Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “3D printing appraratus.” The first “r” should be deleted.
Claim 8 recites, “camera filed of view.” It is believed that “filed” is supposed to be “field.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermoshkin (US 2017/0173871) in view of Lin (US 2024/0140030).
Regarding claim 1, Ermoshkin discloses a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional (8D) article including operating a 3D printing [apparatus] that includes a projector configured to selectively irradiate a photosensitive fluid along a horizontal build plane defined along X and Y axes (array of pixels projected such that a plurality of tiled images are projected into the build region entail X and Y, for layer by layer printing, [0003], [0153]), the projector coupled to a lateral movement mechanism configured to laterally scan the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively (capability to project with gaps, Fig. 17A; no gap, Fig. 17B; and overlap, Fig. 17C, [0154]), the projector configured to selectively irradiate a sequence of adjacent pixelated tiles within the build plane ([0153]), the method comprising: operating the projector to at least illuminate the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); translating the projector along Y’ to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); operating the projector to at least illuminate the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); computing an alignment error along X’ and along Y’ of the trailing edge with respect to the leading edge (see examples in Figs. 17A and 17C with a gap and an overlap, [0154]); and remapping the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to align the leading edge of the first pixelated tile to the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (remapped to align as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]).
Ermoshkin teaches a method substantially as claimed, with a desire to align as claimed (Fig. 17B). Ermoshkin does not disclose doing so by providing a camera having a camera field of view (CFV) that is laterally within the build plane positioning the projector along the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view; operating the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; and
operating the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of SLA ([0003]), Lin teaches providing a camera having a camera field of view (CFV) that is laterally within the build plane positioning the projector along the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (camera sensor that is sensitive to electromagnetic radiation on the print window, receiving electromagnetic radiation from the electromagnetic source providing feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, [0264-65] [0271]); operating the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); and
operating the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ermoshkin to calibrate tiling as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin to be the alignment in Fig. 17B with a camera on the platform window facing the irradiation source because [0264-65] of Lin teaches using camera feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, which would capture the state of the alignment as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin and enable alignment to the chosen one (Fig. 17B in embodiments of Ermoshkin, [0154]).
Regarding claim 2, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein operating the projector includes projecting the first pixelated tile and the second pixelated tile upward to the build plane (Ermoshkin Figs. 2 and 17B).
Regarding claim 3, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), providing the camera includes loading an image capture plate onto the support surface (as modified, on print window of the platform, Lin [0264]), the image capture plate includes the camera in downward facing orientation (as modified, Lin [0264]).
Regarding claim 4, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2) and further comprising loading a build vessel upon the support surface (wall 14 is attached, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2) and loading the photosensitive fluid into the build vessel either before or after loading the build vessel onto the support surface (Ermoshkin [0010] [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the 3D printing apparatus includes an elevator coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (Ermoshkin [0104]), the method further comprising loading a build platform onto the elevator (carrier mounted on the elevator, Ermoshkin [0104]), the build platform includes a build plate (Ermoshkin, [0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the build vessel includes a transparent member that provides a lower bound for the photosensitive fluid (film, Ermoshkin [0097] Fig. 7) and further comprising operating the vertical movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism, and the projector to fabricate the 3D article with a sequence of selectively cured layers formed at the build plane above the transparent member (Ermoshkin [0116]).
Regarding claim 7, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein, for individual layers of the sequence of selectively cured layers, the method includes: operating the vertical movement mechanism to position a lower face of the build plate or a previous layer of the 3D article at the build plane (step d, Ermoshkin [0116]); and operating the lateral movement mechanism and the projector to irradiate a sequence of pixelated tiles over the build plane to selectively cure a layer of the sequence of selectively cured layers (repeating steps b-d, Ermoshkin [0116]), sequential tiles aligning along leading and trailing edges (as modified, aligned as in Fig. 17B of Ermoshkin).
