DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 6 would be allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose or suggest a computer-implemented method, further comprising the features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads being related to approximated preparation times resulting from a usage of the respective tool heads, the checking comprising a checking of the one or more first criteria using the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads, as presented in the environment of the remaining limitations of claim 6. It is noted that the closest prior art, Kopelman, shows the method of claim 5. However, Kopelman fails to disclose or suggest the features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads being related to approximated preparation times resulting from a usage of the respective tool heads, the checking comprising a checking of the one or more first criteria using the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads.
Claim 12 would be allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose or suggest a computer-implemented method, further comprising manufacturing of the one or more physical preparation guides using the first manufacturing data provided for controlling the manufacturing with the one or more manufactured physical preparation guides being physical copies of the templates defined by the provided first manufacturing data, as presented in the environment of the remaining limitations of claim 12. It is noted that the closest prior art, Kopelman, shows the method of claim 11. However, Kopelman fails to disclose or suggest manufacturing of the one or more physical preparation guides using the first manufacturing data provided for controlling the manufacturing with the one or more manufactured physical preparation guides being physical copies of the templates defined by the provided first manufacturing data.
Claim 15 would be allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose or suggest a computer-implemented method, further comprising in response to a result of the checking, whether the one or more preparation criteria are satisfied, indicating that none of the checked combinations and sequences of usage of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads satisfies the one or more preparation criteria, determining one or more additional tool heads with features configured to achieve the one or more target states satisfying the one or more preparation criteria, expanding the plurality of tool heads by adding the one or more additional tool heads, re-executing the checking, whether the one or more preparation criteria are satisfied, using the expanded the plurality of tool heads, wherein the determined selection of tool heads from the plurality of tool heads comprising one or more of the one or more additional tool heads, as presented in the environment of the remaining limitations of claim 15. It is noted that the closest prior art, Kopelman, shows the method of claim 1. However, Kopelman fails to disclose or suggest in response to a result of the checking, whether the one or more preparation criteria are satisfied, indicating that none of the checked combinations and sequences of usage of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads satisfies the one or more preparation criteria, determining one or more additional tool heads with features configured to achieve the one or more target states satisfying the one or more preparation criteria, expanding the plurality of tool heads by adding the one or more additional tool heads, re-executing the checking, whether the one or more preparation criteria are satisfied, using the expanded the plurality of tool heads, wherein the determined selection of tool heads from the plurality of tool heads comprising one or more of the one or more additional tool heads.
Claims 16 and 17 depend from the above claim 15, either directly or indirectly, and are accordingly allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kopelman (US Pub. 2024/0130834).
Regarding claim 1, Kopelman discloses a computer-implemented method for selecting tool heads for a tooth preparation comprising a removal of tooth material (Paragraph [0051]: constraints and others may be used in determining in identifying material for removal and the final prepared shape of the tooth), the method comprising: receiving a three-dimensional digital initial tooth model descriptive of one or more current states of one or more teeth to be prepared (Fig. 2A; Fig. 2B; Paragraphs [0044]-[0047]: multiple different imaging and model building processes may be performed. For example, a volumetric three-dimensional model of the patient's dentition may be built as described in U.S. Ser. No. 15/662,234, previously incorporated by reference. Two-dimensional images such as color surface images and x-ray images may be used in building the model. Color surface images may be used for color matching a prosthetic with the patient's natural teeth of for distinguishing between teeth and gingiva. Surface penetrating scans may be used to image the internal structure of the teeth. For example, X-ray images may be used to identify various internal structures of the teeth, such as the enamel and the dentin. X-ray images may also be used to identify dental caries and other defects within the teeth. Ultrasound imaging may be used to identify subsurface, internal features of the teeth. Other technologies such as infrared or near-infrared transillumination, small angle penetration imaging, or reflectance scanning may also be used to gather subsurface images