Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 15-18 are new. The objections are withdrawn in view of the amendment. The art rejections are withdrawn in favor of rejections with additional art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “operating a 3D printing that.” The deletion of “appraratus,” while misspelled, creates confusion. Later references to “the apparatus” will be examined as if they depend from “operating a 3D printing [apparatus].”
Claims 16 and 18 recite “a second linear moto.” It is believed that “motor” was the intended word and examination will be on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermoshkin (US 2017/0173871) in view of Wynne (US 2020/001525) and Lin (US 2024/0140030).
Regarding claim 1, Ermoshkin discloses a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional (8D) article including operating a 3D printing [apparatus] that comprises (a) a projector configured to selectively irradiate a photosensitive fluid along a horizontal build plane defined along X and Y axes (array of pixels projected such that a plurality of tiled images are projected into the build region entail X and Y, for layer by layer printing, [0003], [0153]), and (b) a lateral movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism is configured to laterally scan the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively (capability to project with gaps, Fig. 17A; no gap, Fig. 17B; and overlap, Fig. 17C, [0154]), the projector configured to selectively irradiate a sequence of adjacent pixelated tiles within the build plane ([0153]), the method comprising: operating the projector to at least illuminate the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); translating the projector along Y’ to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); operating the projector to at least illuminate the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); computing an alignment error along X’ and along Y’ of the trailing edge with respect to the leading edge (see examples in Figs. 17A and 17C with a gap and an overlap, [0154]); and remapping the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to align the leading edge of the first pixelated tile to the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (remapped to align as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]).
Ermoshkin teaches a method substantially as claimed, with a desire to align as claimed (Fig. 17B). Ermoshkin does not disclose wherein the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism is configured to laterally move the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes, respectively, and the projector is the only projector in the apparatus, providing a camera having a camera field of view (CFV) that is laterally within the build plane;
positioning the projector along the X' and Y' axial movement coordinates via the lateral movement mechanism to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view; operating the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; translating the projector along Y' via the lateral movement mechanism to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; operating the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of stereolithography (photoreactive 3D printing system with a resin tub, abstract), Wynne teaches wherein the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism (one illumination system mounted on a gantry, [0057]), the lateral movement mechanism is configured to laterally move the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes (so moving by the gantry, [0057]), respectively, and the projector is the only projector in the apparatus (one illumination system, [0057]), positioning the projector along the X' and Y' axial movement coordinates via the lateral movement mechanism to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (so moving by the gantry, [0057]); translating the projector along Y' via the lateral movement mechanism to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (so moving by the gantry, [0057]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of SLA ([0003]), Lin teaches providing a camera having a camera field of view (CFV) that is laterally within the build plane positioning the projector along the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (camera sensor that is sensitive to electromagnetic radiation on the print window, receiving electromagnetic radiation from the electromagnetic source providing feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, [0264-65] [0271]); operating the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); and operating the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ermoshkin to move an illumination system on a gantry instead of multiple illumination systems because [0057] of Wynne teaches that doing so is an art recognized equivalent to having a number of illumination systems and that doing so minimizes equipment cost and calibrating with such a system. It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Ermoshkin to calibrate tiling as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin to be the alignment in Fig. 17B with a camera on the platform window facing the irradiation source because [0264-65] of Lin teaches using camera feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, which would capture the state of the alignment as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin and enable alignment to the chosen one (Fig. 17B in embodiments of Ermoshkin, [0154]).
Regarding claim 2, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein operating the projector includes projecting the first pixelated tile and the second pixelated tile upward to the build plane (Ermoshkin Figs. 2 and 17B; see also, Fig. 1A of Wynne).
Regarding claim 3, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), providing the camera includes loading an image capture plate onto the support surface (as modified, on print window of the platform, Lin [0264]), the image capture plate includes the camera in downward facing orientation (as modified, Lin [0264]).
Regarding claim 4, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2) and further comprising loading a build vessel upon the support surface (wall 14 is attached, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2) and loading the photosensitive fluid into the build vessel either before or after loading the build vessel onto the support surface (Ermoshkin [0010] [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes an elevator coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (Ermoshkin [0104]), the method further comprising loading a build platform onto the elevator (carrier mounted on the elevator, Ermoshkin [0104]), the build platform includes a build plate (Ermoshkin, [0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the build vessel includes a transparent member that provides a lower bound for the photosensitive fluid (film, Ermoshkin [0097] Fig. 7) and further comprising operating the vertical movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism, and the projector to fabricate the 3D article with a sequence of selectively cured layers formed at the build plane above the transparent member (Ermoshkin [0116]; as modified, [0057] of Wynne).