Regarding claim 8, Ermoshkin discloses a 3D printing apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising: a photosensitive fluid (polymerizable liquid, [0116], Fig. 2), a projector (radiation source 11, [0089], Fig. 2), a lateral movement mechanism (mirror array capable of directing light to arrive at laterally different positions, [0101] [0153]), and a processor ([0107]), wherein the projector is configured to selectively irradiate a photosensitive fluid along a horizontal build plane defined along X and Y axes (array of pixels projected such that a plurality of tiled images are projected into the build region entail X and Y, for layer by layer printing, [0003], [0153]), the projector is coupled to the lateral movement mechanism that is configured to laterally scan the projector along each of X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates that are not exactly aligned with the X and Y axes respectively (capability to project with gaps, Fig. 17A; no gap, Fig. 17B; and overlap, Fig. 17C, [0154]), the projector is configured to selectively irradiate a sequence of adjacent pixelated tiles within the build plane ([0153]), the processor is configured to control each of the projector and the lateral movement mechanism ([0107] [0154]), wherein the apparatus is configured to position the projector along the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to place a leading edge of a first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); operate the projector to at least illuminate the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #1 130A projects image #1 140A, with edge illuminated as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]); translate the projector along Y’ to position a second pixelated tile adjacent to the first pixelated tile and with a trailing edge of the second pixelated tile to align with the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); operate the projector to at least illuminate the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (light engine #2 130B projects image #2 140B as shown in Fig. 17B, no gap between image 140A and 140B, [0154]); compute an alignment error along X’ and along Y’ of the trailing edge with respect to the leading edge (see examples in Figs. 17A and 17C with a gap and an overlap, [0154]); and remap the X’ and Y’ axial movement coordinates to align the leading edge of the first pixelated tile to the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (remapped to align as shown in Fig. 17B, [0154]).
Ermoshkin teaches a method substantially as claimed, with a desire to align as claimed (Fig. 17B). Ermoshkin does not disclose doing so as recited with a camera, the camera has a camera [field] of view that is laterally within the build plane, the processor is configured to control the camera; leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view; operate the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile; operate the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of SLA ([0003]), Lin teaches a camera (camera sensor, [0264-65] [0271]), the camera has a camera field of view that is laterally within the build plane (camera sensor that is sensitive to electromagnetic radiation on the print window, receiving electromagnetic radiation from the electromagnetic source providing feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, [0264-65] [0271]), the processor is configured to control the camera ([0264] [0347]); leading edge of a first pixelated tile within the camera field of view (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); operate the camera to capture the leading edge of the first pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]); operate the camera to capture the trailing edge of the second pixelated tile (camera captures radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source, [0271]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ermoshkin to calibrate tiling as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin to be the alignment in Fig. 17B with a camera on the platform window facing the irradiation source because [0264-65] of Lin teaches using camera feedback during calibration of the 3D printing system, which would capture the state of the alignment as in Figs. 17A-C of Ermoshkin and enable alignment to the chosen one (Fig. 17B in embodiments of Ermoshkin, [0154]).
Regarding claim 9, Ermoshkin as modified teaches further configured to project the first pixelated tile and the second pixelated tile upward to the build plane (Ermoshkin Figs. 2 and 17B).
Regarding claim 10, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), an image capture plate on the support surface (as modified, on print window of the platform, Lin [0264]), wherein the image capture plate includes the camera in downward facing orientation (as modified, Lin [0264]).
Regarding claim 11, Ermoshkin as modified teaches a support surface at least partially laterally surrounding the build plane (horizontal table 23, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), a build vessel upon the support surface (wall 14 is attached, Ermoshkin [0099], Fig. 2), the build vessel contains the photosensitive fluid (Ermoshkin [0010] [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, Ermoshkin as modified teaches an elevator coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (Ermoshkin [0104]), a build platform on the elevator (carrier mounted on the elevator, Ermoshkin [0104]), the build platform comprises a build plate (Ermoshkin, [0104]).
Regarding claim 13, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein the build vessel includes a transparent member that provides a lower bound for the photosensitive fluid (film, Ermoshkin [0097] Fig. 7) and wherein the apparatus is further configured to operate the vertical movement mechanism, the lateral movement mechanism, and the projector to fabricate the 3D article with a sequence of selectively cured layers formed at the build plane above the transparent member (Ermoshkin [0116]).
Regarding claim 14, Ermoshkin as modified teaches wherein, for individual layers of the sequence of selectively cured layers, the apparatus is further configured to operate the vertical movement mechanism to position a lower face of the build plate or a previous layer of the 3D article at the build plane (step d, Ermoshkin [0116]); and operate the lateral movement mechanism and the projector to irradiate a sequence of pixelated tiles over the build plane to selectively cure a layer of the sequence of selectively cured layers (repeating steps b-d, Ermoshkin [0116]), sequential tiles aligning along leading and trailing edges (as modified, aligned as in Fig. 17B of Ermoshkin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ermoshkin (US 2020/0009852; US 2022/0250313; US 2024/0051222; US 10,471,699; US 11,400,698; US 11,772,324; US 12,454,095) and Gu (US 2019/0337222; US 10,647,054) teach subject matter similar to Ermoshkin (US 2017/0173871), cited above.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744