of the internal features of the teeth and to aid in identifying the various internal structures within a patient's teeth…Three-dimensional imaging or volumetric data such as from a CBCT scan or a three-dimensional surface scan of the teeth may be combined with the two-dimensional imaging data discussed above in order to build a volumetric three-dimensional, or composite, model of the patient's teeth…FIGS. 2B and 2C depict a two-dimensional cross-section 220 of a three-dimensional volumetric model of a patient's tooth 221. As shown in FIG. 2B, an integrated volumetric model of the teeth may be formed from the combination of two-dimensional imaging data, such as X-rays and surface penetrating infrared imaging, with three-dimensional images allows for the presentation in display of both interior and exterior structures of the tooth…Surface penetrating infrared imaging and x-ray imaging produce two-dimensional images of the interior structure of the tooth, however at block 202, the method 200 may combine the two-dimensional images of the interior of the tooth with generic, or other non-patient specific, models of the interior structure of a tooth to generate a three-dimensional volumetric model of the patient's tooth); receiving a three-dimensional digital target tooth model descriptive of one or more target states of the respective one or more teeth to be prepared, wherein the one or more target states are to be achieved starting from the one or more current states by preparing the one or more teeth to be prepared comprising the removal of the tooth material from the respective teeth (Paragraph [0063]: Models 330, 340 may be shown to dental practitioners who desire guidance with respect to interproximal reduction or when multiple clinically acceptable types of interproximal reduction are available. The model 330, for example, shows an option for interproximal reduction where both upper central incisors 332, 333 have equal amounts of the indicated 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction 334, 335 applied to each tooth. The contrasting or highlighting of the interproximal reductions 334, 335 provides a visual guide to the dental professional when carrying out interproximal reduction on the patient and show both the location and extent of the interproximal reduction on the model. Model 340 shows an alternative interproximal reduction where material is removed from only the right upper central incisor 332. As shown in model 340, the entirety of the 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction is removed from the right central incisor 332. The models 320, 330, 340 may be presented to the dental practitioner and a selection of a desired model may be received. In some embodiments, a preferred model may be presented that is based in part on volumetric data of the teeth where interproximal reduction is desired. For example, if the volumetric data or other surface penetrating image data (e.g., x-ray, CBCT, etc.) suggests that both teeth have equal amounts of enamel, then the interproximal reduction may be equally distributed between the teeth. In other examples, if the volumetric data or other surface penetrating image data suggest that one tooth has more enamel compared to the adjacent tooth, then the interproximal reduction may be distributed more toward the tooth with more enamel); receiving definitions of tool heads of a plurality of tool heads of a plurality of tool kits defining features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads (Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]: the method 300 continues to block 308 where the tools are determined for each step of the treatment. The tools, including both hand tools and tool heads are determined based on the location of the material to be removed, the amount of material to be removed, and any other constraints, such as, for example, those discussed above. After identifying the tool for use in each step of the treatment plan, the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined for each of the material removal steps at block 310. In some embodiments, determination of each tool and the determination of the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined together rather than at separate blocks. In some embodiments, the tool position and tool path information may be used to generate instructions for a robotic or a computer-controlled material removal process, such as a CNC process…After determination of the tool position and tool path at block 310, the process 300 continues to block 312 where the visualizations for each of the treatment steps are generated. FIGS. 3C and 3D depict visualizations of two steps of the material removal process of a treatment plan. FIG. 3C depicts the proximal preparation of a tooth 356. In FIG. 3C, the buccal surface of the tooth 356 has already been prepared in a previous step of the preparation process. The visualization shows the position and orientation of the tool 350 and the tool head 352 with respect to the tooth 356 being prepared. The orientation of the tool 350 and tool head 352 may be shown with respect to, for example, a central axis 359 of the tooth that extends from the center of the root of the tooth through the center of the occlusal surface of the tooth. The visualization may also include a depiction or indication of the tool type 358 and the tool head type 357. Finally, the visualization also includes an indication of the direction 354 in which the tool head 352 should be moved, including both translation and rotation, in order to remove the appropriate material from the