DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 8-26-2026 is acknowledged. The restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the central axis" in lines 4 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rotating device to rotate” in claim 1, line 4, “translation device to move” and “first driving device to drive” in claim 3, line 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawasaki et al. (12,381,377). Kawasaki discloses a cable unwinding device (1; Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a cable clamp (10; col. 5, lines 34-35) for clamping and fixing a cable (3) and a core wire clamp (20; col. 5, lines 36-37) for clamping at least two twisted core wires (4,6) of the cable (Fig. 3b). The core wire clamp (20) is configured to clamp a tip part of a sheath (5A; Fig. 3B) and the wires (4,6) in the sheath (5A) to untwist and straighten (correct wire kinks; col. 5, lines 30-32) the wires (4,6; Fig. 10) and Kawasaki discloses (col. 13, lines 7-9) that the untwisting is applicable to bare (uncovered wires) and the number of wires being untwisted is not limited (col. 13, lines 2-4). A rotating device (40) is configured to drive the core wire clamp (20) to rotate around a central axis (longitudinal axis, Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 6, lines 43-46) of the cable (3) and a translation device (30) drives the core wire clamp (20) to move in a first horizontal direction parallel to the central axis of the cable (3) as the rotating device (40) drives the core wire clamp (20) to rotate around the central axis of the cable. The translation device (30) drives the core wire clamp (20) to move along the first horizontal direction (col. 6, lines 59-62), so that the at least two twisted wires comprising the core wires (4) and the drain wire (6) are untwisted from the start until the end of the pulling-out of the sheath tip portion (5A) and kinks are corrected and straightened (col. 9, lines 50-55) for the wire portion when the sheath tip portion (5A) is pulled out.
Regarding claim 2, the line 2 recitation “can be moved” does not actually require movement but the rotating device (40) of Kawasaki is installed on a movable base (31) with the translation device (30; col. 6, lines 62-64) and does move.
Regarding claim 3, Kawasaki discloses a fixed seat (35) and the translation device (30) includes a guide rail (36) which is installed on the fixed seat (35; col. 6, lines 65-67) and extends along the first horizontal direction (Fig. 1) a movable seat (movable base, 31) which is slidably installed on the guide rail (36; col. 7, lines 1-2) and moves along the guide rail (36) and a first driving device (32,33) which is installed on the fixed seat (35; col. 6, lines 65-66) to drive the movable seat (movable base, 31) to move along the guide rail (36).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the driving device (32,33) includes a plate nut (threaded hole; col. 7, lines 5-8) in slide (34), a screw rod (ballscrew, 33) and a motor (32) installed on the fixed seat (35) so that an output shaft of the motor is connected to the ballscrew (Fig. 2) and the motor (32) drives the movable seat (31) along the guide rail (36; col. 7, lines 8-14) as the ballscrew rotates through the threaded hole and moves the slider (34) and movable seat (31).
Regarding claim 6, the ballscrew rod (33) has a support seat (slider, 34) at one end (left end; Fig. 2) and another support seat (motor bracket, Fig. 1) connected to the base (35) which are a pair of seats connected to the base (35; Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 18, the core wire clamp (20) comprising a pair of clamping parts (21,22) with a slot (space between clamp member 21a,22a; Fig. 5) for clamping the at least two core wires (4,6; col. 6, lines 12-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki et al. (12,381,377) in view of Riemeier et al. (2014/0076015). Kawasaki does not specifically recite that the core wire clamp slot hole is elliptical. Riemeier teaches clamping plates (602,604) which are configured to grip wires (122), the clamping plates having an elliptical slot hole ([0072], lines 10-12). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the slot hole in the core wire clamp of Kawasaki to be elliptical as taught by Riemeier so as to firmly grip the wires with a selected slot profile which matches a shape of the wire being untwisted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the frame further comprises a pair of vertical brackets fixed to the fixed seat; and a crossbeam which is connected between the pair of vertical brackets, the cable clamp is fixed to the crossbeam, including the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2-6. Claims 8-17 would be allowable as they depend from allowable claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725