CTNF 18/734,390 CTNF 81155 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claims 1 – 20 have been examined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4 – 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Huang (10,597,269). In regard to claims 1, 4, and 17 , Huang discloses a jackstand comprising a base member having a top surface and a bottom surface, the bottom surface disposed at a clearance distance over a terrain surface supporting the jackstand (Fig. 10, item 912), a support arm configured to extend from the top surface and receive a load (Fig. 10, item 910), a caster coupled to the base member (Fig. 11, item 918), the caster having a configuration including a stem defining a first axis (Fig. 12, item 931), a shell comprising a proximal end and a distal end, the shell coupled to the stem at the proximal end and coupled such that the shell is rotatable about the first axis (Fig. 12, item 934), an axle coupled to the shell at the distal end, the axle defining a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (Fig. 11, unnumbered axle at the bottom end of item 934, extending through the center of item 935), a wheel disposed about the axle, the wheel being rotatable about the second axis (Fig. 11, item 935), a spring extending along at least a portion of the stem (Fig. 12, item 914), and a collar at least partially disposed around the stem and spring, the collar configured to receive a load and transfer the load onto the spring (Fig. 12, item 922), wherein the base member is configured to transfer a received load of the support arm to the collar such that the clearance distance is maximized when the support arm is not subject to a load (column 4, lines 41 – 53), wherein the spring is maximally displaced when subjected to a load greater than a maximum load for the spring, and wherein the maximized clearance distance is not greater than the maximum displacement (column 4, lines 41 – 53) . In regard to claim 2 , Huang discloses wherein the spring is fully compressed when subjected to a load above a maximum load (column 4, lines 41 – 53). In regard to claim 5 , Huang discloses wherein the caster is one of a plurality of casters (Fig. 11). In regard to claim 6 , Huang discloses wherein each of the plurality of casters has the same configuration (Fig. 11). In regard to claim 7 , Huang discloses wherein the plurality of casters comprises 4 casters (column 4, lines 2 – 3). In regard to claim 8 , Huang discloses wherein each of the four casters has the same configuration (column 4, lines 2 – 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 9 – 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (10,597,269) as applied to claims 1, 4 – 8, and 17 above. In regard to claim 14 , Huang discloses the shelf comprising a square (column 3, line 62) . Huang does not disclose the weight/load ratings of the casters or the support arm. In regard to claims 3, 9 – 11, 18 – 20 , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide weight/load rated components as recited, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Huang does not disclose the dimensions of the shelf. In regard to claims 12 – 16 , It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shelf sized as recited, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Ros e, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Hulbert (2,610,750) discloses a motor vehicle wheel truck; Symiczek (7,543,830) discloses an automotive dolly system; Liu (7,845,614) discloses a shock-absorbing wheel mounting structure for a jack; Malik (CN2714047) discloses a vehicle lifting system. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN DANIEL WALTERS whose telephone number is (571)272-8269. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 8 am - 5 pm (PT). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen Shriver can be reached at 303.297.4337. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/734,390 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/734,390 Page 3 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/734,390 Page 4 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/734,390 Page 5 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/734,390 Page 6 Art Unit: 3613