tooth 356 for this particular step of the treatment plan); checking, using the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads, for different combinations and sequences of usage of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads, whether one or more preparation criteria are satisfied (Paragraph [0065]: The tools, including both hand tools and tool heads are determined based on the location of the material to be removed, the amount of material to be removed, and any other constraints, such as, for example, those discussed above. After identifying the tool for use in each step of the treatment plan, the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined for each of the material removal steps at block 310. In some embodiments, determination of each tool and the determination of the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined together rather than at separate blocks. In some embodiments, the tool position and tool path information may be used to generate instructions for a robotic or a computer-controlled material removal process); determining a selection of tool heads from the plurality of tool heads and a sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection for the tooth preparation satisfying the one or more preparation criteria, wherein the determining comprises executing a simulation of the tooth preparation using the tool heads of the selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection, the simulation being executed using the defined features of the respective tool heads of the selection (Paragraphs [0065]-[0070]: After the constraints are received and analyzed at block 306, the method 300 continues to block 308 where the tools are determined for each step of the treatment. The tools, including both hand tools and tool heads are determined based on the location of the material to be removed, the amount of material to be removed, and any other constraints, such as, for example, those discussed above. After identifying the tool for use in each step of the treatment plan, the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined for each of the material removal steps at block 310…at block 312 or block 402, the dental professional may perform simulated material removal in a computer simulated environment with virtual tools, for example tools that resemble actual tools or through the use of digital volume removal tools, that simulate the removal of material, but do not show and simulate the presence of a tool. Such simulated material removal by be shown with a model of a patient's mouth, teeth, and/or gingiva, for example, a volumetric model or a surface model. In such a simulation, as the dental professional moves the virtual tool or the digital volume removal tools model is modified to show the simulated changes to the tooth, for example, the volumetric model may be updated by removing volume from the model or the surface model may be updated to reflect an updated surface profile that reflects the material removed by the dental professional's use of the tool); outputting a result of the simulation comprising a definition of the selection of tool heads and the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection (Paragraph [0051]: constraints and others may be used in determining in identifying material for removal and the final prepared shape of the tooth. In some embodiments, multiple suggested preparations are determined based on the constraints. These multiple suggested preparations may be displayed to the dental professional and a selected preparation may be received from the dental professional; Paragraphs [0066]-[0067]: After determination of the tool position and tool path at block 310, the process 300 continues to block 312 where the visualizations for each of the treatment steps are generated. FIGS. 3C and 3D depict visualizations of two steps of the material removal process of a treatment plan. FIG. 3C depicts the proximal preparation of a tooth 356. In FIG. 3C, the buccal surface of the tooth 356 has already been prepared in a previous step of the preparation process. The visualization shows the position and orientation of the tool 350 and the tool head 352 with respect to the tooth 356 being prepared. The orientation of the tool 350 and tool head 352 may be shown with respect to, for example, a central axis 359 of the tooth that extends from the center of the root of the tooth through the center of the occlusal surface of the tooth. The visualization may also include a depiction or indication of the tool type 358 and the tool head type 357. Finally, the visualization also includes an indication of the direction 354 in which the tool head 352 should be moved, including both translation and rotation, in order to remove the appropriate material from the tooth 356 for this particular step of the treatment plan…the visualization shown in FIG. 3C may be a manipulatable three-dimensional model that allows a practitioner to rotate, zoom, and otherwise manipulate the model such that the practitioner may view the material removal step from several perspectives. Moreover, in some embodiments, the visual depiction may show the procedure in two-dimensional or three-dimensional video or motion forms. In such an embodiment, in addition to indicating the direction of tool movement, the video may depict a simulation of the material removal process including a depiction of the movement of the tool, showing both the directional translation and rotation of the tool's movement and the appropriate speed at which the tool should be moved during the material removal process).
