vehicle-recorded data includes interaction data representing timestamped interactions that have occurred between an autonomous driving system of the vehicle and a driver of the vehicle. Leise discloses accident data obtained from a vehicle can comprise telematics data from processor analysis of the telematics, sensor, image, and/or audio, an operational mode of the vehicle before, during, and/or after the vehicle collision, such as determining whether the vehicle (e.g., autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle), or human driver was driving or otherwise in control of the vehicle) . Note that telematics data comprises time (Fig. 14 and related text). Thus, Leise teaches data can depict interaction between the driver and autonomous driving operation. For example, the driver can turn on smart cruise control (e.g. as called autopilot in Tesla cars), or applies the brake prior to an accident. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Tatourian with Leise to further teach the claimed feature. One would have done so to obtain accurate information of the percentage of fault for accident evidence as taught in Leise.
Claim 14 is rejected in view of claim 6 rejection.
Inquiry communication
/TRI M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432