Regarding claim 7, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein, for individual layers of the sequence of selectively cured layers, the method includes: operating the vertical movement mechanism to position a lower face of the build plate or a previous layer of the 3D article at the build plane (step d, Ermoshkin [0116]); and operating the lateral movement mechanism and the projector to irradiate a sequence of pixelated tiles over the build plane to selectively cure a layer of the sequence of selectively cured layers (repeating steps b-d, Ermoshkin [0116]; as modified, movement of the gantry, [0057] of Wynne), sequential tiles aligning along leading and trailing edges (as modified, aligned as in Fig. 17B of Ermoshkin).
Regarding claim 8, Ermoshkin discloses a 3D printing apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising: a photosensitive fluid (polymerizable liquid, [0116], Fig. 2), a projector (radiation source 11, [0089], Fig. 2), a lateral movement mechanism (mirror array capable of directing light to arrive at laterally different positions, [0101] [0153]), and a processor ([0107]), wherein the projector is configured to selectively irradiate a photosensitive fluid along a horizontal build plane defined along X and Y axes (array of pixels projected such that a plurality of tiled images are projected into the build region entail X and Y, for layer by layer printing, [0003], [0153]), the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism that is configured to laterally scan the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively (capability to project with gaps, Fig. 17A; no gap, Fig. 17B; and overlap, Fig. 17C, [0154]), the projector is configured to selectively irradiate a sequence of adjacent pixelated tiles within the build plane ([0153]), the processor is configured to control each of the projector and the lateral movement mechanism ([0107] [0154]), wherein the apparatus is configured to position the projector along the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); operate the projector to at least illuminate the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); translate the projector along Y’ to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); operate the projector to at least illuminate the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); compute an alignment error along X’ and along Y’ of the trailing edge with respect to the leading edge (see examples in Figs. 17A and 17C with a gap and an overlap, [0154]); and remap the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to align the leading edge of the first pixelated tile to the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (remapped to align as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]).
Ermoshkin teaches a method substantially as claimed, with a desire to align as claimed (Fig. 17B). Ermoshkin does not disclose wherein the projector is the only projector in the apparatus, the projector is configured to selectively irradiate a photosensitive fluid along a horizontal build plane defined along X and Y axes, the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism that is configured to laterally move the projector along each of X' and Y' axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively, the camera has a camera field of view that is laterally within the build plane, the processor is configured to control the camera and the lateral movement mechanism, wherein the apparatus is configured to position the projector along the X' and Y' axial movement coordinates via the lateral movement mechanism to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view; operate the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; translate the projector along Y' via the lateral movement mechanism to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; operate the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of stereolithography (photoreactive 3D printing system with a resin tub, abstract), Wynne teaches wherein the projector in the only projector in the apparatus (one illumination system, [0057]), the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism that is configured to laterally move the projector along each of X' and Y' axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively (one illumination system mounted on a gantry to so move, [0057]), wherein the apparatus is configured to position the projector along the X' and Y' axial movement coordinates via the lateral movement mechanism to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (capable of so moving by the gantry, [0057]); translate the projector along Y' via the lateral movement mechanism to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (capable of so moving by the gantry, [0057]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of SLA ([0003]), Lin teaches a camera (camera sensor, [0264-65] [0271]), the camera has a camera field of view that is laterally within the build plane (camera sensor that is sensitive to electromagnetic radiation on the print window, receiving electromagnetic radiation from the electromagnetic source providing feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, [0264-65] [0271]), the processor is configured to control the camera ([0264] [0347]); leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); operate the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); operate the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ermoshkin to move an illumination system on a gantry instead of multiple illumination systems because [0057] of Wynne teaches that doing so is an art recognized equivalent to having a number of illumination systems and that doing so minimizes equipment cost and calibrating with such a system. It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Ermoshkin to calibrate tiling as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin to be the alignment in Fig. 17B with a camera on the platform window facing the irradiation source because [0264-65] of Lin teaches using camera feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, which would capture the state of the alignment as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin and enable alignment to the chosen one (Fig. 17B in embodiments of Ermoshkin, [0154]).
Regarding claim 9, Ermoshkin as modified teaches further configured to project the first pixelated tile and the second pixelated tile upward to the build plane (Ermoshkin Figs. 2 and 17B; see also, Fig. 1A of Wynne).
Regarding claim 10, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), an image capture plate on the support surface (as modified, on print window of the platform, Lin [0264]), wherein the image capture plate includes the camera in downward facing orientation (as modified, Lin [0264]).