Regarding claim 3, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the simulation of the tooth preparation comprising a determining of preparation trajectories for moving the tool heads of the selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection through the teeth to be prepared (Paragraph [0059]: Moving to FIG. 3, a method of treatment planning 300 is depicted in accordance with embodiments described herein. Preparation of the treatment plans may include preparing multiple treatment suggestions showing the final preparation of the patient's teeth and models of intermediate steps showing how the teeth are shaped from their initial shape to their final prepared shape for each treatment suggestion. The treatment suggestions may also depict the material removal processes using different tools or different material removal steps. The dental professional may select a treatment plan from the multiple treatment suggestions; Paragraphs [0066]-[0067]: determination of the tool position and tool path at block 310, the process 300 continues to block 312 where the visualizations for each of the treatment steps are generated. FIGS. 3C and 3D depict visualizations of two steps of the material removal process of a treatment plan. FIG. 3C depicts the proximal preparation of a tooth 356. In FIG. 3C, the buccal surface of the tooth 356 has already been prepared in a previous step of the preparation process. The visualization shows the position and orientation of the tool 350 and the tool head 352 with respect to the tooth 356 being prepared. The orientation of the tool 350 and tool head 352 may be shown with respect to, for example, a central axis 359 of the tooth that extends from the center of the root of the tooth through the center of the occlusal surface of the tooth. The visualization may also include a depiction or indication of the tool type 358 and the tool head type 357. Finally, the visualization also includes an indication of the direction 354 in which the tool head 352 should be moved, including both translation and rotation, in order to remove the appropriate material from the tooth 356 for this particular step of the treatment plan… the visualization shown in FIG. 3C may be a manipulatable three-dimensional model that allows a practitioner to rotate, zoom, and otherwise manipulate the model such that the practitioner may view the material removal step from several perspectives. Moreover, in some embodiments, the visual depiction may show the procedure in two-dimensional or three-dimensional video or motion forms. In such an embodiment, in addition to indicating the direction of tool movement, the video may depict a simulation of the material removal process including a depiction of the movement of the tool, showing both the directional translation and rotation of the tool's movement and the appropriate speed at which the tool should be moved during the material removal process).
Regarding claim 4, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising executing additional different simulations of the tooth preparation with the different combinations and sequences of usage of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads using the defined features of the respective tool heads, using the different simulations for the checking, whether one or more preparation criteria are satisfied (Paragraph [0052]: the multiple suggested preparations may be determined based on different priorities for each of the constraints. For example, in some embodiments, some constraints are mutually exclusive, for example, the dental professional may have a preference for a sub gingiva margin line and had also selected a particular prosthetic, however the prosthetic manufacture of the selected prosthetic recommends a super gingival margin preparation. Accordingly, one suggested preparation may include a sub gingival margin line and an alternative prosthetic, while a second suggested preparation may include a super gingival margin line with the selected prosthetic. Similarly, optimization of one constraint may lead to less than optimal preparation with respect to a second constraint. In such embodiments multiple suggested preparations may also be suggested. The suggested preparations may include a first suggested preparation that optimizes for the first constraint, a second suggested preparation that optimizes for the second constraint, and a third suggested preparation that balances the two constraints).
Regarding claim 5, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the one or more preparation criteria comprising one or more first criteria for a preparation time (Paragraphs [0057]-[0059]: at block 208, one or more suggested preparation designs are presented to the dental professional and a selected finalized shape is received. As shown in FIG. 2D, a model of the current state of the dentition 260 may be displayed along with a model 280 of the dentition with the prepared tooth 282. The model 280 shows the prepared tooth 282 including both the location and shape the margin line 284 and the prepared abutment shape 286 of the tooth 282. Some embodiments, in addition to showing the suggested preparation 280, the intermediate steps that lead to the suggested preparation 280 are also displayed for review by the dental professional into aid in determining the selected final preparation design from the one or more suggested final preparation designs. After the final preparation design is selected, the tooth shape is finalized and the process 100 proceeds to block 300…FIG. 3, a method of treatment planning 300 is depicted in accordance with embodiments described herein. Preparation of the treatment plans may include preparing multiple treatment suggestions showing the final preparation of the patient's teeth and models of intermediate steps showing how the teeth are shaped from their initial shape to their final prepared shape for each treatment suggestion).
