DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The expression “the force” has no definite antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 11, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weber et al (20150115684). The reference to Weber et al teaches structure as claimed including a footrest (32) for a seat, wherein the footrest comprises one or more foot supports for supporting one or more feet, and (ii) one or more mounts (figs 5, 6) to which the one or more foot supports are connected, wherein the one or more foot supports are slidable and pivotable relative to the one or more mounts, the one or more foot supports are slidable and pivotable relative to the one or more mounts by one or more feet positioned on the one or more foot supports, the one or more foot supports are connected to the one or more mounts by one or more connectors (58), the one or more connectors are configured for pivotable engagement with one or more of the foot supports(figs 3, 4) and slidable engagement with one or more of the mounts, the one or more connectors comprise one or more foot support mating parts and one or more mount mating parts, wherein the one or more foot support mating parts are for pivotably mounting the connector to the foot support (figs 3, 4) and the one or more mount mating parts are for slidably mounting the connector to the mount (fig 5, 6), the one or more foot supports are slidable forwards by a person placing one or both of their feet on the one or more foot supports, pivoting the one or more foot supports upwards and pushing the one or more foot supports forward with one or both of their feet, and/or (ii) the one or more foot supports are slidable rearwards by a person placing one or both of their feet on the one or more foot supports, pivoting the one or more foot supports downwards and pulling the one or more foot supports rearward with one or both of their feet (it is noted here that when the structure of adjustability is engaged movement of the supports and mount provide for the limitations.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al (20150115684). The reference to Weber et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including a seat. To use such structure in different vehicle and in a plurality of seats including a plurality of rows, such as a transportation vehicle would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al (20150115684) in view of Owler (2591598). The reference to Weber et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including pivot mounting and connectors to provide adjustability the only difference being that the movement of such does not include a biasing. However, the reference to Owler (at least figs 3, 5) teaches the use of biasing structure(at 34, 22) to provide an assist to be old. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Weber et al with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a biasing structure to provide an assist, as taught by Owler since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. The particular angle of adjustment is a matter of desirability and design parameters and would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result. It is noted that the limit and engagement of the pivot and sliding structure at the limits provide stops.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al (20150115684) in view of Moore (8246118). The reference to Weber et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including mounting and connectors to provide adjustability the only difference being that the connectors are not adjustable or provide a quick connect. However, the reference to Moore (at least fig 2) teaches adjustable connector (108, 128, 164) to provide a manual control of ease of movement to be old. It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Weber et al with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a manual adjustment including providing adjustable friction and a quick release, as taught by Moore since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al (20150115684) in view of Liverson (1218876). The reference to Weber et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including mounts to provide adjustability the only difference being that there are not damping structures to provide protection and antivibration structure. However, the reference to Liverson(at 5, 6) teaches the use of a damping means(in the form of a covering and damping (rubber) to provide protection and inherently a damping structure to be old. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Weber et al with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a damping structure, as taught by Liverson since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant’s including adjustable leg/feet rests attached to seats.
/JOSE V CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637