Regarding claim 11, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), a build vessel upon the support surface (wall 14 is attached, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), the build vessel contains the photosensitive fluid (Ermoshkin [0010] [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, Ermoshkin as modified teaches an elevator coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (Ermoshkin [0104]), a build platform on the elevator (carrier mounted on the elevator, Ermoshkin [0104]), the build platform comprises a build plate (Ermoshkin, [0104]).
Regarding claim 13, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the build vessel includes a transparent member that provides a lower bound for the photosensitive fluid (film, Ermoshkin [0097] Fig. 7) and wherein the apparatus is further configured to operate the vertical movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism, and the projector to fabricate the 3D article with a sequence of selectively cured layers formed at the build plane above the transparent member (Ermoshkin [0116]; as modified, [0057] of Wynne).
Regarding claim 14, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein, for individual layers of the sequence of selectively cured layers, the apparatus is further configured to operate the vertical movement mechanism to position a lower face of the build plate or a previous layer of the 3D article at the build plane (step d, Ermoshkin [0116]); and operate the lateral movement mechanism and the projector to irradiate a sequence of pixelated tiles over the build plane to selectively cure a layer of the sequence of selectively cured layers (repeating steps b-d, Ermoshkin [0116]; as modified, movement of the gantry, [0057] of Wynne), sequential tiles aligning along leading and trailing edges (as modified, aligned as in Fig. 17B of Ermoshkin).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermoshkin (US 2017/0173871) in view of Wynne (US 2020/001525) and Lin (US 2024/0140030) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Gibson (US 2018/0305266).
Regarding claim 15, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a method substantially as claimed. Wynne does not detail the mechanisms that move the gantry in the X and Y directions, [0057].
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing, Gibson teaches wherein the lateral movement mechanism comprises (i) a first linear motor that drives a screw or gear mechanism that provides lateral movement of the projector along the X' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]) and (ii) a second linear moto that drives a screw or gear mechanism that provides lateral movement of the projector along the Y' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Ermoshkin to move the gantry as claimed because [0086] of Gibson teaches that robotic movements for additive manufacturing machines may include without limitation various combinations to control movement.
Regarding claim 16, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a method substantially as claimed. Wynne does not detail the mechanisms that move the gantry in the X and Y directions, [0057].
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing, Gibson teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises an X stage and a Y stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), wherein: the X stage and the Y stage support the projector (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), each of the X stage and the Y stage comprises a nut (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), the lateral movement mechanism comprises (i) a first lead screw threaded in the nut of the X stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]); (ii) a second lead screw threaded in the nut of the Y stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]); (iii) a first linear motor that turns the first lead screw to provide lateral movement of the projector along the X' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]) and (ii) a second linear moto that turns the second lead screw to provide lateral movement of the projector along the Y' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Ermoshkin to move the gantry as claimed because [0086] of Gibson teaches that robotic movements for additive manufacturing machines may include without limitation various combinations to control movement.
Regarding claim 17, Ermoshkin as modified teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Wynne does not detail the mechanisms that move the gantry in the X and Y directions, [0057].
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing, Gibson teaches wherein the lateral movement mechanism comprises (i) a first linear motor that drives a screw or gear mechanism that provides lateral movement of the projector along the X' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]) and (ii) a second linear moto that drives a screw or gear mechanism that provides lateral movement of the projector along the Y' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Ermoshkin to move the gantry as claimed because [0086] of Gibson teaches that robotic movements for additive manufacturing machines may include without limitation various combinations to control movement.
Regarding claim 18, Ermoshkin as modified teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Wynne does not detail the mechanisms that move the gantry in the X and Y directions, [0057].
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing, Gibson teaches an X stage and a Y stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), wherein: the X stage and the Y stage support the projector (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), each of the X stage and the Y stage comprises a nut (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]), the lateral movement mechanism comprises (i) a first lead screw threaded in the nut of the X stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]); (ii) a second lead screw threaded in the nut of the Y stage (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]); (iii) a first linear motor that turns the first lead screw to provide lateral movement of the projector along the X' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]) and (ii) a second linear moto that turns the second lead screw to provide lateral movement of the projector along the Y' axial movement coordinate (robotics 308 in combinations without limitations, [0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Ermoshkin to move the gantry as claimed because [0086] of Gibson teaches that robotic movements for additive manufacturing machines may include without limitation various combinations to control movement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 8, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wynne (US 2020/001525).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wynne (US 12,311,595; US 2024/0042682; US 10,647,055) teaches subject matter similar to Wynne (US 2020/001525), cited above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744