Regarding claim 7, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the one or more preparation criteria comprising one or more second criteria for a precision of the tooth preparation (Paragraph [0063]: Models 330, 340 may be shown to dental practitioners who desire guidance with respect to interproximal reduction or when multiple clinically acceptable types of interproximal reduction are available. The model 330, for example, shows an option for interproximal reduction where both upper central incisors 332, 333 have equal amounts of the indicated 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction 334, 335 applied to each tooth. The contrasting or highlighting of the interproximal reductions 334, 335 provides a visual guide to the dental professional when carrying out interproximal reduction on the patient and show both the location and extent of the interproximal reduction on the model. Model 340 shows an alternative interproximal reduction where material is removed from only the right upper central incisor 332. As shown in model 340, the entirety of the 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction is removed from the right central incisor 332. The models 320, 330, 340 may be presented to the dental practitioner and a selection of a desired model may be received).
Regarding claim 9, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising generating one or more three-dimensional digital preparation guide models for one or more steps of the tooth preparation using the simulation of the tooth preparation with the tool heads of the selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection, the one or more three-dimensional digital preparation guide models defining one or more preparation guides configured to guide a usage of one or more of the tool heads of the selection according to the respective simulation (Paragraph [0052]: the multiple suggested preparations may be determined based on different priorities for each of the constraints. For example, in some embodiments, some constraints are mutually exclusive, for example, the dental professional may have a preference for a sub gingiva margin line and had also selected a particular prosthetic, however the prosthetic manufacture of the selected prosthetic recommends a super gingival margin preparation. Accordingly, one suggested preparation may include a sub gingival margin line and an alternative prosthetic, while a second suggested preparation may include a super gingival margin line with the selected prosthetic. Similarly, optimization of one constraint may lead to less than optimal preparation with respect to a second constraint. In such embodiments multiple suggested preparations may also be suggested. The suggested preparations may include a first suggested preparation that optimizes for the first constraint, a second suggested preparation that optimizes for the second constraint, and a third suggested preparation that balances the two constraints; Paragraph [0059]: Moving to FIG. 3, a method of treatment planning 300 is depicted in accordance with embodiments described herein. Preparation of the treatment plans may include preparing multiple treatment suggestions showing the final preparation of the patient's teeth and models of intermediate steps showing how the teeth are shaped from their initial shape to their final prepared shape for each treatment suggestion. The treatment suggestions may also depict the material removal processes using different tools or different material removal steps. The dental professional may select a treatment plan from the multiple treatment suggestions; Paragraphs [0066]-[0067]: determination of the tool position and tool path at block 310, the process 300 continues to block 312 where the visualizations for each of the treatment steps are generated. FIGS. 3C and 3D depict visualizations of two steps of the material removal process of a treatment plan. FIG. 3C depicts the proximal preparation of a tooth 356. In FIG. 3C, the buccal surface of the tooth 356 has already been prepared in a previous step of the preparation process. The visualization shows the position and orientation of the tool 350 and the tool head 352 with respect to the tooth 356 being prepared. The orientation of the tool 350 and tool head 352 may be shown with respect to, for example, a central axis 359 of the tooth that extends from the center of the root of the tooth through the center of the occlusal surface of the tooth. The visualization may also include a depiction or indication of the tool type 358 and the tool head type 357. Finally, the visualization also includes an indication of the direction 354 in which the tool head 352 should be moved, including both translation and rotation, in order to remove the appropriate material from the tooth 356 for this particular step of the treatment plan… the visualization shown in FIG. 3C may be a manipulatable three-dimensional model that allows a practitioner to rotate, zoom, and otherwise manipulate the model such that the practitioner may view the material removal step from several perspectives. Moreover, in some embodiments, the visual depiction may show the procedure in two-dimensional or three-dimensional video or motion forms. In such an embodiment, in addition to indicating the direction of tool movement, the video may depict a simulation of the material removal process including a depiction of the movement of the tool, showing both the directional translation and rotation of the tool's movement and the appropriate speed at which the tool should be moved during the material removal process).
