DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 and 11/12/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 12 recites, “an end,” claim should be amended to recite –the end--.
Claim 15 lines 10 and 11-12 recite, “a perimeter wall,” and “an end,” claim should be amended to recite –the perimeter wall-- and –the end--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kataoka et al. US 9431756.
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka discloses a sealed connector assembly, comprising: a compliant perimeter seal (fig. 5; 40) having a seal side wall (see mark-up below from fig. 13; S1), a seal end wall (mark-up; S2) extending from a first end (where S1 ends) of the seal side wall (S1) in a first direction (fig. 13; -Y), and a seal lip (fig. 13; 430, 420) extending from a second end (where 430 connects to 410) of the seal side wall (S1) in a second direction (fig. 13; Y) opposite the first direction (-Y); and a connector housing (fig. 5; 20, 50), further comprising: an outer portion (50) having a perimeter wall (fig. 14; 510) which defines a side segment (see mark-up #2 from fig. 16 below; A1) and an end segment (mark-up #2; B1), the seal side wall (S1) abutting the side segment (A1) and the seal end wall (S2) abutting the end segment (B1) and the seal lip (430, 420) overlaying (in the y direction) at least a portion of an end of the side segment (mark-up #2; C1) of the perimeter wall (510), and an inner portion (fig. 6; 210) disposed inside the perimeter wall (510), the inner portion (210) having a connector lip (fig. 18; surface of 210 that faces 430) that overlies (in the y direction) at least a portion of the seal lip (430) and at least a portion of an end of the side segment (C1) of the perimeter wall (510).
Mark-up
Mark-up #2
Regarding claim 4, Kataoka discloses wherein the perimeter wall (510) is L-shaped (see fig. 16 cross-section and mark-up #2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Kataoka discloses wherein the inner portion (210) of the connector housing (20, 50) is removably attached to the outer portion (50) by an attachment feature (figs. 6 and 14; 230, 530).
Regarding claim 7, Kataoka discloses wherein the seal side wall (S1) defines a sealing rib (fig. 13; ridges on 410/S1).
Regarding claim 12, Kataoka discloses wherein the seal end wall (S2) is generally flat on one side (mark-up above; surface of S2 that extends in the Z direction) and extends substantially perpendicularly from the seal side wall (S1, which extends in the -Y direction).
Regarding claim 13, Kataoka discloses wherein the seal lip (430, 420) curved (430 is cylindrical so naturally it is curved).
Regarding claim 15, Kataoka discloses a method of manufacturing a sealed connector assembly, comprising: inserting a compliant perimeter seal (40) within an outer portion (50) of a first connector housing (20, 50), the perimeter seal (40) having a seal side wall (S1), a seal end wall (S2) extending from a first end (where S1 ends) of the seal side wall (S1) in a first direction (-Y), and a curved seal lip (430, 420) extending from a second end (where 430 connects to 410) of the seal side wall (S1) in a second direction (Y) opposite the first direction (-Y), the outer portion (50) having a perimeter wall (510) defining a side segment (A1) and an end segment (B1); abutting the seal side wall (S1) against the side segment (A1); abutting the seal end wall (S2) against the end segment (B1); overlaying the seal lip (430, 420) over an end (C1) of the side segment (A1) of the perimeter wall (510); inserting an inner portion (210) of the first connector housing within a perimeter wall (510) of the outer portion (50), the inner portion (210) having a connector lip (surface of 210 that faces 430) that overlies (in the y direction) the seal lip (surface of 210 that faces 430) and an end (C1) of the side segment (A1) of the perimeter wall (510); and capturing the seal lip (430, 420) between the connector lip (surface of 210 that faces 430) and the end (C1) of the side segment (A1) of the perimeter wall (510) to retain the perimeter seal (40) to the first connector housing (20, 50).
Regarding claim 16, Kataoka discloses removably attaching the inner portion (210) of the connector housing (20, 50) to the outer portion (50) using an attachment feature (230, 530).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. US 9431756 in view of WO 2008096277.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Kataoka discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the seal end wall defines a groove, and the end segment of the perimeter wall defines a support rib received within the groove [claim 2]; wherein the seal end wall defines a groove, and the end segment of the perimeter wall defines a support rib, wherein the method additionally comprises inserting the support rib within the groove [claim 18].
Regarding claims 2 and 18, WO ‘277 teaches the seal end wall (fig. 1; 16) defines a groove (fig. 1; 13), and the end segment (fig. 1; 10) of the perimeter wall (fig. 1; 5) defines a support rib (fig. 1; 12) received within the groove (13); the seal end wall (16) defines a groove (13), and the end segment (10) of the perimeter wall defines a support rib (12), wherein the method additionally comprises inserting the support rib (12) within the groove (13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the seal end wall defines a groove, and the end segment of the perimeter wall defines a support rib received within the groove as suggested by WO ‘277 for the benefit of improving the sealing capabilities of a connector in harsh environments.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kataoka discloses wherein the attachment feature (230, 530) is a flexible arm (230 is a flexible arm) of the connector housing (20, 50) that engages a ridge (530) on the outer portion (50).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kataoka does not disclose the flexible arm being defined by the inner portion [claims 6 and 17].
Regarding claims 6 and 17, WO ‘277 teaches the flexible arm (fig. 2c; 18) being defined by the inner portion (fig. 2c; 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible arm being defined by the inner portion as suggested by WO ‘277 for the benefit of providing stronger mechanical connections between connector parts.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. US 9431756 in view of Kadoyama et al. US 12519268.
Kataoka discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the connector lip and the end of the side segment of the perimeter wall are in compressive contact with the seal lip.
However, Furuya teaches the connector lip (fig. 6; 3) and the end of the side segment (fig. 6; 35) of the perimeter wall (fig. 5; 20) are in compressive contact with the seal lip (fig. 6; 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector lip and the end of the side segment of the perimeter wall are in compressive contact with the seal lip as suggested by Furuya for the benefit of improving the sealing strength between connector housing parts in order to optimize internal contamination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 14, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest wherein the connector housing is a first connector housing, wherein the sealed connector assembly further comprises a second connector housing configured to be received in the first connector housing, and wherein the second connector housing is in compressive contact with the sealing rib of the perimeter seal combined with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest an apex of the seal lip is thicker than ends of the seal lip and wherein the seal end wall is thicker than the seal lip combined with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the connector housing is a first connector housing, wherein the seal side wall defines a sealing rib, and wherein the method additionally comprises: inserting a second connector housing within the first connector housing; and placing a portion of the second connector housing in compressive contact with the sealing rib of the perimeter seal combined with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831