DETAILED ACTION
An amendment was received from the applicant on 6/4/2026.
Claims 1, 10 and 11 are currently amended.
Claims 12-19 are cancelled.
Claims 1-11 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made applying Carstensen, US 10827742 in view of Thompson, US 20080186172. Thompson teaches an intruder detection system with an alert module providing notification of an intruder detection and an associated alarm or siren.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 11 does not end in a period making the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carstensen, US 10827742 in view of Thompson, US 20080186172.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10 and 11: Carstensen discloses A portable marine mammal (pinniped disclosed) deterrence apparatus, comprising:
an insulated cable (bundled cable wires) capable of coupling to an aquatic vessel (see Fig. 1; and Column 5, lines 60-62)
a plurality of cable offshoots (see Fig. 1, wires from the output switch #250 branch to feed electrodes #500, each having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein
each proximal end is electrically connected to the insulated cable;
a plurality of deterrence tips #500, each located at the distal end of each of the plurality
of cable offshoots, wherein a marine mammal contacting at least two deterrence tips forms a circuit that provides a deterrent stimulus;
a control system (#200, #210), electrically connected to the insulated cable, designed to
selectively electrify the circuit when a resistance is within a deterrence range, further
comprising:
a resistance detector #290 (measures current which is a function of resistance) configured to measure a resistance of the circuit,
a relay #220 configured to enable electrification of the circuit, and
an alert module #270 (local status indicator, not disclosed as providing an intruder notification); and
a power source #300 (solar power #312 disclosed), electrically connected to the control system, capable of electrifying the circuit.
Carstensen does not explicitly disclose the functionality of the alert module is configured to provide an intruder notification.
Thompson teaches an intruder detection system with an alert module (211 microcontroller) and alarm for electric fences which incorporates an alarm (siren 108) when a change is voltage is detected such as by being touched by an animal (see claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Carstensen to incorporate an alert module configured to provide intruder notification as taught by Thompson when an intruder comes in contact with the electrodes. The motivation for doing so is to be able to track the frequency of alerts to determine the extent of pinniped activity in the vicinity of the system.
Regarding claims: 4, 5, 8, 9: Carstensen discloses the electrodes #500 are patterned to conform to various surfaces of manufactured structures for attaching to different types of surfaces and supports (see column 3, line 14-21). The examiner considers coupling the insulated cable to an external edge, external rail or a swim platform to be within the disclosure of Carstensen. Additionally, the examiner considers staggering the length of the cable offshoots to be a routine design change made by an artisan when fitting the apparatus in a desired location.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615