Regarding claim 10, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 9, one or more of the one or more three-dimensional preparation guides defining one or more intermediate states of the tooth preparation to be achieved using the tool heads of the selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection (Paragraph [0067]: After the constraints are received and analyzed at block 306, the method 300 continues to block 308 where the tools are determined for each step of the treatment. The tools, including both hand tools and tool heads are determined based on the location of the material to be removed, the amount of material to be removed, and any other constraints, such as, for example, those discussed above. After identifying the tool for use in each step of the treatment plan, the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined for each of the material removal steps at block 310. In some embodiments, determination of each tool and the determination of the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined together rather than at separate blocks. In some embodiments, the tool position and tool path information may be used to generate instructions for a robotic or a computer-controlled material removal process, such as a CNC process).
Regarding claim 11, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 9, the method further comprising providing first manufacturing data for controlling a manufacturing of one or more physical preparation guides, the first manufacturing data defining the three-dimensional digital preparation guide models as templates for the physical preparation guides (Paragraph [0063]: Models 330, 340 may be shown to dental practitioners who desire guidance with respect to interproximal reduction or when multiple clinically acceptable types of interproximal reduction are available. The model 330, for example, shows an option for interproximal reduction where both upper central incisors 332, 333 have equal amounts of the indicated 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction 334, 335 applied to each tooth. The contrasting or highlighting of the interproximal reductions 334, 335 provides a visual guide to the dental professional when carrying out interproximal reduction on the patient and show both the location and extent of the interproximal reduction on the model. Model 340 shows an alternative interproximal reduction where material is removed from only the right upper central incisor 332. As shown in model 340, the entirety of the 0.3 mm of interproximal reduction is removed from the right central incisor 332. The models 320, 330, 340 may be presented to the dental practitioner and a selection of a desired model may be received).
Regarding claim 13, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising a generating of the three-dimensional digital target tooth model, the generating of the three-dimensional digital target tooth model comprising identifying one or more damaged sections of the one or more teeth of the three-dimensional digital initial tooth model and determining one or more sections of the respective teeth to be removed by the tooth preparation, wherein the determined sections to be removed comprise the one or more identified damaged sections (Paragraphs [0051]-[0053]: Other constraints may be dictated by the type of prosthetic being used, its wall thickness and margin shape. For example, manufacturers of particular prosthetics may recommend certain shapes for the prepared tooth, certain minimum thicknesses, and tolerances or spacing with respect to adjacent teeth, the level of retention of the prosthetic, the margin shape, the marginal seal between the tooth in the prosthetic, and other constraints. These constraints and others may be used in determining in identifying material for removal and the final prepared shape of the tooth. In some embodiments, multiple suggested preparations are determined based on the constraints. These multiple suggested preparations may be displayed to the dental professional and a selected preparation may be received from the dental professional…at block 206, method 200 proceeds to identify the material for removal for each of the suggested preparation designs. Some of the material identified for removal may include caries within the teeth. For example, a dental professional may identify voxels that comprise a portion of a carie or other defect within the tooth from the volumetric model discussed above and shown and described, for example, with respect to FIGS. 2B and 2C. In such an embodiment, at block 206, the method marks each voxel that comprises at least a portion of the caries for removal. In other embodiments, other portions of the tooth may be identified for removal based on other constraints mentioned above).
Regarding claim 14, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising generating and providing control data configured for controlling a robotic device to execute the tooth preparation according to the simulation using the tool heads of the selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection (Paragraph [0065]: determination of each tool and the determination of the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined together rather than at separate blocks. In some embodiments, the tool position and tool path information may be used to generate instructions for a robotic or a computer-controlled material removal process, such as a CNC process; Paragraph [0073]: the material may be removed though robotic assisted methods, such as robotic-assisted surgery, wherein a dental professional controls movement of a robot and attached dental tools via a telemanipulator or through computer control. The material removal may also be performed by computer numerical control (CNC) wherein the automation of one or more machine tool is controlled by means of one or more computer executing pre-programmed sequences of machine control commands).
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the memory and processor, which are disclosed by Kopelman, Fig. 5); thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the memory and processor, which are disclosed by Kopelman, Fig. 5); thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 20, Kopelman discloses a tool system comprising the computer device of claim 19, the tool system further comprising one or more of the tool kits of the plurality of tool kits and a robotic device, execution of the program instructions by the processing unit further causing the computer device to: generate and provide control data configured for controlling the robotic device to execute the tooth preparation according to the simulation using the tool heads of selection according to the sequence of usage of the tool heads of the selection (Paragraph [0065]: determination of each tool and the determination of the tool's path, position, and orientation are determined together rather than at separate blocks. In some embodiments, the tool position and tool path information may be used to generate instructions for a robotic or a computer-controlled material removal process, such as a CNC process; Paragraph [0073]: the material may be removed though robotic assisted methods, such as robotic-assisted surgery, wherein a dental professional controls movement of a robot and attached dental tools via a telemanipulator or through computer control. The material removal may also be performed by computer numerical control (CNC) wherein the automation of one or more machine tool is controlled by means of one or more computer executing pre-programmed sequences of machine control commands).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman, in view of Zhang et al. (US Pub. 2021/0000575), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 2, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1.
Kopelman does not explicitly disclose the definitions of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads defining one or more of the following features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads: shapes of the tool heads, surface structures of the tool heads.
However, Zhang teaches 3D modeling of dental instruments (Abstract), further comprising the definitions of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads defining one or more of the following features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads: shapes of the tool heads, surface structures of the tool heads (Paragraph [0047]: as a preferred embodiment, as shown in FIG. 3, an angle support 1 is provided for the attachment part when adding the support, so as to reduce the number of supports added and protect the attachment structure. In addition, the support can also be provided according to the specific structural shape of the attachment. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, when the attachment is a ball-socket attachment, a tapered support 2 is separately provided at the bottom of the ball-socket structure and a breaking point 3 is set, which is convenient for later removal and can also protect the molding quality of the ball-socket structure). Zhang teaches that this will allow for selection of suitable attachments (Paragraph [0046]).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kopelman with the features of above as taught by Zhang so as to allow for selection of suitable attachments as presented by Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 7, the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads being related to approximated precisions of the tooth preparation resulting from a usage of the respective tool heads (Paragraph [0052]: the multiple suggested preparations may be determined based on different priorities for each of the constraints. For example, in some embodiments, some constraints are mutually exclusive, for example, the dental professional may have a preference for a sub gingiva margin line and had also selected a particular prosthetic, however the prosthetic manufacture of the selected prosthetic recommends a super gingival margin preparation. Accordingly, one suggested preparation may include a sub gingival margin line and an alternative prosthetic, while a second suggested preparation may include a super gingival margin line with the selected prosthetic. Similarly, optimization of one constraint may lead to less than optimal preparation with respect to a second constraint. In such embodiments multiple suggested preparations may also be suggested. The suggested preparations may include a first suggested preparation that optimizes for the first constraint, a second suggested preparation that optimizes for the second constraint, and a third suggested preparation that balances the two constraints)
Kopelman does not explicitly disclose the checking comprising a checking of the one or more second criteria using the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads.
However, Zhang teaches 3D modeling of dental instruments (Abstract), further comprising the checking comprising a checking of the one or more second criteria using the defined features of the tool heads of the plurality of tool heads (Paragraph [0032]: beneficial effects of the invention are as follows: unlike the traditional way by which the attachment and the metal inner-crown are respectively and independently molded and then mounted and welded, the digital integrated molding method of the dental attachment of the invention adopts the integrated molding design of the inner-crown and the attachment, and achieves the integral molding through additive manufacturing; therefore, the molding precision of the dental attachment is greatly improved, the relative precision between the inner-crown and the attachment is ensured, and the attachment can better meet the requirements in details, thus improving the utilization rate of materials. An entire denture is more conducive to its stability in the later stage. In contrast to the separate molding of inner-crown, bridge and attachment, the invention has a simplified molding process of selective laser melting and more convenient post-treatment, which greatly shortens the manufacturing cycle of attachment denture and effectively improves the molding efficiency). Zhang teaches that this will allow for selection of suitable attachments (Paragraph [0046]).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kopelman with the features of above as taught by Zhang so as to allow for selection of suitable attachments as presented by Zhang.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SALVUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613